Hobbies Fishing Thread V9, Let the reels go crazy!

faujc99
post Apr 30 2012, 03:23 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Apr 29 2012, 12:31 PM)
Guyssss..
Fishing gathering next weekend?
where and when?

Added on April 30, 2012, 3:26 ambtw, any toman specialist here? quite a few questions need sorted out. plsss help, thx :

I'm still very very new to toman fishing, and this morning just caught my first weighing 3kg, was so super excited. But I think I still have too much to learn and a bunch of questions to ask, and will be very much appreciate if you can help. I list them all down as below:

1. I was using artificial lure, suspending I guess, as I only know there are 3 types, popper, suspending and sinking. Does all three actually works for toman? which is the best? is popper any good as it's on the surface all the time? also, is there only 3 types out there? wat difference does each makes regarding toman fishing? and also the technique to retrieve it, slow? fast? jerk jerk stop? the color?

2. After I got my first this morning, I can see quite a lot swimming up and down gulping air as the water was actually quite clear, but they just wont bite even the lure went past right in front of them... is it because they're spooked after the first catch? how long till they're "unspooked"?

3. When i decided to call it a day, i saw toman fries boiling just about 3 meters in front of me, then guess what, mama toman, sized nothing less than a meter, as thick as my thigh, came up and gulp air (no joke).. I cast towards the fry.. no response, tried until they went too far for me to cast still nothing.. I was wondering, shall i cast it on the fry, or further infront of the fry and retrieve it and passes the fry, or next to the fry, or how? I understood that papa and mama toman will guide the fry, but papa wont strike, is that true? wat i saw was papa toman? pls advice on this, as I've heard ppl saying u can cast ur slippers in and they will strike when they're guarding their fry, literally, is that true?

4. Is the techniques and tips for toman same for haruan?

This post has been edited by faujc99: Apr 30 2012, 03:26 AM
faujc99
post May 1 2012, 05:11 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(playoff @ May 1 2012, 01:16 AM)
hi
i am looking for foldable bucket
e.g https://www.google.com.my/search?hl=en&q=fo...-rZAYrJrAeCvqBh
Anyone know where can i find it?
Do u think the shop in Scott Garden has it?
just went scott garden yesterday, dont think they have it

faujc99
post May 2 2012, 01:35 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(num123 @ May 1 2012, 11:11 PM)
hi good day gentlemen

may i know if the fish will really survive if it is caught and released back to the water despite all the energy is used in tackling the fisher?
to make sure it survives, first of all u need to be extra careful when landing it, and when releasing it back, make sure it has the strength to swin again, for air breather fishes, make sure then have the energy to take a breath, hold them in the water first, if they got the strength to swim again then most probably they will survive
faujc99
post Jun 18 2012, 05:21 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Jun 16 2012, 06:13 PM)
anyone knows where i can get a cast net / throw net? thanks
come to puchong, opposite tesco puchong 2nd row there is a shop selling, means the back of the shop is facing tesco, only 2 rows of shops there so easy to find, outside selling birds, its actually an aquarium shop selling fish, but they sell rod, reel net etc.. price not too sure though

Added on June 18, 2012, 5:22 pm
QUOTE(chun @ Jun 18 2012, 01:51 PM)
oh sorry sweat.gif  wat type of baitfish? Don't think the tackle shops will have... may need to go to those kampung place to find lo.. smile.gif

Added on June 18, 2012, 2:20 pm

not familiar with the pricing of the items...  the ugly rod is it a heavy fiberglass rod? if it is u might want to consider lighter graphite rods like those from lemax (G7,president etc.), abu & fenwick also have some nice range , if u dun mind one piece can consider Rapala sportsman or Berkley rods within RM100-RM200. sorry a bit out of touch with new models, all i've mentioned are pretty old models la...  biggrin.gif

Saw online the citrus selling about RM200 (should be cheaper la... )
More importantly wat type of fish u plan on targeting first? then I guess the sifus here can recommend u a more suitable setup for that price...

If u ask me, i can only recommend wat I use myself. which is
Shimano Stimula 6-10lb, one of the best rod I've used, fairly light, nice to cast with, 4KG-6KG Siakap(paypond) still manageable  icon_idea.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif 
Ryobi Regno 8-17lb BC rod costs about RM150-RM200 very lightweight, nice feel to it, just that a little short butt. They also have Spinning rods, if u can find la...
Okuma Stealth 8-17lb BC 4 pc travel rod. Fairly light, very portable, a little stiff for that rating, but good for casting slightly heavier lures
Jarvis Walker - 2-8lb (or something like that) fiberglasss rod, can bend gau gau, very syok, use to be favourite for paypond, but nowadays use stimula more as nicer to casts with.
Berkley Cherrywood 1-5lb(i think) costs about RM70 many years back, super light, UL setup... seldom use unless go for talapia or small pb...
MajorCraft slicer 12-20lb - my heavier setup for AG and bersia toman. Super far casting heavy poppers.

If u ask me spinning reel, i'll always vouch for Ryobi Applause  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  bang for buck... kakakaka although some of the cheap shimano's (sedona, sienna) i'm using also not bad la...
any 12-20lb rod to recommend within RM200 other than MajorCraft slicer? planning to go sea fishing below 10kg fish, is it sufficient? or shud go heavier? tqtq

This post has been edited by faujc99: Jun 18 2012, 05:22 PM
faujc99
post Jun 19 2012, 11:23 PM

153 posts

hi guys, any idea which country's reels and rods are relatively much cheaper than here?
faujc99
post Jun 28 2012, 08:36 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(chun @ Jun 19 2012, 10:55 AM)
Abu garcia Conolon PE1-3 very nice for light jigging. My frend use for AG toman also syok.
any idea where to get abu conolon pe1-3? been searching a few shops, not selling.. tq
i'm in klang valley btw
faujc99
post Jun 29 2012, 05:25 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(chun @ Jun 29 2012, 11:07 AM)
Try calling ocean sea serdang (0389457725) or kepong tackle (03-6274-0460) or SS2 fishing fever (0379582623) before u go, so no need to purposely go lo brows.gif
true enuff, thx
btw checked with TCE, they only have 8-9feet long, no more shorter ones?as in not manufacturing nemore??
faujc99
post Jul 1 2012, 05:39 PM

153 posts

[quote=rorytate,Jun 30 2012, 10:13 AM]
Bro,
As far as i know,Conolon have 2 type. One is the fresh water type and the other one is towards jigging.

I doubt the info you got from TCE is not the jigging rod as you wanted the PE1-3

got it from kepng tackle yesterday paired with my new abu garcia cardinal 706...cant wait to start casting!! lol
faujc99
post Aug 6 2012, 06:23 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(turbonetics @ Aug 6 2012, 06:12 PM)
Anymore?
heard in fish valley they gonna change the RM5 pond to casting pond after raya..
btw, anyone with any advice on the CNR pond in fish valley? cant seem to get any fish,, advice on bait pls??
faujc99
post Aug 12 2012, 02:37 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Aug 12 2012, 12:14 PM)
Was in ulu yam, scout abit on the lakes, manage to seeĀ   toman fries, well I'm not sure  it's toman fries. All i see is bunch of small fish keep jumping at a same spot.like water boiling. Hmm.. any idea was did I saw?
toman fries are red in color, otherwise it could be predator fish feeding on those small fish, like they cornered them and feed.
faujc99
post Sep 4 2012, 04:28 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Sep 4 2012, 11:18 AM)
not forgetting it's a Volkey.

I almost bought one last month too biggrin.gif

Added on September 4, 2012, 11:31 amDate: Sept 23rd 2012

Water depth: 40ft ~60ft (shallow)
Jig weight: 40~60gram
Action: Popping, casting and jigging
Cost: RM135 per pax. Max out at 7pax.

This is what i propose.
Since it's only shallow water, thus need not extreme size reel or extreme rods. It would not be tiring too, cos casting with jigs or lure, it's just light weight. Perhaps i should call this Feather Jigging.. LOL

Rod: 8~17lb
Reel: Any size reel that can contain 100m of 30lb
Line: 25~30lb braid

As for jig, swivel, split rings, solid rings, 7lam of leader per rod will be all kawtim by me. No need to big any jig or terminal tackle, just use mine. If lost, so be it At least i could minimise costing for you guys

In this case, anglers just need to bring rod, reel and line only

OFBN Feather Jig
Date: TBA - Tentatively Sept
Venue: OFBN
Boat: 50+ feet (it's not a fast boat, will take 3 hours to OFBN, however it's damn spacious)

1. RoryTate
2. Chun
3. Fookie
4. QiW
5. Kumanosuke
6. PK

Added on September 4, 2012, 11:51 amPlease confirm the Feather Jig trip attendance....
hi rorytate, can still slot me in? OFBN, means u guys going out from port klang?
faujc99
post Sep 5 2012, 01:24 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Sep 4 2012, 08:21 PM)
think u can fill  fookie's spot since he pulled out. boat parked in klang not at the port. at sasaran
time? shud be ok, u guys gathering up b4 going sasaran? cuz i not so familiar with sasaran..went once only tongue.gif
faujc99
post Sep 5 2012, 06:03 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Sep 5 2012, 09:24 AM)
Hi Faujc,

Sure i could. Please enlist your nick, your name and your contact number.

Added on September 5, 2012, 9:26 am

Roger and noted, will take out your name

Added on September 5, 2012, 9:27 am

There will be gathering 1 week before the trip. This is to make known to each other as well as meeting up with the boatman. Not forgetting to arrange the transport too.

Added on September 5, 2012, 9:27 am

Roger that, will place a remark. Looking forward to see you and PK too!

Added on September 5, 2012, 9:30 amDate: Sept 23rd 2012 (update 5th Sept 2012)

Water depth: 40ft ~60ft (shallow)
Jig weight: 40~60gram
Action: Popping, casting and jigging
Cost: RM135 per pax. Max out at 7pax.

Since it's only shallow water, thus need not extreme size reel or extreme rods. It would not be tiring too, cos casting with jigs or lure, it's just light weight. Perhaps i should call this Feather Jigging.. LOL

Rod: 8~17lb
Reel: Any size reel that can contain 100m of 30lb
Line: 25~30lb braid

OFBN Feather Jig
Venue: OFBN
Boat: 50+ feet (it's not a fast boat, will take 3 hours to OFBN, however it's damn spacious)

1. RoryTate - confirmed
2. Chun - confirmed
3. Fau - confirmed
4. QiW - confirmed
5. Kumanosuke - pending
6. PK - confirmed

Bro Kuman,
Please confirm

Bro 1D,
You can slot in if you want.
my number 019-2042328 thx
faujc99
post Sep 12 2012, 05:20 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Sep 12 2012, 12:25 PM)
OFBN trip is 1.5 weeks away.
think we should all meet up for tt
when?
faujc99
post Sep 18 2012, 01:09 AM

153 posts

went PD fish from beach..was using prawn, white fruit, then saw a lot small fishes jumping, decided to pull out my virgin prawn lure..managed to get a barracuda rclxms.gif

0.0949sec    0.32    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:23 AM