21 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Hobbies Fishing Thread V9, Let the reels go crazy!

rorytate
post May 17 2012, 04:43 PM

I second Bro Daddy's comment.

It could also due to the excessive oil/grease in the bearing that is causing that as well.

Fluidity of the bearing should be maintained throughout all RPM. You could probably get a immediate RPM during the initial cast(due to the pressure induced) but since the viscosity of the oil is high, it will generally slowed down the RPM quickly causing short distance, otherwise bihun.

However, these are just the logics

The general rule is
Moving gears = grease
Bearings = low visco oils
rorytate
post May 17 2012, 05:31 PM

Jurassic TT 2012

Updated list (17/5/2012 at 9.30am)

1. Rorytate - Vincent - 012-2877814 (+3 friends) - Deposited
2. Inv - ming - zero one zero- two two 130 two two. - Deposited
3. mika_84-michael-0129050522 - out!
4. wai1460 - Wai - 016-5215757 - Deposited
5. evildonkey - Alex - 0124559937 Deposited
6. Ivanlim - Ivan Lim - zero one two 324 two nine two one - Deposited
7. Kayent - Ken - zero one six 8678062 (+4 extras anglers)
8. 1Dollar - Dan - 01 22 00 55 22 - Deposited
9. Kumanosuke - Mok - zero one two six 88 two 8 four two
10. wetwetwater - Kelvin - zero16 - 666 2929
11. vng69 - Varren - 012-976 two three five 7 (+2 friends)
12.vioxmonsta-Aaron -016-2806626
13. purple - 012 3098272 - Deposited

Total of 21pax now!!

The participation will close on Thursday 12pm. Please take note.

- OFFICIALLY CLOSED FOR REGISTRATION -

I will request for deposit of RM50 for this TT as a deposit to the Jurassic Pond owner.

Kindly remit RM50 to
Maybank Berhad
Gan Chee Hong
vincentchgan@gmail.com

Once remittance done, please do capture screen and email me the transaction copy.

For those that is bringing friends, please remit altogether into my account.

Would there be any doubts, please do not hesitate to contact me at 016-2110891 or 012-2877814

Also, i will be available on coming Friday afternoon at 3.30pm at Kepong Tackle. Anyone going for shopping? 18/5/2012

1. Rorytate
2. Viox
3. Kuman

Added on May 17, 2012, 5:33 pm
QUOTE(daddyVW @ May 17 2012, 05:21 PM)
yup... thats make sence as well...  biggrin.gif  actually secrect lies on your thumb...  thumbup.gif

anyway, you guys should kacau bro rory as much as posible during coming TT... practical more important vs theoritical... see with eyes and felt it, you'll understand better... icon_rolleyes.gif

MuaHaHaHa... laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  cabooottt...
YOU COME BACK~!!!!! *chase chase

Actually, you guys should kacau bro Daddy too... i only learnt from him wink.gif

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 17 2012, 05:33 PM
rorytate
post May 17 2012, 06:37 PM

Bro Daddy,
I sell to you at cost la. tongue.gif

Bro 1Dollar,
Haven't heard of nor used before. Since you said its mono plus fluoro and stretchable, my take would be not so applicable to luring due to sensitivity. Just my 2 cents. smile.gif
rorytate
post May 17 2012, 09:27 PM

QUOTE(wetwetwater @ May 17 2012, 07:40 PM)
Wow learning a lot here. Am using a curado e7 but no way in casting something below 5g. Really need to master this. Haven't been casting for a long while.

Rory,
What oil n grease do you recommend? Can't seem to find any good ones. Need to get some and give the internals of my curado a good wash.
Bro WWW,
E7 is having lighted spool and basically with ARB bearings. It should be able to spin with light nudge. Give a test:
1. Tape the remaining line onto the spool
2. Zero your centri 4x4 SVS
3. Loosen your tension knob
4. Nudge or a light spin

If the spool spins with more than 10-15secs, then it's not major. Otherwise, just clean the bearings and relube.

I am using QPlus QP101 which is a spray grease for internal gears. The spray will slowly form into grease and while it's forming the sprayed liquid would be able to penetrate into places we could not reach.

As for bearings, am using Daiwa oil. Occasionally I would use the Teflon too but a very regular check up to prevent dried bearings. Teflon have good visco but thin, causing dryness in the bearings.

I uses the Daiwa DSG505 for my drags, be it carbonmatrix or leather type. A light brush covers all the surface of the drag and wipe clean, leaving a thin layer of whitish grease.

Added on May 17, 2012, 9:36 pmBro Kayent,
Confirmed and acknowledged. I will update tomorrow. Now loading using phone, damn slow.

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 17 2012, 09:36 PM
rorytate
post May 18 2012, 10:54 AM

Jurassic TT 2012

Updated list (17/5/2012 at 9.30am)

7. Kayent - Ken - zero one six 8678062 (+4 extras anglers) - Deposited
9. Kumanosuke - Mok - zero one two six 88 two 8 four two
12.vioxmonsta-Aaron -016-2806626

Total of 21pax now!!

I will request for deposit of RM50 for this TT as a deposit to the Jurassic Pond owner.

Kindly remit RM50 to
Maybank Berhad
Gan Chee Hong
vincentchgan@gmail.com

Once remittance done, please do capture screen and email me the transaction copy.

Would there be any doubts, please do not hesitate to contact me at 016-2110891 or 012-2877814

Also, i will be available on coming Friday afternoon at 3.30pm at Kepong Tackle. Anyone going for shopping? 18/5/2012

1. Rorytate
2. Viox
3. Kuman

Added on May 18, 2012, 11:04 amThis are the lubricants that i'm using.

QPlus - QP101

Daiwa Reel Oil

Daiwa DSG505

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 18 2012, 11:04 AM
rorytate
post May 18 2012, 11:56 AM

QUOTE(1dollar @ May 18 2012, 11:46 AM)
TGIF!! so what you all getting from Kepong ??
Nothing for me. Just assisting Kepong to make more business and angler buddies to get the required stuffs... LOL I should have asked for commissions. hahahahah biggrin.gif

Added on May 18, 2012, 11:57 am
QUOTE(daddyVW @ May 18 2012, 11:53 AM)
shocking.gif  tak balik modal ler like this...  sweat.gif

MuaHaHaHa...  laugh.gif

Added on May 18, 2012, 11:54 am

no need to mention lah... small matter...  icon_rolleyes.gif
Muahahaha...

Your modal will be coming soon early June 2012... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 18 2012, 11:57 AM
rorytate
post May 18 2012, 02:56 PM

Arbor knot.

Practically any knot also can one ler... as long as it doesnt slip when you reeling in lines. Question is: How often you fight a fish till the base of the line?
rorytate
post May 18 2012, 11:18 PM

QUOTE(chun @ May 18 2012, 07:59 PM)
was wondering y never mentioned the revo elite ib in your dual braking section...  sad.gif

oh... i just noticed that if u google for "revo elite ib" my full review in the forum will come up... no 1 in google bro! icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif

i can vouch for the cheapo banax armis...(about RM140 at that time) that day just took out after sitting in my storage for a yr +. took it out and check... still running smoothly... very good beginner bc to use... used it for more than 3 yrs liao... and i just noticed it's only like 17g heavier than my Revo. like rory mentioned, Besides light lures everything else excellent...
Sorry bro Chun,
It was a topic of casting light lures. No doubt I have casted a while using your reel but I didn't really messed with your brake setting. As a matter of fact, I didn't even know the setting you set your brakes. I just cast away. smile.gif perhaps you could add into the list of your setting into that post?

I vouch for Abu Garcia Revo Elite IB and Banax Armis
rorytate
post May 19 2012, 07:59 AM

QUOTE(kumanosuke @ May 19 2012, 01:23 AM)
bro Rory and Viox,

thank you for today's guidance in Kepong Tackle.

Luckily today my wallet didn't koyak else i need to take out my credit card.

So next thing would be reel. Just now Rory said budget around RM200+ is a bit little, so what is the recommended budget to get a decent reel which can use on fresh and also seawater ? and what are the brands & models ? 

what was the name of the tackle shop in Cheras that u guys mentioned just now ?
Bro Kuman,
No worries. All guidance to breed a healthy angler smile.gif

I mention RM200 is abit little to get the whole set, not the reel. A 200 bucks reel is way more than enough.

Ocean Sea Tackle

Bro Chun,
I am still having my scratchy head over the IVCB system. Be it 4 or 2, I still cast the same distance, no matter what the setting are. Pretty weird.

Added on May 19, 2012, 9:29 amJurassic TT 2012

Updated list (19/5/2012 at 9.30am)

9. Kumanosuke - Mok - zero one two six 88 two 8 four two - Deposited
12.vioxmonsta-Aaron -016-2806626 - Deposited

Total of 21pax now!!

Kindly remit RM50 to
Maybank Berhad
Gan Chee Hong
vincentchgan@gmail.com

Morning All Participating Angler for Jurassic TT,

Questions:
BBQ or Eat Out?

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 19 2012, 09:32 AM
rorytate
post May 19 2012, 10:41 AM

Bro WWW,

Shimano is having an event this weekend at Mid Valley. Am unsure if it's open to public but they are launching new products.

If they do sell, today and Sunday would be a good day to hunt for some arsenals.. smile.gif
rorytate
post May 19 2012, 11:31 AM

QUOTE(daddyVW @ May 19 2012, 11:16 AM)
MuaHaHaHa...  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  Abu Garcia should sponsor you for more write up lar bro...  icon_rolleyes.gif
Sifu Chun did get some from Abu Garcia also what...hahahah

Added on May 19, 2012, 11:35 amSifu Daddy,
It's not because of the casting ability. Just wondering of how the IVCB4 works.

I have tried with
1. IVCB4 with 4 pins, max brake
2. IVCB4 with 2 pin, max brake
3. IVCB4 with 4 pins, zero brake
4. IVCB4 with 2 pins, zero brake
5. IVCB4 with 0 pin

All the setting above without bihun, casting a 4 gram lures and obtaining 20~30m distance.

So tell me, how does the IVCB4 works? smile.gif

Added on May 19, 2012, 11:45 amJurassic TT 2012

10. wetwetwater - Kelvin - zero16 - 666 2929 - Deposited

Total of 21pax now!!

Questions:
BBQ or Eat Out?

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 19 2012, 11:45 AM
rorytate
post May 21 2012, 09:18 AM

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ May 20 2012, 12:04 AM)
If you have a boat then you can get big ass tomans at the Kepong park. If you're fishing from the side,i'd say its a waste of time..
Bro Max,
Thought that Kepong Metro lake does not allow fishing or boating?

Did went in once, but there is not much activity except for large splashes in the middle. Likely it's Patin or Sheephead smile.gif

Added on May 21, 2012, 9:19 am
QUOTE(coolingwater @ May 20 2012, 01:38 PM)
Hey guys, a fellow angler here, well an amateur angler. Used to fish a lot with my dad 6 years back, but thinking of doing some fishing again with my dad soon.

Just wanted to ask if there is any nice play to fish around Selangor? Don't quite fancy the paid ones but i'll give it a shot. Thanks in advance

Added on May 20, 2012, 1:38 pmHey guys, a fellow angler here, well an amateur angler. Used to fish a lot with my dad 6 years back, but thinking of doing some fishing again with my dad soon.

Just wanted to ask if there is any nice play to fish around Selangor? Don't quite fancy the paid ones but i'll give it a shot. Thanks in advance
Hi there Cooling Water!
Welcome in! If you prefer hunting in the wild, there are a few places but it's outskirt of KL. At times, i even travel day trip to Ipoh or Johor to hunt for fishes. smile.gif You could consider viewing Google Earth and select your preference of pond. smile.gif

Added on May 21, 2012, 9:21 am
QUOTE(kumanosuke @ May 20 2012, 08:11 PM)
nice  drool.gif , anyone here got boat ?
I have boat and thruster, currently looking into some low horsepower engine for casual retreat. smile.gif

Added on May 21, 2012, 9:22 am
QUOTE(kayent @ May 20 2012, 11:23 PM)
I missed out on the exhibition too. Last night went fish before cpl n all I get is a foul hooked tilapia. =.=
Morning Bro Kayent,
What is CPL?

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 21 2012, 09:22 AM
rorytate
post May 21 2012, 09:29 AM

QUOTE(inv @ May 21 2012, 08:35 AM)
I saw a uncle keep foul hooking tilapia n parrot fish to take home yesterday in Subang lake., I felt so disgusted and angry. How are my PBs gonna grow when their food source is being depleted this way?!?!... Grr...
Well, Bro Inv,

Sigh~

Allow me to voice my thoughts, in relation of this scenario smile.gif

You see, many years ago there was not any Peacock Bass in any lakes. All started from Perak if not mistaken and slowly after all these years, PB penetrates into our water system and grew in large number. Till today.

I would say, it's human that is causing all these.

Even the same FishZilla story in US, where it's a species of snakehead(channa family). Same shit, from a fella who bought it and released it into the lake.

And now, treble hooking fishes for the fun of the fishes. It's INHUMANE! These little talapias or parrot fish are not huge nor consumeable, but they just do it for the sake of fun...

I pledge you and the rest of our members in this forum to practise Catch N Release and be a responsible Angler. smile.gif I would do anything that i can afford to assist in any way. smile.gif

Added on May 21, 2012, 9:33 am
QUOTE(inv @ May 21 2012, 08:45 AM)
There are quite a few free ponds in selangor and the problem of free ponds is that the pond is most likely have been depleted by greedy anglers.

Paid ponds are usually more well maintained and the bite rate should be higher as well.
Bro Inv,
Besides depleted by greedy Anglers, they also tend to provoke robbery in which i've heard of a few time.

Added on May 21, 2012, 9:35 amAnyone bought extras of the powerpro line that could spare me a reel?

Just need some 15~25lb range.

Added on May 21, 2012, 10:46 amHi All,
Update on the Jurassic Pond

Have just spoken with the pond owner and obtained some information for the fishing on the 2nd June 2012

He suggested to start with soft plastic lures. Examples are like below.

softplastic grub with jig heads

Softplastic lure with moulded jighead internally

The recommended size would be from 3inch to 12cm. Any colour will do. smile.gif

So fellas, stock up a few, perhaps a pack of 3 would do.

Jurassic TT 2012

Total of 21pax now!!

Questions:
BBQ or Eat Out?

Please advice leh Anglers... smile.gif

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 21 2012, 10:46 AM
rorytate
post May 21 2012, 11:32 AM

QUOTE(chun @ May 21 2012, 11:02 AM)
bro, since when I get sponsor from Abu? borrow test rod ada la...  drool.gif
LOL .... BEtul!!! ABS!!!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif or maybe

Er....  IVCB4 = I VillNot Cha Beehoon x4  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
muahahahaha.... you really made me flop my chair~!

Field tester ma
rorytate
post May 21 2012, 12:24 PM

QUOTE(1dollar @ May 21 2012, 12:05 PM)
Bro are you referring to the KD forrest reserve lake right after the Polo club ?
That place plenty fishes i tell u,.. just matter if you dare to cast light line in,.. the amount of weeds growing wild is damn irritating.
I know cos i lost on in there, I rig a weedless jighead and still lost it.
That lake got haruan, PB, arowana, talapia, toman, damn a lot of tortise, soon hock, heard got patin also.
I've seen the first 4 types with my own eyes swiming around teasing you,.. the fishes there telling you,.. "come waste your lures in here"
Think i will load a 60lb line and rod go there and get my revenge. Love the place and the serenity and the peaceful lush greens. Water slapshes happens as frequent as every 2-3 minutes.

There is another pond in KD, behinds Covar condo, heard got 4-5 kg tomans in there.
Bro 1Dollar,
Can set up a 1/2 day trip there?

Me and Bro Chun have both inflatable boat and fiber boat

Possible to launch a boat there? Since it's not huge place, i propose that we use paddle enough liao. No need thruster also smile.gif
rorytate
post May 21 2012, 12:30 PM

Bro Kayent,
Sounds good. Will hunch up something with Sifu Chun about this.. smile.gif

Bro Chun,
You game?

Added on May 21, 2012, 12:30 pmBTW, when was the last you guys were there fishing?

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 21 2012, 12:30 PM
rorytate
post May 21 2012, 12:48 PM

wahwahwah...
RM10grand leh... But you or Bro Kayent personally, have seen people with boat there?
rorytate
post May 21 2012, 01:05 PM

Weeds is good... smile.gif

It provides hiding place for the fishes to ambush on the baitfishes.

I would use small minnow and plastic frogs to hunt them. Also 2~3 meter diver lures is good to use, especially rolling them by the side of the weeds.

So when are we going? Am just concerned of the authority nia smile.gif
rorytate
post May 21 2012, 01:18 PM

Bro Fookie,
Jigging? Game?

Added on May 21, 2012, 1:22 pmJurassic TT 2012

Total of 21pax now!!

Questions:
BBQ or Eat Out?

Please advice leh Anglers... smile.gif

Another good news, besides Rapala giving freebies, Rod n Line magazines will also be giving some freebies to us. I will cover this TT to publish in the magazine smile.gif

Added on May 21, 2012, 1:23 pmBTW< please answer me ler...

Makan there or we eat out??

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 21 2012, 01:23 PM
rorytate
post May 21 2012, 01:52 PM

Ok then... Since it's all voting for eat out, we all eat out after dinner. smile.gif.

21 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0834sec    0.78    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:42 PM