21 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Hobbies Fishing Thread V9, Let the reels go crazy!

rorytate
post May 10 2012, 05:57 PM

1. Rorytate - Vincent - 012-2877814
2. Inv - ming - zero one zero- two two 130 two two.
3. mika_84-michael-0129050522
4. wai1460 - Wai - 016-5215757
5. evildonkey - Alex - 0124559937 (Any other weekend aside from the coming one)
6. Ivan Lim - zero one two 324 two nine two one (as long as not early morning)
7. Kayent - Ken - zero one six 8678062 (+3 extras anglers)

Bro Chun,
Tentatively on the 2nd of June 2012. Time expected to be around 3.30pm~4pm
rorytate
post May 11 2012, 10:10 AM

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ May 11 2012, 12:51 AM)
Using BC need swivels to snap on the lure too? Or direct to main line?
Bro Viox,
IF you are using braided line, preferably connect to a shock leader. Look up the braid to shock leader - FG Knot. Learn how to tie. If still not catchy, i'll guide you during the TT.

Rationale of using shockleader.
1. Braided line are sensitive cos of the non stretchy factor.
2. Braided lines are not abrasion resistance since it's actually multistrain of thread to become a end product.
3. Shock leader have higher abrasion resistant as well as slight stretchy, preventing the line to bust when fighting fish.

As for the snap, most of the anglers i saw uses them for quick change of lures. I would recommend to use these below. Some of the snaps are actually limiting the action of the lure. Refer to the pics below, i'll explain later why certain snaps are crappy for luring.

This is the most shocking snap i ever seen. First time seeing it also. No Go! Too limiting movements to the lures. Not forgeting, some lures eyelet is small and does not have split rings.

The regular haruan snap. Good for froggy but not lures. This snap also tends to slip and open under pressure.

This snap looks sturdy and strong, but unfortunately the shape of it is limiting the movements and freeplay of the lure. No Go!

Now the above 2 are the regular ones for luring. For my personal preferences, the DuoLock snap(1st picture above) is allowing much free play to the lure. It is also thin and lightweight, which again does not hamper the action of the lure. Recommend to get reputable brands like Rosco. As for the 2nd picture, it is known as Cross Lock Snap. Personally, i use the cross lock when going to hunt in the wild. It is slightly heavier compared to duolock and stronger too.

As for the swivel, some like to use snap with swivel and some dont. I dont see any differences in strength but if you are fishing for finesse or heavy pressure place, please do avoid the swivel. As it does contain some weight, the action of the lure have to be precise and extra weight is a nono. Also, i never seen a baitfish holding a swivel and swim all over the place...LOL. Ultimately, the right method, the right speed = for the right lure = for the right fish.

Hi All,
Personal opinion on the Jurassic arsenal set up.

Recommended:
1. Rod - 8-17lb spinning or casting
2. Line - 20lb

If you use light weight rod, you may not be able to cast a heavy lures. Eg: if you use 4-12lb rod, likely you can only cast around 1/3 ounce or 1/4 ounce. 1 ounce is 28gram. Anything lure heavier will cause damage to the rod during cast.

As for the line, it's just a recommended poundage. If you would like to try lighter line, it would be more challenging and not forgetting higher chance of busting the line. smile.gif Since many of the Anglers here are new to luring, the 20lb line is just a recommendation from me smile.gif

Updated list for the Jurassic TT (11/5/2012)
6. Ivan Lim - zero one two 324 two nine two one (as long as not early morning)

Any more? If can come close to 20 would be excellent.

Added on May 11, 2012, 10:13 am
QUOTE(chun @ May 11 2012, 09:50 AM)
Bro, u sure not the new type kar? i know there's some newer version not as nice one leh... got photo ar? Or let me know where to go to check it out?
Metallic pearl white with yellow back (the one above is green)

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 11 2012, 10:13 AM
rorytate
post May 11 2012, 10:51 AM

Hmmn...

Anyone could not make it on the 2nd June 2012 besides Mika?
Or anyone prefer the 16th June 2012?

Please comment.
rorytate
post May 11 2012, 11:11 AM

Bro Daddy,
Hardly go buy lures anymore lar...

Beside some little RM12 froggy, for the past 3~4 years i didnt buy any lures already smile.gif You should know the reason what biggrin.gif

Bro Mika,
We practise democracy here, so the date is determined by all Anglers in this thread... Nyek Nyek Nyek!
rorytate
post May 11 2012, 11:14 AM

QUOTE(rorytate @ May 11 2012, 11:11 AM)
Bro Daddy,
Hardly go buy lures anymore lar...

Beside some little RM12 froggy, for the past 3~4 years i didnt buy any lures already smile.gif You should know the reason what biggrin.gif

Bro Mika,
We practise democracy here, so the date is determined by all Anglers in this thread... Nyek Nyek Nyek!
Ahh, correction. The other day i bought a lure...kekek Nampak like rainbow trout so bought the lure. Now it's in my office aquarium...hahahaha
VS

**Edited due to the lure picture too large. Thousand Apologies!

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 11 2012, 11:16 AM
rorytate
post May 11 2012, 11:26 AM

Hi Bro 1Dollar,
The rule of thumb for the lure vs single hook size

1. Lure with 2 eyelet
- Single hook shank length to be 1/3 of the lure body size. (does not include lip)

2. Lure with 3 eyelet
- Single hook shank length to be 1/4 or 1/5 of the lure body size. (does not include lip)

Examples of lures with single hooks.
Bad example

Good example

http://www.gerrysfishing.com/images/www.ge...0hook%20wkd.jpg
Good example on 3 eyelet.

Please take note of the hook points. Belly points down, tail points up.
rorytate
post May 11 2012, 11:58 AM

Bro 1Dollar,
Just buy 2 packs of split ring, and Owner single hook x 2 pack (likely 2 pack of 1/0 size).

The split ring plier as below
This one more towards big game like popping and jigging. Expected RM150

This is good for fresh water lures. RM20 with balance

Refer to the orange plier. SureCatch RM4.50 - i think! smile.gif

Caroline rig should work for haruan there.
rorytate
post May 11 2012, 12:29 PM

QUOTE(chun @ May 11 2012, 12:06 PM)
bro rory, we having the whole place for ourselves or it'll still be open to others? on that day?
Bro Chun,
No ler. We are not booking the whole place. We are just giving volume of pax to obtain longer fishing time only smile.gif Invite Edwin?

Added on May 11, 2012, 12:53 pmJurassic TT 2012

Updated list (11/5/2012)

5. evildonkey - Alex - 0124559937
6. Ivan Lim - zero one two 324 two nine two one
8. 1Dollar - Dan - 01 22 00 55 22

All in all there are 11pax. Still a few yet to confirm.

I will be requesting 50% payment for the Jurassic fishing fees, as the owner asking about to secure the number of headcounts.

As for the TT, i will sponsor a crate of beer with icebox. What would you guys like for food? Would there be a BBQ after the game or split home?

Added on May 11, 2012, 1:02 pm
QUOTE(1dollar @ May 11 2012, 11:13 AM)
6. ivanlim - Ivan Lim - zero one two 324 two nine two one (as long as not early morning)
8. Dan - 01 22 00 55 22

I am also trying to hook up some kakis probably 2 more.
Dont think my setup is any where near all you guys mentioned. I am on 10# Sufix 832 on a 30 series reel, rod rated 6-12lbs. i have 3 leaders to join 15, 20 and 25 lbs, Should be alright cause my drag can take up to 8kg.
Just saw Bro 1Dollar's comment.
Bro, your rod doubt can take 8kg pressure smile.gif Gotta watch out on that. Ultimately, i also dont think you need 8kg drag for the toman there. smile.gif

My calculation:-
Your reel: 8kg = 16lb tentatively
Rod rod max = 12lb
Line = 10lb
Leader = 15lb

All your gears is running below 16lb leh. Tak kan you want to fight the fish with a straight facing rod meh?? biggrin.gif

Allow me to suggest:
Try to obtain a 8-17lb rod - the concern is only on casting heavier lures like 16grams above.
Sufix 832 10lb is actually good enough but i reckon 15lb~20lb. Safe guard purpose la. smile.gif

Anyway, it's just a recommendation since most guys here are new to luring. When could your friend's confirm attendance?

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 11 2012, 01:05 PM
rorytate
post May 11 2012, 01:41 PM

Bro Inv,
Your setup is quite ok. Different from Bro 1$ due to your rod at heavier poundage.

Your rod is 8lb at tip and 14lb backbone, in which casting is not an issue. You may face difficulties when you pump in a bigger and heavier fish due to backbone being light. Lack of control either.

Also, your Curado 51E is having dartanium drag plate with about 8lb of drag. It would not be dead locking and the line will slip before reaching 8lb thus your rod, your line is actually safe. smile.gif

Since we are fishing in a clean pond(basically nothing at the base or kayu mati), you can use the 16lb line pair with 25lb leader. As a matter of fact, you will be enjoying the game more. smile.gif

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 11 2012, 01:46 PM
rorytate
post May 11 2012, 02:10 PM

Bro Inv,
Just sharing nia.

Any brand will do. I personally like to use Alpha-Ex as it is cheap and soft. Good for fresh water game. It's like RM10+- per pack nia.

I also uses vanish and other brands like Varivas and YGK too but more towards big game when necessary. These brands are much harder and could withstand extreme abrasion. However, if kena barracudas or any razor toothed predator, what leader also hancur and putus la biggrin.gif But of course depending on the size of the razor toothed ler. smile.gif
rorytate
post May 11 2012, 04:25 PM

LATEST NEWS!

New species of catfish found at Tasik Prima. It have not been seen by any part of the world.

I just took a photo of it. AWESOME!

Added on May 11, 2012, 4:51 pmBro Inv,
Need not that long ler... 5feet is actually enough. You see, we tend to cut our leader and re-tie after a few fish. Slowly the leader is going to be shorter and shorter. Conclusion, 5 feet is enough.

Bro Viox,
Nothing much to learn ler. Just sharing and TCSS nia.

Bro 1Dollar,
Knowing that the braided line is close to 0% stretch and not abrasion resistance, any sudden jerk of the line will bust the braid. Thus, by placing the shock leader will help esp, when the initial strike of the fish, when the fish head shake and when the fish run towards snags.

It's just like car. A car without absorber = the tyre take the absorption and it's not a comfy ride. But with the help of the absorber and tyre, it made the ride more comfortably.

On your lures, you can go get some the propeller frog. It is heavy and you can reach the distance. Best part it's not expensive and responsive by the Tomans..
Smaller lures also can be used, no worries about that. A popper would do just fine.

With your setup, you just have to be patience le. Play and chill.

Bro Chun,
Was it me? La La La...

Added on May 11, 2012, 4:26 pmBTW Bro Chun,
You can also invite those at FK.

Added on May 11, 2012, 4:30 pmFor Bro Inv,
The leader is usually double the poundage of the main line. Eg: 10lb main pair with 20lb shock. But again, that is just a guideline by many ler.

It also depending on the target and the place you are fishing too.

I have tried:
1. 10lb to 10lb
2. 10lb to 20lb
3. 30lb to 60lb
4. 30lb to 40lb

Eitherway, depending on your target and location

Added on May 11, 2012, 4:36 pmUPDATE:
Jurassic TT 2012

Updated list (11/5/2012)

All in all there are 11pax. Still a few yet to confirm.

I will be requesting 50% payment for the Jurassic fishing fees, as the owner asking about to secure the number of headcounts.

As for the TT, i will sponsor a crate of beer with icebox. What would you guys like for food? Would there be a BBQ after the game or split home?

Add in: I'll be bringing some lures for you guys to test. Mostly Rapala and Storm. Pakai kasi balik har....

Bro Chun,
May i ask for your sponsorship for the soft plastics?

Psst All Anglers, Bro Chun is the master of soft plastics.... FYI. I hope he didnt hear this... Pssttt......

QUOTE(rorytate @ May 11 2012, 04:25 PM)
LATEST NEWS!

New species of catfish found at Tasik Prima. It have not been seen by any part of the world.

I just took a photo of it. AWESOME!

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 11 2012, 04:51 PM
rorytate
post May 11 2012, 05:11 PM

QUOTE(1dollar @ May 11 2012, 04:58 PM)
thanks for all the tips Rory.
I have a few bottle of sweet red wine,.. i'll bring 2,.. wine and fishing ngam boh?

Now i know why ppl always report they catch bigger fishes,.. they hard half sober lol
Bro 1Dollar,
Many thanks for the generous offer of 2x bottle of wine. You bring the wine, I'll bring some glass.. wink.gif

Jurassic TT 2012

Updated list (11/5/2012 at 5pm)

9. Kumanosuke - Mok - zero one two six 88 two 8 four two

Btw guys, No one answered me on the dinner leh?? BBQ there or bust off after fishing??
rorytate
post May 11 2012, 09:03 PM

QUOTE(1dollar @ May 11 2012, 05:48 PM)
I am on for dinner, either bbq thre or we head to town and eat. If wife come and along and lepak no need entrance fee right ?
Bro 1Dollar,
As long as non Angling then it's fine. No charges for that. Well, it's just a rule implied by the pond owner. smile.gif Hope everyone understand.

Dear all participants for the Jurassic Pond TT,
My proposition of BBQ is just to spend extra time together. At the same time, we saved time and logistic since we're doing at the same place. Also, Bro Daddy is a Muslim thus if we heads to chinese restaurant is not quite feasible. smile.gif

As far as i understand and known, there is BBQ pit there available. We just need to bring a new set of net. Toilet and hand washing area are prudent there so no worries about oily butter fingers. Also, my intention is not to eat until kenot move... smile.gif just some bite kind of thingy nia.

I propose that we distribute the works and making our grand TT a great one smile.gif

If everyone is ok with the BBQ, i propose the below tasks.

Tasks
1. Drinks - cordial drinks with ice and cup. Non-halal drinks of wine and beer. (one stop at any grocery shop, but if any offering to buy altogether with food would be one stop)
2. Food - Chicken wing and sausages sufficient for the participants. Also on the paper plate and cup. (one stop at Carrefour)
3. The pit - Charcoal, metal net and skewer for BBQ function. (one stop at any hardware store, preferably the skewer can be brought from home if any)
4. Fridge - incl beer, ice and the 46qts icebox (Rorytate)

Oh well, that's just what i have in my rusty mind now. BBQ is after our game, NOT during our game. smile.gif

Please decide for in-house BBQ or eat out after game.... Any feedback is appreciated. smile.gif
rorytate
post May 11 2012, 09:30 PM

Bro Wai,
Totally agree with you. I just hope those place in the names are 100% available and no aeroplane nia smile.gif

As for the date, anyone ok if we set it on 16th June 2012?
rorytate
post May 11 2012, 09:58 PM

Ok then. As democracy Anglers votes for status quo, we remain on the same day. Am sure those missed the 1st Grand TT, there would be a second one very soon.

Updated list

Jurassic TT 2012

Updated list (11/5/2012 at 7pm)

3. mika_84-michael-0129050522 - out!
10. wetwetwater - Kelvin - zero16 - 666 2929

Added on May 11, 2012, 10:00 pmBro Viox,
Depending on your applications. If you are doing jigging, i would highly recommend bearing swivel if hitting the biggies. If jigging but target is around 5~10kg, then no need bearing le. smile.gif

For luring, just ordinary swivel is sufficient especially spinning reel.

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 11 2012, 10:00 PM
rorytate
post May 12 2012, 02:17 AM

QUOTE(chun @ May 12 2012, 01:25 AM)
walau... tiba tiba kena "put on table"  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

me no master la... still learning actually...

Can sponsor some soft plastics no issue la... ("IF" i'm going la  tongue.gif ) just that most of what I have not really suitable for the pond there wor... recommended SP there are paddle tails, those that I have mostly have those long split tails... sure kena bite off before u get hookup wan wor... but anyone wanna try no prob la... just that dunno if got enuff to go around or not only...  hmm.gif
No put you on table ler. You memang pro in SP ma. smile.gif Just bring some with jig heads if you have any spares

Added on May 12, 2012, 10:24 am
QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ May 11 2012, 10:28 PM)
Okok, I"ll leave rest of the question on the TT session
Well, TT is the next 2~3 weeks to go. All queries welcomed smile.gif

Added on May 12, 2012, 10:28 am
QUOTE(wetwetwater @ May 11 2012, 07:12 PM)
Jurassic TT 2012

Updated list (11/5/2012 at 7pm)

Bro WetWetWater,
I have your MSN somewhat but i dont recall who you are. Care to MSN or PM me?

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 12 2012, 10:28 AM
rorytate
post May 12 2012, 12:46 PM

Bro Daddy,
I know you prefer dildo lures...muahahaha

As for the food, can i still bill you for your share???
tongue.gif
rorytate
post May 14 2012, 09:18 AM

QUOTE(huh? @ May 12 2012, 11:47 PM)
kinda interested to join the TT.. how much is the damage? Rm100 if im not mistaken
Good Day Bro Huh?,
All is welcome for the TT. The damage would be RM100 for 4 hours. There will be strict ruling of the single hooks. Also there is information of the place in my earlier post, allow me to dig out and repost here. Please put in your nick, name and contact to the TT list.

Morning Bro Kumanosuke,
Wish to lepak with you guys too. But Monday is a no no to chill. Will be working at office full day today smile.gif You can PM bro Chun or Bro Daddyvw.

Morning Bro VNG69,
Mind sharing with all on the techniques that you implied at FV? as well as your baits?

As for the TT, please enlist yourself below.

Cheers all and have a great Monday BLUESsss~!

Added on May 14, 2012, 9:25 amHi All,
Personal opinion on the Jurassic arsenal set up.

Recommended:
1. Rod - 8-17lb spinning or casting
2. Line - 20lb
3. Any lures with single hooks.

If you use light weight rod, you may not be able to cast a heavy lures. Eg: if you use 4-12lb rod, likely you can only cast around 1/3 ounce or 1/4 ounce. 1 ounce is 28gram. Anything lure heavier will cause damage to the rod during cast.

As for the line, it's just a recommended poundage. If you would like to try lighter line, it would be more challenging and not forgetting higher chance of busting the line. Since many of the Anglers here are new to luring, the 20lb line is just a recommendation from me

The pay pond is famed for it's ferocious Toman and Haruan. It does not have any other type of fish besides these two Channa family. However, the pay pond is only meant for catch and release.

For the benefit of LYN anglers, he is willing to assist in making this a successful outing. He is offering RM100 for 4 hours of fishing. The best biting time would be from 4pm onwards till 8pm.

My proposal to the LYN anglers, is to pot luck with beer/drinks while fishing. In this case, everyone here in LYN will get to place a name to the face

I also intend to bring my sponsor for you guys to test some Rapala lures as well as some Shimano gears. There will not be any freebies but more towards the exposure and test of the rod/reel/lures.

Date: 2nd June 2012
Venue: Jurassic Pond Rawang

Jurassic TT 2012

Updated list (14/5/2012 at 9.25am)

6. Ivanlim - Ivan Lim - zero one two 324 two nine two one

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 14 2012, 09:38 AM
rorytate
post May 14 2012, 10:14 AM

Bro Max, do join us if you could... bring your partner and just chill smile.gif

Added on May 14, 2012, 10:43 amHave just communicated with Jurassic Pond owner, it is CONFIRMED for the booking on 2nd June 2012 3pm onwards.

Proposed Itenary as below:-
3.00pm - Meet up at Petronas Rawang
3.15pm - Arrival at Jurassic Pond
3.30pm - Ice Breaker introduction of each other as well as any questions about fishing, basically Talk Cock Sing Song
4.15pm - Game time!
8.15pm - Chill time till late! -end-

Petronas Rawang direction. (N3 18.653 E101 32.351)
1. Travel North South Highway towards North
2. Exit at Rawang
3. After toll, there will be T junction. Turn left
4. Travel straight a couple KMs, you will see Petronas on your left.
5. Park and wait smile.gif

Date: 2nd June 2012
Venue: Jurassic Pond Rawang

Jurassic TT 2012

Updated list (14/5/2012 at 9.25am)

6. Ivanlim - Ivan Lim - zero one two 324 two nine two one

Anymore? The more the merrier!

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 14 2012, 10:47 AM
rorytate
post May 14 2012, 11:22 AM

Hi Bro Vng69,

Great that you can join us for the TT. Am sure there are plenty that we can chat about on that day.

Perhaps next time you could try with some ikan seluang. Put the seluang on the hook and float your line. Usually the pacu loves ikan seluang. Otherwise you can try floating bread too. Honestly speaking, am no good for baits, hope that other Anglers would be able to advice further. smile.gif

21 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1086sec    0.45    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:05 AM