2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

RlanD
post Mar 31 2012, 05:26 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 30 2012, 02:41 PM)
Guys, i just went for my 7th test drive. This time in a totally new car (silver). Pushed the car for about 15 mins and the burnt smell was there. Quite strong. This is really worrying me. Seems like a common issue.

And for those who dont know the history of this issue, let me say that this is not from the tyres or the brakes as i didnt slam the brakes. Nothing to do with aircon vents also and its not exhaust fumes. Its a burning smell. And if ure gonna say, this problem is only initial, please be reminded that some owners in US are still having this problem after about 10,000km mileage.
Hi all to K5 owner and K5 enthusiasts, I'm type of a lurker here and did followed from the early stage on cybermaster concerned about the burnt smell coming from driver side engine area and at first it's also concerned me as K5 owner which the question in my head, where's the source of this culprit. A few forumers did give some opinion that the burnt smell coming from the new anti-rust coating on the exhaust system which they had an explanation from the SA and for me that's make sense but there's no confirmation to it and I believed until now cybermaster can't get any firmed clarification even from KIA it self which they supposed to come out with the formal technical clarification of this world wide issues.

As for my “make sense” on the source of the burnt smell coming from heated anti-rust coating as the “BURNT SMELL” is same smell of heated ASPHALT @ BITUMEN material that normally all of you can smell it when the contractors doing a re-pavement of the road as I did smell the burnt smell came from air vent ones when the auto air-cond change from circulate mode to fresh air mode as to maintain the temperature setting while I’m accelerates hard and cruising the K5 at 160 - 180km/hour from Tol jalan duta to Rawang and maybe I'm wrong for the burnt-smell and its not same as the smell that cybermaster mention.The fresh air sorce if I'm not mistaken is came from the air travel from the engine under the hood as this is the source of heat if you change the dial from cool to hot by increase the temperature (Correct me if I'm wrong) and that's the reason I can smell a burnt smell.

For me I’m really know of this smell as I’m familiar with the procedures of asphalt Marshall test and asphalt design which the main ingredient was a bitumen and normally oil base anti-rust coating which appearance in semi dry thick black paste contains bitumen or similar oil base product with others chemical as the smell of bitumen is there and the burnt smell can be last longer even after 10,000 km odometer clock out as long as the anti-rust coating still there as for to vaporized the bitumen till 0% you required a temperature more then 400 - 500°C and as to produced the smell it just need a temperature of 110°C - 170°C. This is where the burnt smell always there when ever the engine at long high rev.

But its only my “make sense” thinking and I believed cybermaster still not satisfied with the “make sense” explanation until it confirmed by the proven testing that the anti-rust is the source of the burnt smell and for this, for the sake of the K5 owner and to prove the “make sense” theory wright or wrong and hey, there's no harm to do it. I will perform a test for it base on below procedures and all the K5 owner can perform it as well for piece of mind as all of you have committed with the machine with the tag price of RM143,888.00

Procedures:

1) Accelerates the K5@Machine to the max with min time clock at 15min or more.

2) Open the hood and sniff any burnt smell. If there’s a burnt smell, try to memorized it and drive home to proceed with procedure no 3 and if there’s no smell, accelerates again for another 15 min. Still no smell, meaning your car was not effected with this burnt smell syndrome. Abort the test and drive home happily.

3) Immediately upon arrival, grab a jack and start jacking the K5 and crawl under the area of exhaust system and check is there any anti-rust at the exhaust system and try to sniff the burnt smell and where it coming from and confirmed the source. These procedures a bit dangerous as the space limited and watch out the exhaust system as it still hot. The option procedures and most easiest as number 4.

4) As an option, take same sample of the anti-rust paste as you can collect it near the absorber area or under carriage area.

5) Heat in your Oven or on the gas grill or put it on the gas stove or heat it by lighter until there’s a fume produce and try to sniff any burnt smell and make a COMPARISON of the smell.

Conclusion:
If the smell is same, then its confirmed the burnt smell source is from anti-rust material and If not, there’s no other choice, we need to repeat again the procedures and perform the number two(2) procedures by sniffing and checking under carriage of the K5 to locate where’s the source of the burnt smell. Hope we can get a result from this test. smile.gif

RlanD
post Mar 31 2012, 07:23 PM

[quote=cybermaster98,Mar 31 2012, 08:01 AM]
WOW! Thats gotta be the longest response on this burnt smell issue to date notworthy.gif

Well, to be frank, the smell that ive been getting is not similar to hot asphalt (i too am familiar with asphalt). The smell that im getting is more to burning rubber which is why my first thought was the tyres. The 1st time i got it, i drove aggresively with high reves and hard braking. Then to eliminate the possibility of tyres, i stopped the hard braking and went with just high revs. The smell remained. Sometimes ull get a burnt smell after you change your belting which is common as the oil coating needs to wear off. But this smell im getting is different. Ive even got the disk brakes checked and there werent any issues there. The smell seems to be coming more from the drivers side (or maybe i get it more here since thats the first point of contact when i get out of the car).

If its indeed the anti rust, how come ive not noticed it on any other car either from Kia or other manufacturers? And if its indeed anti rust, why is that the smell is only present during high revs. Normal driving doesnt produce this smell in my experience.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The smell that im getting is more to burning rubber which is why my first thought was the tyres
Did some short test in the morning by taking some sample and burn it by lighter. My apology as for my first prediction is a burnt bitumen smell but the smell come out is a “BURNT RUBBER” or as you said burning rubber smell…..and its confirmed by you as well...and from this test I can said that we got the culprit. Its from anti rust. Try to get some small sample from show room unit and heat it using lighter. Others owner can do this simple test as well to confirmed the smell and I think this answer your question about the main issues = BURNT SMELL

If its indeed the anti rust, how come ive not noticed it on any other car either from Kia or other manufacturers?[/U]
I can't confirmed this yet as this need to check under carriage by visual check as its involved area of spraying of the anti rust material which when they spraying of this anti rust ether its include or perhaps some amount of anti rust over sprayed to the exhaust system as we don't know how the anti rust guy doing it and how the manufacturing plant lay-out is either all the model in the same plant with a same person doing the anti rust spraying or in the different manufacturing plant. Same to others manufacturers, we don't know how their procedures and their internal standard on how to sprayed the anti rust material.

And if its indeed anti rust, why is that the smell is only present during high revs. Normal driving doesnt produce this smell in my experience.[U]
It's all cause by temperatures.

Acceleration = High Rev = high exhaust system temp = burnt the anti rust material = Burnt smell.

Normal driving = Medium rev = medium exhaust system temp = No burnt smell

Exhaust system is not come with the system or cooler ( such as radiator ) to maintain the temp at certain temperature. It just fabricated from a tubular steel that can stand high temperature so it’s possible to have a range of low, med and high temp from the exhaust heat produce by engine rev and with that range of the condition it will reflex to the burn point of the anti rust that stick at the exhaust system.

It’s just a theory but to confirmed it, we need to plug or embedded the temperature sensor and smell sensor at the anti rust area that stick at the exhaust system and monitor at what temperature the anti rust burned and produce rubber burnt smell.

This post has been edited by RlanD: Mar 31 2012, 07:25 PM
RlanD
post Apr 2 2012, 12:35 AM

[quote=JuneSeptember,Apr 1 2012, 12:59 PM]

Btw, i drove 140-160kmh along the highway yesterday and tried to sniff the smell when i reached home. Takda bau langsung. My security guards were staring at me in a funny way. laugh.gif

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The burnt smell "BAU" will come out according to CM when you push hard ( High Rev ) about 15 min or more.

High rev mean high RPM of engine which consider above 4000 RPM and this basically at the accelerating stage of the machine from first gear to third gear. Fourth, Fifth and Six Consider as cruising with the engine RPM below 4000 unless you drop one or two level of gear to get a torque with high rpm for over take sprint.

How to perform for BURNT SMELL test :

1) Choose less busy route or highway : good one is Guthrie highway.

2) Set a timer

3) Switch off ECO mode

4) Accelerate the machine or floor the accelerating pedal or push the pedal hard either from static or from a slow movement of the car@30km/h.
When the machine at fourth gear slows down your machine to 30 km/hour and accelerate again the machine to fourth gear. Repeat the procedure till 15 minute +.

Test control : By monitoring the RPM meter - The meter needle indicator must be in average > 4000 RPM.

5) Then try to sniff any BAU.

Objective of the test : To heat the exhaust system from mid temperature (Normal drive condition) to High temperature (Aggressive drive condition )
Which at this stage the burnt smell detected.

Note :
1) High REV and High speed is two different conditions :
- High REV meaning HIGH ENGINE RPM
- High speed meaning fast movement of the vehicle but probably with low RPM as ratio of the gear train.

2) Drove 140 - 160 at cruising speed (<4000 RPM) - With a few of drop gear for over take sprint may increase the temp of the exhaust system for a while but it will back to medium temp as the wind blows and cool down the exhaust system while cruising and when you reach home the BAU will gone with the wind at the highway. smile.gif

RlanD
post Apr 4 2012, 04:38 PM

QUOTE(w111w @ Apr 4 2012, 12:35 PM)
OMG!!! Buying a car without test drive... Are u kidding? By just reading cooment by other ppl only and straigth bought k5! ... To me this is ridiculous and crazy act...

Not all ppl got the same preference in driving.....no matter how, the k5 driving feel really not up to my expectation...

Although it got good looks...but tat is not impotant coz the design will outdate soon.... The thing tat will not outdate is the engine hp and torque....

After few years, when i feel the design is boring already, i will say WTF! ! wat car is this??. no power wan....no pick up wan...n blah blah
I'm wan of the ridiculous and crazy man for K5....went to show room twice. look here look there then place a booking without any test drive. Nothing wrong with that crazy feeling Bro...and I'm crazy for the money and I'm crazy to spend my money (not others people money ) and this is no jokes...this is the fact and I'm glad I'm not alone crazy for this K5...and the best thing..after I got my K5, I feel that my crazy is more and stronger to my K5 then after knowing that camry come out with not OUTDATE DESIGN,ENGINE HP AND TORQUE which I think it suit nicely with you if you crazy enuf but if so, no body will borther bcoz you already crazy with camry.

When time's come and I feel K5 boring already or feel no power or no pick up or bla bla bla....WTF...I will go and buy another car with my new crazy feeling...or I will get the GDI turbo engine swap inside to my K5...or past to my junior or sell it off...RV issue??..no issue coz I'm crazy...crazy man dun bother all about RV kaaa..apa kaaaa.. and yet..still nothing wrong with it....do I againts any law??...No??..so let me and the rest crazy.

But one thing I know
You sounds like a person that just create a few ID to call people crazy coz bought K5 without any test drive as the car not to your taste and that's a craziest thing that you did and yet...you oso crazy for that....so..WTF..we all crazy and let the craziest people surround us as we are rclxub.gif
RlanD
post Apr 4 2012, 04:48 PM

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Apr 4 2012, 04:38 PM)
Wasting time arguing with this cybermaster who think he knows everything about cars in the whole wide world.but anyhow, will let u win cuz i got better things to do than argue with this fella.Anyway my opinion about k5 is its value for money but nothing that will get ur adrenalin pumping.
Uikksssss...suddenly showed up when w111w can't tahan any more?????or...wrongly intention which ID to used ??.....never mind, sometimes we makes mistake bro.

0.0498sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:46 PM