126 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

▐▐ ★HTC Desire Official Thread V11 ★▐▐, Brillante En Silencio

astria
post Oct 9 2011, 01:49 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

i know 7.1 RC1 is ancient... but was busy all the while with my studies that i neglected updating the ROM...

tried reinserting the SD but that didn't help either...

if i try to read anything on the SD from RA-Desire, these errors are thrown at me:
E:CAn't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 (or /dev/block/mmcblk0)
(No such file or directory)
E:Can't mount /sdcard

Added on October 9, 2011, 1:51 pm
QUOTE(nick67 @ Oct 9 2011, 01:45 PM)
Bro sounds like your sd card is corrupted..Need reformat it again and transfer rom zip file or backup file and reflash in recovery..

BTW can your computer recognize your sd card?

not again? i can't test this right now, using my MacBook Air instead of my Asus laptop...

if it's indeed the cause this will be 2nd SD to break in the past 6 months...

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 9 2011, 01:51 PM
ShinnKQ
post Oct 9 2011, 01:58 PM

I used to have a member title, until I took an arrow in the knee
1,242 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Oct 9 2011, 01:45 PM)
Bro sounds like your sd card is corrupted..Need reformat it again and transfer rom zip file or backup file and reflash in recovery..

BTW can your computer recognize your sd card?

Added on October 9, 2011, 1:47 pm

Startup process fc is bricked ke? I kena that before after updating my rom but I just clean flash new rom over and it went okay.. hmm.gif
well not really but that plus cannot use sd = Gf'ed.

I tried to find ways to fix it but end up bricking lol xD

P.S: I tried reformatting and it still didn't recognise when I kena.

This post has been edited by ShinnKQ: Oct 9 2011, 02:08 PM
astria
post Oct 9 2011, 02:30 PM

22,158 posts

alright guys, it's fixed... turns out it's the so-called card reader brick, fixed with this: http://android.modaco.com/topic/308707-hel...-from-fastboot/

now nandroid restoring to an old backup...
ShinnKQ
post Oct 9 2011, 02:32 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 9 2011, 02:30 PM)
alright guys, it's fixed... turns out it's the so-called card reader brick, fixed with this: http://android.modaco.com/topic/308707-hel...-from-fastboot/

now nandroid restoring to an old backup...
told you lolz.
astria
post Oct 9 2011, 02:33 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ShinnKQ @ Oct 9 2011, 02:32 PM)
told you lolz.
well that really scared the shit of me... for a moment i thought the phone itself is bricked... tongue.gif
ShinnKQ
post Oct 9 2011, 02:34 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 9 2011, 02:33 PM)
well that really scared the shit of me... for a moment i thought the phone itself is bricked... tongue.gif
ahaha yeah I know the feeling.
astria
post Oct 9 2011, 02:38 PM

22,158 posts

alright yeah, here's another qn...

previously i juz applied the Nightly directly on top of RC1... reason being that i ve tried starting fresh with the Nightly, but i couldn't get Google Apps to to be flashed successfully... RA-Desire says ok, but no GApps for me once booted into the Nightly...
ShinnKQ
post Oct 9 2011, 04:18 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 9 2011, 02:38 PM)
alright yeah, here's another qn...

previously i juz applied the Nightly directly on top of RC1... reason being that i ve tried starting fresh with the Nightly, but i couldn't get Google Apps to to be flashed successfully... RA-Desire says ok, but no GApps for me once booted into the Nightly...
Full wipe and reflash g-apps
AhPang92
post Oct 9 2011, 05:29 PM

346 posts

I think this is an easy rooting guide =D

http://androidforums.com/desire-all-things...ust-2011-a.html

to ensure that your HBoot has been installed

another similar link to a vid. guide
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XZmNcyE0km8
cristiano7mu
post Oct 9 2011, 05:33 PM

2,588 posts

QUOTE(ShinnKQ @ Oct 9 2011, 01:02 PM)
Cis, that's even easier !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1016084
or
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=696189
Just follow the vid Step 4 and then
use what I said earlier about FastBoot.
Please note there's a particular step to install CM7 hboot.
You need to wipe and then flash a CM7 hboot supported ROM, run it once, go back to bootloader, fastboot mode, flash CM7 hboot, go to recovery, reflash the same ROM again, then it should work (maybe need to wipe before reflashing) I forgot the steps but tinker around, a mistake can cause bootloop btw so yeah, just undo and go back to default hboot should allow you to boot if you really stuck.
since your hboot is so old, you can use the older methods (like mine)
Um, my speed after increasing the something from 128kb to 2mb speed went to optimum (around 3.5MB/s on Froyo Sense) but on GB (any) my speed is 750kb/s and is unaffected by the app above sad.gif.
That's how bloody slow it was.
so first thing first, in order to install a CM7 Hboot... first need to S-off.

I downloaded revolutionary and put in my virtual disk rom.

Tried restart and press F12 dvd rom to boot, but it doesnt come out the page like in video 4.

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

AhPang92
post Oct 9 2011, 05:40 PM

346 posts

got a prob~~ after i use this UnrEVOked root~~ the Superuser Permission apk seems to be unable to operate~~ I get a black screen only~~ any idea?
ShinnKQ
post Oct 9 2011, 06:02 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(cristiano7mu @ Oct 9 2011, 05:33 PM)
so first thing first, in order to install a CM7 Hboot... first need to S-off.

I downloaded revolutionary and put in my virtual disk rom.

Tried restart and press F12 dvd rom to boot, but it doesnt come out the page like in video 4.

rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Try other than F12, F11, F10 etc. Until you get a boot option to choose what drive to boot from. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(AhPang92 @ Oct 9 2011, 05:40 PM)
got a prob~~ after i use this UnrEVOked root~~ the Superuser Permission apk seems to be unable to operate~~ I get a black screen only~~ any idea?
More importantly is your Recovery, can you do anything with it? When you flash a new rom it shouldn't bother you that much since it will be different.
AhPang92
post Oct 9 2011, 06:07 PM

346 posts

(ShinnKQ @ Oct 09 2011, 06:02 PM)More importantly is your Recovery, can you do anything with it? When you flash a new rom it shouldn't bother you that much since it will be different.

I dun think there's problem with recovery~~ havent flash a rom since I'm just a starter ><" will try to learn it soon enough~~

but I thought i can transfer all the apps to SD card after I rooted??
(if this thought is childish please dont blame me~~ Trying to learn here =D)

This post has been edited by AhPang92: Oct 9 2011, 06:10 PM
ShinnKQ
post Oct 9 2011, 06:25 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(AhPang92 @ Oct 9 2011, 06:07 PM)
I dun think there's problem with recovery~~ havent flash a rom since I'm just a starter ><" will try to learn it soon enough~~

No it's not childish whistling.gif It's more childish if you ask something impossible biggrin.gif

Uh no you can't 'transfer' which I assume you mean App2SD.

You need to make Linux partition like EXT3/4 and then use it to transfer apps.

By making the partition, you need to wipe your sd card (As making partitions in any storage drives require formatting before partitioning) so yeah, backup your whole sd card first.

Go on your recovery and make partition loh

BUT. You're not done yet. Your stock rom does not support nor recognise the linux partition being used as app2sd+ so in the end you still need to flash whistling.gif

I believe there was a stock ROM with add-ons long ago but I dont think u can find the thread easily on XDA so try using it's search button..should be somewhere there.

This post has been edited by ShinnKQ: Oct 9 2011, 06:26 PM
AhPang92
post Oct 9 2011, 06:28 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(ShinnKQ @ Oct 9 2011, 06:25 PM)
No it's not childish  whistling.gif It's more childish if you ask something impossible biggrin.gif

Uh no you can't 'transfer' which I assume you mean App2SD.

You need to make Linux partition like EXT3/4 and then use it to transfer apps.

By making the partition, you need to wipe your sd card (As making partitions in any storage drives require formatting before partitioning) so yeah, backup your whole sd card first.

Go on your recovery and make partition loh

BUT. You're not done yet. Your stock rom does not support nor recognise the linux partition being used as app2sd+ so in the end you still need to flash  whistling.gif

I believe there was a stock ROM with add-ons long ago but I dont think u can find the thread easily on XDA so try using it's search button..should be somewhere there.
I see~~ uhh~~ so which rom will you recommend me to flash?? btw~~ it must be simple~~ if nt I will hit walls~~
JazzDazzle
post Oct 9 2011, 06:28 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(AhPang92 @ Oct 9 2011, 06:07 PM)

You'll have to create a partition EXT2/EXT3/EXT4 first, there are a couple of methods available. In which, you will have the liberty to flash custom ROM onto your SD card.
xproc
post Oct 9 2011, 06:32 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

Swiftkey X is the best keyboard to use... free thru getjar...
ShinnKQ
post Oct 9 2011, 06:44 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(AhPang92 @ Oct 9 2011, 06:28 PM)
I see~~ uhh~~ so which rom will you recommend me to flash?? btw~~ it must be simple~~ if nt I will hit walls~~
LeeDroid 2.5.0 Froyo Stable rclxms.gif

QUOTE(xproc @ Oct 9 2011, 06:32 PM)
Swiftkey X is the best keyboard to use... free thru getjar...
Random~
AhPang92
post Oct 9 2011, 07:02 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(ShinnKQ @ Oct 9 2011, 06:44 PM)
LeeDroid 2.5.0 Froyo Stable  rclxms.gif

errr~~ running on Froyo?? how bout rom that runs GB? sad.gif
ShinnKQ
post Oct 9 2011, 07:14 PM

1,242 posts