ACCA V7, Global Body for Professional Accountants

student2
post Jun 27 2011, 04:33 PM

71 posts

Notmycupoftea,

Can you please provide some explanation on why you think the recommended lecturers are good?

What is your basis to support your recommendation?

Shouldn't you add some notes to explain to the users?

This post has been edited by student2: Aug 20 2011, 03:39 AM
student2
post Jun 27 2011, 06:19 PM

71 posts

I think Chow Kim Tai teaches PT in crescendo JB.

check it out.

Added on June 27, 2011, 6:23 pmFor F2 a fairly good lecturer will be Mr. Alex Chan in PJ/KL area.

I think he teaches F1 aswell.

Pros: Very dedicated, passionate, and tries to bring in IRL examples to make CMA more lively.

Cons: There are parts of the subject where he is not that great at and that poses a slight problem. And sometimes he might not be that receptive/open to student opinions.

This post has been edited by student2: Aug 20 2011, 03:38 AM
student2
post Jun 27 2011, 11:16 PM

71 posts

Anyone attended Navzar's F7 and Low Chin Ann's F5 classes before?

Want to know their teaching styles, attributes and weaknesses as compared with other lecturers.

So far never read much comments for the two lecturers above for the subjects listed above.

Btw, Low Chin Ann's F8 class is quite good.

Pros
He prepares his notes based on PYQ answers.

If you are weak in writing; he practises to write with you.

Records lectures if you miss some.

He breaks difficult concepts into smaller understandable parts.

Will use some flow-charts and diagrams to give overall picture.

Easy going and reasonably open/friendly to students.

Cons
Quite boring.

Not much IRL examples to relate to subject.

Doesn't practise much PYQ during normal classes.

This post has been edited by student2: Jul 7 2011, 01:23 AM
student2
post Jun 28 2011, 12:03 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(neverknowgirl @ Jun 27 2011, 11:47 PM)
waa..v7 already!
anyway..im from uitm shah alam.. answering ur question..
hmm..  i want to ask if it is really tough i take 3 paper per sem?
coz when i take cat i take 4 paper per sem... and kind of tired since uitm student need to take internal subject too...
Max can take 4 per sitting.

If you PT usually 1-2 also quite stressful because of other obligations (ie work) and the long weekend class hours.

If you FT 3 subjects is the normal workload; 4 subjects is quite tiring. Attending different classes (ie. different locations), revision and all.

The thing is no matter how many you take just make sure you avoid a burnout; because that really sucks especially if you get it close to exams.

student2
post Jun 28 2011, 01:01 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(anderson2009 @ Jun 28 2011, 12:11 AM)
Good job. but a bit biased not including sunway's lecturers except ms menon eh?
I think Sunway ACCA is going downhill.TBH i think most good lecturers actually started out in Sunway. But most of them already left probably due to better offers elsewhere. The only thing holding them together is Ms. Menon. If Ms Menon leaves as well, I think no one would actually go to Sunway unless you are the type where you get sucked in by the branding (i.e. platinium marketing status).
Thats why no matter what they will keep Ms. Menon by offering her really good terms.

I have been to Sunway and it has it pros and cons.

The environment in Sunway is really unhealthy because of the 'Kiasu' mentality. Lecturers will on a daily basis brainwash you to do well and to be World Prize Winners. The role of being an lecturer cum educator is replaced with the role of a motivator cum brainwasher.

There are cliques of peers who would even go to the extend of demotivating peers for personal advantage. There are only limited spots on the peak and only those on the peak are rewarded with scholarships. In the end its all part of the scheme to push up the bar and preserve their platinium status.

If you don't do well; lecturers will constantly remind you that the institution reserves the right to bar you from sitting the exam as part of the contractual agreement you have with the college (i.e. Letter of Acceptance/offer letter). I find this really ridiculous as you pay for tuition for an open exam but they reserve the right to restrict you from attending the exam which you paid to sit.

In effect; if you do well they take credit and if you don't do well they disclaim their responsibilities.

Doesn't seem like a legitimate contract of service.

With the addition of ICAEW; IMO; there is a real COI between the two brands they are representing but somehow no one seems to notice it. The current flow is that they will take you in after SPM to their CAT route then to their ACCA route and refeed you back to ICAEW. I mean if you have ACCA why bother to take ICAEW? They will tell you that it is more prestigious and it is a natural progression for you because most top accountants have the ICAEW. My skeptism is then why bother to recommend students to do ACCA when you say that ICAEWis better? Shouldn't you recommend ICAEW in the first place? Because that is the only way to maximize their profits in the expense of the students. It all makes sense in the end.

Its all a typical carrot and stick business affair. If you can adapt to it then you will prosper in this environment; if not you will find it disgusting.

Don't flame me or troll me because this is in fact the reality imo.

This post has been edited by student2: Jun 29 2011, 11:21 AM
student2
post Jun 28 2011, 04:27 PM

71 posts

whats with the taylors thing?

isn't this an independent forum?

Btw found some remarks about F7 P2 Navzar. Not so good remarks. Check it out. I'm a bit worried.

http://www.adviceforyou.org.uk/blog/studyi...red-me-a-place/

Anyone got any info regarding F5 Ian Lim vs. F5 Low Chin Ann???

student2
post Jun 29 2011, 02:39 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(yunice5889 @ Jun 29 2011, 12:34 AM)
hello,i need some help here...

I would like to know the teaching styles,attributes & weaknesses of all the lecturers stated below...i know all of them are good lecturers but i would like to know more detail abt their teaching styles so that i can know which lecturer teaching style is more suitable to myself as all of them have different teaching style...

F5 Ian Lim VS Andrew Pang

P3 Parmindar Vs Philip Woo

Kindly please give advise,will going to register soon since the new semester is going to commence.Thanks smile.gif
I have never been to their classes but from what i gather from other posters and websites;

F5 Ian Lim Vs Andrew Pang

Both specializes and concentrate alot on calculation; less emphasis on theory. Theory part studied independently.

Both are more or less similar.

P3 Parminder vs Philip Woo

Apparently Parminder is somewhat of a deity for this subject. Posters commented that he has good IT knowledge and this paper has IT elements.

Philip Woo specializes more on P1. Alot of IRL examples due to his practical experience. Keeps class lively. But his notes are scrappy.

Another person who is always mentioned for P3 is Michael Mainwairing. It seems that he has a condensed 100 pages notes that can cover the entire syllabus. He teaches less nowadays and only for IRC classes if i'm not mistaken.

Hope this helps.

This post has been edited by student2: Jun 29 2011, 03:01 AM
student2
post Jun 29 2011, 07:15 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Xeniouz @ Jun 29 2011, 12:18 PM)
Anyone have info regarding P4 David Meow and P5 Chang Shew Leng?
No disrespect but I won't recommend Chang Shew Leng.

She has a faux accent which irritates the hell out of you.

Practically reads off her own notes and no IRL examples.

Often cite examples relating to her family.

Thumbs down for me.
student2
post Jun 29 2011, 09:28 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Jun 29 2011, 07:41 PM)
spencer oso use his daily life or family life
to give examples for the subjects

but i dun see anything wrong with tat
funny as hell even he doing tat
I think if you use your daily life as examples its ok or even with family life.

But it should be relevant shouldn't it?

Ideally you would want a lecturer who can provide some practical examples for you to relate to the subject at hand and also to improve your commercial knowledge.

Ie. What does your mother in law's favourite food or husband's daily got to do with the subject at hand?

It's ok if you use it to crack a joke or two to light up the class but the thing is, it is not funny nor insightful.

I believe a certain unique character is required for humour. Some people is just not funny no matter how hard they try. Trust me on this.

Sorry for being harsh on her or anything; but this is just my personal and honest opinion. If you are fine with her then you could always thumbs up for her.

Cheers.

Added on June 29, 2011, 9:30 pm
QUOTE(hurly @ Jun 29 2011, 08:01 PM)
this is regarding another paper or inP5? because I was in her class in F1, she's like that but I thought as you go higher her style changes?
I'm sorry i was not refering to P5. I was just quoting the lecturer. If what you say is true; then she can have my benefit of doubt.

This post has been edited by student2: Jun 29 2011, 09:32 PM
student2
post Jun 30 2011, 07:13 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Jessicacwp @ Jun 30 2011, 06:31 PM)
Hi, i have a question regarding OBU degree. Is this degree Compulsory for new acca student?

I have doubt on this, as recently i went to an education fair and got this information from the exhibition staff. As i thought, last time this OBU degree is an optional for the students who completed their fundamental level and opt in to it.

Thanks in advance for all replies.
It is not compulsory for ACCA students. Its an option. You would need to decide before taking papers F7, F8, and F9. Once you taken any of the listed subjects it becomes a permanent choice.

student2
post Jun 30 2011, 11:01 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(MindyF @ Jun 30 2011, 10:21 PM)
would like to check, it's we need to clear all F1 - F9 paper before go to Professional (P1 - P3 and 2 other option)?
That is the general rule. But you can attempt papers from different modules simultaneously provided you attempt your backlog subjects from outstanding modules.
student2
post Jul 1 2011, 02:13 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(MindyF @ Jun 30 2011, 11:14 PM)
ok, thanks.  Then i will take F6 & F7 this sitting, and F5 and any one from P1-P3 next sitting. tongue.gif
Sorry what i meant was in addition to the general rule.
student2
post Jul 6 2011, 01:12 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(muppet @ Jul 3 2011, 05:58 PM)
low chin ann is the best. make subject easy understand, notes vy good and practise many qs in class.

best of all, the fees are cheapest. ask other people that attended his class, ALL my other classmate like his class.  rclxms.gif
One of the reasons fees cheapest is because no official textbooks or revision kit provided (i.e. BPP or Kaplan). They will provide a subsitute of which I believe is self-created.

student2
post Jul 6 2011, 11:59 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Xeniouz @ Jul 6 2011, 11:15 PM)
you can try google their names.. some of them could be experienced lecturers from other countries..
ACCA is Chartered Certified - initially it is only Certified but then the Chartered status was granted by "don't know" which Queen..

ACA granted for ICAEW members - in general people with ACA are much more accepted as its standard is slightly higher than ACCA..
ACCA marketing better than ICAEW at this moment. ACCA = 424,000 students; ICAEW = 9,000 students.

Membership size almost equal.

ICAEW more british members.
ACCA more international members (>70%).

ICAEW older approx 20-30 years.
ACCA younger.

ICAEW and ACCA both can audit in England.

ACCA founded because demand for accountant more than ICAEW is willing to produce.

ICAEW more old-fashion. ACCA more modern (i.e. more IT based).

Most English firms prefer ICAEW rather than ACCA due to membership composition.
Therefore very difficult to get job with ACCA in England.

ICAEW need to work and study at same time; ACCA can study now work later.

In terms of standard should be equivalent because both are statutory bodies for accounting in England.

Actually most of this info available in Wikipedia or in their respective websites.

This post has been edited by student2: Jul 7 2011, 12:00 AM
student2
post Jul 7 2011, 12:20 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(anderson2009 @ Jul 7 2011, 12:07 AM)
Different. By statute of the UK, Chartered Accountant = ACA. Chartered CERTIFIED Accountant= ACCA.
Are you a troll? I don't get what you mean.

Thats just a post-nominal difference. Both have equal status in England.

This post has been edited by student2: Jul 7 2011, 12:37 AM
student2
post Jul 7 2011, 12:52 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(Xeniouz @ Jul 7 2011, 12:40 AM)
Some of these information you posted is true.. But IMHO ICAEW produces better accountants since they gain practical experience and study at the same time but of course I also want ACCA to be more marketable la.. ACCA members can only practice as a registered auditor within the UK/Ireland if they attempt P2 UK/Ireland & P7 UK/Ireland from June 2011 onwards - this is a very bad news for us.. and sometimes those information from Wikipedia cannot be 100% relied upon..
If you understand their position is very simple. They just want to protect their own labour markets like any other country including MYS.

In the future; if our markets really become globalized and accounting harmonization does occur; it doesn't matter any more whatever variant you take except probably law.

Added on July 7, 2011, 12:55 am
QUOTE(anderson2009 @ Jul 7 2011, 12:40 AM)
Troll? Hahaha are you sure u really wanna call ur future senior that? Oh perhaps, manager, when u join wink.gif

LOL no need to go so defensive lah. I'm an acca grad too, but admitting the fact doesn't hurt yeah smile.gif read up UK's law buddy!
Troll with no facts. Just STFU and find info to post rather than ask genuine posters to read up. Ridiculous.

This post has been edited by student2: Jul 7 2011, 12:55 AM
student2
post Jul 7 2011, 01:52 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(Xeniouz @ Jul 7 2011, 01:22 AM)
Talking about harmonisation, US has already started to adopt IFRS in small stages.. but if UK insist to protect their own labour markets, nothing can be done about it.. and accounting harmonisation takes a lot of time to realise or maybe it won't even happen at all..just take a look at Sarbanes-Oxley Act 2002.. it was issued by Bush in 2002 but certain acts are only enforced a few years later and some in recent years if i have not mistaken.. when that "accounting harmonisation" really does occur, I think I've already retired with grandchildren and i won't bother to work anymore.. the future is uncertain.. no1 can predict it..
relax.. different people have different opinion..
That joker wants to belittle me with his position. No profesionalism. ACCA grad put to shame.

What opinion? He just trolled me with an extra 'C' and mock me to read up. Joke.
student2
post Jul 7 2011, 08:49 AM

71 posts

If you understand their position is very simple. They just want to protect their own labour markets like any other country including MYS.

-------------

ACCA just want to amend their syllabus to reflect the changes in their CA 2006 and to make it more pertinent to their context. These changes are Statutory Audit Directives. Future everything will be INT variant; last few sittings for UK/ROI variant.

This post has been edited by student2: Jul 8 2011, 12:40 PM
student2
post Jul 7 2011, 04:55 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(jc87 @ Jul 7 2011, 09:18 AM)
hi,is it compulsory for us to work at audit firm in order to gain 3 years working experience to be entitled as MIA or ACCA member? can we work at commercial as long as our superior is MIA or ACCA member?
Not compulsory.

However;

Big 4's experience more recognized than working in ABC Ltd.

If you work in ABC Ltd more likely you will just work on one set of a co's account and probably just focus on one reporting function (i.e. A/R).

If you work for Big 4; you will be expose to many different co's full set of accounts including group statements.

Work for big 4 as auditor; you will get your affliate membership faster.

But this is not relevant to this forum. Please dont go off topic. 10q

This post has been edited by student2: Jul 7 2011, 04:56 PM
student2
post Jul 7 2011, 11:03 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Xeniouz @ Jul 7 2011, 10:27 PM)
lol i'm not interested in what happened to both of the colleges.. i'm rather interested in what is happening between Ian and Daniel [this is the off topic part  hmm.gif ]..
In MYS everyone wants to be their own boss. This type of case so typical. What's so interesting?

This post has been edited by student2: Jul 7 2011, 11:18 PM

0.0788sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:32 PM