SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V6, The ULTIMATE Android experience is here

pluginbaby
post Jun 24 2011, 09:20 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jun 24 2011, 09:10 PM)
Sensation thread always bash SGS II
oi2. dun fire stone ( batu api ) .. bahahaha sweat.gif .. it will soon end.. its similar to what happened when Galaxy S1 with HTC Desire and Desire HD with Galaxy S1.. btw got news tomorrow dealer get stock from SME?

This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Jun 24 2011, 09:20 PM
pluginbaby
post Jun 24 2011, 09:28 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(Cloud9Nos3 @ Jun 24 2011, 09:24 PM)
when s2 price will drop, hehe
it will be stable a while i guess since stock are insufficient and dealers are trying their best to max out at competitive pricing and also there arent much new phones that can be on par except LG optimus 3D.. maybe it will decrease significantly when next iPhone will arrive here, but for now its quite stable i believe.. not too much drops
pluginbaby
post Jun 25 2011, 03:23 PM

2,661 posts

Did dealers got their stock today? what time? i havent got any call saying stock arrived to COD.. so sad sad.gif
pluginbaby
post Jun 26 2011, 06:35 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Jun 26 2011, 06:29 PM)
coming from iphone 3gs user. Definitely go for samsung if you like freedom.

Freedom includes:
bluetooth transfer pics/songs/ringtones to other phones
can just select an mp3 and choose 'set as ringtone' to use it as your ringtone (iphone can't do this SIMPLE thing)
can use ur device as mass storage, copy mp3 into it straight away, i hate to 'sync' my mp3 to my iphone, i hate itunes, but that just me
very customizable, from homescreen, to everything
many 'custom' roms to play with, each are unique!
definitely use android if you're slightly techie, and know what you're doing with tech devices smile.gif iphone is just too boring!
too much freedom to be listed in a single post!

not to mention, the specs on samsung galaxy sii beats iphone 4 in every way. Even the iphone 5 that's coming out only has minor improvement.

i use whatsapp all the time, and i'm using the maxis 100mb package... more than enuf for me.. not sure about facebooking though, to me 500mb is more than enuf... 3gb... u sure u can use that much? (unless youtube)

advice from a user of both iphone and samsung galaxy sii... get this phone! =)
im on a 3GB maxis data package.. with youtube, i easily hit 3GB and usually by the end of the week (6-7 days before reset cycle), i already consumed 80-90% in 3G watchdog T_T. It is sufficient alright but dont do youtube or DOWNLOAD ROMS and TETHER to laptop too much lol like what i did sweat.gif

A simple example of mine based on normal use.. browse2 Android section here + garage sales for 1hour is already about 15MB, guessing got lots of images to load for sure.. My pattern of data on phone when out of home is twitter (tweetdeck), friendcaster/fb official app, Pulse reader for reading new stuffs, XDA app and few market apps..remember not to set auto check update in android market otherwise it will auto update apps even when on 3G. 3GB is sufficient for heavy phone user to read, absorb knowledge and socializing but dont do much on media. If wan to download, use tubemate to download and not to stream.

p/s : Anyone uses livejasmin app here? haha xD
pluginbaby
post Jun 26 2011, 06:45 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 26 2011, 03:14 PM)
It is FLASH memory NOT micro Sd. If spoilt, say sayonara lah
if internal SD spoilt during warranty, we can get a replacement under SME right if ori biggrin.gif
pluginbaby
post Jun 26 2011, 06:55 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(Blackberries @ Jun 26 2011, 06:40 PM)
Ok dude, thanks alot! At least now I have a rough idea on the amount of data available (: I shall get my sgs II after tmrw! (: thanks!

BTW, mind i ask, are most of the important apps like whatsapp/viber/ free on the android market?
viber is not yet in the market.. its only for beta testing if u signed up (still can sign up for it) for the beta testing.. Whatsapp is free for 1Year on android and yes, its on the Market biggrin.gif
pluginbaby
post Jun 26 2011, 06:57 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(kazama82 @ Jun 26 2011, 06:54 PM)
just be careful of your first month bill as normally prorated..after the 7th of evry month, then u good to go..and most of the place now have wifi..now i'm using iValue 100 on my sgs2..just start activate the plan yesterday...so from today till 6th july, my data will be prorated..

sgs2 is a great phone..like others say, i also hate to need to sync mp3 or files..that's why my iPod shuffle just put aside got lazy want to sync with iTunes..i better get the china iPod where it can act as mass storage..i love the 11GB space in sgs2..i fill up with all my office stuff and the display of office document and pdf are superb...far beyond my expectation...
i guess pro-rated means "quota devided by how many days to cycle"... such as billing date is 20th and u signed up on 15th.. its not like 3GB u can finish before 20th its 3GB minus "20th-15th" (5Days)
pluginbaby
post Jun 26 2011, 11:20 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Jun 26 2011, 11:12 PM)
lol the 'Custom script' is installed into my brain... I'm mentally filtering his posts, hahaha
got any pirated version of that script? haha.. share laaa.. upload to mediafire.. lmao
pluginbaby
post Jun 27 2011, 04:44 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(nshon @ Jun 27 2011, 04:12 PM)
I remember there were scattered posts about Yoobao power banks.

11,200mAh availalbe, should have read more! Posted for benefit of others who missed the postings in V5.

------->>USD96 nett (RM293) from Lelong seller<<------

------>>USD76 nett (RM233) on eBay from Hong Kong seller.<<-------

Lesson - should have done homework before buying 6600mAh power bank.  biggrin.gif
too huge and hell long take time to charge T_T.. 6600mAh seems to be excellent already. 4xxxmAh is the ideal when considering ratio of usage, capacity and charging time needed so that usability can be optimized

Added on June 27, 2011, 4:47 pm
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 27 2011, 03:14 PM)
Noice. Seems that I just abuse my device. My old iPhone 4 struggled to get past 10-11 hours on a single charge even WITH a battery pack (it lasted like 6-7 hours w/o one).

My SGS2, sans battery pack or extra battery or external battery, was dead in 4-5 hours lol.

Running VillainLite 1.4 with most Samsung customizations taken out, brightness set manually through the notification bar slide method (very, very nice).
4-5 hours of brutal abuse is quite good.. the desire HD is dead within 1.5-2.5 hours if i can recall back and sensation is around 3 hours like that.. But my term of abusing is 3G + browsing/gaming/IM etc

This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Jun 27 2011, 04:47 PM
pluginbaby
post Jun 27 2011, 06:39 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(afadzil21 @ Jun 27 2011, 06:20 PM)
Yeay. Got my SGS2! Damnit, HTC Evo 3D just launched. 3D is just gimmicky and nausea inducing anyway. Gimme 30fps 1080p 2D video anyday.
why dammit since Evo 3D wont ever perhaps to come to bolehland.. congrats on ur purchase.. never look back la bro, feel good for what we purchased
pluginbaby
post Jun 27 2011, 07:51 PM

2,661 posts

Guys, the yellowish effect does not destroy the enjoyment of using the display ait? only on certain background or colours right? I dont think its quite a defect to be replaced. Its quite normal and acceptable ait?
pluginbaby
post Jun 27 2011, 08:25 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jun 27 2011, 07:59 PM)
it's only clear if you go looking for it, bringing the screen brightness down and putting a grey background. It doesn't seem to affect if you are using it normally

However, there are many people who are returning their phones for a replacement, so that's pretty much holding me back from buying one now also
glad to know that.. purely acceptable to me icon_rolleyes.gif . I wonder what does SME will respond to those ppl send their phone back for this case.. did they get a replacement or SME service will say "nothing la, normal its all like that one mehh"

Added on June 27, 2011, 8:25 pm
QUOTE(jasonbourne222 @ Jun 27 2011, 08:21 PM)
for those who needs extra power..u might wanna get this  rclxms.gif

http://www.mugen-power-batteries.com/samsu...ttery-door.html
or this  icon_rolleyes.gif

that powerskin is rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif ... but its not GT-i9100 in that pic

This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Jun 27 2011, 08:28 PM
pluginbaby
post Jun 27 2011, 09:02 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jun 27 2011, 08:32 PM)
no i think they will do something about it because it affects a lot their sales and some are saying that the replacement units are less noticeable.

Also there are reports of circles burned into the screen believed to be cause by the pick and place suction during assembly
did someone here sent to SME and replaced? if yes good then rclxm9.gif .. i still remember last year my friend bought Galaxy S under maxis then his samoled display got one line all a sudden.. SME just told him to wait for about 3days for that panel to arrive and it took not long to fix it.. but for his case, he changed the panel, not the device
pluginbaby
post Jun 27 2011, 10:00 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jun 27 2011, 09:13 PM)
If i can recall my memory in previous posts there was 1 member sent in to SME but was told no replacement but to fix it
Good to hear that SME take that issue seriously smile.gif .. i was expecting them saying its all normal etc
pluginbaby
post Jun 28 2011, 01:10 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(Grimtooth @ Jun 28 2011, 01:05 PM)
Prebooked at 1U SEP this morning and it seems I'm still in the 2nd batch.
The guy said if wait until tomorrow or so, most probably will get the 3rd batch.. which he added, have to wait for 2 weeks..
2nd batch still havent arrived then ey? The ETA is today?
pluginbaby
post Jun 28 2011, 02:45 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Jun 28 2011, 02:43 PM)
what kind of phone is this. with 1 1/2 hours of use left 65% battery.  couldn't they come out with better battery? ??
its a 4.3 inch device with dual core.. dont compare it to a 3.5 inch phone tongue.gif .. its normal and u will get used to it.. get a portable battery like Yoobao or Mili thumbup.gif

Added on June 28, 2011, 2:46 pm
QUOTE(andrewL @ Jun 28 2011, 02:44 PM)
Just a question... does any1 know of any Lowyat forumer that sells SEP sets? or any1 in Lowyat.net selling sgs2 with 2 year warranty?
from what i know, those SEP set must buy at the branch, unless u know anyone there advert here.. but i dont think so.. or maybe if someone got cable la.. im referring to get the 2yrs warranty.. some dealers also get sets from AMS but only 1yr so i guess for 2yrs must buy from SEP directly at branch

This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Jun 28 2011, 02:53 PM
pluginbaby
post Jun 28 2011, 09:03 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jun 28 2011, 09:00 PM)
Anyone know where SGS II have stock? KL/PJ area..
safe bet, place an order and wait.. its tiring to look around and chase like ah long.. im still waiting for my own unit but i trying to smile n be happy while in suffer waiting now.. haha blush.gif
pluginbaby
post Jun 28 2011, 09:18 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(MercurialA @ Jun 28 2011, 09:16 PM)
there is so much diff compared to iphone 4's cute the rope and android (from getjar) in terms of battery... the rest seems fine
i played cut the rope before on my sensation.. there is not much animations compared to the official one obtained from getjar.. is it the one i played before is the iOS port of the game to android? yeah, it lacks smoothness and animations.. the getjar version rocks
pluginbaby
post Jun 29 2011, 12:34 PM

2,661 posts

I can feel the aura of our belated friend kentang peranchis.. anyone feeling the same too?
pluginbaby
post Jun 29 2011, 01:25 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(Grimtooth @ Jun 29 2011, 01:12 PM)
Great news! I just came back from One Utama with this beast of a phone!
Guess what? When I was there, FIVE boxes full of SGSII goodness just arrived!

*Uncle Benny, add me to the users' list. Thanks!
I do hope the boxes u mentioned is huge and not 5 box unit only.. hehe.. hopefully ill get a call later.. hopefully. sweat.gif

0.1307sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:17 AM