ACCA V7, Global Body for Professional Accountants

YH90
post Dec 30 2011, 09:47 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 30 2011, 09:25 PM)
lol...is the english for p3 hard to understand?

i took dec 2011 p3 sitting and the reason I did badly is because of my own fixation on q1 and my lack of knowledge

in section B

maybe u should try read the english for P5 /P7
I don't think reading is the problem, the problem is how you want to convey your message to the marker. Imagine you thought of all those superb nonsensical answers that you think might actually get you 1 mark here and there for every question, but you can't seem to write it down in sentence form.
YH90
post Jan 3 2012, 10:02 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(usagi05 @ Jan 3 2012, 05:40 PM)
u should go each respective colleges and ask bout it. sunway is closing application soon if u dun hurry, kdu is on 7th jan. others is around the corner too... u finished your degree or spm or cat? different range of fees according to your latest qualification.

Added on January 3, 2012, 5:48 pmany1 can comment whether sunway's lecturer good or not? here's the list:

P1: Mr. Goh Hong Lim
      Ms. Kiran Seth
P2. Chandrika Menon (I know she is famous)
P3. Mr. Dinesh Ramadas (I want to know P3's the most)
      Ms. Wong Siew Choo
P4/P5: Mr. Michael Ezhangoa
P6: Ms. Kok Fong Hun
      Ms. Rozi Fazleen
P7: Mr. Goh Hong Lim
Ms Kiran has just started teaching P1 not long ago IINM. I was not under her, but I heard alot of complaints about Kiran.

Mr Goh is good, might be a little boring in his classes, but his notes are well prepared.

Menon is the best for P2 I believe.

Dinesh's class might be a little boring as well, but his notes are more than enough to pass the paper, just treat it like your bible.

Ms Wong IMO has some attitude problems. I was not under her for P3, but for CAT T5. Her notes are mostly copy paste from many other publishers and most of the time you have to fill in the blanks for your notes.

Mr. Micheal for me is a no-no. He reads out loud sentence by sentence in his notes, even the ones where we could have just read it at home (CG etc.). He crack jokes all the time, some are funny, some are quite lame. The problem is his jokes takes up around 30% of class duration. He does the Q&A way too fast, expecting us to keep up with him. In the end, I have no idea what I wrote as I have to just keep on writing down his answers and his handwriting is one of the worst I've seen. You should try out other tuition providers at KL.

QUOTE(menmissed @ Jan 3 2012, 08:55 PM)
Actually I'm not hurry, start consider and plan now. Will consider a start at second intake for part time. I'm a Finance degree holder, worked for 1.5 years. Just need to fund for the tuition and exam fees. Would appreciate if you guys can share some part time study experiences.

For my degree, understand from 1 institution, it's only can skip 2 papers. My degree is pure finance.

This coming weekend is edu fair right? Mayb can get some info over there.
You can only claim exemptions for F4 and F5? Or the earlier papers? Since you are a finance degree student, why not take up CFA or ICAEW CFq? Taking up ACCA with such little exemptions might not be worth it, especially when you will have around 3-4 years of experience, completing ACCA or not might not be so relevant to the employers anymore since your working experience might be more important for them.
YH90
post Jan 5 2012, 12:50 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(usagi05 @ Jan 5 2012, 12:03 AM)
icon_idea.gif  how to go to extra classes? do other tuition providers accept students which only want their tuition but not the exam?  rclxub.gif

brows.gif  i practically joining sunway because of ms. menon, i'll be taking P1 & P2 in sunway but any1 know how to change group/lecturer in sunway? the handbook states "students must seek approval from the executive director, head of op, or head of program for the switching of any group from the one originally assigned." can i switch group coz i dun like the lecturer?  icon_question.gif
Ignore the handbook. They are just tuition providers. Just tell them you want to change group, which they will surely say no with reasons such as class being full, etc. Don't give reasons like you not liking the lecturer, give some other valid reasons.
YH90
post Jan 6 2012, 01:10 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(hurly @ Jan 6 2012, 12:58 PM)
just a question, do I need to brush up my P1 ethics part before attempting professional ethics module? what do you seniors recommend?
It takes around 3 hours to complete it. There is no wrong or right answer (well, there is, but there's no marks for it) and you won't fail the module. At the end of the module, just remember what you have learned in the module cause' you will need to write your thoughts about it, no less than 200 words IINM.
YH90
post Jan 8 2012, 10:16 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(lqcevox @ Jan 8 2012, 08:22 AM)
so what is this professional module about? havent heard of it, is this something new? am i suppose to finish it asap?
You are required to complete it if you plan to do your OBU.

But I heard from some, you will need to complete it once you complete your ACCA as well.

Either way, it is superbly easy (since there is no pass or fail) and you get a thin A4 paper stating you pass afterwards. No harm done... =/

YH90
post Jan 8 2012, 11:53 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(LYR @ Jan 8 2012, 12:04 PM)
hi guys, i graduated from UTAR and working in SG now as auditor. my initial intention was to pursue ACCA in SG but i found out that i have to retake at least F4 and F6 though i havent sent my results for assessment yet.

considering limited papers are to be exempted, i'm opened to ACCA MY whereby i can get 9 papers exempted. the problem is i have to take the paper in JB most likely and i know Sunway has a campus there but its location bothers me as i'm not from Johor.

does it necessary for me to go through the hassle or any other constructive point of view?
ACCA from different countries provides different exemptions for the same qualification? I don't think so.....

You can always go to SG for tuition as well. I don't hear much about Sunway JB being good (Sunway Kuching is not bad though). You can check out SAA or Kaplan. Both are platinum providers IINM.
YH90
post Jan 9 2012, 11:14 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(~ATI4LIFE~ @ Jan 9 2012, 10:36 AM)
hey guys..i need help.../im interested in this course...but i dont know which college to go to?..so plz help me on suggesting
Budget? Mode of study? Location?
YH90
post Jan 9 2012, 11:31 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(LYR @ Jan 9 2012, 10:52 PM)
it's been confirmed by ACCA SG when my friend attended the ACCA talk. even my seniors taking the exam say so. F4 and F6 and it could be more after assessment.  sad.gif
F4 and 6 I understand since SG has different corporate and tax laws. Maybe even audit as well since they have their own SSA but it is mostly copy paste from ISA.
YH90
post Jan 10 2012, 09:31 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(hurly @ Jan 10 2012, 08:57 PM)
just wanna ask, i went for ACCA classes around KL, KSA, McO and such. how much actually is the fees for ACCA classes like taylor,Sunway and KDU?
Taylor's and Sunway's are almost twice as expensive as other tuition centres at KL. You not only need to pay the registration fee (not sure about this), but also the resource fee plus the tuition fee. Extremely expensive if you only go for 1 particular paper. Sunway's P paper alone is close to 1.5k, resource fee around 300 IINM.

This post has been edited by YH90: Jan 10 2012, 09:32 PM
YH90
post Jan 17 2012, 03:13 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(oOoproz @ Jan 17 2012, 02:19 AM)
We're actually entitled for the RM200 voucher..... UITM acca's students also got their voucher ady right??
I think the vouchers actually depends on which institution you are coming from. Eg. Sunway, INTI, UiTM, KDU shouldn't be a problem but I think tuition centres like KSA etc might have problems claiming the voucher since these are tuition centres.

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jan 17 2012, 03:04 PM)
You must also consider the gap between papers la.. I last time did P123 all back to back really want to die one T_T ... Some employers, I know Big4 give study leave.. I've heard those for 1 week per paper. but if back to back, dunno la how.. I think if 2 papers with gap at least 4-5 days can la take 2 and work full time.

But seriously, if can avoid working first, please la do that. many people really AMBITIOUS want to do everything end up with NOTHING. P papers no joke man.. In fact, if pass all your gaji up a bit maaa...
im from uitm. they dont really care what student u are, as long as u have student card, just go office can claim biggrin.gif
To me, 3 papers depend la gap. if back to back, DIE. but usually la, we should always play safe take 2 per sem okay la..
Since he only has to take 5 professional level papers, he doesn't really has a choice in the papers especially since he can't take the optional papers before attempting to complete the core papers. P321 are one after another, the most you can do is taking P3 and P1, so there is a day gap between the papers.

It really depends on where you think your capabilities are. Working full time while taking 2 papers at a time might be better than studying full time, since you will be able to claim membership earlier than when you are studying full time. The pay difference is just 150. Opportunity cost is very big if you want to study full time. But if you think you can't handle the pressure and time management, then by all means, study full time.
YH90
post Jan 17 2012, 03:35 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jan 17 2012, 03:23 PM)
May i know which employer does actually give that RM150 diff in salary? Quite interested~

Opportunity cost might be big, but paper fail cost is BIGGER la in my opinion. I mean, lets not risk it laa..
I'm looking at Big4 here. They generally pay 2.7k for degree holder, 2.85 for ACCA Affiliates. Thus the 150 difference.

Even if you fail a paper while working, you are actually earning 2.7k per month compared to nil while you are studying full time. And the tuition cost is mostly paid by the employer. The only thing you will lose out is mostly time, but given that you are actually working already which contributes to your 3 years working experience, as long as you complete the 5 papers in 3 years, you would actually gain (less if you fail) more than studying full time.

FYI, I put monetary and working experience as the more important factor. Especially working experience since you are just entering the commercial world.
YH90
post Jan 17 2012, 10:19 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Jan 17 2012, 10:02 PM)
Quick question, say I completed p1 and 2 in
This sem, can I do 1 essential module and an
Option module next sem?
Yes, as long as you are in the attempt of completing the essential papers, ie. you have to take P3 in order to sit for the optional papers.
YH90
post Jan 18 2012, 09:20 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(Doreamon10 @ Jan 18 2012, 09:13 PM)
Can any kind soul here please teach me which button(s) to press on my scientific calculator to "invert".

It is for discounting PV, e.g. 1/(1+R)^5

after keying (1+R)^5, how can I invert it to become 1/(1+R)^5?

Thank you in advance, peiseh...asking this dumb question for paper P2. tongue.gif
Why don't you just press "1/ANS" after you get the (1+R)^5 value?
YH90
post Jan 28 2012, 10:09 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(ain3003 @ Jan 28 2012, 09:02 PM)
hi, hello smile.gif

sorry if this would be off topic. i'm still studying in one of local university in diploma in accountancy. i don't think i want to go straight for degree after finishing my dip. i want to work, full time, if its a good job.
my question is, can someone take ACCA, part time-ly, while they're still working?
and can someone tell me how really does ACCA class is held? i know that it's not same as normal class in uni.

I've read a lot of post but i still can;t understand how the ACCA class is run.

sorry for my bad english=) i'll appreciate if anyone would reply it.  wub.gif
First thing you need to do is to find out the number of exemptions you will obtain through your diploma.

May we know the reason why you don't want to proceed to degree full time after your diploma? I believe finding a job with a diploma might be a little bit difficult and the pay is very low.

ACCA part time classes are usually held in the evenings or during weekends. Evening classes usually start from 7pm-10pm, weekend classes usually starts around 10am-5pm, usually 6 hours per paper but might differ according to the lecturer and paper.

Many take ACCA part time while working.
YH90
post Feb 4 2012, 05:28 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(Doreamon10 @ Feb 4 2012, 04:12 PM)
I did not copy for textbook. I just merely quoted relevant part of the IFRS standards,  thinking that is is a MUST. I stated the standard requires this and that..which i think it is relevant to the case...that chunk was crossed out by my lecturer because he thought it was boring?? : (

And i guess one of my pitfalls is I did not mention the name of the company in my answer, making it looks so much like re-copying from textbook which i swear i wasn't. : (  Do u think that was one of my biggest mistake?

He said the marker will not read the whole script which he thinks i am wasting my time. I don't know how true....should i listen to him?

Added on February 4, 2012, 4:17 pm

Hi there, i am referring to my current P2 homework....kena crossed here and there by my lecturer lah..LOL
I've never really looked at the model answers for P2 before (since I know that I won't be able to produce such answers).

The format I used to follow is
1. state what are the standards applicable for the question
2. which part of the question is not in comply with the standard
3. state the correction and the effect to the financial statement

I think quoting is the best way since you won't go wrong with the standard, that is if your memory is that good with so many standards being examinable in the exams.

If you look at the recognition criteria's, measurement, etc for every standard, you will actually see a trend that 2-3 criteria are always there in all the standards. That is how I memorized it anyway.

And when you answer the question, don't use dodgy answers even though you are not that sure with the standards. Write precise answers like you own the standard.

This post has been edited by YH90: Feb 4 2012, 05:29 PM
YH90
post Feb 8 2012, 04:06 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Feb 8 2012, 12:35 PM)
Does anyone have an audit working paper?

It is like a job sheet, where we have to answer the questions in the paper, to justify the things that we will be looking at, and the audit that we have done.

Would appreciate it if somebody could share it here smile.gif
I agree with noonies_naruto here. You don't have to go that far to answer the question. Furthermore, such questions are more towards CAT level. F8 and P7 doesn't touch on such basic things even though it's the basics that I don't really understand.... rclxm9.gif
YH90
post Feb 8 2012, 06:20 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(neverknowgirl @ Feb 8 2012, 06:10 PM)
So result will be this tuesday right?
Anyone here using sms to know the result? Is it reliable? Cant sleep olredi..

Btw joe fang and keith, anyone here can tell me which one better?
There is sms system now?

Results are usually out on Monday 1pm MYS time. I don't think it's Tuesday.
YH90
post Feb 8 2012, 07:19 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(VanillaScoop @ Feb 8 2012, 06:30 PM)
Hi guys, I have some inquires about ACCA and I'm unsure if this is the right thread to ask.

Anyhow, I heard a diploma is required in order to take ACCA. My question is, if a person graduates from any Singapore Polytechnic with a Diploma in Accounting & Finance, and is unable to secure a position in NTU, Degree in Bachelor of Accountancy, is it advisable to proceed with ACCA instead? Will there be any difference between these two in terms of profession or qualifications upon graduation and when working?

Also, will they teach the very basics of accountancy in the beginning of the 3-year diploma or do we need to have deeper knowledge in the syllabus as taught in our secondary school.

I apologize if I sound ignorant.. I hope any seniors can give me your input and guidance or inform me if I had posted in the incorrect thread. Thank you very much.
No. You only need A-levels to start ACCA. Anything higher than A-levels will provide you with exemptions. A levels will not provide you with any exemptions, so you would have to start from F1 to P7 (14 papers). Diploma would most probably help you to 4 exemptions, ie. you would start from F5 to P7.

However, note that you can just take 6 months to complete these 4 papers compared to Diploma which takes more than 2 years just to get the 4 paper exemption.

But since you are doing through the Diploma route, then the A-levels or CAT route is out of the question.

I would say that having a degree from NTU then completing ACCA and going straight into ACCA with the Diploma in hand both brings you into the same path, but NTU would probably provide a faster path.

ACCA teaches all the basics. No worries about that.

Note that this is only my OPINION. NTU is quite a prestigious university, therefore career paths would most likely be better than an ACCA fresh graduate since wherever you go to (most likely tuition centres, again I would assume you will be studying ACCA at Singapore, and I only know Kaplan, BPP and SAA) does not have such career services provided by NTU.
YH90
post Feb 8 2012, 07:53 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ Feb 8 2012, 07:21 PM)
wow YH90 dunno sms system, u must be graduated  rclxms.gif

anyone know who is tis girl------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------->

she so beautiful... wub.gif
I graduated on June 2011. The girl is most likely not even a student at Monash.

In Sunway's brochures, we have a beautiful girl studying for ACCA, VU and most probably Lancaster at the same time as well.
YH90
post Feb 8 2012, 08:59 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(VanillaScoop @ Feb 8 2012, 07:52 PM)
Thank you so much for clearing this up for me. I'm still in my form 5's and have some doubts since I don't take Accounts for my SPM. A-levels is better wherelse Diploma has more practical hands-on training I think. In your opinion, which is more preferable. A-levels or CAT route?  unsure.gif
Diploma does in fact provide internships, but if your final target is ACCA, then by all means take the FIA - ACCA route as it is the fastest (3 years if smooth sailing), next will be A-levels - ACCA (after A-levels, 2.5 years if smooth sailing), Diploma - ACCA (2.5+1.5 years) and Degree - ACCA (Foundation/A-levels +3/4 years Degree + 1 year ACCA).

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0624sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:39 PM