121 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

ar188
post Feb 29 2012, 11:09 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Feb 29 2012, 10:55 PM)
Shooting blindly? Dude, do you have selective amnesia? Who's the wiseguy here with the taunts?

Nexen tires? Let's not even go there! Here is what you have "Contributed":

1) You hijacked the thread to engage in a 'My Opinion of Tires is better than Yours' bickering with another forumer who challenged you to provide some facts, not opinion.
it's already been proven nexen is not worse off than even lowest grade michelin branded tires of the same size, simple as that , and certainly not class 3 grade what ever that means.

but yeah put your money down and buy your car first then talk.. action speaks louder than words..
zrill
post Feb 29 2012, 11:57 PM

70 posts

Just received my 2012 white K5 today. Changed front, back, all 4 rims and steering wheel KIA emblem to the 'K'. Also changed the rear license plate light to white Led. Also ordered new plates with CF sticker. Will be receiving tommorow.

As for the drive it is absolutely wonderful drive so far. Handling wise, so far is great. Definately better than sonata. Need to get more milege to really evaluate.
kenrain
post Mar 1 2012, 12:02 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(zrill @ Feb 29 2012, 11:57 PM)
Just received my 2012 white K5 today. Changed front, back, all 4 rims and steering wheel KIA emblem to the 'K'. Also changed the rear license plate light to white Led. Also ordered new plates with CF sticker. Will be receiving tommorow.

As for the drive it is absolutely wonderful drive so far. Handling wise, so far is great. Definately better than sonata. Need to get more milege to really evaluate.
Bro how much it takes you to change those? And where did you change them? Because the crap SA told me there's no 'K' emblem that fits optima yet and cannot change the one at the steering wheel, scare it will trigger the airbag and explode. WTF?

This post has been edited by kenrain: Mar 1 2012, 12:06 AM
leds
post Mar 1 2012, 08:47 AM

any photo to share??
danscsa
post Mar 1 2012, 10:06 AM

404 posts

yeah be nice to share photos along with a detail review as there are not many malaysian reviews of the k5 that is really comprehensive
JuneSeptember
post Mar 1 2012, 10:29 AM

71 posts

I also feel like changing the license plate light to white led. Was it plug and play?
zrill
post Mar 1 2012, 12:12 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(kenrain @ Mar 1 2012, 12:02 AM)
Bro how much it takes you to change those? And where did you change them? Because the crap SA told me there's no 'K' emblem that fits optima yet and cannot change the one at the steering wheel, scare it will trigger the airbag and explode. WTF?
Yes, it is not available here yet. Bought it online from sharkracing. it is 7pcs set for USD70.
As for the steering wheel it is just stick on and it fits nicely and can't notice it.
Will provide pics later smile.gif

QUOTE(leds @ Mar 1 2012, 08:47 AM)
any photo to share??
Will provide later smile.gif need to wash first. hahah

QUOTE(danscsa @ Mar 1 2012, 10:06 AM)
yeah be nice to share photos along with a detail review as there are not many malaysian reviews of the k5 that is really comprehensive
Will try bro. as for photos will provide later.

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Mar 1 2012, 10:29 AM)
I also feel like changing the license plate light to white led. Was it plug and play?
Yes it was plug and play. just remove the screw/clip on the inner mat on the boot and you will see the sockets already.

SUSserendipity168
post Mar 1 2012, 12:38 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(zrill @ Mar 1 2012, 12:12 PM)
Yes, it is not available here yet. Bought it online from sharkracing. it is 7pcs set for USD70.
As for the steering wheel it is just stick on and it fits nicely and can't notice it.
Will provide pics later smile.gif
Will provide later smile.gif need to wash first. hahah
Will try bro. as for photos will provide later.
Yes it was plug and play. just remove the screw/clip on the inner mat on the boot and you will see the sockets already.
Nice one Zrill! rclxms.gif

Great to know that you're bringing something to the table as opposed to blowing hot air like some wannbe in this thread.

Congrats on your new toy! Can't wait to see the mods thumbup.gif
ar188
post Mar 1 2012, 12:43 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 21 2012, 09:39 AM)

i repeat, nexen not more pariah than michelin.. like what some one said.

there my contribution to optima thread.. and also as 19in nexen user,
gregy
post Mar 1 2012, 12:44 PM

411 posts

Haih, decisions, decisions. The K5 has everything I ever wanted in a car right now 'cept for the engine. Been mulling back and forth between this and a Golf/Jetta lol...

Must test drive the K5 for a better assessment.
cybermaster98
post Mar 1 2012, 02:21 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Feb 29 2012, 10:55 PM)
Shooting blindly? Dude, do you have selective amnesia? Who's the wiseguy here with the taunts?

Nexen tires? Let's not even go there! Here is what you have "Contributed":

1) You hijacked the thread to engage in a 'My Opinion of Tires is better than Yours' bickering with another forumer who challenged you to provide some facts, not opinion.
2) Your so called 'contribution' is nothing more than protecting your little delicate ego under fire.
3) Lastly, let's not forget about dragging the community into an out-of-topic discussion.

There is no point arguing with one who is constantly in denial mega_shok.gif

Wanna know what 'Contribution' means?

Here's a hint:

Folks, got a call from another KIA SA today. By end of March (give or take beginning of April) you may take the Optima out for a spin at the Red Cube along Federal Highway. I was told that the Sportage is also available for test drive as well. For those who are interested, do mark you calendar or contact a SA there beforehand. I suspect there will be quite a queue there  biggrin.gif

Capish?
Yes bro..i agree with you. If u check out his replies on most threads, its always done with the 'im high & mighty' concept. He keeps going on and on about how many cars he has, bla bla bla. I would love to see the look on his face if he could only see the possessions i have or know the industry im in. Anyway, i'll read his posts if i can get some knowledge out of it but will surely ignore his other crap. He fuxxxd himself up with his crap on the Teana and then the Nexen tires. He couldnt respond the first time around and then started doing research to get some info to back himself up and then claimed he actually knew all these facts in the first place. biggrin.gif

But then again, im not gonna engage in this childish banter and neither am i gonna boast. Just aint my upbringing. So my advice would be to merely ignore him. We arent the only ones whom he has pissed off in LYN and surely wont be the last.

Lets get back to the Optima. Im trying to arrange another test drive tomorrow afternoon.

cybermaster98
post Mar 1 2012, 02:22 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Mar 1 2012, 12:44 PM)
Haih, decisions, decisions. The K5 has everything I ever wanted in a car right now 'cept for the engine. Been mulling back and forth between this and a Golf/Jetta lol...

Must test drive the K5 for a better assessment.
U too planning to change? What about the Forte?
gregy
post Mar 1 2012, 02:57 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 1 2012, 02:22 PM)
U too planning to change? What about the Forte?
No doubt i love my Forte, but the K5 is what my heart desires lol... Can't fight this feeling any longer, and yet I'm still afraid to let it flow, What started out as admiration has grown stronger, I only wish I had the strength to let the Golf go...
cybermaster98
post Mar 1 2012, 03:06 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Mar 1 2012, 02:57 PM)
No doubt i love my Forte, but the K5 is what my heart desires lol... Can't fight this feeling any longer, and yet I'm still afraid to let it flow, What started out as admiration has grown stronger, I only wish I had the strength to let the Golf go...
HAHA! Good one! In the process, pls find buyer for my Vios yea? 40K
gregy
post Mar 1 2012, 03:09 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 1 2012, 03:06 PM)
I'll ask my dealer friend if he wants your car or not.

Cheers.
SUSserendipity168
post Mar 1 2012, 03:46 PM

179 posts

I just recalled that the Optima does not have a handbrake. It does free up quite a bit of space in the center console but the 'Leg' brake does take some getting use to.

Does it function exactly like a handbrake?

If so I guess you won't be doing any 90 or 180 degree handbrake turn with this new mechanism tongue.gif
Drian
post Mar 1 2012, 04:06 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Feb 27 2012, 10:59 PM)
OK, folks. Let's all take a chill pill and get back to the Optima discussion shall we?  cheers.gif

Finally managed to test drive the Optima, it was impressive!

Low end torque isn't that bad. Once it goes to second gear the pick up is really good. Word is, the so called sluggishness when the car first goes in motion, is actually designed as a safety feature to prevent over-acceleration.Handling is precise, ride is comfy(for 18" wheels), pickup is good, tackles sharp corners with confidence, ohh... love the dual sunroof!

Despite the width and length of the car, it actually drives more like  a sports car as opposed to a family sedan (think Camry).

Initially, one may get overwhelmed with all those buttons on the steering wheel, center console and door panel. May take a awhile to figure out the functions of each button.

Yeah, took awhile to find out where that freakin' petrol tank lid release button is located  doh.gif

For those who want a burst of power when overtaking, the paddle shifters ROCK! Gear shifts are smooth and precise. Switching from Manual back to Auto requires some horizontal shifting.

Last but not least, the Hill Start Assist Control (HAC) is really nifty too.

Just stop the car on a slope, press the brakes, slowly release it and the car will remain stationary for 10 secs before rolling backwards  thumbup.gif

Overall, I would say it is one awesome car. If anyone can suggest a better alternative, do let me know!  Nuff said  rclxms.gif
LOL. The marketing folks at kia is coming out with the most ridiculous justifications nowadays.

wc5599
post Mar 1 2012, 04:24 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 1 2012, 03:06 PM)
pm me some details of ur vios.. my fren looking for 2nd hand vios..

and yea.. the hill start thingy only last for 10 sec and it will roll backwards? not until the driver press the acceleration pedal?? sounds stupid leh..
gregy
post Mar 1 2012, 05:08 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(wc5599 @ Mar 1 2012, 04:24 PM)
pm me some details of ur vios.. my fren looking for 2nd hand vios..

and yea.. the hill start thingy only last for 10 sec and it will roll backwards? not until the driver press the acceleration pedal?? sounds stupid leh..
You need to understand what HSAC is all about. It activates when you're on an incline, the moment you release the brake pedal it will hold the brake while you switch your foot over to the throttle. It only holds it for two seconds, not 10. How long do you need to move your leg from the brake to the throttle? And would you still want the brakes to be applied for 10 secs while you're stepping like a madman to try and get the car to move? LOL...

This post has been edited by gregy: Mar 1 2012, 05:08 PM
StarGhazzer
post Mar 1 2012, 05:18 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Mar 1 2012, 03:46 PM)
I just recalled that the Optima does not have a handbrake. It does free up quite a bit of space in the center console but the 'Leg' brake does take some getting use to.

Does it function exactly like a handbrake?

If so I guess you won't be doing any 90 or 180 degree handbrake turn with this new mechanism  tongue.gif
lol 180 degrees... no drifiting for you then.

The foot-operated handbrake is just like previous Mercedes Benz models. Feels awkward to use initially, but once you get used to it there shouldn't be a problem. I personally am not a huge fan of it but hell, it's not a big deal.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Mar 1 2012, 05:19 PM

121 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:35 PM