Samsung Galaxy S i9000 Official Thread V19, Super AMOLED Screen with Gorilla Glass!

fishtail
post Jul 1 2011, 01:26 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Jun 30 2011, 11:31 PM)
any suggestions for backing up sms? .. i always use mybackup pro but wanted some alternatives ..
u can try sms backup and restore.
u can find the app in market.
But i think only for sms not mms.

Added on July 1, 2011, 1:29 pm
QUOTE(mstr583 @ Jul 1 2011, 10:30 AM)
So far no significant improvement on the signal. Not yet test the GPS.
i am on XXJVP and i feel that the GPS is good enough..xD
for the wifi sometime will a bit weak.But i duno is the router problem or my phone modem prob..
so wont care about it.Cox i use data network more.

Added on July 1, 2011, 1:31 pm
QUOTE(mendoksei @ Jul 1 2011, 11:18 AM)
guys, i wanna ask...... What is the usual RAM consumption? my phone constantly on 240+ leaving 80+ free at most  sad.gif .... is tat normal? if not how do i free some RAM? thanks ^^  biggrin.gif
u can use task manager to clear the ram...
or go in setting>> application>> running services
to clear the background process of some apps.
by the way u are in which android version?

This post has been edited by fishtail: Jul 1 2011, 01:31 PM
fishtail
post Jul 6 2011, 09:17 PM

80 posts

hey guys...sorry for my noob question..

hope u all would answer me...

can i just flash xxjvq de modem file to xxjvp...

cox i want try xxjvq geh modem...is it better in wifi signal..

thanks all
fishtail
post Jul 6 2011, 09:30 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(ckh93 @ Jul 6 2011, 09:25 PM)
Then i try it now  smile.gif

1) why not?
2) for me yes, better signal
ok thanks...
i will try the xxjvq modem..
cox i use xxjvp now and feel is ok and better den the official DXJV9, at least dun have the android system bug...lol

fishtail
post Jul 7 2011, 03:19 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(Koreyoshi @ Jul 7 2011, 01:37 PM)
how to switch to xxjvq modem?

can you explain the procedure if my version is XXJVP
if i flash the xxjvq modem to my xxjvp by using doin.

did i need to put the pit file or repartiton?

fishtail
post Jul 7 2011, 03:32 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(Something Else @ Jul 7 2011, 03:23 PM)
For flashing any modem, the procedure is the same. The easiest way is to flash via CWM, which has already been explained a few posts up.

if you want to flash via odin,
1. Put the pit512 file into the pit slot.
2. Put the modem file into the modem slot.
3. Switch your phone to downloading mode (volume down+home+power)
4. Connect phone to computer
5. Press start
fishtail
post Jul 7 2011, 03:38 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(Something Else @ Jul 7 2011, 03:23 PM)
For flashing any modem, the procedure is the same. The easiest way is to flash via CWM, which has already been explained a few posts up.

if you want to flash via odin,
1. Put the pit512 file into the pit slot.
2. Put the modem file into the modem slot.
3. Switch your phone to downloading mode (volume down+home+power)
4. Connect phone to computer
5. Press start
sorry for disturb again...

did i need to tick repartiton ?

fishtail
post Jul 7 2011, 03:46 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(Something Else @ Jul 7 2011, 03:46 PM)
Nope you dont

You may only Check the "Re-Partition" checkbox if you have separate packages for PDA, Modem and CSC! Don't do this for single PDA flashes or kernel flashes.
ok thanks you very much...

i will remember it..

Added on July 7, 2011, 3:58 pm
QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jul 7 2011, 03:35 PM)
Just don't interchange CWM modem package and odin modem package. They won't work on one another.

IMO, it is safer using CWM modem package. I haven't tried flashing modem odin package alone before.
ooo...
but i flash ady...
dint notice any different..
may try in this few day see hows the batery go and gps work.
thanks..
wifi signal still in testing..xD

This post has been edited by fishtail: Jul 7 2011, 03:58 PM
fishtail
post Jul 9 2011, 03:59 PM

80 posts

Hey Guys...

Can u recommended some lagfix for me..

On froyo...i have try voodoo lagfix and it is not bad...

but on gongerbread, i have no idea.

I am now in XXJVP and i just want apply some lagfix. i do not want to root.

Can anyone suggest some lagfix for me.

fishtail
post Jul 9 2011, 04:04 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jul 9 2011, 04:02 PM)
huh? when you flash custom kernel you are rooted. so how can you want lagfix without root?
cox on froyo 2.2.1 i flash with voodoo lagfix, it is not rooted.

but anyway root or not root is not a problem, cox i few use the root function.

did u have any kernel to recommend for my XXJVP gingerbread version?
fishtail
post Jul 10 2011, 02:42 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 9 2011, 07:15 PM)
You can flash speedmod and apply lagfix without applying the root. Did it on my cousin's DXJV9.

Speedmod works on XXJVP also.
yaya...using speedmod K15HT22....
quite fast and stable...LOL
fishtail
post Jul 15 2011, 06:10 PM

80 posts

hey Everybody here..

just some noob question..

i am now on XXJVP and with speedmod K15Ht22 Kernel, lagfix enable.

sometimes that i notice my ram is high enough that is 220 / 335 MB

when i click clear memory, it state no app close.

can i ask is this normal?
fishtail
post Jul 15 2011, 06:41 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jul 15 2011, 06:36 PM)
some points to be remembered.
- RAM are there to be used
- too many free RAM means your phone will be under-utilized
- some apps are stored in the RAM as cache. So that when you open that app, it will open instantly. Nice isn't it?
- Those cache builds up and fills in your RAM
- Thus it appears as if there are very little free RAM available. But that doesn't matter because you'll attain quick app loading time.
- When you are opening an app that is not in the cache but with little RAM is free, cached apps will be cleared automatically to make way for the app you are opening now. There might be a slight lag at this instance.
- Sometimes android OS RAM management might not be good, or it is samsung's setting. Thus we use Autokiller app to adjust this setting. I used Moderate profile for this.

Thus,
- Never use task killer programs to clear the RAM. You will always feel lag later on because the phone will be loading the app into cache again. Why don't we just leave it in the cache?
- Furthermore, there are some apps that will automatically re-open after you clear the RAM. Thus, increasing cpu cycles.

tldr;
1. Use autokiller if you feel lag
2. Don't use task killer apps.

feel free to correct me  smile.gif
Thanks for knowing that smile.gif thumbup.gif

Added on July 15, 2011, 6:50 pmone more question is on yesterday night my galaxy s first time get a freezes that i press home button and power button it is no respond. I have to remove battery and turn on the device gain.

i am now on XXJVP and with speedmod K15Ht22 Kernel, lagfix enable and also XXJVQ modem.

is this anyway i have done wrong?

the first time i have this prob when i flash xxjvp 1 month ago.

This post has been edited by fishtail: Jul 15 2011, 06:50 PM
fishtail
post Jul 15 2011, 08:09 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(chris7524 @ Jul 15 2011, 07:25 PM)
When the phone freeze, u can try to press and hold the power button to restart ur phone (force restart), so that u no need to remove the phone cover. The cover will become loose if u open it many times.

sometime I got freeze on my gf new AP sgs too with speedmod kernel, i dunno why, but changing to other kernel eg talondev 0.4.1 seem less likely to happen (feel)

But my ori sgs from july 2010 will not freeze (with the same stock rom xxjvq) with speedmod.
i think my one is the july version one.

since i flash to xxjvp with speedmod till now, did not have freezees before.

this is the 1st time.

nvm i will test more see how 1st then only consoder change to other kernel. smile.gif
fishtail
post Jul 22 2011, 05:34 PM

80 posts

can anyone know how to set up hotmail account in SGS..
i type my username and password N times...also cannot...
I am in XXJVP 2.3.4..
before when i am using 2.2 can..
after i flash it, then cannot ady.

fishtail
post Jul 22 2011, 05:52 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jul 22 2011, 05:39 PM)
Thanks I will try that..lolzz

Added on July 22, 2011, 6:05 pm
QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jul 22 2011, 05:39 PM)
Hey What a funny thing...
i change my hotmail account password using my computer and try again on my SGS..
Now its work now..
What a funny Hotmaill..Za Dou..
I found it on google that someone told change the password of ur hotmaill account..xDD

This post has been edited by fishtail: Jul 22 2011, 06:05 PM
fishtail
post Jul 24 2011, 08:28 PM

80 posts

Hey Guyss..
I have a question to ask..
Have u all heard about Sensation Themes by Crysis21 for Galaxy S??

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1042395

If have can i know how to install it.
Cox i am in XXJVP 2.3.4, Speedmod Kernel without root.

fishtail
post Jul 24 2011, 08:49 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jul 24 2011, 08:43 PM)
There's a video on how to install on the link you've given. Once you are on speedmod, you are rooted. Check if you have install Superuser app from the market first.
must be root only can install the sensation themes it?

cox i dint install root/ busybox in the CWM recovery..LOLZZZ

sorry for asking noob question.. Thanks
fishtail
post Jul 24 2011, 09:07 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jul 24 2011, 08:55 PM)
you are rooted, but if you don't install busybox and superuser app, it'd will be difficult. it's like only one kaki went in.
Go to cwm and install them first.
ok thanks ...lolzzz
fishtail
post Aug 7 2011, 02:29 AM

80 posts

hey guys...
i want ask question...
when i veiw my download apps in android market that see which apps i need to update...
it show me ntg and state there "no downloads app from android market"...
did u guys know what is the problem?

fishtail
post Aug 7 2011, 02:37 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(enaleni @ Aug 7 2011, 02:30 AM)
u can try clear data of ur maket....  smile.gif
its work...

thank for help...smile.gif