7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Movies The Conjuring (2013) - More Home Haunting Movies, From director of Insidious

headhunter7
post Aug 3 2013, 12:54 AM

2,355 posts

QUOTE(silverchain @ Aug 2 2013, 01:05 AM)
i saw the trailer. Is it a sequel to Insidious? The same red faced demon? hrmmm
No. Insidious will have its own sequel, Insidious 2.

It was a great movie. The actors, all the way to April, all did a great job. And what do you know, the cinematography works and adds to the horrifying scene, without it, it would've been another American horror.

It didn't need much of CGI's, and it certainly bodes well without it.

It combines most of horror cliches but combines it well and it wasn't just jumpscare galores, like most American horrors.

Certainly one to watch, may wanna watch it again. 8/10, a solid 8 from me.

This post has been edited by headhunter7: Aug 3 2013, 12:56 AM
JustcallmeLarry
post Aug 3 2013, 03:00 PM

1,363 posts

Guys, how much of the story was based on true events? Was the part the ghost on top the closet attack the daughter really happened?
dannykhoo17
post Aug 4 2013, 12:32 AM

DnC
893 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Aug 3 2013, 03:00 PM)
Guys, how much of the story was based on true events? Was the part the ghost on top the closet attack the daughter really happened?
http://www.chasingthefrog.com/reelfaces/conjuring.php

this movie is quite scary lol wtf.
zeronova
post Aug 4 2013, 01:29 AM

597 posts

SUSryanliew87
post Aug 4 2013, 02:18 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(zeronova @ Aug 4 2013, 01:29 AM)

Annabelle i think is another side of story... Towards the end part i guess the ghost merely wanna attract the gal with the doll??
headhunter7
post Aug 4 2013, 04:42 AM

2,355 posts

abang brother
post Aug 4 2013, 04:45 AM

4,967 posts

scary movie lol idk how my friend so relax when watching this hahaha damn that witch though rclxms.gif
bro bro
post Aug 4 2013, 11:49 AM

177 posts

10/10 for me .... for haunted movie ....

seriously
tjayy09
post Aug 4 2013, 12:01 PM

391 posts

This movie is incredibly well made, not too mention fcking scary, especially when its watched at midnight, still regretting lol 9/10
QuickFire
post Aug 4 2013, 12:51 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

I guess american horror movies are hit-or-miss with me, didn't find this scary in the slightest bit. Same thing for Insidious. But Insidious was more fun and entertaining, as I recall. Of the more recent american horror movies the only ones I can think of right now that got under my skin are The Ring and The House of the Devil. There are probably more but I can only think of these two. The last 10 minutes of [REC] is still the scariest thing I've ever seen in a horror movie.

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Aug 4 2013, 12:51 PM
dannykhoo17
post Aug 4 2013, 02:47 PM

DnC
893 posts

rclxms.gif Malaysian Director
SUSinsightone
post Aug 4 2013, 08:25 PM

161 posts

Watched this movie yesterday.

Typical US Horror movie i guess.

Overall, this movie is is good compared to Sinister and Mama smile.gif

Although this movie have quite a lot of Talking scene, but it doesn't make me bored at all.

And yes, after watched this movie, I have a hard time to sleep. Feel scared cry.gif

And yes, I scream a lot at the cinema when watching this movie innocent.gif

This post has been edited by insightone: Aug 4 2013, 08:29 PM
tonYe
post Aug 4 2013, 09:27 PM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

QUOTE(Frankmiller92 @ Aug 2 2013, 01:40 AM)
It has heart and script is good. The part about them at the beach and how it was used to defeat the witch. Plus the acting by Vera is A.M.A.Z.I.N.G
but the father of the perrons family's acting is horrible LOL
defaultname365
post Aug 4 2013, 10:49 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

It's a good watch. Not a must watch, but a good watch. I didn't really find it "horryfying" or genuinely scary but heck, I'd lie if I said my heart was at a normal rate all the time. Perhaps I was expecting something I hadn't seen before. Most of what is in the movie has already been done on another flick. But here is the thing - - the movie is really well made, got to give props to that. First of all, the acting. Brilliant acting performances from every cast, especially Vera Farmiga and Patrick Wilson. Lily Taylor, have to give special mention to her, she really delivered a genuinely 'troubled' person going through a very traumatic time with her family.

Secondly, the scares are there though not entirely new. I did like it though. They weren't cheesy/cheap scares, I really believe James Wan brought back old school scare methods, including yes, a sudden pop-in your face + horror music cue. tongue.gif Brilliant directed, I noticed great camera work too. The movie is able to keep you glued to the screen from start to finish, and not one scene felt out of place or unnecessary, it all gelled together nicely.

Very well done, but it's been done before.

I would recommend this movie to any paranormal/horror/ghost movie fans out there. You will have a good time. nod.gif Just don't expect sleepless nights or I-would-never-speak-of-this-movie-ever-again type thing.

8/10

Can't wait for "Insidious 2" coming this October. Speaking of this film, I did find the first film wildly entertaining what with Darth Maul and all. laugh.gif There were some really ingenious scare methods used (e.g. the man standing by the baby crib as the camera pans around leisurely... small things like that, really old school scare methods too). I do hope the sequel will be able to give us 'new' scare methods.

Frankmiller92
post Aug 5 2013, 12:11 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(tonYe @ Aug 4 2013, 09:27 PM)
but the father of the perrons family's acting is horrible LOL
Haha the rest of his family makes up for it... The little girl is quite convincing "Someone's behind you!"
Frankmiller92
post Aug 5 2013, 12:16 AM

113 posts

This felt like the perfect Ghostbusters movie! Somebody should make a sequel called The Warren Family and the "insert interesting title".
tonYe
post Aug 5 2013, 12:46 AM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

QUOTE(Frankmiller92 @ Aug 5 2013, 12:16 AM)
This felt like the perfect Ghostbusters movie! Somebody should make a sequel called The Warren Family and the "insert interesting title".
Actually, there's already a film adaptation of the case that follows but it wasn't good.
Frankmiller92
post Aug 5 2013, 01:14 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(tonYe @ Aug 5 2013, 12:46 AM)
Actually, there's already a film adaptation of the case that follows but it wasn't good.
The "Long Island" case is actually The Amytiville Horror right?
roytomas8998
post Aug 5 2013, 12:46 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(Frankmiller92 @ Aug 5 2013, 01:14 AM)
The "Long Island" case is actually The Amytiville Horror right?
Yeah. Maybe James Wan should do a remake of that?
But there's remake of that movie anyway.
stormlcc
post Aug 5 2013, 03:21 PM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

another stupid comedy made by americans

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:36 PM