Dell Alienware M15x LCD casemod, Project Currently ON A VERY LONG HOLD

TSrazor16190
post Jun 29 2011, 09:44 AM, updated 14y ago

74 posts

I had this LCD cover for a while now, bought separately back in 2010.
It was intended for a mod back then but I did not have the time.

Click on the photos to view in full size

Since I now have all the time in the world, laugh.gif
It was time to get the project moving nod.gif

1. Preparation

First remove the LCD hinges <-- photos not shown due to simplicity, removal of screws basically

Next, notice the black rubbery thingy on the M15x?

That has to be removed prior to sanding

1.1 Removing the black rubbery thingy

Flipping the back LCD case, we will find a sort of melted plastic (marked in red)

These are holding the black rubbery thingy into place and onto the LCD case itself.
Remove all of them by using a drill or rotary tool.

Slowly remove the plastic tabs one at a time. You should get the hang of it after the first few holes <-- sounds a little perverted laugh.gif
Anyway, I used a Dremel 300 series courtesy of NiclasTeoh

Flip it over, and now you should get:

remember also to cover up the Alienhead with waterproof tape, or simply remove it as seen here to protect it
form scratching due to sanding.

2. Sanding

Start off with a high grit sandpaper.

in this case i used a 150 grit

2.1 sanding progress

Wet sanding is optional

user posted image user posted image user posted image

The whole process was done using the 150 grit.
It should be sanded again with a finer grit (preferably 400 or 800) before priming the area to be painted

=========
26/7/2011
=========

Finally I decided to make it chrome instead.

No, not really, that's what it looks like after completely removing the paint. laugh.gif

At this stage im asking for some info regarding air brushing smile.gif

=======
30/7/2011
=======

After days of thinking and searching, i've decided to retrain my hands to
achieve previously owned steadiness laugh.gif

Yes, I will be using spray cans after all. nod.gif

Continue reading at post #2 icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by razor16190: Sep 30 2012, 05:26 PM
TSrazor16190
post Jun 29 2011, 11:03 AM

74 posts

Chapter 2:

Change of plans.
Depending on the situation and available materials,
the design to be made on the lid may not be using aerosol paint entirely.
I'm trying a different trick this time laugh.gif

The LCD lid has undergo a patchwork for the Alienhead.
Prior to filling the gap, the Alienhead has to be removed first.

3. Removing the Alienhead

The Alienhead will consist of 3 parts:

a) The electronics (with lighting - LEDs)
b) a rubber Alienhead in the middle (translucent in colour)
c) Hard Exterior Alienhead (attached to the lid)

Steps:
1. Take all the electronic parts off and put them in a safe place.
Disassemble them bare until you only leave the exterior Alienhead
2. Use a heat gun / hair dryer to soften the solidly secured Alienhead.
3. Pry the Alienhead off the side with a plastic pry tool / card

It should look like this upon removal.

**Reminder - you don't want to use hot air as you may melt it down, warm should be fine.

4. Filling in the gap

For this step, you may use putty (probably the same one used in auto repairs) or epoxy to fill in the gap.
I used a 2 ton epoxy for this one. The similar one used for my last inspiron casemod.

Steps for using epoxy:

1. Cover up the internal side of the lid with a flat material - preferably something thin and hard.
(i used a piece of acrylic)

If possible, fasten the material with some the Alienhead screws.

2. Mix a small amount of resin and hardener together.
3. Use a flat object (preferably a card) to apply the compound.
4. Leave the compound to harden overnight before proceeding to the next layer.
5. Repeat steps 1-3 until you have completely covered the gap.
6. The final layer should be in excess of the lid's height to ensure you have the enough coverage.
It will be sanded down at a later step.

This is what it looks like when you're done filling the hole.
As shown in the photo:

The process took about 3 days.

Currently looking for supplies of putty primer.
Probably ones from the Samurai line.

Suggestions?

To be updated soon

This post has been edited by razor16190: Aug 20 2011, 07:52 AM
TSrazor16190
post Jun 29 2011, 11:04 AM

74 posts

reserved
Dandy
post Jul 21 2011, 10:57 PM

193 posts

rich guy
TSrazor16190
post Jul 21 2011, 11:31 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Dandy @ Jul 21 2011, 10:57 PM)
rich guy
lol, not really sweat.gif
Jinster
post Jul 23 2011, 03:42 PM

Saber <3 VioletEvergarden <3
902 posts

1 month already..not done yet?
TSrazor16190
post Jul 23 2011, 04:02 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Jinster @ Jul 23 2011, 03:42 PM)
1 month already..not done yet?
Had other things to do. Besides i am still deciding which type of paint to use.
kyzson69
post Jul 24 2011, 01:32 PM

Psychiatric Patient
939 posts

I CANT WAIT TO C THE RESULT LAAA!!! laugh.gif
Mr.Docter
post Jul 24 2011, 04:17 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

This dude is awesome laugh.gif
TSrazor16190
post Jul 24 2011, 10:55 PM

74 posts

What should I have on the lid besides plain colour? Ideas please? smile.gif
trisx
post Jul 25 2011, 09:22 AM

Life is Full of BS eyh !
1,198 posts

maybe red and black? smile.gif
TSrazor16190
post Jul 25 2011, 09:24 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(trisx @ Jul 25 2011, 09:22 AM)
maybe red and black? smile.gif
you mean like this?

They already have that tongue.gif

This post has been edited by razor16190: Jul 25 2011, 09:24 AM
trisx
post Jul 26 2011, 11:18 AM

Life is Full of BS eyh !
1,198 posts

oh mai.try yellow? go bumble bee man tongue.gif
TSrazor16190
post Jul 26 2011, 03:53 PM

74 posts

I was thinking like something more artistic smile.gif

Anyway, anyone here has knowledge of an airbrush. Its been a while since I've used a can spray. Don't think my hands are as steady as before.
TSrazor16190
post Jul 26 2011, 06:59 PM

74 posts

first post updated laugh.gif
trisx
post Jul 27 2011, 09:56 AM

Life is Full of BS eyh !
1,198 posts

that's neat work man.nice job.
so now u wanna airbrush? u got the tools? air compressor, paint acc, etc.. ?
TSrazor16190
post Jul 27 2011, 10:22 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(trisx @ Jul 27 2011, 09:56 AM)
that's neat work man.nice job.
so now u wanna airbrush? u got the tools? air compressor, paint acc, etc.. ?
That is the problem im afraid. I don't even know where to start on airbrushing.
Did some research these few days and I found another option. Which is an airless paint spray.

Regardless, knowledge of both is useful smile.gif
trisx
post Jul 27 2011, 03:57 PM

Life is Full of BS eyh !
1,198 posts

yes2. knowledge is useful but the tools are more useful laugh.gif
Mr.Docter
post Jul 30 2011, 12:29 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

How about dark green with some black and white? Like camo! laugh.gif
TSrazor16190
post Jul 30 2011, 08:50 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 30 2011, 12:29 AM)
How about dark green with some black and white? Like camo! laugh.gif
Excellent! Mr.Docter, you have just reminded me of something laugh.gif

0.0237sec    1.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:21 PM