Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai
hebe0330
May 21 2012, 01:23 AM

Hey guys.. I'm looking for a dac+amp for my laptop. Bonus points for use with iPad, but that's secondary. Can I do better than the fiio e17 for about 600 bucks budget?
hebe0330
May 21 2012, 12:08 PM

QUOTE(hongrui @ May 21 2012, 07:28 AM) If you can stretch a little more, the TTD will offer more. If you want to use the TTD with your iPad / iPod / iPhone, you will need to get a LOD. If you're free next Sat, come on by the gathering, if you are at Penang. How much more? I'll try - coffee bean @ straits right? Still in Singapore now getting some stuff done. I'll come if I'm back by then. Thanks for the invite!  Added on May 21, 2012, 12:10 pmOh yeah - does the TTD's DAC work with the iPad via camera connection kit? As far as I know, the e17 does not. :/ This post has been edited by hebe0330: May 21 2012, 12:10 PM
hebe0330
May 21 2012, 03:27 PM

QUOTE(hongrui @ May 21 2012, 02:48 PM) yeah coffee bean @ straits. When are you going back to PG? i'm in SG. If you're up to it, we can meet this evening / night or sunday night when i get back from PG. its a RM100 more than your budget, but shipping is not included. i have no idea if it works or not. theoretically, it should work since no power is required from the camera connection kit. do you have the camera connection kit? if you do, we can always give it a go. I'm probably heading back on Friday. And thanks again for the offer, but I'm kinda busy ATM. Have university registrations to complete. And no, I don't own one. Planning to get one if I get a suitable dac. Btw, do you have an e17 for comparisons?
hebe0330
Jun 14 2012, 11:08 AM

QUOTE(xbbshampoo @ Jun 14 2012, 10:44 AM) hi, currently searching for a recommendation for cheap amp to be used with macbook pro and galaxy s2 (ath-m50) Hippobox+ This post has been edited by hebe0330: Jun 14 2012, 11:09 AM
hebe0330
Jun 14 2012, 06:25 PM

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 14 2012, 05:33 PM) hippo cri cri+ (24 bit dac+amp, battery powered, rechargeable) That's not exactly cheap, is it?
hebe0330
Jun 15 2012, 05:19 PM

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 15 2012, 01:51 PM) you din state budget, so cheap can be anywhere 100 to 400 range True. But isn't the cricri+ 490?
hebe0330
Jun 25 2012, 01:26 PM

QUOTE(em0kia @ Jun 24 2012, 12:40 AM) OH! So now i get it, are you saying that the internal amp of nano is not very good, and if u combine the not very good internal amp with good external amp, the result will be neutralized? So that means bypassing the internal amp is needed so the audio data can go into the external amp straightly? Other than that, do i need very good LOD? Cuz I can find LOD selling at rm30. So if the quality of LOD wont affect much, then i will just get the cheap ones. Passing the already amped signal from the nano (inferior internal amp) through an external amp like the e6 would distort the signal. Using a LOD bypasses the internal amp of the nano, sending a pure, unamped analog signal to the relatively superior external amp, so you'd get the full effects of the e6. And IMO, the fiio LODs are more than good enough for us beginners
hebe0330
Jun 25 2012, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(em0kia @ Jun 25 2012, 02:48 PM) hmm, how good is the internal dac of idevices? And does it changes the sq a lot? IMO, it does affect the SQ but not as much as amps would do. Erm, I've heard that idevices which use Wolfson DACs perform better if compared to those with Cirrus DACs. If I'm not mistaken, iPod videos (5.5g and earlier), iPhone 4/4s and the iPad have decent DACs. And P.S, I'm still a noob too  Added on June 25, 2012, 3:00 pmQUOTE(em0kia @ Jun 25 2012, 02:04 PM) For me only lo  We different level, u adi next stage of audiophile level  hmmm.. So basically the sq of a mp3 is depends on its internal amp only right ? So another way, the pure, unamped analog signal produced by a rm100 and rm1000 are the same? And no, the quality of the analog signal depends on the DAC used. This post has been edited by hebe0330: Jun 25 2012, 03:00 PM
hebe0330
Jun 25 2012, 04:39 PM

QUOTE(em0kia @ Jun 25 2012, 03:29 PM) Hmm, is it noticeable? And is there a thing like external dac and can bypass internal dac? And since ipod is a dac, it is a dap rite? A dap can have a dac, but a dac cannot have a dap ?  I guess so. the difference may be mainly due to the internal amp instead of the DAC though. Okay I'll try to explain : DAC stands for digital-to-analog converter. It is a chip used to process digital files (stored in binary) in your mp3 players, computers and so on into analog form (think of electromagnetic waves) to be transmitted to your headphones/IEMs. DAP stands for digital audio player. For example, iPod, zune, and so on. It has a DAC chip in it to convert all your audio files stored inside it into audio form to be enjoyed by audiophiles like you. So technically, you're right. Every DAP must have a DAC chip in it to enable playback. Hope this helps.
hebe0330
Jun 25 2012, 04:53 PM

QUOTE(em0kia @ Jun 25 2012, 04:48 PM) yup, i roughly know how it goes, and the better the DAC is, the smoother the magnetic wave right? I guess so? not sure about the technicalities
hebe0330
Jun 26 2012, 02:41 PM

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Jun 26 2012, 09:40 AM) Umm... hard choice, how's Hippo Cri Cri+ compare to FiiO E17? I did auditioned E7 before, the sound is kind of very high pitch and Hippo (can't remember the model) has much warmer and detail sound, especially on the mid! Does E17 gives the same output of E7? Thanks for all the input, my first DAC purchase so I don't want regrets  Yeah I'm curious too. Has anyone tried both the Cricri+ and the E17? And no, E17 gives much stronger output than the thin-sounding E7. I've tried both. E7 is really bad in comparison.
hebe0330
Jun 26 2012, 05:09 PM

QUOTE(em0kia @ Jun 26 2012, 03:53 PM) Hmmm, then may I know e7 and e10 is good for what? If you're planning to use it with ipod only, then get the e11. If you're using it with your comp only, get the e10. If you want to use it with both, get the e7 (although I don't recommend it). Better still, just get the e17 and solve the dilemma once and for all
hebe0330
Jun 27 2012, 01:05 PM

QUOTE(em0kia @ Jun 27 2012, 01:32 AM) E17? Hmmm, read some reviews bout it, I think i will stick to e11 first la since e17's price is doubled than that of e11 No money wei.. I will start funding and at the same time, go Jaben to audition them. Oh yea, e11 and hippo box+, which one is better? Or they are good at different things? E11, hands down. unless you find them too powerful for your IEMs even on low gain output. Go audition both at Jaben, and tell me if you decide on the Hippobox+. Give you special discount lol This post has been edited by hebe0330: Jun 27 2012, 01:05 PM
hebe0330
Jun 27 2012, 03:28 PM

QUOTE(dennisyeoh @ Jun 27 2012, 01:52 PM) how about govibe martini hoho That's at a different price range altogether
hebe0330
Jun 28 2012, 08:23 PM

Yeah fiio e11 is better unless you find it too big/strong compared to the hippobox. And you should concentrate on amps only. Forget the DAC part for now as you're only playing from your ipod
hebe0330
Jul 3 2012, 01:53 PM

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jul 1 2012, 11:46 PM) i had both, e11 has a bit more bass and dark sound to it, cMoy is bright and fast paced, cmoy more fun cause can change opamp, like changing processor, so some opamps are slow beats, some make me heart attackingly fast pace. each opamp is unique from other brands e11 is nothing much to mingle around with, use at it is, unless u want to desolder it and solder on another opamp where can one get the opamps? amazon? okay thanks. and what technical skills do I need to be able to change it? or is it plug and play?
hebe0330
Jul 4 2012, 01:44 AM

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jul 3 2012, 05:52 PM) plug and play, just get a eyebrow pick from cosmetic department, clip it , pull it out, insert new ones CORRECTLY (very critical), and you're good to go Cool. Thanks again for the heads up. Will be looking forward to my amp now