TM D-Link DSL 2640 B, Slow...

TSacid_head
post Jun 23 2011, 11:33 AM, updated 15y ago

809 posts

Hi guys, i'm not sure whether i post it at the correct section, please move it to the correct section if i have posted wrongly. Thanks.

Back to the topic, I'm hv been using cool uni pack 4MB for almost one year, it was very smooth in terms of surfing, buffering youtube and dowloading, until shit happened when my previous modem had spoiled stroke by lightning. I called up the TM technician,they came and change the new modem for FOC. At first i was very happy becos they gave me D-link which is reputable brand compare to the previous model (i forgot what is the previous modem brand). Since then my line become unstable, slow surfing, web browser keep pop the "timed out" message, i barely can buffer youtube sometime even i'm using it alone. Now i'm suspecting the modem given by TM have been configured or something as i dun familiar with networking thingy. So anyone can i know what is problem? Or anyone else facing the same problem as i do? Any solutions besides change a new modem?
Mr.Wang
post Jun 24 2011, 03:34 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(acid_head @ Jun 23 2011, 11:33 AM)
Hi guys, i'm not sure whether i post it at the correct section, please move it to the correct section if i have posted wrongly. Thanks.

Back to the topic, I'm hv been using cool uni pack 4MB for almost one year, it was very smooth in terms of surfing, buffering youtube and dowloading, until shit happened when my previous modem had spoiled stroke by lightning. I called up the TM technician,they came and change the new modem for FOC. At first i was very happy becos they gave me D-link which is reputable brand compare to the previous model (i forgot what is the previous modem brand). Since then my line become unstable, slow surfing, web browser keep pop the "timed out" message, i barely can buffer youtube sometime even i'm using it alone. Now i'm suspecting the modem given by TM have been configured or something as i dun familiar with networking thingy. So anyone can i know what is problem? Or anyone else facing the same problem as i do? Any solutions besides change a new modem?
I've the same d-link modem from tmnet but so far I did not face the problems that you mentioned. Log in to your modem configuration and make sure your downstream speed is 4096kbps or 5012kbps.
uGinn
post Jun 25 2011, 09:52 PM

36 posts

My downstream speed is 5117.. but still the speed like f**k..only way is to change the firmware to SEA_v100..but I'm frightened once I've changed the firmware I can't access to the internet. In a dilemma here. ><
herojack41
post Jun 25 2011, 10:40 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(acid_head @ Jun 23 2011, 11:33 AM)

D-link aint a reputable brand......aztech are hell lot better then D-link in any point.

check if your death-link modem its very hot.....as it gets hot you line will slowdown

check this out

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1900121&hl=
TSacid_head
post Jun 26 2011, 01:35 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Wang @ Jun 24 2011, 03:34 PM)
I've the same d-link modem from tmnet but so far I did not face the problems that you mentioned. Log in to your modem configuration and make sure your downstream speed is 4096kbps or 5012kbps.
Yes downstream line rate is 4095kbps. So??? is this normal?

Added on June 26, 2011, 1:37 am
QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jun 25 2011, 10:40 PM)
D-link aint a reputable brand......aztech are hell lot better then D-link in any point.

check if your death-link modem its very hot.....as it gets hot you line will slowdown

check this out

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1900121&hl=
the modem is sleeping in 24/7 air cond room, so i dun think the heat is an issue

This post has been edited by acid_head: Jun 26 2011, 01:37 AM
Mr.Wang
post Jun 26 2011, 02:30 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(acid_head @ Jun 26 2011, 01:35 AM)
Yes downstream line rate is 4095kbps. So??? is this normal?

Added on June 26, 2011, 1:37 am

the modem is sleeping in 24/7 air cond room, so i dun think the heat is an issue
That's normal but you only get 3mbps something with 4095kbps capped. You need at least capped at 5012kbps to get 4mbps speed.

But I don't think it related to your problem.

0.0155sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:13 AM