ACCA V7, Global Body for Professional Accountants

yclim2
post Dec 15 2011, 11:56 AM

43 posts

Hi ALL,

I really need comments from you guys here icon_question.gif . Which lecturers r recommended in terms of teaching style (esp explanation ability), quality of notes, balance of calculation & theory for:

F4 Pushpa (Sunway) vs Sanjeetha
F5 Low Chin Ann vs Ian Lim
F6 Low Chin Ann vs Wong Paik Wan
F9 Spencer Cheah (FTMS) vs Geetha (Sunway) vs Ian Lim vs Stephy Lim (Bandar)

I would greatly appreciate your help , thanks in advanced notworthy.gif[/color]

This post has been edited by yclim2: Dec 15 2011, 12:10 PM
yclim2
post Dec 15 2011, 12:52 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 15 2011, 12:40 PM)
what is ur preference?

u need to be clear in that

btw I can tell about Spencer's F9

althou from different state

his notes usually full of diagrams and will ask u to draw

which gives u the basic ideas of a certain topic

and the detailed explanation inside the notes u'll have to read urself at home
Thanks for ur reply, tzxsean. Tat means he doesn't really teach much theory in cls. For F9, theory is crucial n sometimes quite hard to understand. Were u under his F7 cls as well? Is he better is F7?

I would like to have lecturers who is systematic in teaching, good in explaining n provide readable & complete notes n not overemphasized on calculation (gotta read theory all by ourselves at home).

yclim2
post Dec 15 2011, 01:16 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 15 2011, 01:01 PM)
erm in term of f9 ... sure the diagrams are for the theory part

i've never see ppl can use diagram for calculations  laugh.gif

I was in his f7 f9 p5 class ...

as for complete notes

spencer emphasize on key areas

those minor and unimportant he usually just leave it out

for f7 sure heavy calculations... focus on q1-3

those q4 n 5... he will just provide diagrams for the standards

highlight the main points of the standards...

if u really want to have complete note...i think u're better off to read a textbook
Wat i meant complete notes is enough to get 60 marks n above for exam, textbook contains non-examinable areas. Thanks for ur reply smile.gif
yclim2
post Dec 15 2011, 01:23 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(+h0m@s.. @ Dec 15 2011, 01:04 PM)
P1 Mr Goh you have my words he's good he is known as Mr Ethics
P2 Ms Menon even Kasturi lecturer salutes her =)
P3 maybe you can try else where
P4&5 Mr Micheal not so sure cause I didn't take
P6 Ms Rozi or Ms Kok both are good lecturer expeirience
P7 you back to Mr Goh his teaching very clear and easy to understand. If you are Chinese he talks like you =)
For Mr Goh, i heard he is very gd in person but he reads out fr his notes n explain a bit n few of his students went to Sheila's cls instead. Does he explain well or deliver well to students? how is his notes? Btw no offence smile.gif
yclim2
post Dec 17 2011, 12:20 AM

43 posts

i realize all acca fellows go for holiday d..till 2 weeks later..tat is y seem like not many ppl reply here haha
yclim2
post Dec 17 2011, 08:35 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 17 2011, 01:19 AM)
then im the one left who has no money to do anything  laugh.gif

Added on December 17, 2011, 1:23 am

are u surprise that spencer is going to do F8?  laugh.gif
nvm..u jz stay at home n temporarily in charge of the forum here or u can watch other movies/dramas (other than 那些年我们一起追过的女孩) biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yclim2: Dec 17 2011, 08:36 PM
yclim2
post Dec 18 2011, 04:18 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(kokming118 @ Dec 18 2011, 04:04 PM)
next sem im going to take f9, i hear that f9 the theory part is hard to understand. did spencer cover theory ?
though i never been to their class, but i did some research abt 2 of them b4. In short, 2 of them i believe not balanced in both calculation n theory n as u may know f9 theory is very crucial for u to pass. For f5, i believe ian lim is gd n f5 theory though is important but not as tough/heavy as f9 one.

For andrew pang, he is not balanced in both theory n calculation n as many know, he teaches quite fast. I would strongly suggest u to take Chan Sze Kang at Kdu (either FT or PT) who is the best among those available next sitting, if u manage to go. I will be there ; )

This post has been edited by yclim2: Dec 18 2011, 04:19 PM
yclim2
post Dec 21 2011, 04:14 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(zephyrcity @ Dec 20 2011, 08:03 PM)
Hi, may I know where is Daniel Ho teaching now? I heard he is good and balance in teaching F9. Any other lecturer you guys recommended in F9?
I can't see Daniel Ho for F9 in any college tis coming sem. So Chan Sze Kang is most recommended n balanced at KDU Damansara.

Added on December 21, 2011, 4:18 pm
QUOTE(nothingz @ Dec 20 2011, 05:08 PM)
general reminder, if you want to take OBU. make sure you don't pass F7/F8/F9 before F4 because it will result in you not opted into the OBU Scheme. Eg, you pass F7 in the next sitting but not your F4.
That one applies only if u don't opt in OBU at the beginning..If u opt in already, then u can pass F7,8,9 1st b4 F4.

Added on December 21, 2011, 4:32 pmMay i know who were under Mr Edgar F4 b4? recommended? how is his teaching style? He teaches in PAAC, Helps, Inti, Kdu but then there is no comment fr anyone in history.

This post has been edited by yclim2: Dec 21 2011, 04:33 PM
yclim2
post Dec 21 2011, 08:19 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Dec 21 2011, 06:40 PM)
read the OBU eligibility criteria carefully
Well, may b bcus i hold A levels n i got Muet so don need any english qualification. I had confirmed with Acca Malaysia through calls, at least 3 times, on different time, tat is exactly wat they told me. So the best way is call personally to Acca Malaysia to ask them to comment on ur case.

This post has been edited by yclim2: Dec 21 2011, 08:20 PM
yclim2
post Dec 22 2011, 07:18 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(EndlessMyth @ Dec 22 2011, 07:06 PM)
Any good recommendation of lecturers for F7, F8, F9? Thank you.
F7 Keith Farmer - Ksa
F8 Sheila - EJ, Low Chin Ann - Bandar
F9 Chan Sze Kang - Kdu
yclim2
post Dec 23 2011, 12:13 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(m2steph @ Dec 22 2011, 11:18 PM)
Sorry but does anyone now where is chan tze kang teaching now? Is he still teaching in elite jaya?
he teaches F9 at kdu n p5 (not p4) at Kdu & Elite Jaya.
yclim2
post Dec 23 2011, 11:28 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(zephyrcity @ Dec 23 2011, 07:03 PM)
Thanks for the info YCLim. Chan Sze Kang is good but KDU Damansara is inconvenient for myself because have to travel after work from Old Klang Road. I heard Ms Geetha fr Sunway is good as well but pricey  sad.gif  Probably will go Sunway for coming semester.
Ya u can go for Ms Geetha as she is experienced, her notes is gd n complete, she provides worksheet for some of ques which speed the learning process a little but explanation is so so only..unless u r hardworking to read b4 u go cls or study immediately after cls otherwise u may accumulate.

This post has been edited by yclim2: Dec 23 2011, 11:32 PM
yclim2
post Dec 24 2011, 10:25 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(m2steph @ Dec 24 2011, 11:41 AM)
Thank you so much.. I think i will be taking his class for p5 in elie jaya.. Da nearest station to there is masjid jamek rite?

Added on December 24, 2011, 11:44 am

Yup and his explaination is more easy to understand and remember.. And most importantly he jokes all the time in his class so make it less boring
Yes, Masjid Jamek
yclim2
post Dec 28 2011, 09:03 PM

43 posts

[quote=Mickey Zeng,Dec 28 2011, 03:44 PM]Ok 1st eg .    this guy shoping for opinion . pls concentrate on F9 . he does not know about geeta .

pls continue with my next post ..

Added on December 28, 2011, 3:48 pm
Now suddenly from no where in a few days .. andrew pang became no good . and dunno how Chan came in to the picture and became the best . (not no one posted he is the best for him )  and he is joining there .(ok fine with that)

Added on December 28, 2011, 3:50 pm
Pls see F9 . he knows to much about F9 and he posted in the first place few days ago .asking who is da best

Added on December 28, 2011, 3:52 pm

looks like he knows Geeta notes and all that . how he knows her explanation SO SO only ? In the 1st place he not under her ma?   THINK you guys !!!!

Added on December 28, 2011, 3:53 pm
and he know CHAN is doing P5 as well ... at Elitejayaa

HI MICKEY ZENG! A BIG thanks for ur constructive comments.

Yes i posted my first comment asking for opinions, but only one replied (ie tzxsean) bcus all went to holiday d. Then i could only do extensive research on my own n read from Acca V1(it is not stated as V1) to V7, for few days! From there i know very well, wat ppl said abt each lecturer n wat r their pros n cons. There r thousands comments over those listed lecturers. Tat is wat i concluded at the end of days n i only answered those who need help (i answered a few in short,simple/humble way, bcus tat is wat seniors commented abt them).

N i also ask few friends who r studying at Sunway abt Ms Geetha, tat is wat i heard.

For eg, in one of the comments i gave:
F7 Keith Farmer
F8 Low Chin Ann, Sheila
F9 Chan Sze Kang

I nvr said i was under them b4, i nvr said wat i said is 100% accurate (afterall, who can guarantee tis? It is all down to individuals opinions), but then they have more pros than cons, either can explain well or teach both calculation & theory.

Abt y i know Mr Chan is teaching P5 in EJ. Come on, timetables for each college r available on the website or u can call them to email u or u email them!

If u have doubt, shut ur mouth up, n do extensive research on ur own or ask all those seniors who were under them b4 then only come to judge me! Don b so busy criticizing ppl who try to comment here properly n don disturb the harmony here.

P/S: don try to show ur smart ass here with ur "comments analysis skills" here! Dude, improve ur english for god sake (wat is "think you guys"? n etc). N i not gonna comments regarding to tis topic n reply anyone who r asking abt lecturers anymore b4 i kena shoot again.

This post has been edited by yclim2: Dec 28 2011, 09:45 PM
yclim2
post Dec 28 2011, 11:18 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ Dec 28 2011, 11:08 PM)
don be easily influenced by other ppl lol, next time if another dupe shoot u again...i help u halau him  laugh.gif
Thank you smile.gif
yclim2
post Dec 30 2011, 02:54 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(Mickey Zeng @ Dec 29 2011, 06:02 PM)
Lets Analyse this case study :-

Being future ACCA graduates we have to be careful with what we say . Careful a bit . PPL can sue you if we simply said . May be i can teach you a bit from this case study .

Ok after doing some calling.. Joe Fang is at Kasturi KL and Khoo is at Pj kasturi . Both have done this paper before . Being a well known college for ACCA they will only take quality lecturers only .

And correct me if i am wrong . Was there an ACCA best lecturer award held recently or may be i missed it . (mentioned above Menon is the best at sunway . and spencer cheah at Kl .)

If thats the case you as telling Joe Fang and the most well known Haneef is no where on top .?. (By the way i am not saying spencer is not good .From what i gather he is also popular . ) May be you have to learn how to use the choice of words . It may take time . but hopefully before we graduate we will overcome that problem .

(if you all see my i did not use words like shut ur mouth up, don try to show ur smart ass here . This all pro will refrain from using ) In your next comment pls be gentle and relax . we are not arguing . we are just learning . (All of use come here to learn)

Hi Mickey Zeng

1. Who r u to be eligible to teach Muppet for tis case study? His parents, teacher or wat? shocking.gif
2. Who r u to be eligible to be sarcastic n keep criticizing other members' comments here? cool2.gif
3. All the comments in tis forum r down to individual opinions. It is up to anyone to say who he/she thinks is the best.
(Refer to the first page, there is one gentle reminded "The following recommended lecturers are based on individual's personal opinion...please use it at your own risk..."). icon_rolleyes.gif
4. I totally not agree with well known college for acca would take quality lecturers only. If tat is the case, wat is the point of having tis forum in which thousands n thousands comments asking abt lecturers at the 1st place? We just go to the most well known one ie Sunway (r u sure they have quality lecturers for each paper n for each cls?) U like proof, i know, give u an eg (Y Sheila, Marcus, Andrew Pang's cls have many students fr S?). They r awarded Platinum status 8yrs in a row n have hundreds prize winners. (Oops..u may wanna say im tarnishing images of other lecturers, but who cares..u r "tarnishing" us anyway) flex.gif
5. No one can deny, even some lecturers do agree tat Ms Menon is the best in P2. The only con ppl gave abt her is her cls is a bit hectic n crowded. (Oh ya u may wanna ask again how do i know all these? As i responded, u will know after u read thousands comments fr V1 to V7) tongue.gif
6. U said "from wat i gather he is also popular" n u said in previous post "i realized many ppl say: my frens said ha..". Isn't it a bit contradicting? THINK YOU GUYS (oopss..sound familiar whistling.gif ).
7. Refer to ur "...tis all pro will refrain fr using." U must try to mean all pro r not human, they shd keep quiet n smile even when they r humiliated, while they r not working (r we having any formal duty/discuss at tis forum here?) blink.gif
8. Btw is there any rule written anywhr tat Acca graduate must become a pro/auditors? They cant have small biz on their own or any normal jobs..hm..interesting hmm.gif .
9. Is tis my comment gentle n relax enough? I'm absolutely thk i'm wink.gif
10. YES, WE R NOT ARGUING, WE JUST LEARNING HERE by criticizing for EVERY SINGLE BIT of other ppl comments. thumbup.gif

P/s: We all so~ love u to be here, we really wish u don get banned sooner or later bcus u r such a Gentle, Smart, Ethical Professional here.

This post has been edited by yclim2: Dec 30 2011, 04:22 AM
yclim2
post Dec 30 2011, 04:32 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(keeting89 @ Dec 30 2011, 04:26 AM)
they are not on the list..
so im asking ex sunway-ian to recommend me which is better..lol
I guess not many ppl would dare to reply ur post as now we r all under one "boss" - Mickey Zeng who said cant give any comment which tarnishes another lecturer ie cant tell u y dinesh/wong is better n wat r their pros n cons.

But i suggest u can type "dinesh" n "wong" in Search engine at the bottom of pages of tis forum. U can also use google for eg "acca forum Dinesh" then search results would give u any of V2 to V7 n u click "more results from forum lowyat net" at the bottom of tat search result. Fr tis way, u can read all the comments in the past.

This post has been edited by yclim2: Dec 30 2011, 04:42 AM
yclim2
post Dec 31 2011, 12:53 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ Dec 31 2011, 12:44 AM)
anyone has the Elitejaya timetable Jan 2012? i may need to update the lecturer list on the 1st page.
http://www.eic.edu.my/future-students/down...v%20Dec%201.pdf
yclim2
post Jan 3 2012, 12:09 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(jonjon87 @ Jan 2 2012, 03:33 PM)
Guys F6, i'm not sure where to go. KSA Alan Yeo or KB Low Chin An?
Low Chin Ann smile.gif
yclim2
post Jan 3 2012, 03:30 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(ben_king1991 @ Jan 3 2012, 01:41 AM)
is Kolej Bandar good? feel like enrolling my ACCA with them, their timetable kinda suit my schedule, mostly on weekends, where is it btw?
http://acca2u.com/download/img/map.gif

Fr the comments in the past, F4,5,6,8 there r gd..Others n P papers im not sure..but then tuition fee is the cheapest in town..

0.0551sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:09 AM