Jun 28 2011, 09:37 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
6,914 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
erm.....
sugar? to mask the flavor and smell of the med and maybe some form of reward(something or some activity the baby like?) to the baby after she take the med |
Jun 28 2011, 09:44 PM
1,015 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: lol |
This post has been edited by hoxy: Jun 13 2012, 09:49 PM |
Jun 28 2011, 10:08 PM
225 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
No la. Not ok.
First u need to find out, ur baby dont like that particular medicine or all medicine? Have u tried feeding her with a spoon? I assume she starrted solids already? My baby hates taking medicine with a syringe. So we use a spoon and she loves it! |
Jun 28 2011, 10:15 PM
This post has been edited by hoxy: Jun 13 2012, 09:50 PM |
Jun 29 2011, 09:03 AM
398 posts Joined: May 2010 |
When my son was around that age, he didn't like meds once in awhile..either with spoon or syringe. My hubby had to cradle him and I had to force it down his throat.
However, since he turned 1yo...he's ok with the meds...happily taking it and would even clap his hands once he is finished taking the meds. you can carry on cheering her..so that she will get the hang of it. |
Jun 29 2011, 10:03 AM
71 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
med feeding is always a nightmare time
the baby meds are already sweet la,so dont put extra sweetenings... u hv to find a way that best suits your kid i guess... i use picagari oso..try to distract them with toys or talk to them howw yummy the meds are.. ma & papa pretend to taste some and smile widely before offering to kid... this worked with my son after he was 1 yo... before that.. he would close his mouth and refuse to take at all, so since its a picagari, i will just carefully enter the tip of it between his lips and put little by little so he swallows it |
Jun 29 2011, 11:53 AM
10,429 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
try giving treats to make her take the medicine. For example, if she like chocolate or sweets or cookies.
Jun 29 2011, 12:13 PM
Jun 29 2011, 12:17 PM
maybe can substitute these sweets for those chewable vitamin c? My relative who is a doctor..gives out these (instead of lollipops or sweets) to kids who visits him.
Jun 29 2011, 12:18 PM
but for 7 month old, chewable vit C??
Jun 29 2011, 12:23 PM
hmm...true..maybe can put this aside when bigger..probably can entice with something that his daughter likes..ie fruits, raisins
Jun 29 2011, 03:00 PM
u guys are really kiasu. Make junk food sounds like poison. Nothing wrong eating some junk food once a while. If you want to be those hypercritical parents then I pity your kids.
This post has been edited by abubin: Jun 29 2011, 03:01 PM |
Jun 29 2011, 03:06 PM
Once a while is fine..but if you take medicine..lets say...3times a day.. which means you'll be giving 3x the junk food..and and lets say it last for abt 5 days..that's 5 days x 3 = 15.
That's definitely not once a while |
Jun 29 2011, 03:18 PM
Not asking to give the whole pack of junk food. Just some handful or few pieces will do. Aiyo..like that the kid whole life no need to eat fastfood and no outside food. MSG also a lot in outside food. No need to drink pre-packed fruit juice (cause all made from artificial sugar and chemicals). Even ribena proven to contain NO vitamin C as it's made of chemicals to taste like berries.
No need to watch TV or listen to mobile phones..cause got radiowave that can cause cancer to brain. Don't let the kid go out..cross road also can get knocked by car. Better lock the kid at home and chain him to the wall. Feed only water and bread. Sometimes milk..also can live. Won't get sick. Sure because 100% healthy kid. Home tutor, force him to read lots of books. Later grow up can be super healthy smart kid. I am sorry to this rant. Cause if it's one think I really can't stand it's hypercritical parents. They are so concerned with something and never think about anything else. But problem is, they can never be consistent with their "rules". It only apply to certain things but others they ignore. So it's considered hypocrite parenting. I totally do not respect these kind of people. It's like you tell your kid smoking is not healthy but then you are a smoker. This post has been edited by abubin: Jun 29 2011, 03:31 PM |
Jun 29 2011, 03:46 PM
it sounds like you are a perfect parent. congrats
Jun 29 2011, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(abubin @ Jun 29 2011, 03:18 PM) Not asking to give the whole pack of junk food. Just some handful or few pieces will do. Aiyo..like that the kid whole life no need to eat fastfood and no outside food. MSG also a lot in outside food. No need to drink pre-packed fruit juice (cause all made from artificial sugar and chemicals). Even ribena proven to contain NO vitamin C as it's made of chemicals to taste like berries. i guess a handful of junk food for a 7mo wont hurt... according to you.. No need to watch TV or listen to mobile phones..cause got radiowave that can cause cancer to brain. Don't let the kid go out..cross road also can get knocked by car. Better lock the kid at home and chain him to the wall. Feed only water and bread. Sometimes milk..also can live. Won't get sick. Sure because 100% healthy kid. Home tutor, force him to read lots of books. Later grow up can be super healthy smart kid. I am sorry to this rant. Cause if it's one think I really can't stand it's hypercritical parents. They are so concerned with something and never think about anything else. But problem is, they can never be consistent with their "rules". It only apply to certain things but others they ignore. So it's considered hypocrite parenting. I totally do not respect these kind of people. It's like you tell your kid smoking is not healthy but then you are a smoker. i dont practice strict parenting, when we eat choc/ice cream we let our toddler taste it, but to start this as young as 7mo, u dont know what damage u might be doing.. anyways to each their own... yr baby/kid is very lucky indeed |
Jun 29 2011, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(phythia79 @ Jun 29 2011, 03:46 PM) no I didn't say that I am perfect parent. I just hate being a hypocrite. So I try my best not to be a hypocrite. I like junk food myself. So I don't want my kids ask me why I eat so much junk food and why they can't eat any. I give them junk food if they want it. They should be allowed to taste anything they want. If they like it, supervise the consumption. I don't do stupid things like thinking junkfood is poison. It is not poison but it is unhealthy if too much are taken. It causes things like obesity and NOT death. So does eating lots of cakes. It's not junk food, but will you let you kid eat a lot of it?You remember the ads on cars cutting queue? Kids rushing to get into bus but then parent say to queue up. But when there is a traffic jam, the parent driving a car cut people's queue. Kids tell parents not to cut queue. That's hypocrite. I try my best not to do it but I still am hypocrite sometimes. The difference is, I realize it and not being ignorant about it. That is the kind of quality I want to teach my kids. Not about being ignorant about something or keep saying something it outright bad. I want them to know this world is full of greys. Do something and know it's balance between good and bad. Everything have it. Even ginseng, if drink too much is still not good. Child of 7 months old shouldn't even be drinking any medicine as it is harmful to them. Their own immunity will cure them. So why still feed them medicine? Cause you don't want them to suffer. The medicine will reduce the suffering. But some parents cannot see that. They just think medicine equals cure. Must eat. |
Jun 29 2011, 09:45 PM
This post has been edited by hoxy: Jun 13 2012, 09:49 PM |
Jun 30 2011, 08:28 PM
512 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Hope this helps.
Never mix the medicine with meds. Thats what people will always do. The milk taste horrible seriously. Masking the taste is the best method. Works for me all the time. I use Honey. First I give a small spoon of honey and quickly give the medicine then quickly give the honey again. If got 2 or 3 medicine then do it one at a time. Some say honey not good for children under 2yrs as may cause allergy thus try out a bit first or u can op for thick multivitamin syrup instead. However I notice many infant milk or foods are enriched with honey anyway. This post has been edited by henryhing: Jun 30 2011, 08:29 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0160sec
5 queries
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:28 AM |