121 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Bottom

2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

Sh@rty 5
post Apr 5 2012, 07:33 PM

104 posts

tongue.gif will be meeting another K5 owner this saturday morning for coil mat , not sure if owner is going for the tt or not tongue.gif
foongchai76
post Apr 5 2012, 07:42 PM

QUOTE(DJSoo @ Apr 5 2012, 02:12 PM)
Finally read finsih all .. spend a lot of time..

K5 owners, pls help .. I have a question.. Yesterday a camry fren, request a test drive on my K5 . ( he so like K5  drool.gif ) and we tried to take out the key from my car after engine start.. He still can driving my car without the key remote inside the car drive ard the car park.. (est. 2,3 KM far from me holding the key)

oops.gif  sweat.gif  shocking.gif  grumble.gif  cry.gif  rclxub.gif  mega_shok.gif
yes the k5 can drive without remote, but once it off thn can restart again.
megadisc
post Apr 5 2012, 08:46 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(foongchai76 @ Apr 5 2012, 08:32 PM)
last sunday i was going back to ipoh, 4 adults and 1 kid and i try to push over 200km/h ... it reach about it about 205km/h thn i stop already.....
it very stable compare to camry 2.0g. some how camry max speed only 190km/h.
wah ...200khm ah...
thats faster than lightnigh liao leh ...
Landy
post Apr 5 2012, 08:59 PM

Validating
34 posts

QUOTE(foongchai76 @ Apr 5 2012, 07:32 PM)
last sunday i was going back to ipoh, 4 adults and 1 kid and i try to push over 200km/h ... it reach about it about 205km/h thn i stop already.....
Wah... U veri brave la... I kenot... Always seems to have road block wan.... blush.gif

It's nice to know it can go that fast.... rclxms.gif

Just came back from kuantan. On the karak highway and mountainous road with lots of up and down do around 90 to 110. Car takes the corner with confidence and minimal body roll. Very nice to drive... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Landy: Apr 5 2012, 11:15 PM
DJSoo
post Apr 5 2012, 11:18 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(foongchai76 @ Apr 5 2012, 07:32 PM)
But I tried my fren camry, can't deny , the camry is comfort too, and passing cross road, it' quiet and absorber is nicer compare to K5, but interior is a bit bore..

As I said , give and take, no prefect car in this kinda price range.
foongchai76
post Apr 5 2012, 11:50 PM

QUOTE(DJSoo @ Apr 5 2012, 11:18 PM)
But I tried my fren camry, can't deny , the camry is comfort too, and passing cross road, it' quiet and absorber is nicer compare to K5, but interior is a bit bore..

i drive camry for 3 1/2 years la, lot of problem. i driving about more thn 18 years, 1st time hear about streeling shaft got problem. change 2 times in 3 years. is comfort but too much body roll. the only thing i like was their service and waranty, abit problem also can claim, i dont think naza can do tht. hope naza can improve
kenrain
post Apr 6 2012, 12:04 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(foongchai76 @ Apr 5 2012, 11:50 PM)
i drive camry for 3 1/2 years la, lot of problem. i driving about more thn 18 years, 1st time hear about streeling shaft got problem. change 2 times in 3 years. is comfort but too much body roll. the only thing i like was their service and waranty, abit problem also can claim, i dont think naza can do tht. hope naza can improve
I also planned to buy camry initially but after china camry picture come out, I don't like the design, and despite its lack of gadget its price tag is more expensive (considering 2.0G). Only advantage is comfort. I feel K5 comfort not that far apart from Camry, and with many obvious features more, esp sunroof, push start, paddle shifter, great sound system, some of which I can only get in Camry 2.5V if paying additional 40k+. Not to mention many additional safety feature such as ABS, EBD, TCS, brake assist plus the killer look that suits me, so I go for K5.. thumbup.gif Camry can't give me that satisfaction...

Added on April 6, 2012, 12:16 am
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 5 2012, 06:07 PM)
I am not a Optima owner but have done extensive research on the car and test driven it 8 times to date. Let me try and answer you the best i can:

1) Resale values are based on demand. If the initial demand is good, there's a good chance resale values will be good later. In the past, Korean makes suffered really poor resale values due to poor sales, substandard quality and numerous problems. But since the emergence of the Kia Forte, Sonata and now the Sportage and Optima, sales have been picking up. The Forte is enjoying good resale value compared to any other Korean make. Its sales have beaten even the Toyota Altis for 2011. The Sportage is also enjoying good sales with only production delays delaying deliviries. But since its CKD now, sales should pick up. So to answer your question, yes im quite sure the Optima will have much better resale value compared to its predecessors in about 5 yrs time but i dont think it would be at the level of the Camry. But then again, ure also paying about RM10K more for the Camry.

K5 sales in Feb increase 3 fold compares to Jan figures! This shows K5 demand is picking up, so I think the resell value will increase too. What KIA need to do is to add on value to their after sales service, after they successfully launched so many great selling model: Sportage, Optima etc. This will improve the value for entire brand, which translates to better resell value.

This post has been edited by kenrain: Apr 6 2012, 12:17 AM
JuneSeptember
post Apr 6 2012, 12:28 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(zrill @ Apr 5 2012, 03:38 PM)
First Malaysian K5 TT Session

Date: 7 April 2012 Saturday
Time: 9.00am
Venue: Awan Besar R&R at Kesas Highway
Who: K5 owners and basically anyone. No restriction

1. Zrill - (White)
2. Irangan - (PG)
3. Cybermaster98
4. Stanleychai - (White)
5. DJsoo - (Silver)
6. Anuar - (PG)
7. Capal Buruk - ()
8. JuneSeptember (PG)
Please copy and paste and add in the details.
Thank you
Just an idea, can we contact Naza's Marketing Dept. to sponsor some makan besar. Then they can take the opportunity to call in the press to promo promo a bit.
Landy
post Apr 6 2012, 12:31 AM

Validating
34 posts

Aiyah.. I cant join u guys la this saturday. My sis-in-law just came back from australia... have to bring her out... doh.gif

Hope got next TT... and good luck guys. please post some pictures too... rclxms.gif
irangan
post Apr 6 2012, 01:55 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Apr 5 2012, 07:33 PM)
tongue.gif will be meeting another K5 owner this saturday morning for coil mat , not sure if owner is going for the tt or not tongue.gif
Ask him to join lo~! We start at 9am though.

QUOTE(DJSoo @ Apr 5 2012, 11:18 PM)

QUOTE(kenrain @ Apr 6 2012, 12:04 AM)
I also planned to buy camry initially but after china camry picture come out, I don't like the design, and despite its lack of gadget its price tag is more expensive (considering 2.0G). Only advantage is comfort. I feel K5 comfort not that far apart from Camry, and with many obvious features more, esp sunroof, push start, paddle shifter, great sound system, some of which I can only get in Camry 2.5V if paying additional 40k+. Not to mention many additional safety feature such as ABS, EBD, TCS, brake assist plus the killer look that suits me, so I go for K5..  thumbup.gif  Camry can't give me that satisfaction...

Added on April 6, 2012, 12:16 am

K5 sales in Feb increase 3 fold compares to Jan figures! This shows K5 demand is picking up, so I think the resell value will increase too. What KIA need to do is to add on value to their after sales service, after they successfully launched so many great selling model: Sportage, Optima etc. This will improve the value for entire brand, which translates to better resell value.
No deny that Camry is more comfortable compare to K5. This is mainly due to more quiet engine. Today I went for some sound proofing for my car and the result is beyond my expectation~! I did the STP sound proofing for my engine bonnet, part of the floor and 4 doors. I not sure on how to describe in words but basically the outside and engine noise been reduced at least 50% and the doors felt more like a continental car's door now. Cant accurately measure the difference until compare to a stock K5. Below is some of the pic that I took and the installer will took more pics and will post it later. Driving more comfortable car with all K5 goodies.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

williamhltdudu
post Apr 6 2012, 02:35 AM

QUOTE(irangan @ Apr 6 2012, 01:55 AM)
No deny that Camry is more comfortable compare to K5. This is mainly due to more quiet engine. Today I went for some sound proofing for my car and the result is beyond my expectation~! I did the STP sound proofing for my engine bonnet, part of the floor and 4 doors. I not sure on how to describe in words but basically the outside and engine noise been reduced at least 50% and the doors felt more like a continental car's door now. Cant accurately measure the difference until compare to a stock K5. Below is some of the pic that I took and the installer will took more pics and will post it later. Driving more comfortable car with all K5 goodies.

WOW!! congrates man... rclxms.gif

But wat do u mean the doors felt like continental car's? do u mean when u close the door it gives a more solid *thumb* rather than hollow sound?
wat about the road sound?

how much did all these cost u? and where did u get it done? KL?
Lastly hows the road noise? are u still usin the stupid brandless tires which came wit the car?
irangan
post Apr 6 2012, 08:57 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(williamhltdudu @ Apr 6 2012, 02:35 AM)
WOW!! congrates man... rclxms.gif

But wat do u mean the doors felt like continental car's? do u mean when u close the door it gives a more solid *thumb* rather than hollow sound?
wat about the road sound?

how much did all these cost u? and where did u get it done? KL?
Lastly hows the road noise? are u still usin the stupid brandless tires which came wit the car?
Ya. Exactly, more solid feel and sounds better.

I will pm u the cost and I got it done by Howeichoo (http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1787594). Superb workmanship and everything is in order despite alot of stuff been taken off.

The road noise is reduced alot (>50%) IMO. I already changed my tyre to Michelin Pilot Sport 3. So more quiet.

Bro, the stock tyre is Nexen; a brand that getting quite famous for the past few years especially after Forte and their N6000/N8000 series launched. So it is at reasonable price and quality. So considered branded also. The stock tyre is not too bad, just I abit particular and changed to a better one.

cybermaster98
post Apr 6 2012, 09:04 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Apr 6 2012, 12:28 AM)
Just an idea, can we contact Naza's Marketing Dept. to sponsor some makan besar. Then they can take the opportunity to call in the press to promo promo a bit.
Good idea but wait till i get my Optima la. If not rugi. No point have press just to showcase 5-6 Optima. Must have more to show demand.
JuneSeptember
post Apr 6 2012, 09:07 AM

71 posts

Wah, one major item on my wish list. But, open everything like that, tak sayang ke?

What's the price? can PM me? How's the quality as compared to Dynamat? thumbup.gif
cybermaster98
post Apr 6 2012, 09:08 AM

4,440 posts

Not often we get to see the insides of the Optima. But i notice the doors are actually quite thin. hmm.gif
cybermaster98
post Apr 6 2012, 09:10 AM

4,440 posts

On a different note, seems like the new upcoming Proton Preve 1.6L Turbo is getting quite good reviews. Plus it seems quite value for money (RM 75,000) considering the specs ure getting.

Initial spec list:

1) 138Hp, 205Nm torque (more powerful than Altis 2.0V at 144Hp, 187Nm)
2) 7 speed CVT Protonic auto transmission with Sports mode and paddle shifters
3) 0 – 100kmph in 9.6 secs (Kia Optima is 10.9 secs)
4) First Proton with Euro 5 environmental emission standards
5) First Proton to use Hot Press Forming high tensile strength body
6) Certified by Australian NCAP
7) 4 airbags
8) Anti Lock Braking System (ABS)
9) Electronic Brake Force Distribution (EBD)
10) Brake Assist (BA)
11) Electronic Stability Control (ESP)
12) Shortest full braking stopping distance from 100km – 0 in 36.8m compared to Altis and Civic
13) Improved Noise Vibration Harshness (NVH) insulation
14) European handling
15) 16 inch rims
16) Spacious interior & more rear legroom
17) 10 year power window warranty
18) First Proton Global Car

JuneSeptember
post Apr 6 2012, 09:11 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 6 2012, 09:04 AM)
Good idea but wait till i get my Optima la. If not rugi. No point have press just to showcase 5-6 Optima. Must have more to show demand.
They are usually very good at camera angle and photoshop. hehe. laugh.gif

Can become 70 Optima oso.
K5WHITE
post Apr 6 2012, 09:15 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 6 2012, 09:10 AM)
On a different note, seems like the new upcoming Proton Preve 1.6L Turbo is getting quite good reviews. Plus it seems quite value for money (RM 75,000) considering the specs ure getting.

Initial spec list:

7) 4 airbags
10) Brake Assist (BA)
12) Shortest full braking stopping distance from 100km – 0 in 36.8m compared to Altis and Civic
14) European handling
15) 16 inch rims
heard from insiders...proton suppliers have problem supplying parts in quantity and quality, hence the much delayed launch
JuneSeptember
post Apr 6 2012, 09:21 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 6 2012, 09:10 AM)

Initial spec list:

7) 4 airbags
10) Brake Assist (BA)
14) European handling
15) 16 inch rims
Unfortunately, more power than ours too. Anyone going for BOT? I really do hope that in future, some creative Korean fella will come out with a plug and play BOT kit for K5:
2.0 MPI
165 PS (121 kW; 163 hp) @ 6200 rpm
20.2 kg·m (198 N·m; 146 lb·ft) @ 4600 rpm
cybermaster98
post Apr 6 2012, 09:22 AM

4,440 posts

Seems that Nasim is now offering 5 year unlimited mileage warranties for all their models including the 508. That should increase the competition. Despite the price difference, the Optima goes head to head with the 508 so will be interesting to see how Naza responds.

121 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Top

0.0334sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:00 PM