University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus (UNMC) V4, "A city is built on wisdom"
Dr0z3n
May 20 2012, 01:51 PM
Can I start applying for on-campus accommodation before getting the offer letter? or I have to wait for the offer letter 1st ? I have just apply for foundation in Business and Management for July intake
Dr0z3n
May 21 2012, 06:16 PM
Can I start applying for on-campus accommodation before getting the offer letter? or I have to wait for the offer letter 1st ? I have just apply for foundation in Business and Management for July intake
Can someone help me on this question?
Dr0z3n
May 21 2012, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(Pavanjittt @ May 21 2012, 07:39 PM) I applied for my accommodation before getting my offer letter. You can do it but they wont do anything till they send you your offer letter. You will have to follow up with them after you have gotten your offer letter. I called today about my accommodation and they said they will only confirm in June. I was suprised to get that as a reply cause what if I dont get on campus accommodation as it will be hard to find off campus accommodation in such a short time. That's what I have been worried off, I'm pretty surprised that they took so long time for an application as they are one of the top private institution in Malaysia. The management just have to take this seriously, efficiency is important and I just don't want this foreign institution to quote to have this so called Malaysian attitude in term of efficiency. As spoke in your post, it will be quite hard finding a off campus in a short time. So have you got your offer letter, when are you getting in? which course?
Dr0z3n
May 22 2012, 01:28 AM
QUOTE(Pavanjittt @ May 21 2012, 07:58 PM) I got the confirmation email for my seat. Paid the acceptance fee and sent back the accept/decline form back today. Have to wait for 3 days till I get the letter. It is a foreign institution but Malaysians work there so you have to accept that there is so called Malaysain attitude. I have called Nottingham a few times and most of the people that answer the phone are really not helpful at all. They keep saying that everything is on the website. Going in for July course for Foundation in Engineering. Just wanted to know how long does it takes you to get the confirmation letter for your seat. Foundation in engineering, seem like many are going for engineering rather than business related course.  But as a foreign institution, we should have a better services. That's why I said the management should be looking seriously into this problem.
Dr0z3n
May 23 2012, 03:09 AM
QUOTE(tanjinjack @ May 22 2012, 04:05 PM) If it's 180 applicants for just foundation, what's the numbers for all courses across the uni? It should really take some time to process. Admission team is not huge (they only need to be huge during major intake, not all-year round), and they have their own jobs on their hands too, they don't just work to review your applications. Every application is unique, and is bound to have problems, with some of them must go through their leader to decide - who's someone busier than them and have less time to entertain these applications. Some of them are actually reviewed by lecturers instead of just admission team, who are also someone busy with their jobs. It's not about inefficiency, it's the system. That being said, it's not some money-sucking application where you can get an offer on the spot of applying. Look beyond, there's quality embedded in the application reviewing. (Oh man, so greasy the talk!) Have a point, quoted.  Added on May 23, 2012, 3:12 amQUOTE(stormsea7 @ May 22 2012, 08:44 PM) On another unrelated note, I find it extremely inefficient that their only way of recording attendance is by passing a few blank pieces of paper around for people to write down their name, ID and signature. Extremely easy to cheat Very slow (for people to write it down and randomly passing it around) And takes lots of huge man hour to key in into their database (<- this I'm not sure but I imagine they would digitize it one way or another) It's just how a University works, you don't need a person to tell you or even force you to a class, it's all about the students themselves when they come to this age. Self-disipline is important, is your own lose if you cheat, you do the things, you take the risk and the consequences. This post has been edited by Dr0z3n: May 23 2012, 03:12 AM
Dr0z3n
May 25 2012, 02:45 AM
Life gonna be busy once you get into University. But enjoy the time you have during your university, once graduate and start working, you will miss study life, because day after day you're doing the same things when you're working and not many holidays at that time  Added on May 25, 2012, 2:46 amIt seems like many people are going for engineering, how's business students life then? Anyone here sharing his or her experiences? This post has been edited by Dr0z3n: May 25 2012, 02:46 AM
Dr0z3n
May 31 2012, 10:09 AM
QUOTE(Nightwalkerz @ May 25 2012, 05:07 PM) Yeap, i know. Anyway, thanks for advice. Engineer= 5 years of hardcore studying. What course are u studying in UNMC? Haha Hardcore study I am not going into it. Besides, I am going to Foundation in Business and management course, still waiting for the confirmation letter. Waiting........
Dr0z3n
Jun 4 2012, 10:12 PM
Oh gosh, I am still waiting for my confirmation letter, the intake is coming, I don't want to get the letter at the last minute.
Dr0z3n
Jun 7 2012, 12:32 PM
I have been emailing the admission office and they keep telling me that the application is still under process, making me kinda frustrated. Why the hell do they need so much time. It has been more than 2 weeks since I submit my application
Dr0z3n
Jun 7 2012, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Jun 7 2012, 01:49 PM) y accommodation office no reply me yet ?? Haha, at least you get the offer letter dy right? I'm still having headache with my offer, still haven't get it. Trying to boom their mailbox
Dr0z3n
Jun 7 2012, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Jun 7 2012, 02:39 PM) already got it, last friday..what course you applied? How long does it takes for you to get? I applied Foundation in Business and Management
Dr0z3n
Jun 7 2012, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Jun 7 2012, 03:03 PM) 3 days after i submited my acceptance form Holy..why mine took so long? Anyway, I have just gotten my email, they said I have been given an unconditional offer, but will send me a accept/decline form on next week. What course did you apply?
Dr0z3n
Jun 26 2012, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Jun 25 2012, 04:02 PM) yup..you? from penang too? Another Penang lang coming too !! I am from Penang !! Hahaha Added on June 26, 2012, 11:33 amFinally Finally I received the original unconditional offer letter from the Uni by GDEX ! It's been a long wait.. Welcome to Nottingham !! Hahahaha This post has been edited by Dr0z3n: Jun 26 2012, 11:33 AM
Dr0z3n
Jun 26 2012, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Jun 26 2012, 11:50 AM) congratz..did you apply for accommodation? No..I will be staying in my Auntie house at Kajang ? You staying in hostel?
Dr0z3n
Jun 26 2012, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(jacktay94 @ Jun 26 2012, 03:43 PM) BOSS!! TA PAU ALL THE ITEMS=Char kuey teow, laksa and cendol FROM PENANG CAN A?  Haha ta pau an amount for one semester for u want? U could keep it and have it for the entire semester ! Hahaha everyone missed penang foods when leave penang ! Penang, the heaven of food
Dr0z3n
Jun 26 2012, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(jacktay94 @ Jun 26 2012, 04:25 PM) eleh. one day i aso enuf liao lo.  can a can a? i can heat it up myself!  You're so desperate for Penang food? How many years have you been study there?
Dr0z3n
Jul 2 2012, 05:11 PM
Can someone answer me please, where can I buy the bank draft to pay the tuition fee to the Uni? Is it only HSBC Bank? Do I need to make the payment before the registration?
Dr0z3n
Jul 3 2012, 09:59 AM
So before that can we park our car inside the school compound?
Dr0z3n
Jul 3 2012, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(jacktay94 @ Jul 3 2012, 03:07 PM) So we have to inform the guard that we are new intake student?
Dr0z3n
Jul 19 2012, 09:44 PM
Is there any seniors who study the business course and have graduated from their course here? Anyone have 2nd hand Business books to sell? I found the books is so expensive at the out Uni book store? I'm looking for some secondhand books now so I can save up some cost for my study. Anyway, I'm in foundation in Business and Management now.