2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

masz94
post Jun 24 2011, 09:24 PM

I've just booked a Sorento today. Lookin' forward to collect it. laugh.gif wub.gif

My review......
Mang! the car is full of tech. Before this my mind was closed for Korean cars but after test driving it, I know this is the right car for me. Compared to CRV, Fortuner , Pajero Sport, X-Trail, Even it's own brother the Santa FE, Tucson & the recently launched Sportage, I can safely tell u all that it is the pick of the bunch. Style it is more beautiful than it's rival & very comfy. Performance no doubt, it's far more powerful than even the 2.7 Fortuner.

WOnder if this Optima is good. But my verdict is that it'll most likely do with the Theta II engine rather than the GDi. laugh.gif
masz94
post Jun 25 2011, 10:41 PM

QUOTE(seanoys @ Jun 24 2011, 11:39 PM)
why not sportage tongue.gif
I've tested both and somewhat I feel the Sorento more stylish & better specced. Powerwise the Sportage oso not powerful as Sorento eventough Sorento is heavier. The Sportage is oso quite small & I prefer 7 seat SUV.

Feature wise, the Sorento oso got self-levelizing suspension which meant that if 1 side of the car is higher than the other one, it will counter balance the car height.

During the test driving I really pushed both cars kaw-kaw. Full throttle, I managed to push the Sorento to 115 kp/h in second gear, whereas Sportage will only do 100 kp/h in second gear.

During hard u-turns, I did feel that the Sportage got some body roll but controllable. Sorento meanwhile do the same thing better. Sorento oso got better ground clearance.

That is the reason why I choose the Sorento over Sportage...... icon_rolleyes.gif laugh.gif drool.gif blush.gif

Added on June 25, 2011, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 25 2011, 01:03 PM)
Should be priced around RM 130K for the 2.0L
I don't think so coz The Sportage is already priced at 138K. This Optima will perhaps venture into the 140K category. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by masz94: Jun 25 2011, 10:46 PM
masz94
post Jul 17 2011, 03:52 PM

QUOTE(shamsul_LP @ Jul 15 2011, 02:46 PM)
kulim...not naza branch...a naza dealer there
Lai Kim ?
masz94
post Jan 30 2012, 07:20 PM

Even my father Sorento 2.4 is very stable.... Expect the Optima to be better due to lower ride height....

Yes i've test drive it.... Very stable... As an owner of Honda Accord 2.4 too, my father is amazed by this Optima...
masz94
post Feb 1 2012, 03:03 PM

QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Jan 31 2012, 10:58 AM)
Based on ur initial test drive, which part of the power band would u improve bcoz lacking? Lo, mid or hi.

Fyi, saw a silver k5 on the road today. Wwf plate. Stunning esp wif the bright led drls.
For me...

FYi... frankly telling, me think theta II 2.0 needs improvement on low range.. Mid & high is good... But 2.4 solve the lo powerband prob...

Transmission shift, smoother than Accord...

Ride of course Optima win... But handling i think Optima is on par with Accord, coz Accord handling is very good...

It's impressive for Optima to have good comfort & at the same time superb handling...

My father is considering to buy the Optima... really amazed him...

BTW, i see a rise in sale of Korean cars... Here in my place, (Butterworth) Got atleast 7 sorento's & 3 Sportage's..... Forte no need to tell lar...

Added on February 1, 2012, 3:04 pm
QUOTE(epo @ Feb 1 2012, 02:55 PM)
just came back from kia SC at selayang...

yes got rear ekon...
[attachmentid=2662695]

dislike all the black trim... should mix with red baru garang sikit...
[attachmentid=2662696]

i'm 175cm & my hair touch the rear roof... hmmm... not comfortable... leg space comfortable
[attachmentid=2662698]
Maybe coz of the XJ imitating roof line... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by masz94: Feb 1 2012, 03:04 PM
masz94
post Feb 1 2012, 05:24 PM

QUOTE(epo @ Feb 1 2012, 04:58 PM)
i'm still doubt on optima comfort due to the 18" rim compare to T & H which is using 16" rim...
too bad kia selyg dun have a test drive unit...
so if i sit at the back, i need to bend my back bone to the front all the time...
I think u sould lean back more.. If you look at Optima rear screen.. Got that strip shade... It is mean for the rear passanger to lean back more.... Coz it is a sleek car..low slung..

Added on February 1, 2012, 5:25 pm
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 1 2012, 05:01 PM)
yes, if you buy a sonata, no one will actually ask silly question like Why you buy sonata.

because the looks of the car says it all.
+1... Plus the cr is very good....

This post has been edited by masz94: Feb 1 2012, 05:25 PM
masz94
post Feb 2 2012, 10:00 PM

QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Feb 2 2012, 02:00 PM)
Ya man. Totally agree.

Latest news i got the is first batch of 2012 is on the way. Leaving/left korea oredi.
So ur opting Optima ? thumbup.gif laugh.gif
masz94
post Feb 2 2012, 11:25 PM

QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Feb 2 2012, 11:02 PM)
Ya man! After considering so many cars in this segment, its a good all rounder n i got this tendency to drive the car hard. Suits me.

The other car i was considering but not in this segment is the VW Jetta. Good engine, handling and driving dynamics. Unfortunately cannot stand the interior n pricey considering its got nothing much in terms of gadget.

Honestly, buy a the car suits you and your needs. Not what the rakyat thinks.

Added on February 2, 2012, 11:05 pm

Yes mate. Its their doing alrite. I believe its "Just take the car. If you dont, jangan harap any stocks after this." Probably it something like this along the lines.
Good Choice....

My father, eventough already owned a Sorento 2.4, is considering to buy an Optima too... laugh.gif
masz94
post Feb 3 2012, 09:05 PM

QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Feb 3 2012, 09:03 PM)
Yup, spartan sounds about right. Saw one near my home earlier.

Quite surprised to see a chrome trim at the bottom lip of the front bumper.

Now that's difficult to maintain sweat.gif
And the styling is also very bland.... laugh.gif
masz94
post Feb 4 2012, 03:37 AM

QUOTE(gregy @ Feb 4 2012, 03:01 AM)
Well, nothing a bodykit and a rim upgrade can't fix smile.gif

TBH even the Golf TSI looks bland with its 16" wheels and no bodykit.

But the interior, well, that's quite hard to fix. You'll either love it or hate it. I do agree it looks spartan. Maybe Gerard Butler will like it smile.gif
To me the VW car that i'll consider if i'm in hunt for are only the Scirocco & pre-facelift Passat CC... That's the only VW's that are beautiful...

But the facelifted CC are ruined by this shitz design language...

Previously whenever I encountered a VW, say Golf GTi, I always say to myself nothing shocking... Not ugly, not a beauty..

But when saw the pics or the real car like , Optima, Sorento, Sportage, Veloster, XC60, Q7, Guilietta, DS4, DS3, Sonata, Accord, A4,E-Class, CRZ, all the beauties

I always admired the looks of each vehicle.... And started to think of how pleasing they are to my eyes... wub.gif

But with almost all current VW cars, I can't brain.... Sometimes very fugly.... shocking.gif

masz94
post Feb 4 2012, 10:23 PM

QUOTE(stargate8 @ Feb 4 2012, 07:29 PM)
to me,low range model for conti cars as in lower cc engine
EVen Phaeton lokks like shit... And that's a W12... not puny little angine...

Added on February 4, 2012, 11:31 pm
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 4 2012, 08:35 AM)
Exactly! The only good looking models are the Scirocco and Passat CC. And now the facelifted Passat has become worse than its predecessor. VW have developed such good transmissions and engines and yet they cant improve on their design. European or otherwise, the fact is their designs both interior and exterior are bland and outdated. If they can give good designs to the Scirocco and Passat CC, why cant they do the same with the other models?

VW need to take some cues from Kia/Hyundai on this.
+1... the deign is so bland... Even Satria Neo looks better than Golf... To me VW car got no WOW! factor interms of design...

Me think if VW ventures into making supercar, the design will be so boxy.... Just look at EOS... fugly.. shocking.gif

This post has been edited by masz94: Feb 4 2012, 11:31 PM
masz94
post Feb 5 2012, 10:37 PM

QUOTE(BuFung @ Feb 5 2012, 10:33 PM)
VW car in Malaysia to me is pretty overrated n over price... They r good car, but really too pricey...

Vw do have plenty of sport car under their group...
Me know.. Bugatti, AUdi, Lambo, Seat... etc...

But if they were to make one under their brand, using this shitz design language, it'll be hell fugly kar..

Added on February 5, 2012, 10:38 pm
QUOTE(epo @ Feb 5 2012, 12:20 AM)
I'm also asking about it long2 time ago but still no reply...
No test drive unit yet... all showroom said so...

This post has been edited by masz94: Feb 5 2012, 10:38 PM
masz94
post Feb 7 2012, 09:18 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 7 2012, 07:41 PM)
I went for a test drive on the 2.0L Teana Luxury and found the Teana to have marginally better low range acceleration than the Optima. Dont know how thats possible with lower horsepower and torque figures and just marginally lighter than the Optima. Based on specs on paper, the Optima should have better fuel consumption.

But generally the Teana absorbs bumps better which is expected since its designed for comfort rather than handling. Its 16 inch rims are also suited for a more comfort based drive compared to the 18 inch rims on the Optima. Felt the leather seats on the Teana were better than the Optima but im really amazed how anybody could ever like the interior of the Teana. Its really bland and the worst has gotta be the dashboard.

No bad intent here but i really felt 10 yrs older in the Teana. The Sylphy was the worst. The dash has gotta be among the worst in its class. But the Sylphy has better legroom compared to the Teana. The Optima's legroom is similar to the Teana.

But i really wanna know how the dual CVVT 163HP and 198Nm torque Optima could possibly be sluggish on low range revs. Anybody care to provide some insight?
My father own the new Sorento with 2.4 litre Theta II, 184 horsepower... So we test drove the Optima.. Yes it is abit weak on lower rev range...

I think maybe the gearing is abit high... (Sorento can go as high as 105 km/h in 2nd gear )

But with Sorento no problem... Maybe coz it got more torque...

But to my experience Theta II engine, be it 2.0 or 2.4 need high revs to milk out the power...

FC is very good... My father Sorento 2.4 has better FC than his Accord 2.4 (K24)

This post has been edited by masz94: Feb 7 2012, 09:19 PM
masz94
post Feb 18 2012, 01:30 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 17 2012, 10:47 PM)
The Optima comes with Nexen tyres. Are they any good? Havent heard of them? Any tyre shops in KL accept trade in?
Ok.. quite good... My father Sorento came equipped with Nexen tires.... So far ok la... But the thread is still intact.. eroded abit la..

But quite grippy....
masz94
post Mar 7 2012, 11:40 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 7 2012, 08:14 AM)
That doesnt sound like any saleswoman i would want as my SA. Not the kind of customer service i would like.

But let me ask you, is she a bit plump? Cuz when i was there last week there was this lady explaining bout the Optima to an interested buyer. She actually told them 'the Optima suspension is the same as the Camry'. I butted in and said 'Not the same. The rear suspension on the Optima has got gas shock absorbers'.

Ive noticed this at all the Kia showrooms ive gone to. Not a single salesperson actually knows the car well enough. Makes me wonder about their mechanics though. Hence why i didnt target to get the Optima fast. Surely dont want my car to end up like a guinea pig during the periodic service.  biggrin.gif
Actually almost all Showrooms got this prob... Last time I asked an SA about Honda Accord rear suspension.....I purposely asked whether the rear suspension is Multi-Link...

Then the SA said no.. It's a very good suspension... And I was like WTF ? shakehead.gif

Same goes when I visit Mitsubishi to ask about the new ASX... I asked about the CVT trans...
Is it easy to maintain ? Can use normal GB oil ?

He said yes very easy & can use normal GB oil... It is infact same like normal auto gear boxes... Dafuq..... rclxub.gif

These SAs need more knowledge on cars man...
masz94
post Mar 8 2012, 02:53 AM

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Mar 7 2012, 12:54 PM)
aiyor..biasa lar...u ask SA for comments on the car, of course they exxagerate things and say this good that good....and many not taking their job seriously wan..ie study their own products, research and so forth wan...

u have to do own survey and check the facts from forums, surveys, reviews and actual customers comments better..

my SA, i ask him first 2qs, i already stop asking..by 2nd visit, after decided to buy, only talk price and delivery to him..but that oso sakit hati

no designated slot for the smart key wan...
and top speed, no lar...sayang my car lar...dont want to do it lar...at least not so fast..odo just 146km...read from SG, one guy drove up north(m'sia lar) using nkve manage 170km/hr easily, no steering shaking, oversteer, understeer...above that slightly vibrate lioaw, and engine humming loud..he clocked 190km/hr if im not mistaken...
U mean no slot for the key fob ? My father Sorento 2.4 got a slot inside the center arm rest... it can charge the key fob...
masz94
post Mar 8 2012, 03:00 AM

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Mar 7 2012, 07:04 PM)
in the manual, the car suppose to have its theft-alarm system already..uses honk. It says, access to locked car without key(smart key) will trigger it...but i dunno how to trigger it to try it...  doh.gif
My father Sorento also got no alarm.. Last month, me purposely locked my brother inside the car... When he tries to unlock the car, the system triggered... activated by the car horn... It will honk non stop... till u press the unlock button on the keyfob...

So I believe ur Optima will be the same too.... laugh.gif
masz94
post Mar 8 2012, 10:25 PM

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 8 2012, 08:44 AM)
keyfob need to charge wan ar?  hmm.gif
The SA said so... but my father didn't charge the key fob for around 2 months dy... still ok...

Later I post the charging dock pic.... unsure.gif
masz94
post Mar 8 2012, 10:53 PM

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 8 2012, 10:30 PM)
first time hearing such things..if they use CR2032 coin cell that is certainly not rechargable  biggrin.gif  sometimes ppl need to take a pinch of salt on what SA says.
Ic... but really got the dock... Dafuq that SA.... later when service kar wanna troll him... Charge my ass...

Me oso wondering, coz the sapre key fob were never charged from the day the car purchased...Still working fine...

FFFUUUU...... mad.gif
masz94
post Mar 8 2012, 11:13 PM

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 8 2012, 10:54 PM)
hahaha troll SA..  laugh.gif
Really wanna troll him... dammit... mad.gif vmad.gif laugh.gif

He talk as if it was so real... laugh.gif