QUOTE(edison1437 @ Jul 4 2011, 04:13 PM)
no need to worry let it boot loop for whole day sure can go in successful one.Samsung Galaxy S i9000 Official Thread V19, Super AMOLED Screen with Gorilla Glass!
Samsung Galaxy S i9000 Official Thread V19, Super AMOLED Screen with Gorilla Glass!
Jul 4 2011, 07:54 PM
294 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Jul 4 2011, 08:26 PM
328 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Wonderland |
QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Jul 4 2011, 06:58 PM) then, you're one of the lucky ones. haha same here. dont know why MIUI can't run as good as cm7. but i won't blame them due to they are still in beta. they work hard to develop it. UI is the best among all. still love cm7 so much. haha. back to cm7 and i got the power of speed~~~and I'm not. but no biggie. I still love Samsung stock. but, once in a while I will try AOSP (because of boredom) yep, i agree. MIUI got many theme mods. kinda cool. but, don't know why lags are still present unlike CM7. QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Jul 4 2011, 07:03 PM) hey, which is the best custom samsung based rom? LOL. change kernel. btw GingerCriskelo on of the best. now V76 base on xxjvq give him a try. nice UI + smooth. can't stand the battery issue on cyanogenmod anymore!!! QUOTE(CrossX @ Jul 4 2011, 07:18 PM) i like stock too but its just way too boring.... yes, cm7 is like programming stuff no nice UI all about performance. cm7 = pure android and speed. you should give them a try and you will love the speed. no roms that can beat them in speed. that is why cm7 is the longest rom that i stay. jumpship ? lost interest in most of the mods... dunno y i didnt like CM7, mayb its too AOSP hahaha... This post has been edited by ic3joker: Jul 4 2011, 08:28 PM |
Jul 4 2011, 08:39 PM
1,022 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
my short review on galnet 3.1
installation: - horrible.CM7 > cleared cache & dalvik cache > galnet 3.1 > bootloop. repeated that, but still fails - tried with ezbase 2.0 first, but still fails - hit the thread, suggested to flash galnet 2.2 first. so this time it works - heard 3.2 installation is better. UI - very beautiful. default one may look iphonish but i quickly change to a better theme. - i'm spolied with lots of beautiful & polished themes to choose. the chinese are very hard working! usability - settings page is more streamlined than cm7/stock samsung/aosp. easier to find stuffs - can't find call blacklist feature. - nice ftp server built-in. i clicked start service and access it from nautilus on my linux box. very easy to set up. - much-more-sense file manager. I can find files sorted by file type in a folder fashion. - Download app that's actually worked. I wonder why it didn't work with cm7 - better dialer and contact app than cm7 - horrible stock launcher. how am i suppose to find apps quickly when they are unsorted and I have to scroll horizontally?! - outdated gapps. easily fixed though, battery - as horrible as cm7 speed - fine, faster than stock samsung. but may not be as good as cm7. i haven't flashed custom kernel with it yet. |
Jul 4 2011, 09:24 PM
54 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
hello..new user reporting here..
been upgrading from galaxy 5 to optimus one and now using galaxy s |
Jul 4 2011, 09:30 PM
Jul 4 2011, 09:32 PM
397 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jul 4 2011, 08:39 PM) my short review on galnet 3.1 thankz a lot hafiz for ur review.... now i more clearer about what feature that im missing in miui after more than a week i use it.... many people said that cm7 more faster than miui but i cant live without that feature that u said installation: - horrible.CM7 > cleared cache & dalvik cache > galnet 3.1 > bootloop. repeated that, but still fails - tried with ezbase 2.0 first, but still fails - hit the thread, suggested to flash galnet 2.2 first. so this time it works - heard 3.2 installation is better. UI - very beautiful. default one may look iphonish but i quickly change to a better theme. - i'm spolied with lots of beautiful & polished themes to choose. the chinese are very hard working! usability - settings page is more streamlined than cm7/stock samsung/aosp. easier to find stuffs - can't find call blacklist feature. - nice ftp server built-in. i clicked start service and access it from nautilus on my linux box. very easy to set up. - much-more-sense file manager. I can find files sorted by file type in a folder fashion. - Download app that's actually worked. I wonder why it didn't work with cm7 - better dialer and contact app than cm7 - horrible stock launcher. how am i suppose to find apps quickly when they are unsorted and I have to scroll horizontally?! - outdated gapps. easily fixed though, battery - as horrible as cm7 speed - fine, faster than stock samsung. but may not be as good as cm7. i haven't flashed custom kernel with it yet. - better dialer and contact app than cm7 all of this time i juz use docs rom kitchen and i luv feature from samsuung in contact that can swipe from left or right to sms or call.... but when 1st time flash to cm7..... no idea to do what install what apps to replace those thing.... now im on miui galnet quite happy with dialer and contact app... BUT FACING HORRIBLE BATTERY LIFE..... |
Jul 4 2011, 09:40 PM
54 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jul 4 2011, 10:30 PM) yes. thinking bout rooting my phone tonight bored with the stock rom. lag + some game cant be played. im using CM7 for my optimus one. do you have any suggestions for the best rom that i can try other than CM7? |
Jul 4 2011, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(enaleni @ Jul 4 2011, 09:32 PM) thankz a lot hafiz for ur review.... now i more clearer about what feature that im missing in miui after more than a week i use it.... many people said that cm7 more faster than miui but i cant live without that feature that u said actually in cm7 you can easily go to market and download go contact.- better dialer and contact app than cm7 all of this time i juz use docs rom kitchen and i luv feature from samsuung in contact that can swipe from left or right to sms or call.... but when 1st time flash to cm7..... no idea to do what install what apps to replace those thing.... now im on miui galnet quite happy with dialer and contact app... BUT FACING HORRIBLE BATTERY LIFE..... |
Jul 4 2011, 09:42 PM
2,585 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Sibu, Sarawak |
QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jul 4 2011, 08:26 PM) LOL. change kernel. btw GingerCriskelo on of the best. now V76 base on xxjvq give him a try. nice UI + smooth. I was using platypus kernel with UV modno luck =( |
Jul 4 2011, 09:50 PM
Jul 4 2011, 09:57 PM
47 posts Joined: May 2010 |
i am a newbie on this samsung galaxy s, can i ask a few question,
i have all the stock rom for the phone and didnt change anything, so what is the correct process to change the rom and the kernal?i do wish to keep my phone warranty as it still have about 4 month warranty.please help me all the expert out there,haha. at the end,thanks ya |
Jul 4 2011, 10:21 PM
2,283 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(wilbertang @ Jul 4 2011, 09:57 PM) i am a newbie on this samsung galaxy s, can i ask a few question, Hey, welcome aboard! 1st of all, if you plan to use custom rom, then your warranty is void immediately. Not to worry, within that 4 months if you wanna claim warranty flash back to stock with Odin. Odin is a software to flash roms or kernels from Download Mode in the phone.i have all the stock rom for the phone and didnt change anything, so what is the correct process to change the rom and the kernal?i do wish to keep my phone warranty as it still have about 4 month warranty.please help me all the expert out there,haha. at the end,thanks ya I am sure members here can provide clearer guide but MOST of the stuffs are already on OP. For stock experience, I'd recommend Ramad's deodexed stock roms. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=948790 There are easy to follow guides below. For kernel, Speedmod is your best bet. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1044519 For stock roms, they are here. Reliable and friendly guide. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1011901 |
Jul 4 2011, 10:24 PM
8,407 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
thinking of changing new ROM.. currently in stock JVP...
what I need is 1.good battery life 2.problem free Bluetooth 3.ok GPS.. any ROM/Modem/Kernal u guys suggest? thanks.. I m not so fancy of outlook etc.. will change it later anyway.. |
Jul 4 2011, 10:48 PM
2,585 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Sibu, Sarawak |
Jul 4 2011, 11:03 PM
4,776 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Jul 4 2011, 10:48 PM) Kesian the CM7 devs and the ROM. Battery drain complaints here and there, kena buta only. From what I've read and understood, the so-called battery drain is likely due to active-standby interaction issues between CM7 and the modem drivers provided by Samsung. It seems that Samsung for some reason or other cannot or will not provide full sources for their complete firmwares (maybe licensing agreements with radio chip manufacturer?) so the CM7 devs have to make do with a lot of educated guesswork and analysis without access to sources.In any case, my advice to those considering CM7 especially those who plan to have 3G-data enabled 24x7, please get a bigger capacity battery to save yourselves a lot of headache. |
Jul 4 2011, 11:18 PM
47 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Jul 4 2011, 10:21 PM) Hey, welcome aboard! 1st of all, if you plan to use custom rom, then your warranty is void immediately. Not to worry, within that 4 months if you wanna claim warranty flash back to stock with Odin. Odin is a software to flash roms or kernels from Download Mode in the phone. thanks for ur help, i saw a video on youtube , it doesnt need odin to flash a custom rom, is that a good choice?I am sure members here can provide clearer guide but MOST of the stuffs are already on OP. For stock experience, I'd recommend Ramad's deodexed stock roms. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=948790 There are easy to follow guides below. For kernel, Speedmod is your best bet. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1044519 For stock roms, they are here. Reliable and friendly guide. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1011901 |
Jul 4 2011, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Jul 4 2011, 08:33 PM) Kesian the CM7 devs and the ROM. Battery drain complaints here and there, kena buta only. From what I've read and understood, the so-called battery drain is likely due to active-standby interaction issues between CM7 and the modem drivers provided by Samsung. It seems that Samsung for some reason or other cannot or will not provide full sources for their complete firmwares (maybe licensing agreements with radio chip manufacturer?) so the CM7 devs have to make do with a lot of educated guesswork and analysis without access to sources. True. Many of the drivers are closed sourced. Samsung cannot reveal the code because of NDA with hardware supplier. Even Supercurio had trouble figuring out the audio driver for the phone initially. In any case, my advice to those considering CM7 especially those who plan to have 3G-data enabled 24x7, please get a bigger capacity battery to save yourselves a lot of headache. I hopw that the talented CM7 hackers will finally figure out all of the remaining drivers. So don't bash, but donate if you have money so that they will be kept motivated |
Jul 4 2011, 11:34 PM
726 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Kepong |
QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jul 4 2011, 08:26 PM) same here. dont know why MIUI can't run as good as cm7. but i won't blame them due to they are still in beta. they work hard to develop it. UI is the best among all. still love cm7 so much. haha. back to cm7 and i got the power of speed~~~ haha i tried cm7... very plain if not i would love it, pure speed, really smooth hahahaLOL. change kernel. btw GingerCriskelo on of the best. now V76 base on xxjvq give him a try. nice UI + smooth. yes, cm7 is like programming stuff no nice UI all about performance. cm7 = pure android and speed. you should give them a try and you will love the speed. no roms that can beat them in speed. that is why cm7 is the longest rom that i stay. jumpship ? QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jul 4 2011, 08:39 PM) my short review on galnet 3.1 i got no problem flashing the latest MIUI, but i nvr tried galnet... XDinstallation: - horrible.CM7 > cleared cache & dalvik cache > galnet 3.1 > bootloop. repeated that, but still fails - tried with ezbase 2.0 first, but still fails - hit the thread, suggested to flash galnet 2.2 first. so this time it works - heard 3.2 installation is better. UI - very beautiful. default one may look iphonish but i quickly change to a better theme. - i'm spolied with lots of beautiful & polished themes to choose. the chinese are very hard working! usability - settings page is more streamlined than cm7/stock samsung/aosp. easier to find stuffs - can't find call blacklist feature. - nice ftp server built-in. i clicked start service and access it from nautilus on my linux box. very easy to set up. - much-more-sense file manager. I can find files sorted by file type in a folder fashion. - Download app that's actually worked. I wonder why it didn't work with cm7 - better dialer and contact app than cm7 - horrible stock launcher. how am i suppose to find apps quickly when they are unsorted and I have to scroll horizontally?! - outdated gapps. easily fixed though, battery - as horrible as cm7 speed - fine, faster than stock samsung. but may not be as good as cm7. i haven't flashed custom kernel with it yet. similar method EZbase 2.0 > Cm7 initial kernal > Wipe Data/Factory reset & Format /system > Flash MIUI > Reboot > Flash Language Pack i'm not sure why many have problems with the installation Added on July 4, 2011, 11:36 pm QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jul 4 2011, 11:30 PM) True. Many of the drivers are closed sourced. Samsung cannot reveal the code because of NDA with hardware supplier. Even Supercurio had trouble figuring out the audio driver for the phone initially. so to say, other CM7 roms for devices like DHD dont have batt drain issues?I hopw that the talented CM7 hackers will finally figure out all of the remaining drivers. So don't bash, but donate if you have money so that they will be kept motivated This post has been edited by CrossX: Jul 4 2011, 11:36 PM |
Jul 4 2011, 11:39 PM
435 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: KL - Damansara |
currently in v3.2, luv all the interface n etc, but as usual, battery life really killing me LOL
Jul 4 2011, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(CrossX @ Jul 4 2011, 09:04 PM) haha i tried cm7... very plain if not i would love it, pure speed, really smooth hahaha different hardware will have different drivers. each driver has to be reverse-engineered by cm7 team.i got no problem flashing the latest MIUI, but i nvr tried galnet... XD similar method EZbase 2.0 > Cm7 initial kernal > Wipe Data/Factory reset & Format /system > Flash MIUI > Reboot > Flash Language Pack i'm not sure why many have problems with the installation Added on July 4, 2011, 11:36 pm so to say, other CM7 roms for devices like DHD dont have batt drain issues? |
| Change to: | 0.0171sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:48 PM |