Beyond The Universe, Research Project

mgjg
post Jun 30 2011, 06:17 PM

734 posts

The problem with this train of thought is this, all teh things we can imagine or think of right now is governed by the rules of science and maths, and these rules only work in *this* universe, anything that's beyond our universe should be incomprehensible to the human mind (and science, too!).
Wormholes or time travel are of this universe i.e even if they make no sense to our minds they'd still make sense on paper (or mathematical calculations or even in bad science fictions).
Perhaps TS should limit* the research to 'beyond the earth' or beyond the solar system'? wink.gif

* which still seem too adventurous IMO, we have barely scratched the surface of figuring the 'human' himself!

ref. (only scanned them -hurts my brain lor tongue.gif, but interesting nonetheless)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wormhole
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Time_travel
mgjg
post Jun 30 2011, 09:24 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(x-199Tx @ Jun 30 2011, 07:16 PM)
Well right now I shall request for your imagination , screw what principles you learnt . try to ignore that and give me your imagination! biggrin.gif
Let me demonstrate another (IMO) fallacy of your attempt of 'using [your] imagination', first this post of yours:
QUOTE(ts)
matt85 -> Lives in a world where fish can fly*Andromeda
matt85 -> Lives in a world where dogs can fly*Bode's Galaxy
matt85 -> Lives in a world where humans can fly*Mayall's Object
matt85 -> Lives in a world where its located in the Milky Way on a planet called Earth

- in each of your proposed scenario the rules of physics and maths and science is still observed, e.g flying fish is just fish that use flight (uplift, drag, air pressure etc.) as a mean of transport, they'd still consume food, breathe and everything, it's just their environment that is different, they're still in the same universe.

- going beyond the boundaries of this universe -to my thinking, means finding the place where the rules don't apply anymore. Thus there should be no light or matter there, there's nothing to see because our sights wouldn't work, nothing to measure because our technology wouldn't work and, assuming that we *can* exist there we need to find another sets of laws to describe it.

mgjg
post Jul 4 2011, 01:09 PM

734 posts

Just to reiterate my point about science-based 'imaginations' here's a piece by National Geographic about:
Using computers powerful enough to make predictions about the Earth's climate, Alien Worlds scientists modeled the weather and climate for a planet that would orbit a red dwarf star.
Based on the latest scientific results and deep space observations, two planets are identified to represent statistically likely celestial bodies capable of supporting life and are subsequently named Aurelia and Blue Moon.

Link smile.gif
mgjg
post Jul 4 2011, 01:44 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jul 4 2011, 01:28 PM)
You can't argue with the right data & right formula you can basically predict anything.

A simple example would be Mr.A is hungry, very hungry and the only available food there is Rice & Noodle. Mr.A is allergic to Noodles but not rice. Mr.A is a normal person without mental problems. As such you can predict the probability of Mr.A choosing rice over noodle.
Yep that's the basis of every reasonable prediction a logical system can make, in the NG documentary example it's basically a similar system only the variables are extended to include climatology, biology, physics, chemistry etc.

0.0180sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:41 PM