SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V6, The ULTIMATE Android experience is here
gfx
Jun 25 2011, 11:07 PM

im thinking about rooting, have been reading for a while here, and interested in litening rom. a very very veryyyyy newbie user.. but i can follow instructions nicely.. so..........is litening is the best atm?
gfx
Jun 26 2011, 01:00 PM

can anyone show how is that pink spot look like?...
just flash mine to lite-ning rom.. thinking about changing to villain now.. i have 3 launcher now, still havent make decision which is the best to use. deng.
gfx
Jun 26 2011, 01:43 PM

ah, i never realise the pink spot.. lol. tested mine, from the darkest picture, to the brightest, didnt found any... lucky me? lol. anyway, uncle benny, thanks for the explainations...
have one more question, dont know if it has been discuss here yet or no, or it is not worth the time to be discussed, or whatever... read something from the xda forum, and i quote, " So it seems that a couple of ROM "chefs" thought it was a good idea to sneak in a script to cheat their quadrant benchmark results... Both Lite'ning ROM, and AngeloROM are giving deceiving quadrant scores. " .. so, is both the rom is not as what it says?
p/s: seems like flashing to villain rom is like harder than other roms.. phew.
gfx
Jun 26 2011, 02:03 PM

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jun 26 2011, 02:51 PM) Earlier version of their roms have this command inside mount -o rw -t tmpfs tmpfs /data/data/com.aurorasoftworks.quadrant.ui.standardEven stock rom after running this cmd in terminal as su get same quadrant results Note : if you have quadrant advanced change the command replacing ui.standard with ui.advanced. Both command lines are on init.d script they cheated the quadrant score putting in quadrant benchmark putting this command in init.d script Someone compared it to Lite'ning and apparently found the same script in it as well ...... How fake if u r wondering ? Well , after overclocked to 1.5 , I almost hit 6k quadrant running on AngeloRom ..... thanks for the explainations...wow.. im clueless. lol. about how fake if im wondering, i dont actually know though.. i just read all the instructions for the villain rom, and found the footnotes by the author of villainrom. s2 is my first android, and last night is my succesful attempt for litening rom, so, yeah, super duper extravagant newbie here. lol.
gfx
Jun 26 2011, 02:53 PM

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 26 2011, 03:47 PM) Tried the above mod. Okla, but th DSP + CM7 Player mod is easily available through VRTweaks so I did that. And guys, do yourself a favour and install any of the free flipfont packages on the market. Stuff is so much clearer with new fons for people who don't zoom in like me. QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jun 26 2011, 03:51 PM) As some users r complaining that SGSII got no notification lights or comparing it with u-know-what , just in case u guys missed it as it was mentioned by 1 of the forumer earlier , there is an alternative which was initially developed for SGS . Its call NoLED which can be downloaded from " Market " and its free . Working well on SGSII . thank you. need this two things. kudos
gfx
Jun 26 2011, 05:45 PM

QUOTE(iori57 @ Jun 26 2011, 06:32 PM) Just wondering if my old capdase car charger for iphone 3gs is suitable to charge galaxy II? It has two usb ports.. wondering if i could just plug the usb cable to it.... thanks [attachmentid=2296700] tried that just now. its working, yes, but its kinda slow.
gfx
Jun 26 2011, 10:03 PM

hey guys, im having a problem while trying this *#0*# code. received some error saying connection problem or mmi code invalid.
edited: is this only for the sets bought outside malaysia?
This post has been edited by gfx: Jun 26 2011, 10:03 PM
gfx
Jun 26 2011, 10:05 PM

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 26 2011, 11:03 PM) Nandroid is a 100 % FULL backup of your phone . If your phone crashed, restoring from this backup will give you back the phone exactly as it was at backup time. Titanium backup only backup your system apps, 3rd party apps and your data. If your phone crashed , Titanium Backup cannot restore your phone. You use TB to restore back your data when the phone is in working condition ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh, thanks for the info. even if im not the one asking it. lol... still...ty
gfx
Jun 26 2011, 10:19 PM

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 26 2011, 11:06 PM) This is standard codes - works with any Samsung phone not only SGS II. Try again, maybe you mistype. After you finish typing, you will see immediately a silver background titled LCD TEST with 17 boxes of tests parameters If it doesn't work at all, your phone has problem dear lord...lol.. i tried and tried...but to no avail that thing is working, but after changing the launcher back to stock launcher, it works.. and lucky me everything work perfectly. lol. gelabah sekejap. ty again unc.benny
gfx
Jun 26 2011, 10:24 PM

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 26 2011, 11:19 PM) SORRY : 13 not 17 - my eyes goes bonkers seeing 3 box as 4 Added on June 26, 2011, 10:20 pmWhat launcher ?? Launcher affects it ??- this is news. I am on spb3d shell i was on GO Launcher when i asked the question...then i revert back to the stock launcher, and it works. everything is working in GO Launcher except for the *#0*#...
gfx
Jun 26 2011, 10:56 PM

QUOTE(xiaomahe @ Jun 26 2011, 11:47 PM) hi guys, just wondering which method u used for rooting as mentioned in first page.. so many options, but which one that you all used? i used the tutorial using Superoneclick. it's quite easy to follow.
gfx
Jun 27 2011, 08:26 AM

::edited:: found em.
This post has been edited by gfx: Jun 27 2011, 08:52 AM
gfx
Jun 27 2011, 09:00 PM

QUOTE(weikeatWK @ Jun 27 2011, 09:58 PM) Is it only me or the phone heat up very fast? just you. everyone else is having a cold phone..... LOL. j/king. common problem that heat is.. anyway, im thinking bout buying the SGP capsule series for my sgs II, anyone got it? how is it?
gfx
Jun 27 2011, 09:50 PM

QUOTE(jacky.toh @ Jun 27 2011, 10:44 PM) I just flashed to litening rom, will it cause social hub failed to launch? same thing happened to me too. i guess so. still searching about the reason.
gfx
Jun 28 2011, 09:53 PM

im still thinking about getting the ultra case sgp. should i, shouldnt i?
anyway,
read something about the battery will take about 3 or 4 times charging before it starts to be at its optimum point, i guess it might be true as the first day i got it, charged for 8 hours, the battery drained hella fast with minimum usage.. but now, it can withstand my usages..calls, surfing, music, no games though, for like about 10 - 13 hours..my last charging time is at 3am, went to bed with it not charging, and still usable till now. ..well, with 25% left..
gfx
Jun 29 2011, 08:07 PM

QUOTE(andrewL @ Jun 29 2011, 06:28 PM) how come i buy from them dun have free bt headset...  I guess coz i didnt pre-order.. i pre-order last 2 weeks, supposely i shouldnt got the free bluetooth set because of NO STOCK, but i said PLEASEEEEEEEEEEE, and he gave it to me.. LOL QUOTE(numerical @ Jun 29 2011, 09:01 PM) hehe..same here..welcome together..now my wife wana get it too..very nice seller i would say..he even convince me to buy 5 sets.. now, thats the kind of guy you want to be in your companys marketing department.
gfx
Jun 29 2011, 08:52 PM

QUOTE(manx @ Jun 29 2011, 09:50 PM) Hey there.. Same here... Just ported from BB Droid family.... Geting bored after using Bb for almost 1.5years. Buy there way, can i request a cheatsheet for dummiest dummy for rooting and unrooting a SGSII? Main reason is to enable google navigator and also market enabler for skype.... Been reading all the first page posting but mostly linked to xdadeveloper site where it is not a very stright forward method. No confident to root just yet...  well, they gave you the step by step procedure.. and uncle benny already posted the way i guess somewhere around..it wont be any easier than that.. what you need to know is just which method is the best and easiest to root, and what kind of roms suits you best...
gfx
Jun 29 2011, 09:26 PM

QUOTE(ksh9394 @ Jun 29 2011, 10:24 PM) how do you remove shutter sound?? page 1, guide #10. need to root first.
gfx
Jun 29 2011, 11:16 PM

QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Jun 30 2011, 12:13 AM) guys, do you know anyone is selling mhl-HDMI cable which can be used in S2 and sesnation? @@ uncle benny just posted a link to mudah.my about some store selling them few psts back, or you can get them from any oither SEP.. Lowyat or OU
gfx
Jun 29 2011, 11:27 PM

QUOTE(ivanlmh @ Jun 30 2011, 12:19 AM) Sifus~~ Can i know is it only SEP gives 2 year warranty? Now SEP got stock? And how much is they usually selling? bought mine at SEP OU.. 2 years warranty. still need to pre order i guess. got a few selling in mudah.my lesser than 2099 with 2 years warranty.