4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

JuneSeptember
post Mar 21 2012, 08:51 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Mar 20 2012, 09:46 PM)
Eh, I'm a guy la. I mean right beside the steering wheel spokes, beside the eco and telephone buttons, the plastic bits have sharp edges. Go check it and you'll understand what i mean.
Anyone? Should I send it back for replacement?
JuneSeptember
post Mar 21 2012, 11:18 AM

71 posts

No one having squeaky roof yet? Hehehe.
JuneSeptember
post Mar 21 2012, 06:00 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Landy @ Mar 21 2012, 04:47 PM)
Hmmm... Looks like white and silver very popular. If I want any of these color have to wait for next week. Platinum graphite got stock. Can give me the car immediatedly also. Btw, I just sign my loan agreement last Friday only.

Wonder if I should just get the PG color since white and silver need more time for washing to keep them clean....
Nope, PG is very obvious when it gets dusty, especially under sun light. But PG looks very cool under artificial lighting, all the curves and lines on the bonnet... oooh....

I think silver is most tahan dirty color.

QUOTE(jAkUn @ Mar 21 2012, 04:56 PM)
I am between white and pg bro. ma lady wants pg because if white, the chrome does not stick out much..
Your lady has style man. That's the exact same reason why i chose PG. The chrome bits really make the roof line flow..

Btw, Silver K5 looks very high class, saw one in kepong this morning in my own PG K5. Nice. Both white and silver color really show the nice skirting at either end of the bumpers.

Here's something nice to have:
http://www.superichmotors.com/front/php/pr...display_group=1

however, if we install this side repeater along with the 4 tiny square lights upfront would be a little overkill. Too bling-bling, a bit UFO & ah beng.

There can be only one. rclxms.gif
JuneSeptember
post Mar 21 2012, 07:36 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(DJSoo @ Mar 21 2012, 07:23 PM)
I think it just because your document too strong ... LOL

Added on March 21, 2012, 7:24 pmI cant deny 3 color also very nice .. KIA make a good option to us .
Curse naza, i want blue. Haha.
JuneSeptember
post Mar 22 2012, 11:06 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Mar 22 2012, 10:08 AM)
hahaha...

i think best is u spend some time reading this thread, and if got more time, google and read from overseas forums...and then, after that, if got more time, test drive them all...thats the best way to help u decide...
i find reading comments from direct owners in forums are really helping me to decide...even better than reviews by so called experts, coz they might be biased or 'bought over'
but then of course if u r lazy and got plenty of money to spend, just flip coins

Added on March 22, 2012, 10:49 amwas trying to feel the sharp edge at the rear of the steering at eco button...but cant find the sharp edge that cut our friend's butter finger here...hehehee....nope, dont have !!
What the, early early morning kena attacked. Looks like my steering wheel has serious quality issues. I'm going to check the showroom units before further comments. Will report here later.
JuneSeptember
post Mar 22 2012, 11:58 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Mar 22 2012, 11:23 AM)
passat is IN D-segment...although some might feel doubt abt it, try sitting in the car, and yeah..bigger than accord for the interior space

Added on March 22, 2012, 11:36 am

well, test drive at least can really finalize ur decision...the feel of the car, the size of the car, the driving pleasure..coz some experience or situation cant be explained by words, very subjective..

for me, at first im skeptic abt korean car...seeing many of my friends stucked with old sonata, kia sephia...i was reluctant at first...but reading and seeing many ppl expecially from other countries really help, coz the car was launched close to 2 years over there, and u can see if there is any reliability problems or watever problems...

i can remember one quote from the forum...he is replying to a review by an expert in car testing, saying the car seat cushion is too thin for long ride comfort... his reply was, "his whole review of finding faults of the car conclude ONLY that" which is the car seat cushioning onli...

well, of course over time, i find some owners have complains as well, but whose are minor or not really deterring me from selecting this car

it got looks, more power than others in its range, leg room front n rear(overall space), specs(long list), and cheapest (2nd to sonata low spec), resale value no one knows for sure..
took my dad-in-law for a spin..he owns the latest E250...and i can see he is surprise at the car overall..some things in K5 not even present in E250
So good meh? I was just setting E250 as my mid term goal. Any way, I've just parked my car beside a camry and accord yesterday and spent some time looking at them. ail else ignored, K5's design is at least two generations ahead of the other two. No offence.

JuneSeptember
post Mar 22 2012, 02:27 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(8431 @ Mar 22 2012, 12:39 PM)
whose white knight is this? looks awesome biggrin.gif
Quick!!!! Someone please post a killer PG K5 before i regret taking it!!!!
JuneSeptember
post Mar 23 2012, 11:08 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Mar 22 2012, 09:26 PM)
I am driving a black altis now and while my colleague driving a silver one. IMO, darker colour is a safer bet. But anyway, doesnt matter. Getting Sierra Glow treatment. So minor dirty will drop off smile.gif
IMO,

Camry; unless you have the budget to go 2.4 else you will be stuck with 4 speed gearbox and slightly old but reliable engine. Comfort level is the best among 3 cars.

Accord; didnt test drive but received a not too good feedback from colleagues that driving that. Probably due to CKD?

K5; obviously this is my choice as I just bought it smile.gif But anyway, I would say that it is not a perfect car too (slightly noisy engine sound during rev) but it is best performance vs price ratio. Plus 5 years unlimited warranty, I dare to take the plunge.

End of the day, see what is your priority and budget? If you really have the budget, do consider Camry 2.4 (180k?) or Teana 2.5. A safe choice.
No pro~! Will take some pic when my car reach and installed all the mod that I bought.
I have to disagree with you man, took my car out yesterday and it was soo dirty under the sun. Every bit of dirt was obvious and visible compared to the silver car beside it. No choice loh, have to wash it frequently. (haven't wash my car for two week now)

Engine and gearbox wise, i do not have much complaints. Except that the engine does not have enough torque, 15-20 more will be perfect so i don't need to drop gear so often when going up hill (i seriously love the paddle shifters in this sort of situation). Gearbox is nice, silky smooth for my standards, don't use Top Gear standards la. Now i wonder how would it feel to drive a 2.0 Camry, since the engine has less power than K5.

So in my opinion, if you like the car, and the performance does not annoy you too much and it is reasonably frugal, can just buy it. No need to be too concerned whether the engine tech is the latest or not. I think that's the reason why so many people buy Toyota, because they like it (particularly the brand).

Just saw a brand new white K5 in Damanasara Perdana this morning, WWK XXXX, what a beauty. Also recall that I saw a silver K5 in Sri Damansara, WMM XXXX. Walao. blink.gif

I'll make some killer PG K5 pics this week, stay tuned.
JuneSeptember
post Mar 23 2012, 12:10 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Mar 23 2012, 11:58 AM)
yesterday was rushing to KL from shah alam using kesas n mex, to meet up wif frens..quite hard pressing the pedals, rpm ard 5k using pedal shifter all the time...didnt notice brunt smell after that..
Got, wallet burnt. FC sky high.
JuneSeptember
post Mar 23 2012, 03:08 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(DJSoo @ Mar 23 2012, 01:50 PM)
WMM? Or WWM  tongue.gif  number 6XXX.....? I m driving around on weekend and day.. Try to used to it bigger car, due I m driving POLO before .. LOL

Added on March 23, 2012, 2:43 pmScratched my car front bumper yesterday night .. cry.gif 

Lucky s not so obvious...
WWM, i think so. It was morning, i was blur. You should see me quite often in that area, haha.

It took me a month to adjust to it. Now I'm quite ganas, lol.

I've had a few close encounters with curbs. But haven't hit any yet. Perhaps it's time to invest in front parking sensor.

This post has been edited by JuneSeptember: Mar 23 2012, 03:11 PM
JuneSeptember
post Mar 25 2012, 12:57 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(DJSoo @ Mar 25 2012, 10:49 AM)
Going to install my front sensor this coming week ..

recommend by Simon Tan / facebook smile.gif
Any pics of the sensor?

Need to drill holes? How do you hide the led indicators?

These looks good, except that front sensors must be triggered by a button. Is there a more elegant activation solution? :

http://www.parkingdynamics.co.uk/Universal...-Parking-Sensor

http://www.proxel.com/eps-dual_front.htm

This post has been edited by JuneSeptember: Mar 25 2012, 01:25 PM
JuneSeptember
post Mar 31 2012, 01:16 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Mar 31 2012, 12:19 PM)
LOL

The feeling is mutual, bro. But if we change rim, should consider to change the tyre too. smile.gif
Absolutely, the feeling is mutual. I feel the same.
JuneSeptember
post Apr 1 2012, 12:59 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(capal buruk @ Mar 31 2012, 08:15 PM)
Guys,

Just back with my K5 for alignment. It seems that, the SC Mgr told me that <5000km, u still can do ur alignment FOC. rclxms.gif

Also, I highlighted the burnt smell issue that was brought by CM98.
So, this is the answer they gave me. Not sure if this is correct or not. Sifus, pls verify this. (I had to ask few KIA people there until I get this. others are hopeless)

> He told me it's from the catalytic converter  - which is the exhaust emission control. The job of the catalytic converter is to convert harmful pollutants into less harmful emissions before they ever leave the car's­ exhaust system. It convert CO, Hydrocarbons & oxides of nitrogen to CO2, N2 & H2O. rclxub.gif

Just like the explaination by RlanD but,  thumbup.gif
Acceleration = High Rev = High amount of conversion = Burnt smell.

Normal driving = Medium rev = Medium amount of conversion = No burnt smell.

Since the exhaust running right underneath the aircond blower, probably that's how the smell leaked in.
It might be due to failed catalytic converter but I reckon most probably not as the cat converter failure since it's new car and the smell should go away.
The bad news: A new cat is expensive.  cry.gif
The good news is it's probably covered under warranty. Check with your SA icon_rolleyes.gif

I havent experience this on my K5 as I probably havent drive as hard as CM98 did ---> to sayyyyyyyang my bright silver.
Well, I hope this help. If it doesnt, we all can try ask KIA some more! Or it's just a plastic bags got stuck at the exhaust and got burnt. hehe laugh.gif
My SC told me alignment is FOC if your mileage is below 2000km, some forte owners told me the same thing too. So new K5 owners, get your alignments done before it's too late. It really helps, my PG baby don't pull so much to the left anymore. Btw, I'm still pretty much bothered with the rough edges on my steering wheel plastics. The show car at 1utama has the same problem too, so is the sorento there. You fellas quickly go rub rub a bit your steering wheel, in a up down up down motion, especially obvious when you do that when you are stoping at a red light, beside a beautiful chun chick. Hehehe...

Jokes aside, I'm serious. Just feel it along the plastic edges beside the phone buttons, but not all the way back. No other jap car has this 'feature' unsure.gif .

Btw, i drove 140-160kmh along the highway yesterday and tried to sniff the smell when i reached home. Takda bau langsung. My security guards were staring at me in a funny way. laugh.gif

I played with the paddle shift a lot on the highway quite nice but it suddenly occurred to me that we're still dealing with a auto box, not a manual box, so I'm afraid it might be bad for the autobox in long term so better don't play with it too much. The auto cruise on the optima is a little too aggressive to my liking. It dropped gear and accelerate like a ah beng quite often and surprises me from my driving zen always. Now i feel auto cruise is not so useful when we do not have a smooth autobahn in malaysia. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by JuneSeptember: Apr 1 2012, 01:13 PM
JuneSeptember
post Apr 2 2012, 09:45 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(capal buruk @ Apr 2 2012, 01:30 AM)
Same goes here. mine was off a bit only around 8 to the left... to the left...

JuneSeptember, I did the search around the stearing from your last comment on it. and I found this. Is this the one you referring to? if that is it, then it is sharp. easily can cut your knuckles. that's a very poor finishing on the stearing.

btw, im quite happy with the autocruise response. The agressiveness depends on the the road surface/level anyway. but that's just my liking. probably im not too familiar with this autocruise before.
Capal buruk, you're the hero with a pic. That's precisely what i meant. Not only one side, it happens to all the plastic bits on the steering wheel. They are sharp and badly finished, not even protons have this sort of bad finishing. Shall we write a letter to naza or something?
JuneSeptember
post Apr 3 2012, 02:33 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(feng yun @ Apr 3 2012, 11:41 AM)
Dear all K5 sifu,

Very likely i will have pleasure to join K5 family. May i know from you guys regarding window tint:
1. What brand you guys using? V-cool / 3M / Raytech / ??
2. Cost for whole car including sun roof
3. Any branch recommend around subang, shah alam and klang area?

Thanks you in advance guys!
I did mine with 3M, much cooler after doing it. Can really feel the difference, however, i think the difference could be felt if you are leaving your car under the sun for just an hour or less. Any longer than that it makes no difference as the cabin would have enough time to absorb the same amount of heat energy.

Just my two cents worth. PM me for the price i paid. A lot of trolls, hehe. laugh.gif

Another thing to consider is aesthetics, 3M mainly are dark tints. If you want colourful ones you may need to seek else where.

I like:
PG with dark tint for that sinister look
PG with blue tint for that classy look
Silver with dark tint and dark tinted rear lights
White with blue reflective tint wub.gif thumbup.gif
JuneSeptember
post Apr 4 2012, 03:19 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(w111w @ Apr 4 2012, 12:35 PM)
OMG!!! Buying a car without test drive... Are u kidding? By just reading cooment by other ppl only and straigth bought k5! ... To me this is ridiculous and crazy act...

Not all ppl got the same preference in driving.....no matter how, the k5 driving feel really not up to my expectation...

Although it got good looks...but tat is not impotant coz the design will outdate soon.... The thing tat will not outdate is the engine hp and torque....

After few years, when i feel the design is boring already, i will say WTF! ! wat car is this??. no power wan....no pick up wan...n blah blah
Brother, i am one of those idiots who paid for the car without a test drive, 5 months in advance before the official launch. Why did I do so? Because I can. haha laugh.gif

You are right, the car has no pickup like a Audi A6. Even my perodua has more pickup at 0-20kmh range, WTF? Why? Because perodua is toyota's little cousin mah. haha, You happy now? You feeling superior now? I'm sure you do. laugh.gif

K5 was launched in 2010, now 2012, 2 years already but many still love the design. Why? Because people has different taste and artistic values for cars. This may not have occurred to you before but you see, taste is a rather unique and subjective matter. Some people like Justin Bieber, some people like Adele, some people like Girls Generations, some people like JAV girls. If you like JAV girls doesn't mean Girls Generations chicks not chun mah. I like them both, but i like GG more because they cute mah.

Hope you'll catch what i mean. laugh.gif
JuneSeptember
post Apr 5 2012, 02:00 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(zrill @ Apr 4 2012, 08:21 PM)
First Malaysian K5 TT Session

Date: 7 April 2012 Saturday
Time: 9.00am
Venue: Awan Besar R&R at Kesas Highway
Who: K5 owners and basically anyone. No restriction

1. Zrill - (White)
2. Irangan - (PG)
3. Cybermaster98
4. Stanleychai - (White)
5. DJsoo - (Silver)
Who else would like to come? All are welcomed.
Thank you
Brother, i MAY join. 9:00am a bit early, i'm afraid i might not wake up in time. laugh.gif
JuneSeptember
post Apr 5 2012, 02:13 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(capal buruk @ Apr 4 2012, 10:48 PM)
At Page 95... I decided not to respond to any of this uneducational war of words.

Might as well I answer this lady here. Btw Felice, I got mine for only 550km for RM120/63.5L on 100% city drive. (twice the same figure)
My Initial drive was 700km@RM120 but 50%city 50%hiway

I used RON 95. If premium, die lorr.....
Me too, rather than feeding the troll, might as well provide some useful info for Felice.

I have not managed to achieve higher than 550km per tank, ECO mode on or off also the same, current mileage is 3500km. Tried RON95 fuel only.

80 city 20 highway, and spends 15mins average on idle sleeping in the car each day. sweat.gif

JuneSeptember
post Apr 5 2012, 02:22 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Apr 4 2012, 08:47 PM)
Can pump RON95.

Currently, using RON97. Just finished my first full tank and sending my car for my first service this week. 670km for full tank (RON97/70 litres). KL city travel, alot of jam.
Thanks for the link. Kevin23 sure do sounds like the another troll smile.gif
Bro, JOIN our TT!
Thanks for everything smile.gif

Who have those nice DSLR? Can take some pic to promote our car abit. Haha.

I getting nice quotation for sound proofing. And I need some opinion. During my tyre changing session yesterday, I got poisoned by this. Do you think that it will look nice on K5?
[attachmentid=2773189]
I think K5 goes really really well with 9-spoke concave rims like the following concept drawing:

However, the closest design i could find is this:

sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif 20inch some more.

However, if you put it on, you may get this:

And for those who owns white K5, this one looks pretty neat:

http://www.optimaforums.com/forum/8-optima...-thread-25.html
JuneSeptember
post Apr 5 2012, 02:44 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Apr 4 2012, 10:17 PM)

http://cafe.naver.com/k5club.cafe?iframe_u...rch.boardtype=I
Scroll through the pages to have a look at what the Koreans are doing with their Optimas...
First thing i saw in your link is this:

sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0537sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:20 AM