ACCA V7, Global Body for Professional Accountants

MichellePYP
post Jan 4 2012, 08:59 PM

I'm going to be taking the P1 and P2 papers this semester.. I've been following the ACCA lowyat thread and am interested in enrolling to Mr Phillip Woo's class in Taylors considering all the great comments on him..

However, I would like a reconfirmation that he is a great lecturer.. some commented he gives out scrappy notes.. and since I'm not even sure what is expected or needed in P1, I hope you would be able to advice me..

(Really need good advise since Taylor's fees is really high)..

Ps: I read about Sheila John's too.. Would anyone know if she teaches elsewhere other than Elitejaya?

Suggested lecturer's list for P1 (from a friend):

Philip Woo
Sheila John
Marcus Ong..

Is Marcus Ong comparable with Philip Woo?

This post has been edited by MichellePYP: Jan 4 2012, 09:01 PM
MichellePYP
post Jan 5 2012, 04:53 PM

QUOTE(Mickey Zeng @ Jan 4 2012, 09:53 PM)

Added on January 4, 2012, 9:57 pm

Hi Michelle Just take my advise . Go to Philip Woo . You will not regret .(now you know why Taylors charge you high) But let me tell you something else P1 is a subject you can self read . Lecturers are just a guide . I guess anyone can deliver P1 well . But any way pls see the recommendations list in the 1st page of the thread .

Added on January 4, 2012, 10:00 pm
Hope Mine is visible . If not do let me know . I am Transparent .
Hi Mickey Zeng,

Thanks for the advise!!

I have one more question.. I just found out that I can juggle the subjects combination in the 1st P level..

Between these combinations.. which would be a better combination??

P1 + P2

OR

P2 + P3?

This post has been edited by MichellePYP: Jan 5 2012, 04:54 PM
MichellePYP
post Jan 5 2012, 05:10 PM

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jan 5 2012, 05:08 PM)
P1 and P3, no doubt bout it
I'm already enrolled in class for P2.. So no choice in changing that.. ding.. But a lot of people are telling me to take another subject.. But between P1 and P3, I can;t decide.. Any advice??

In fact, is it very stressful to take P2 with another subject?
MichellePYP
post Jan 5 2012, 05:21 PM

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jan 5 2012, 05:14 PM)
later take P2 with P7.

you should take P1 + P3 now. although there is only little relevance between 2 of them.

P2 is totally irrelevant with P1 and P3
Aiks!! Ah! I shoulda have asked you guys before I enrolled in P2.. I've paid my fees d.. So can't change that.. So now the next option is whether to undertake another paper with P2.. Any recommendations???
MichellePYP
post Jan 5 2012, 06:15 PM

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Jan 5 2012, 05:35 PM)
I would say who cares about combination this kind of thing?

if u noe well u will do well

just take p1 and p2 together

it will be okay

moreover you're just enter into P level

just take the easier one (p1) with p2

p3 need alot of critical thinking and writing skills

which you should probably develop from P1 and P2
here's why: P1 syllabus half of them can be said just memorising and another half is understanding (starting from risk - ethics)
                  P2 have 35% calculation and 65% writing
                  P3 have at least 90% writing marks, if not near 100%, are you prepared to do this on ur 1st attempt on P papers?

and I'm sure if u plan to take P5 next time, P3 will be best to take with P5 cause they are inter-related

p/s: dun too obsessed with easier to pass if do this and that decision, you should go step by step
       resource (knowledge) based vs position (outsiders' evaluation based
       resource based is always better cause u depend on urself and no excuse to blame others if you followed their wrong advises
       on ur situation

p2 + p3 might be just a value trap combination

Added on January 5, 2012, 5:43 pmand 1 more thing, P1 will provide you the foundation u need on ethics

or risks which will be asked in p2 p3 and subsequent papers

if u missed P1, the marks will be gone or reduced greatly due to wrong concept
ohhh.. okie!! thanks for the wonderful in-depth advice! So enlightening! ~extremely extremely grateful~ Happy New Year tzxsean!!

This post has been edited by MichellePYP: Jan 5 2012, 06:22 PM

0.0507sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:45 AM