Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai

Ask_Yip
post Dec 6 2011, 07:20 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

If my laptop sound start distorted at 50% of volume when I put on my headphone, I should get a DAC or an amp?
Ask_Yip
post Dec 7 2011, 08:44 AM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

Thanks for the answer guys.

Perhaps I need to give further detail, is my Shure SRH 240, when in low volume, I like the detail, but when it come to 50% of the volume, the high is to sharp and start hurting my ears, should I get Fiio DAC+amp or just let go the headphone and look for something else?

QUOTE(cokelatpanda @ Dec 7 2011, 08:29 AM)
How many hours you burn it till now. Give it at least 50 hours to tame it, after that if not ok then go for another solution. My silver bullet also suffer the sharp high when newly bought, but now after exceed the 50 hours, it start to settled down.
OK, then I might just give a month or two to let it settle down before I decided to sell it.

Added on December 7, 2011, 8:47 am
QUOTE(hongrui @ Dec 7 2011, 08:31 AM)
from what you say, and if you're using the SRH-240, its probably not an amp/dac issue but you are having problem with the sound signature.

what you are hearing is probably the highs getting piercing and sibilant? 

if this is the case, you can get a amp/dac to roll off the highs or change headphones.
That's what I think at the first place, the sound sig maybe not my taste.

Anyway, I will just keep it for some time and see what if the sound will change after 'burned-in'.

QUOTE(cokelatpanda @ Dec 7 2011, 08:51 AM)
Use the audio burner while you sleep, 7 hours per day+/-, within a week you can spot a difference.
You mean pink noise and white noise?

QUOTE(cokelatpanda @ Dec 7 2011, 09:19 AM)
Thanks! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(hongrui @ Dec 7 2011, 09:24 AM)
i prefer using music to burn in rather than white/pink/brown noises. so that at any time i can just pick up the headphones, listen, before throwing it back to continue burning in. and i go for the kind of long burning in without stops. i burn in for 4-5days x 24hrs before a 12hours break and then another 4-5days.
Will try this as well, LOL! biggrin.gif

Can you recommend something for my HD 598?

Currently pairing with Fiio E10, looking to drive it to the max, thx.

This post has been edited by Ask_Yip: Dec 7 2011, 08:49 AM
Ask_Yip
post Oct 12 2012, 11:07 AM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 12 2012, 11:05 AM)
2stepdance cool2.gif
This?

http://www.meier-audio.homepage.t-online.de/2stepdance.htm

How much?
Ask_Yip
post Oct 12 2012, 11:09 AM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 12 2012, 11:08 AM)
yep yep, hould be around rm1000+
OK, thanks blush.gif
Ask_Yip
post Oct 12 2012, 01:18 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 12 2012, 11:13 AM)
or maybe ibasso you can  try
I tot this is same league with E7?

Find me desktop setup that can replace E7/E9 combo to drive my HD 600, budget below 1000, tq.
Ask_Yip
post Aug 18 2014, 06:22 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(psychoactive @ Aug 18 2014, 05:14 PM)
What do you mean by problem caused by increasing volume in media player?
Usually we are maxed up all the volume control within the player/system, to avoid data clipping to decrease the quality, Alternatively the better way is to use media player like foobar2000 and use ASIO/Wasapi to completely avoid the situation.
Only adjust the volume level on your AMP.  nod.gif
To add more, if you have a shiat source (on board sound card, low quality mp3, low quality recording), amp up will only increase the shiat to double shiat. So I suggest you to get your source right first before you amp it up.
Ask_Yip
post Aug 18 2014, 10:03 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(hsiungz @ Aug 18 2014, 08:52 PM)
i got confused whn i reread oso, its smthing like amplifying shiat like said, i guess fiio really is the best bang for buck?
Yes, bang for buck.

And ifi also, you can have a look.
Ask_Yip
post Aug 21 2014, 12:10 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(chabuchabu @ Aug 21 2014, 11:51 AM)
It is better to use DAC/AMP or should I go for DAC only then combo with my 306a ?
I would suggest separate, easy for you to upgrade later.
Ask_Yip
post Aug 28 2014, 08:49 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(lolokzarecool @ Aug 26 2014, 03:21 PM)
Thanks for the reply.

Roughly a Aune T1 is around RM580 right??

How does the combo E17+E09K work exactly? From my understanding E09k itself is a desktop amp+dac already is it?? Whats the E17 there for? x.x sorry quite noob at this stuff.
Oh also how much does the E17 anb E09K cost respectively??

E07k vs E17? E17 much better?
If you plan to upgrade later or plan to use 600 Ohm headphone then go for the E17+E9k setup.

I myself is using the E7+E9 setup, the old version of E17+E9k for quite some times, happy with it.

One thing is E9k won't give you ability to alter the sounds - add bass add treble, you have to do it with electronic EQ if you want to. For me I don't like EQ. tongue.gif
Ask_Yip
post Aug 28 2014, 09:03 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(psychoactive @ Aug 28 2014, 09:01 PM)
I personally tried to feed the dac stage to E09k from my T1... it sounds better than E17+E09k LOL  doh.gif
Now I paired it with DACMagic also sound lot better biggrin.gif

You get what you paid for
Ask_Yip
post Sep 1 2014, 08:48 AM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Aug 31 2014, 02:37 AM)
To drive a 600 ohm headphone using E9K is a bit overrated it  tongue.gif
Even driving a 250ohm dt880 to me, it's merely pass the listenable stage if compare to its full potential.
But again, it is very subjective. as long as you are happy with it  biggrin.gif

And Ya, NO EQ  rclxms.gif
If someone really like to alter the sound so much, get yourself a tube amp or dac and start tube rolling. Get the bass and treble or whatever sound signature you want.
And also play with cables, interconnects, adapters, receptacles, change fuse and what so ever. Do it in a more natural way.
I do think source and DAC is the control factor, as long as the amp can let me listen to the volume I want without distortion, I am OK with it.

Budget mah... brows.gif

0.0455sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:51 AM