4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Hobbies Fishing Thread V9, Let the reels go crazy!

chun
post Jun 7 2012, 01:37 PM

85 posts

yea the YGK color color line been using so many years liao still good... but i take care of it la... after every salty trip i'll remove the line from the spool and pass through fresh water la..
chun
post Jun 11 2012, 11:28 AM

85 posts

Hey guys, I plan to get this Pen Fishing Rod thingy for impromptu fishing while I do my traveling and have been looking around for some time, but mostly I found the cheap ones have really bad quality and was build as a toy rather than some proper fishing.

I found this website from U.S http://penfishingrods.com/shop/ and they claim that theirs is of much more quality than any others out there.. was quite skeptical until I saw some of the videos...

Not sure why the youtube thingy not working here... can check this link instead.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L4T8qT5q-V0

There's a lot more videos on the website..

Since I plan to get some, and they are charging me USD$20 for shipping no matter how many rods/combos that I am buying. So I thought that you guys want to join in and get some for yourself then we can share the shipping. flex.gif

1. Chun - USD$29.99 - NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1
2. Chun - USD$14.00 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath x1
3. Rorytate - USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1

Product page can be found here

http://penfishingrods.com/shop/products.php?category_id=13

If you only wan the rods, and not the reel there's only 2 type to choose from (but note that normal reels won't fit unless u make some modifications). Normally you can't buy the rods only, but because I'm already buying the combo sets, they allow me to addon to my order.

a) $14.00 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath and
b) $12.00 4' ft. 9" in. Pen Fishing Rod Extreme

I think both has a length (before extending) of about 8 inches.

I think bro Inv will want to get one to challenge the red tails.... notworthy.gif thumbup.gif kakakaka

This post has been edited by chun: Jun 11 2012, 02:14 PM
chun
post Jun 11 2012, 02:03 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Jun 11 2012, 11:49 AM)
Bro,
Just a thought. How about a cheap telescopic rod with a cheapo china reel?
not as small sized lor...definitely longer than 8inch... hmm.gif performance is another issue lo... keke.

Added on June 11, 2012, 2:06 pm
QUOTE(chun @ Jun 11 2012, 11:28 AM)
Hey guys, I plan to get this Pen Fishing Rod thingy for impromptu fishing while I do my traveling and have been looking around for some time, but mostly I found the cheap ones have really bad quality and was build as a toy rather than some proper fishing.

I found this website from U.S  http://penfishingrods.com/shop/ and they claim that theirs is of much more quality than any others out there.. was quite skeptical until I saw some of the videos...

Not sure why the youtube thingy not working here... can check this link instead.

Since I plan to get some, and they are charging me USD$20 for shipping no matter how many rods/combos that I am buying. So I thought that you guys want to join in and get some for yourself then we can share the shipping.  flex.gif

1. Chun - USD$29.99 - NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo!  x1
2. Rorytate - USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1
3. Inv - USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1
4. DaddyVW -USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1

If you only wan the rods, and not the reel there's only 2 type to choose from (but note that normal reels won't fit unless u make some modifications). Normally you can't buy the rods only, but because I'm already buying the combo sets, they allow me to addon to my order.

Added on June 11, 2012, 2:07 pm
QUOTE(inv @ Jun 11 2012, 01:07 PM)
Count me in for the same combo u guys are getting. Bring it on red tail! Roar..
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif Love to see u tackle the red tail on a 4lb bro!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by chun: Jun 11 2012, 04:20 PM
chun
post Jun 11 2012, 02:37 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jun 11 2012, 02:23 PM)
Chun add much name for the Goliath rod
??? hmm.gif hmm.gif

Added on June 11, 2012, 2:38 pmDid you mean that you want one USD$14.00 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath?

Added on June 11, 2012, 2:40 pm
QUOTE(daddyVW @ Jun 11 2012, 02:22 PM)
bro chun, just make sure after we bought that setup, you find place with that fish also aaa...  wink.gif
Here where got Bass wor? I know rawang pond Jeffrey mentioned they have a few LMB in the aquarium near the canteen place la... forgot to check it out also...

This post has been edited by chun: Jun 11 2012, 02:40 PM
chun
post Jun 12 2012, 11:27 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(chun @ Jun 11 2012, 02:03 PM)

I found this website from U.S  http://penfishingrods.com/shop/ and they claim that theirs is of much more quality than any others out there.. was quite skeptical until I saw some of the videos...

Since I plan to get some, and they are charging me USD$20 for shipping no matter how many rods/combos that I am buying. So I thought that you guys want to join in and get some for yourself then we can share the shipping.   flex.gif

1. Chun - USD$29.99 - NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo!  x1
2. Rorytate - USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1
3. Inv - USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1
4. DaddyVW -USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1
5. vioxmonsta -USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1
6. Qiw -USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1

Anyone else wants kar? if no one by end of today going to order liao... Hope that can make it in time for your UL showdown! kakaka

This post has been edited by chun: Jun 12 2012, 11:39 AM
chun
post Jun 12 2012, 01:48 PM

85 posts

fookie, u still go towfoo ka... maybe want to revisit la... so long liao... somemore u said 1 cast 1 fish ka? interesting....

Viox, might not be able to make it that day... that's y didn't put my name lo....
chun
post Jun 12 2012, 04:46 PM

85 posts

Since I plan to get some, and they are charging me USD$20 for shipping no matter how many rods/combos that I am buying. So I thought that you guys want to join in and get some for yourself then we can share the shipping.  flex.gif
5. vioxmonsta -USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1
6. Qiw -USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1
7. Icecube - USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1

I will be closing this soon... might need you guys to pay me 50% first cos scared my Credit card limit max out liao sweat.gif sweat.gif
chun
post Jun 12 2012, 04:55 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jun 12 2012, 04:50 PM)
What's d conversion rate? 2.10? whistling.gif
Sing dollar also higher than that lo... sweat.gif

According to xe.com current rate is at 3.18301 blush.gif blush.gif didn't know went back up recently sweat.gif

credit card sometime rate slightly higher...

Will calculate based on how much i purchase then devided equally on the shipping lo k...

I think RM60 per person first should be ok... then will get the balance from you guys when i hand to u guys lo...
chun
post Jun 12 2012, 05:03 PM

85 posts

yes daddy, saw the puchong shop selling that day... cheaper than getting from U.S

Very nice action... but will not use it in Rawang pond la... sure fast fast gone wan la..

Last time caught a momma toman in ganda with it... looks like sinking keli (according to usop)... kakaka
chun
post Jun 12 2012, 05:24 PM

85 posts

Since I plan to get some, and they are charging me USD$20 for shipping no matter how many rods/combos that I am buying. So I thought that you guys want to join in and get some for yourself then we can share the shipping. 
7. Icecube - USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1
8. EdwinC - USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1
9. William - USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1
10. kumanosuke  - USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1

Need you to bank in RM60 to confirm order smile.gif  I will PM CIMB account or Maybank Account. Will settle the rest when I pass you the item.

Got 9 liao thumbup.gif thumbup.gif brows.gif Anyone else?

This post has been edited by chun: Jun 12 2012, 05:52 PM
chun
post Jun 12 2012, 05:26 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Jun 12 2012, 05:07 PM)
Which one woo???  hmm.gif
This one icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

chun
post Jun 12 2012, 06:07 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(kumanosuke @ Jun 12 2012, 05:35 PM)
Chun, I will take 1 unit

USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1

Gonna use it for Tilapia in Kelana Jaya.
Noted. Should be placing the order tonight... so if anyone else still want... fast fast let me know lo thumbup.gif
chun
post Jun 13 2012, 11:39 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(daddyVW @ Jun 13 2012, 10:18 AM)
you see on sifu chun photo with big toman... celoreng colour cloth can pull up to cover from neck to face.. wanna cover whole face pun boleh... MuaHaHaHa... laugh.gif
Yes nowadays quite easy to find liao... the one u see in the photo i think got from SS2 fishing fever about RM12+- but i hilang liao... the bought another one in a pasar malam in ipoh for RM10.

Toman besar cos camera "trick" bro tongue.gif tongue.gif icon_idea.gif
chun
post Jun 13 2012, 12:59 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(chun @ Jun 12 2012, 05:24 PM)

Since I plan to get some, and they are charging me USD$20 for shipping no matter how many rods/combos that I am buying. So I thought that you guys want to join in and get some for yourself then we can share the shipping.
8. EdwinC - USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1
9. William - USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1
10. kumanosuke  - USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1
11. kumanosuke's friend/ Chun Spare - USD$29.99- NEW 5' ft. 3" in. Pen Fishing Rod Goliath Front Drag Combo! x1

Need you to bank in RM60 to confirm order smile.gif  I will PM CIMB account or Maybank Account. Will settle the rest when I pass you the item.

Will be getting 11 units, if possible kindly bank in to me soon, cos i checked my credit limit... not enough sweat.gif sweat.gif

Added on June 13, 2012, 1:01 pm
QUOTE(rorytate @ Jun 13 2012, 12:57 PM)
LOL... was so skinny back then... biggrin.gif

Btw, where did we caught the featherback?? Forgotten ler
Walau so skinny... dun think i knew you then also... kakaka...

Finger in the picture... gave away the size of the fish liao lu... cool2.gif cool2.gif

This post has been edited by chun: Jun 13 2012, 01:01 PM
chun
post Jun 15 2012, 03:12 PM

85 posts

hey guys. So sorry this 2 days dam gau bz in office...

about to order the Pen Rods liao.. but stupid paypal charging 3.3 exchange rate even when USD drop to 3.14 today... will try again tmrw if still same rate then I'll proceed...

Added on June 15, 2012, 3:14 pmViox, haven't receive your pm reply ler..

pm me your number also if want to meet up.

This post has been edited by chun: Jun 15 2012, 03:14 PM
chun
post Jun 18 2012, 11:01 AM

85 posts

Paypal Charge me 3.27 exchange rate lo... sigh...

Anyways, orders made... will inform you guys when it arrives.

chun
post Jun 18 2012, 11:47 AM

85 posts

Reubs: don't think anyone here prefer/supports netting the fish smile.gif
chun
post Jun 18 2012, 01:51 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Jun 18 2012, 12:34 PM)
Its actually to catch bait fish. Thanks by the way
oh sorry sweat.gif wat type of baitfish? Don't think the tackle shops will have... may need to go to those kampung place to find lo.. smile.gif

Added on June 18, 2012, 2:20 pm
QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Jun 17 2012, 06:29 PM)
i just buy my rod and reel at seri kembangan

there a tackler shop doing combo sell

here what i brought

Shakespeare ugly rod  medium action (6-15lb)
abu gracia citrus 3000

and the shop owner throw in 1  roll of berkley trilene fishing line 20lb

for rm 360

is this expansive or nice deal ?
not familiar with the pricing of the items... the ugly rod is it a heavy fiberglass rod? if it is u might want to consider lighter graphite rods like those from lemax (G7,president etc.), abu & fenwick also have some nice range , if u dun mind one piece can consider Rapala sportsman or Berkley rods within RM100-RM200. sorry a bit out of touch with new models, all i've mentioned are pretty old models la... biggrin.gif

Saw online the citrus selling about RM200 (should be cheaper la... )

More importantly wat type of fish u plan on targeting first? then I guess the sifus here can recommend u a more suitable setup for that price...

If u ask me, i can only recommend wat I use myself. which is
Shimano Stimula 6-10lb, one of the best rod I've used, fairly light, nice to cast with, 4KG-6KG Siakap(paypond) still manageable icon_idea.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Ryobi Regno 8-17lb BC rod costs about RM150-RM200 very lightweight, nice feel to it, just that a little short butt. They also have Spinning rods, if u can find la...
Okuma Stealth 8-17lb BC 4 pc travel rod. Fairly light, very portable, a little stiff for that rating, but good for casting slightly heavier lures
Jarvis Walker - 2-8lb (or something like that) fiberglasss rod, can bend gau gau, very syok, use to be favourite for paypond, but nowadays use stimula more as nicer to casts with.
Berkley Cherrywood 1-5lb(i think) costs about RM70 many years back, super light, UL setup... seldom use unless go for talapia or small pb...
MajorCraft slicer 12-20lb - my heavier setup for AG and bersia toman. Super far casting heavy poppers.

If u ask me spinning reel, i'll always vouch for Ryobi Applause thumbup.gif thumbup.gif bang for buck... kakakaka although some of the cheap shimano's (sedona, sienna) i'm using also not bad la...

This post has been edited by chun: Jun 18 2012, 02:20 PM
chun
post Jun 19 2012, 10:55 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Jun 18 2012, 05:21 PM)

Added on June 18, 2012, 5:22 pm
any 12-20lb rod to recommend within RM200 other than MajorCraft slicer? planning to go sea fishing below 10kg fish, is it sufficient? or shud go heavier? tqtq
Abu garcia Conolon PE1-3 very nice for light jigging. My frend use for AG toman also syok.
chun
post Jun 20 2012, 11:50 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jun 18 2012, 07:45 PM)
Chun give u a call 2morow to reconfirm your pj location
Didn't get call from u also?? cool2.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0818sec    0.80    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:01 AM