2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

yamasce
post Dec 13 2011, 09:32 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Dec 13 2011, 10:34 AM)
wat spec u r referring to being not available?2.4L one?

This post has been edited by yamasce: Dec 13 2011, 09:56 PM
yamasce
post Dec 14 2011, 12:36 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Dec 14 2011, 12:30 AM)
Ya, most probably that too. Even if we got the 2.4 it would be the 174hp MPI version and not the 200hp GDI. I'm referring more to the 271hp 2.0 turbo sad.gif
ahh...yea...it will b good enough even if they bring in GDI...but oh well malaysian fuel is shit...coz of shit policies and G also la...anyway any news on actual launching date and price?i'm guessing will b priced well below high spec sonata...so around 140-143k...if follow the current trend la...how bout the waiting period?will it b the same with sportage?
yamasce
post Dec 14 2011, 09:59 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(leds @ Dec 14 2011, 02:28 AM)
K5 launching this month..next month or february only can get car...
So waiting period is bout 1-2month for first batch pre-booking owner
But im glad they manage to launch this month...cant wait to check out the real car... rclxms.gif
Will take some photograph and share it here by that time
If rm140k than K5 will not be so competitve in same segment ..
personally think should be between rm135k more suitable
If come out really rm140k and above than i think its overpriced
err u will see my prediction is correct...due to the recent sportage pricing which is overpriced as well...they will compare with high spec sonata believe me...they will say oh high spec sonata 145k but kia slightly less exclusive than hyundai and optima got abit better features and confident will be hot cake...we will price it juz below sonata then...and we are slapped with 140+k price tag lolz

anyway of coz everyone including me hope for the best but chances are gonna b overpriced..

QUOTE(DiamondBar @ Dec 14 2011, 03:18 AM)
I predict this Kia Optima has a very high depreciation value,
just like Sonata YF.

Only very rich man will buy it... definitely not me..
err if u planning to change car every 4-5 yrs of coz...but more than 9 yrs of usage depreciation value won't matter much anymore...most important is to know how long u gonna use ur car...for long term ppl would go for looks, drivability and their passion for the car...if u scared of this and that then juz go with typical malaysian mentality tat T&H is no. 1...no offence

Added on December 14, 2011, 4:47 pmguys good news for us...long awaited killer will be launched soon...gentlemen...start ur engine..vroommm vrooommm

http://www.motortrader.com.my/Cars/NewsHea...-on-Dec-27.aspx

This post has been edited by yamasce: Dec 14 2011, 04:52 PM
yamasce
post Dec 14 2011, 10:39 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(WieBoy @ Dec 14 2011, 10:35 PM)
Finally, 27 of DEC, your waiting has been reply.

Anyone please upload more photos n spec about all the car details in forum, hope u can share out on that day at Kia Red Cube! Wow last month saw that building in progress, nvr tot that will be special launch for Mighty Optima or shall i say Camry Killer!

Whatever price will be, this car gona vrooommm the way~~~Stay tune
juz hope is below 140k lo...anyway my mind alrdy set on this car rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by yamasce: Dec 14 2011, 10:39 PM
yamasce
post Dec 14 2011, 11:13 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(kapultek @ Dec 14 2011, 10:48 PM)
heard that can get for 102k..dont know if its true
lol wat 102k???err i think the rest of car manufacturer can gulung tikar alrdy...including kia's mother company hyundai

QUOTE(devinz @ Dec 14 2011, 10:59 PM)
102k? Then likely will be in SKD form with Naza badge instead.

If it is true, you will see the waiting period could be as long as 1 year... Hahhaha
lol no way...cbu units alrdy in port klang...got pictures some more...

http://paultan.org/2011/11/20/kia-optima-c...-at-port-klang/

This post has been edited by yamasce: Dec 14 2011, 11:15 PM
yamasce
post Dec 15 2011, 06:02 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(IpohLad @ Dec 15 2011, 05:45 PM)
Whats the point of arguing. Just go and buy what you like to drive. This is 21st century no one care about resale value like the old folks do anymore.

Any car you bought in Malaysia is a rip off anyway. LOL
QUOTE(gregy @ Dec 15 2011, 05:59 PM)
No need for the knee jerk reaction and start talking gibberish lol... I think you better stick to a Myvi. Best resale value. The new one Lagi Best resale value. Nuff said...
+99999
yamasce
post Dec 22 2011, 11:52 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(leds @ Dec 22 2011, 11:35 PM)
another rumours from forumer said the actual price shoud be rm148,888.00...now getting expensive or what??exepnsive then sonata HS
wow tatz insane man...no wonder so few ppl wan to pre-book 1st...even though so many features and good designs but majority still will compare against T & H coz wat they care most is resale resale resale...

they will say like oh camry/accord 150k+ with adequate amount of features...less than rm100 difference in terms of monthly repayment why not take camry/accord lolz

This post has been edited by yamasce: Dec 22 2011, 11:55 PM
yamasce
post Dec 23 2011, 12:50 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Dec 23 2011, 12:37 AM)
That's nothing for the standard features they are giving
so u agree with tat pricing???anyway not tat they r giving another option other than the premium specs...it's either take it or leave it...but still i hope max is 145k la...149k is too much liao
yamasce
post Dec 23 2011, 04:19 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Dec 23 2011, 08:26 AM)
i remember it was suppose to price not more than 140K as reported in NTV 7 quite a while ago. Probably 138,888
same with sportage???no way...with abit more features than sportage and not forgetting the infinity 8-speakers + subwoofer package i doubt they will price it below 140k...probably around 145k liao...if u compare features from the leaked brochure with outside of malaysia optima 2.4L premium specs u'll find that they r similar except they dun offer 2 mufflers duh...onli thing now they dump in all 2.4L premium specs on 2.0L variant for malaysian optima...juz my 2cents

This post has been edited by yamasce: Dec 23 2011, 04:38 PM
yamasce
post Dec 27 2011, 10:39 AM

346 posts

anyone went or will b going to the grand launching in PJ today?appreciate if can post some pictures and details here rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by yamasce: Dec 27 2011, 10:50 AM
yamasce
post Dec 27 2011, 11:24 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(calebc @ Dec 27 2011, 11:22 AM)
What time does the grand launching start?
lol i duno...can't go to see my dream car cry.gif
yamasce
post Dec 27 2011, 01:50 PM

346 posts

i personally think 144k still pricy if compare to sportage since SUV price structure is alwiz higher than sedan...not only tat...features and engine similar too!!optima got extra eco function and paddle shifter but tatz all...if they include in touch screen navi can jusitfy the high price la...now apa navi pun takda
yamasce
post Dec 27 2011, 02:49 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(lelynx @ Dec 27 2011, 02:44 PM)
seems like naza is getting greedier for the rm144k price-tag
even optima have many *small* unique features but i will not go for this car for this price-tag
if they bring in 2.4l but with rm144k; then we are talking. surely not for rm144k on 2.0l only
quite upset with the pricing... sad.gif
coz now naza is owned by u-know-who...the son of the king of songlapers
yamasce
post Dec 27 2011, 02:54 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Dec 27 2011, 02:51 PM)
it is trying to create a feeling/image.

i'm buying kia not because i cannot afford a camry.  it is in fact same price/more expensive than camry.

which is very positive, if you ask me.
positive for them not for us lolz...alwiz been negative for us since the stupid king of songlapers gave birth to potong...
yamasce
post Dec 27 2011, 04:17 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 27 2011, 04:04 PM)
Just returned after seeing the car at Kia TTDI. I must say that the design is really impressive. Very sporty and has that luxurious look. The rear legroom is very generous and 3 adults can easily sit comfortably at the back. But the dashboard seems a generation behind unlike the futuristic ones found on the Sonata and Elantra.

Most disappointing is the pricing which is too high for a 2.0L Korean make despite its gadgets. Most of the ppl at the showroom also said the same. Plus the car doesnt have any Navigation which should have been pretty standard for cars of this category.

No test drive unit available till about April/May 2012. But i think this car would be hard pressed to keep up with other similar makes. Its 165Hp and 198Nm loses out to the Peugeot 508's 156Hp and 240Nm torque. 0-100kmph acceleration for the Optima is 10.9 secs compared to 9.2 secs on the 508.

Plus im not sure of Kia has got the suspension setup to deal with the 18 inch rims. Ride comfort would surely suffer. The Peugeot 508 is finding that a real bother now.

Sadly, i think Naza screwed up this one with the pricing. After doing a great job with the Forte, they got too greedy and thought they could nail Malaysians with the 144K price tag. Soon they'll know that Malaysians aint dumb and gadgets/good looks alone wont get them the sale numbers. Really baffles me how they could price the Optima so close to the Sonata when everybody knows that the Sonata isnt doing as well as anticipated.

Many ppl would prefer to wait for the new Camry for that price range. Im sure Toyota will improve the specs on the upcoming Camry.
yes totally agree with u...if they put in navi mayb 144k consider ok but on high side...without the navi 144k is overkill...when will new camry be launched?
yamasce
post Dec 27 2011, 04:39 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(WieBoy @ Dec 27 2011, 04:28 PM)
may i knw with the price tag 144k , is refer to CKD or CBU model?
cbu...lol ckd 144k they can close shop liao...

QUOTE(Bliz @ Dec 27 2011, 04:35 PM)
10.9seconds is really slow  sweat.gif , the FC surely suffers  sweat.gif
reason is bcoz the car is quite heavy also...bout 1550kg kerb weight...sportage is 1600+...sure no power...if naza still stick with 144 i think i might change to other cars liao la...not worth it
yamasce
post Dec 27 2011, 04:53 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 27 2011, 04:48 PM)
Despite its good looks and decent specs, the Sonata only sold 2,740 units from Jan-Nov this year. Compared to 7,355 units of Camry & 4,332 units of Accord sold in that same period. Mind you these are the older Camry's and Accord's.

How then can Naza hope to break ground with the Optima priced at RM 143,888???? A really stupid move by Naza! Many ppl saying the same on Naza's FB page as well. Lets hammer them hard and hopefully they will throw in some goodies to balance up the price. If not, i see an early demise for the Optima.
yaya agree...i have started to bash since before its launch lolz... tongue.gif
yamasce
post Dec 28 2011, 04:19 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(wc5599 @ Dec 28 2011, 04:01 PM)
just back from test drive.. not a bad car to buy.. good spec..
feel solid.. lots of electronic stuff 2 play with..
power wise.. abit underpower for 2.0 model.. the salesman told me they only will b 2.0.. zz
put K&N filter then tongue.gif
yamasce
post Dec 28 2011, 04:24 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(wc5599 @ Dec 28 2011, 04:20 PM)
haha. i just bought teana last yr lo.. else i will consider tis car 1..
abit butthurt..
trade in la...top up abit...change to k&n filter...then u can zoom zoom...and get good FC still biggrin.gif
yamasce
post Dec 28 2011, 04:35 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(wc5599 @ Dec 28 2011, 04:28 PM)
u wan buy?
tis optima gadget is almost same as merc e class.. quite fun..
the speaker quite good.. but the woofer (i think) sits on the thin board at the back.. when volumn loud abit it will vibrates gao gao.. can hear the sound lar..
initially thought of buying coz predicted 140k below...now will think twice liao...stupid greedy naza...they thought they can rip off our money by juz offering gd design and car loaded with features...wat they duno is most ppl will consider whole package like maintenance, after sales service, reliability, bla bla bla...those ppl who onli look at the car alone is either they r dreaming to get the car or hv lots of money...ppl who are plan their financial properly n do alot of research will feel otherwise...

0.0907sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:33 PM