2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

StarGhazzer
post Mar 1 2012, 05:18 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Mar 1 2012, 03:46 PM)
I just recalled that the Optima does not have a handbrake. It does free up quite a bit of space in the center console but the 'Leg' brake does take some getting use to.

Does it function exactly like a handbrake?

If so I guess you won't be doing any 90 or 180 degree handbrake turn with this new mechanism  tongue.gif
lol 180 degrees... no drifiting for you then.

The foot-operated handbrake is just like previous Mercedes Benz models. Feels awkward to use initially, but once you get used to it there shouldn't be a problem. I personally am not a huge fan of it but hell, it's not a big deal.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Mar 1 2012, 05:19 PM
StarGhazzer
post Mar 2 2012, 09:06 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Mar 1 2012, 10:04 PM)
wow our forte sifu came-in... lost contact in forte thread since end 2010...
must driving K5 now...
me no forte sifu ler... gregy is, that chap knows much more than I do. me noob. tongue.gif

Still hanging on my old Cera.... just had my 30000km service, changed spark plugs and now feels a little bit smoother in acceleration. No money to change cars now, not for the next few years.

Dad recently got the Optima though... gonna test drive it when I go back for holidays.
StarGhazzer
post Mar 9 2012, 08:35 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 9 2012, 07:56 AM)
I heard Camry out this month rite? But the design wont change and thats my biggest problem with the upcoming Camry in addition to the 4 speed gb and old engine. So i can quite certainly say that the Camry is out of the picture.
New Camry comes with a 6 speed box.

Don't think any upcoming D segment cars will come with anything less than 6 now, even most C segments that were released after 2011 have a minimum of 6, or are using CVT now.

Unless... what you meant was the old Camry but produced in 2012.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Mar 9 2012, 08:37 AM
StarGhazzer
post Mar 9 2012, 09:06 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 9 2012, 08:56 AM)
My dear friend, the upcoming 2.0L Camry will come with the 4 speed GB and old engine. Only the 2.5L model gets the new 6 speed gb and dual VVTI engine.

Now u see why ive turned my back on the Camry?
Cool. Overlooked the 2.0L model as it doesn't exist in where I am now tongue.gif

What a poor decision by Toyota if they really decide to do that, then again it that confirmed? The new Camry has been launched in other countries but most of them are 2.5L variants, not much info about 2.0L

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Mar 9 2012, 09:17 AM
StarGhazzer
post Mar 10 2012, 07:02 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(zrill @ Mar 9 2012, 10:25 AM)
I hate the rear light now as it looks like teana. except the 'C' shaped led design is inverted.
The inverted C LED rear lamp design that we get in M'sia (and Aust) is much better than the low and mid range Optima.

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Mar 9 2012, 02:33 PM)
My mom's getting a Black Koup,
May I say that your mum is awesome? thumbup.gif

StarGhazzer
post Mar 16 2012, 10:18 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

quick thoughts after driving dad's optima for a while yesterday:

1. NVH is top notch! Very insulated from the outside world, and I think it wouldn't be unfair to say that it's on par with the luxury continentals. Engine noise is barely audible unless you rev it past 3K rpm, and despite having huge 18 inch thin profile Nexens tyre roar is minimum (unlike the 17 inch Kumhos on my Cera.)

2. It is HUGE inside. Loads of leg room although the low-slung front seats mean people with long legs can't slide their feet underneath them.

3. Foot operated parking brake is much easier to apply than older Benzes. You don't have to step very hard to engage the parking brake, and the step-to-release mechanism is less annoying then pulling a tight lever with your hand like Mercedes used to do.

4. The 6 speed box now shifts with much more urgency compared to the Forte's old 4 speed. I was quite surprised with the smoothness and the speed it upshifts when using the paddle-shifters. Good job, Kia. But now I understand why many car reviewers hate paddle-shifters that move with the steering wheel. It's much convenient to locate their position if they were fixed t the steering column instead.

5. Now for the downsides. First would be the front passenger seat. The low-riding chair with non-adjustable height makes you feel as if you're sitting on the ground. The seat cushion is somewhat a bit thinner than expected - not exactly the most comfortable place to be. Driver seat doesn't feel that way though. Rear seats are good enough.

6. 2.0L is waaaayyyyy too anaemic for a car of this size and weight. It revs pretty silently and with the slick 6 speed box hence you don't really suffer from a massive lack of torque; but no, it's not exactly zoom zoom either. Even with manual shifting, I son't seem to pull away from the pack as far as I normally would with my Cera and I must say I drive fairly aggressive... Go for the 2.4L when it's available (and if your wallet allows it). The 2.0 turbo can't come quick enough.

7. Goose neck hinges in the boot. Not a big deal, but it still crushes suitcases.

8. Only 1 exhaust pipe in the 2.0L version... MEH. The twinpipe design in 2.4L or above versions are much more elegant.

Will probably try highway cruising soon... update more later.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Mar 16 2012, 11:22 AM
StarGhazzer
post Mar 16 2012, 08:53 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 16 2012, 12:01 PM)
Is a 2.4L variant due in Malaysia?
Not sure, but I'll be surprised if Naza/Kia didn't plan to bringing in one judging by how well the Forte was perceived. There should be sufficient interest in the Optima by now, although with Malaysian prices 2.4L is likely to reach RM170+K which is within the realm of 2.4L Corollas, Sonatas, and Accords.

Not a fair comparison by any means, but the top spec Platinum Optima in Australia can be obtained with 40K AUD with some spare change. A bit of haggling you might even get the off-road price of 37K. And Kia just released a lower spec Optima which comes with a full chrome grill instead of the sport grill, 17-inch rims, no sunroof, and non-LED rear lamps which goes for slightly over 30K. That is not exactly a good deal since for 7000 more you get much more goodies, although some may still prefer the lower price and sacrifice the extra toys.

Will Southeast Asia get the lower trim Optima? Probably not, since they can't sell it for 100K since that might cannibalise the 2.0L Forte's sales; I don't see how they will want to sell it for 120K as well.

The Optima's an awesome choice for the D-segment, anyone looking for a ride of this size would be foolish not to at least consider it. Nevertheless, it should be made clear that this car, despite its aggressive looks, is still pretty much a family sedan tuned for comfort, even in 2.4L form as reported by many foreign reviews. The 2.0L turbo has an amazing output yet the car itself is also nowhere close to the Germans, but good enough to outrun most V6s from the Japanese.

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Mar 16 2012, 02:12 PM)
Great!! White is a great color.

Let me be the only unique grey car on the road.
It's platinum graphite... not simple grey woh tongue.gif

I still think satin metal looks the best, kinda like Benz's palladium silver.
Was never a fan of white cars.... until I saw the C63AMG's special diamond-white in real life.... holy shitzzz... looks a bit like creamy white with golden sparkles under the sun... best colour ever.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Mar 16 2012, 09:02 PM
StarGhazzer
post Mar 18 2012, 03:12 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(DJSoo @ Mar 17 2012, 12:22 AM)
I more prefer there is a 2.0L turbo compare to 2.4L.. Now market is all about small cc .. Bigger powerful .
There's no turbo version for right-hand drive Optimas... So we have to wait.

Korea should have it, US definitely has it. Australia only offers the 2.4L with two trim levels. Even many places in Europe which are left-hand drive don't have the Optima, let alone the 2.0L turbo version. However Kia's approach to the European market is slightly different, with the Ceed being the main product instead of the Forte or the Optima. Venga doesn't seem like a huge hit despite winning awards for its design and it seems that the new Rio is going to take over its market share.

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Mar 17 2012, 02:17 PM)
Blue colour is nice, so is black, and red as well...maybe those stocks are hot cakes, so they bring to m'sia those unwanted colours?
Probably due to the fact that brighter colours such as blue, green, yellow, and red are often less desired.

The blue looks awesome in photographs but in real life it lacks the classy look. Santorini Blue Fortes look sporty but not elegant at all.
StarGhazzer
post Mar 23 2012, 08:11 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 23 2012, 12:19 PM)
But do remember that the silver on the K5 is quite different from the silver on say the Vios. I notice that the Vios silver is somewhat brighter.
Depends on whether it's bright silver or satin metal. Bright silver should be similar to Vios silver, satin metal is more "metallic" looking with a darker shade, but not as dark as Benz's palladium silver.

Then again I'm not sure whether the Malaysian Optima comes in these two shades or just one of them.
StarGhazzer
post Mar 24 2012, 09:57 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

More points to ponder for the Optima.

1. While the Optima is silent and comfy in low-speed urban settings, it's nowhere near a GT car. Unfair comment I know, since GT cars often cost an arm and a leg. Wind noise is kept to a minimum, but the thin-profile 18 inch rims do allow quite a significant amount of tyre noise into the cabin. Not as intrusive as the Forte, but this is clearly no Mercedes Benz. Rear passenger seats are quite comfortable for long distance journeys I must say, unlike the 308T which may seem a bit stiff-riding and bouncy for some.

2. The MDPS feels much better-weighted than the Forte's which is much lighter, yet at the same time it doesn't weigh a ton like the 308T. The steering wheel has two subtle bulges at the 2 and 10 o'clock positions which makes more comfortable to grasp. The leather used for wrapping the wheel feels much better quality than the Forte's.

3. ECO mode is a pain to use on the highway. It's ok for city-crawling where you seldom go above 60kmh and get stuck in jams, but when you need a bit of acceleration it doesn't respond. Step on the gas pedal and it takes an eternity before the gearbox downshifts for acceleration. I'd recommend turning it off completely if I'm being honest, and even so it still feels very lethargic. 2.0 is adequate for the Forte, not the Optima.

4. Some rpms at certain speeds (4-spd Forte's in brackets):
60kmh - 1400 (1400)
80kmh - 1600 (1800)
100kmh -2000, I was expecting 1800 given it's a 6-speeder (2200)
110kmh - 2200 (2400-2500)
120 kmh - 2400 (2600-2800)
130 kmh -2600 (3000)

5. I really don't like the power of a 2.0L engine, or rather the lack of it, in a heavy D-segment car; be it an Optima, Accord, Camry yadda yadda. A 2.4L is adequate but not particularly outstanding either... The Japanese and Koreans should follow the footsteps on the Germans quickly i.e. turbo/supercharge smaller capacity engines. And the 2.0T Optima can't come soon enough.

6. Paddle shifters in the Optima do shift slightly quicker than the semi-auto mode in my oldancient 4-speed box, but it's no DSG. Still, anything is better than the 308T's old 4-speed which is very jerky.

7. I'm not a fan of the smart-key and push-start button. Gimmie the good old key-in-ignition+twist anyday.

8. The LCD display in between the tacho and speedo can appear too dim when sunlight is shining onto it, even at maximum brightness. A minor issue, since the information displayed there isn't something that you would constantly fix your eyes on anyway.

9. I did not experience the burning smell as mentioned by some of the members here.

10. I'm quite disappointed by the fake side-gills. Yes, for a non-performance car these parts do nothing to affect airflow; but if they decided to put in some go-faster bits, might as well use one with real fenestrations for better visual impact. Very half-arsed here. I also do not like the light sensors tucked behind the rear view mirror. It's as if the designers ran out of space to put them and just randomly chucked them there. Granted it's at a location where you would often see them but it's still an eyesore. Yes, I'm kinda picking bones from eggs.

Should you buy one? I personally wouldn't go for a 2.0L model given its lethargic performance, yet a 2.4L should be sufficient. For those looking for a D-segment and don't have the budget to go beyond 2.0L models, the Optima is still a good package, if not the best, that's available in Malaysia.

With the release of the Kizashi which packs more grunt at a similar price, Naza/Kia now has even more incentive to bring the 2.4L. The Kizashi will offer more zoom zoom for a similar price, but you'll end up with a much smaller car. Speaking of the Suzuki, it has been released in Australia for some time now, but the reception isn't as good as expected (not like the Optima is anyway).

For now I'm sticking with my old Cera. Not even going to think about the 2.4L unless Kia brings in the turbo... as if I will have the money anyway whistling.gif

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Mar 24 2012, 10:50 PM
StarGhazzer
post Mar 26 2012, 09:17 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 25 2012, 10:16 PM)
Pricing wise its very good but design wise i think its poor. Both inside and outside. Interior space is similar to Civic.
Design is subjective. I think the Kizashi's rear end is pretty good-looking although the front is somewhat underwhelming. The layout of the dashboard and centre console isn't too bad either, although it's hard to comment on the build quality based solely on pictures. The interior space however is indeed disappointing since it's supposed to be a D-segment.

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 25 2012, 10:26 PM)
I dunno but for some reason im starting to consider other makes. Had a look at the new BMW 3 Series. Was quite disappointed. Looked more like a facelift rather than a new generation model. Both front and rear seats were cramped. I would say seating 4 normal sized adult men would not be comfortable let alone 5 ppl. Didnt get a chance to see the spec list in detail but was told the spec list was also a disappointment for a car that costs more than RM270K (320d).

So the 3 series is out. What else do i have in that price range? Heard the new Audi A4 is due soon. Any idea when and how it looks? Any other cars worth considering?
That's a huge jump cyber.... from a 140K budget to 270K !!

I also share the sentiment that the new 3 is not as appealing as previous beemers. I do like the F01 and the F10 looks pretty decent too yet the E60 still looks more striking, even after 8 years since its launch. Newer beemers overseen by van Hooydonk simply fail to recreate the magic of Chris Bangle. Love him or hate him, Bangle's designs do turn heads. Nevertheless, the new 3 has won lots of praise for its build quality and driving mechanics according to foreign reviews.

I personally dislike the ipad design for the central console display that all the big 3 German manufacturers are incorporating. Looks cheap and flimsy, but that's just me. It's also worth mentioning that the Germans like to play the game of optioning - the price tag shown to the public is often the base model, add up goodies here and there and the total cost shoots through the roof ! The facelifted C-class and the recently-released coupe in Australia had such an attractive price tag when it was announced, but expect to pay up to 8-10K more once you add in some look-good options.

The "new" A4 should be a facelift, which will share the redesigned corporate fascia like the new A5. Much better looking I must say, although the original B8 is already a good-looking car. Can't really tell what other changes it will have compared to the old B8 though.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Mar 26 2012, 09:23 PM
StarGhazzer
post Mar 27 2012, 02:15 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Kalist0 @ Mar 27 2012, 01:46 PM)
i think the current passat cc is way better looking than the new one. current one has the hips of shakira  brows.gif  while the new one is as flat as nicole richie lol. BMW would be a better choice for me, as the interior wins passat cc anytime. just that i find the new headlight connecting the the pig nose grill a lil bit weird. wouldnt be fair if we put k5 and the two giants side by side as the gap is way too big, tech and performance wise. if you are aiming for something around the 200k league, A4 would be a nice choice as well, provided you have a nice SC in the area you live. my friend has problems where the SC in penang(butterworth) cannot fix certain issues and he had to drive all the way down to kl to fix it. But in A4, you have to compromise you boot space a lil. if you wanna feel young again, then bite the bullet and get the golf R.  icon_idea.gif

by the way, haven't tested K5 before. whats the figure for 0-100?
Not sure how fast does the 2.0 Optima sprint to 100kmh, probably around 11 seconds. The 2.4 on paper does it in 10s, 2.0T around 6.5s.

Century sprint numbers are nice to look at on paper, but it's quite impractical in real life. Rarely does one shift at redline all the time. 0-60kmh and 80-120kmh would probably be something that's worth considering as these are the speeds you'll do in urban settings and from ramp to highways respectively.

Golf R.... not if you need to ferry the missus and kids !! The GTI's suspension is stiff enough to jolt your bones... let alone the R.

Passat CC is gorgeous, but the new version that incorporates the current VW family fascia makes it look less sleek than before.
The R-line looks great with a larger engine but a RM100K add-on is somewhat crazy.

4 door coupes... nothing beats the new CLS65AMG in terms of design.
That gorgeous ass.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Mar 27 2012, 02:36 PM
StarGhazzer
post Mar 27 2012, 11:05 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 27 2012, 04:29 PM)
0-100kmph is poor. Bout 10.9 secs. But thats cuz the car is heavy and the 2.0L engine cant do it enough justice despite the 163HP and 198Nm torque.

Added on March 27, 2012, 4:31 pm

Any idea when the new Audi A4 will be launched here in Malaysia? Any detailed pics?
Sorry bro, no idea about the new A4. In fact I'm not based in Malaysia most of the time, you guys probably have more information about the local car market than I do ! It's a 2013 model hence it should be out by mid to late 2012, but not quite sure when it'll reach the shores of SEA.

Pictures of the new B8 A4 have already been released earlier this year. Subtle changes can be seen, mainly a new hexagonal front grill, different DRL, and redesigned rear lamp clusters.
http://www.autoblog.com/photos/2013-audi-a4-first-drive/

The facelifted A5 however, has a much angier-looking snout due to the extra-lengthy DRL stripes but they are fairly similar.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Mar 27 2012, 11:06 PM
StarGhazzer
post Apr 4 2012, 10:17 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

aiyoh... ada orang buat kecoh here pulak. doh.gif

QUOTE(gregy @ Apr 4 2012, 02:55 PM)
But I tend to agree with you, the K5 is not for everybody. I am still holding back because of the "adequate" engine. I am sorely disappointed that Naza isn't planning to bring in the GDI turbo. If it's always just me alone in the car, the 2.0 is ok lah, but try having a full load of ppl and luggage, and even the non-GDI 2.4 will also struggle a bit.

The other day I had a friendly sprint with a Sonata 2.0 (I drive a 2.0 6-sp Forte) just to see how well that 165ps engine performed. The Sonata 2.0 is using the exact same engine as the K5, but the former is slightly lighter. Nonetheless, my Forte ate the Sonata for breakfast. He had no answer at all...

Naza won't be able to bring in the 2.0TGDi until Kia's factory rolls out a right hand drive version.

I'm totally not surprised that the 2.0L Forte smoked the 2.0L Sonata despite the latter having a negligible bit of extra torque. Just like how lighter B-segments or even Kei cars with less engine output can outrun our 2.0L Fortes in short distance traffic light races. If it's a proper quarter or even half mile drag then it's another matter.

QUOTE(stanleychai @ Apr 4 2012, 04:35 PM)
Yes! it is a bit under power during low RPM, but impressive in high RPM! Especially with paddle shift...you can change gear whenever you want...
Even during high revs the 2.0L struggles to pull the heavier Optima compared to the Forte. In the Forte when the rpm revs past 4K rpm esp in 2nd gear you'll feel your kidneys being pushed into the seat whereas the Optima is more gentle.

And you can't change gear whenever you want with the paddle shifters... if your speed is too low the gearbox would not allow upshifts to prevent losing torque.

QUOTE(irangan @ Apr 4 2012, 08:47 PM)
And I need some opinion. During my tyre changing session yesterday, I got poisoned by this. Do you think that it will look nice on K5?
[attachmentid=2773189]
For me there are no other rims that complement the Optima better than its stock 18-inch alloys. The lower spec 17-inch versions, despite being fairly decent-looking on its own, appear somewhat dull when fitted to the Optima as opposed to the 2.0 Sonata which is fitted with similarly-designed rims.

http://cafe.naver.com/k5club.cafe?iframe_u...rch.boardtype=I
Scroll through the pages to have a look at what the Koreans are doing with their Optimas...

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Apr 4 2012, 10:30 PM
StarGhazzer
post Apr 6 2012, 11:14 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Apr 5 2012, 02:34 PM)
To people that interested to change their rear lamp, I just checked with Kia SC that as long our lamp is plug and play and dont involve cutting wiring. Warranty will be intact.

http://www.sharkracing.com/acecart/bin/sho...&cate=030801000

So means that we can buy this and mod the wire head to plug and play and dont have worry about the warranty.

Anyone that good in modding wirings want to be the first to take the plunge? smile.gif

The lamp is very sexy
These are the same rear lamps for the Optima, aren't they?
StarGhazzer
post Apr 6 2012, 01:53 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Apr 6 2012, 11:56 AM)
Nop. Our tail light is abit different.
Hmmm... the link that you posted did mention factory OEM rear lamps... unless for this version the entire lamp cluster lights up instead of just illuminating the inverted-C external lamps.
StarGhazzer
post Apr 9 2012, 12:26 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(WWW888 @ Apr 9 2012, 12:13 AM)
here i come Graphite....hehehe

Finally i get to upload it after reduce the size... rclxms.gif

[attachmentid=2780227]
[attachmentid=2780230]
[attachmentid=2780232]
Your front lip ganas sial... tongue.gif
StarGhazzer
post Apr 10 2012, 11:35 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(ykhean @ Apr 10 2012, 11:06 AM)
Hi there,

Anybody reckon Naza will bring in the K5 turbo version into Malaysia?
There are no 2.0T for right-hand-drive markets in the world right now.

I'm actually secretly wishing that Kia would drop the 2.0T engine into the Koup to make it a true performance car. The Veloster will soon be equipped with the new 1.6T but the Koup deserves more.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Apr 10 2012, 11:43 AM
StarGhazzer
post Apr 10 2012, 02:05 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(feng yun @ Apr 10 2012, 12:15 PM)
Bro i think got la, because i saw one australia K5 review on youtube very nice one, and it only cost AUD37k... damn cheap... sad.gif
Sorry to burst your bubble mate, but there's only the 2.4L Optima in Australia. The video that you watched is likely the caradvice one, or the shorter NRMA one, where both features the same Platinum version. Over here Kias are sold as S, Si, SLi, and Platinum variants instead of the North American LX, EX, SX.

In fact, Kia has recently hinted that they are shifting their focus to refining their smaller engines such as the 1.2T and 1.6GDi due to the shift in the global market demand to small cars. Which means even more bad news for the RHD Turbos. The domestic Korean market and North America are Kia's priority, and la and behold both are LHD markets. As with the majority of Europe, which will see Kia focus on the Cee'd and its variants which will utilise the smaller engines.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Apr 10 2012, 02:09 PM
StarGhazzer
post Apr 11 2012, 02:53 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 11 2012, 02:27 PM)
This is the reason why u will always be a wannabe renting a property while going around telling lies about owning a Merc C250 CGI. Only a fool like u will not be able to understand simple basic English.  whistling.gif

So for retarded losers like you, allow me to explain in simpler terms. What i said in my post earlier was the engine sound becomes more pronounced by using quieter tyres. Dont u understand the difference between becomes louder and becomes more pronounced? That's the reason why u are the least respected forumer on LYN and also in real life. Must be really painful to get thrashed so often on LYN because of your limited brain cells eh.  biggrin.gif
Don't descend to his level by calling him names. And we still need him around since every class needs a clown.

So cyber now waiting for new A4 instead of Optima?

0.0242sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:05 AM