Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread v20, next RG will be FREEDOMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!

madmoz
post Jun 23 2011, 10:32 AM

4,250 posts

I dislike 00 designs, but the asymmetry of the seven swords 00 hits the right notes for me indeed. So deliciously non sensical, so pointlessly pointy, I LIKE !

Added on June 23, 2011, 10:36 amThink about it, who in their right mind would bring SEVEN swords to a battle? You'd probably be tripping over your own scabbards.
So outrageously ridiculous that it is COOL!

This post has been edited by madmoz: Jun 23 2011, 10:36 AM
madmoz
post Jun 23 2011, 11:00 AM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Jun 23 2011, 10:40 AM)
but but.. 00 has no scabbards.. so no worries about tripping there!  icon_idea.gif
laugh.gif accidentally slice one's appendages off then.
madmoz
post Jun 23 2011, 11:58 PM

4,250 posts

OT: makes you wonder if the cosplayers are alluring because of the characters they are cosplaying as, or are they really cute/pretty in the first place.

cause personally i think one would probably not notice 90% of the cosplayers if you see them in their 'normal' clothes walking on the street.

btw, if we are gonna spam photos of vaguely gunpla related stuff, mebbe we should pindah to hobbytiam and leave the serious stuff here only.
madmoz
post Jun 27 2011, 03:17 AM

4,250 posts

I would prefer that this thread be a news and completed works and THEIR RELATED discussions only to be honest. I've been guilty of going off topic a few times too, and those posts belong in hobbytiam.
Honestly, seeing page after page of people talking about their bts gunpla hunt gets meh quite fast sad.gif

And I'm not even gonna start ranting about those who seem to feel that it is ok to show off their PVCs and other non mecha modelling stuff here. You show off in hobbytiam, not here.
madmoz
post Jul 3 2011, 10:56 AM

4,250 posts

OT -> I think that some of the 'UC is the best' peeps should get off their high horses. I do not see how liking more 'realisitc' giant robots (the irony) makes one a better fan (especially in many a gundam forums).

Also, for a much vilified series, Strike Freedom seems to sell a lot of plastic hmm.gif
madmoz
post Jul 4 2011, 01:08 AM

4,250 posts

You guys make it seem like gunpla is terribly difficult. It isn't, and to be honest I would say that many MGs can be snap fitted by anyone.

This post has been edited by madmoz: Jul 4 2011, 01:26 AM
madmoz
post Jul 4 2011, 09:30 AM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(mf_yamato @ Jul 4 2011, 07:06 AM)
Hehehe why the destiny got heini color???that heini guy just in the show for few episode only...then slashed into two hahahaha
Heine Westenfluss does seem to be a Bandai favourite. Like you mentioned, he only showed up in the anime for like a few episodes but has a disproportionate amount of kits released, and now a 'limited edition' somemore.

Added on July 4, 2011, 9:32 am
QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 4 2011, 09:18 AM)
wa...u all don scare me like that. i will cry if i break my first MG SF
don't worry too much. If you are careful, breaks are rare.

Just be cautious when disassembling, trim the pins a bit if you think you're gonna be taking the parts apart again later.

This post has been edited by madmoz: Jul 4 2011, 09:32 AM
madmoz
post Jul 4 2011, 12:15 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 4 2011, 10:39 AM)
yea..i'm back. kena poisoned. =_=

yea, plan to get 1000 or 1200. donno if ACE sells it. don tell me whole Midvalley cannot find. hahaha.

how u all close the gap for some parts.
glue? o_o
Cement and then sand. Which means painting is a must. You'd find more help in the modding and painting thread. nod.gif

Also, I have no objection calling gunpla toys laugh.gif No need to feel insecure wor nod.gif Toys then toys lor.

This post has been edited by madmoz: Jul 4 2011, 12:17 PM
madmoz
post Jul 4 2011, 06:39 PM

4,250 posts

many of us old timers here memang older than you guys lor laugh.gif
madmoz
post Jul 5 2011, 08:42 AM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Jul 5 2011, 07:32 AM)
consider as money saving period tongue.gif
good time to stock up on PVCs and HotToys nod.gif
madmoz
post Jul 5 2011, 09:26 AM

4,250 posts

Z is a good (blog) friend too smile.gif
I like.
madmoz
post Jul 5 2011, 10:20 AM

4,250 posts

Gaijin is also a good blog friend laugh.gif He works for HLJ iirc, so his reviews are quite fast.

BTW, the looks you got weren't because of your age... they were after your big wallet lor!

Most hobby shop owners are quite friendly once you get to know them!
madmoz
post Jul 5 2011, 10:51 AM

4,250 posts

no not poor, but rich!
madmoz
post Jul 6 2011, 05:03 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 6 2011, 04:40 PM)
ya wor....still the 00 with xn raiser nice tongue.gif
my fav SF.....don think can add anything =_= actually most SEED Destiny gundams cannot be added anymore i think.
but they can all be given a lick of pink paint! brows.gif
madmoz
post Jul 11 2011, 07:52 AM

4,250 posts

Meh, imho gunpla, like many collectibles are cyclical - no real value one lo. When hot = expensive, when not = worthless. Somemore very niche market.
Also what is the big deal if someone calls you a kid? I'm 30 plus and I still call myself a kid! If you let others affect you, then you really are childish lor.

This post has been edited by madmoz: Jul 11 2011, 09:03 AM
madmoz
post Jul 11 2011, 10:39 AM

4,250 posts

oh oh MG wish list time?

MG ZGMF-1001/xx Zaku Phantom variants please as well as MG GSX-401FW Stargazer.

Enough with the 2.0 rehashes already doh.gif
There cannot be that many old farts (yes yes, me included laugh.gif) around anymore to buy those older UC suits whistling.gif

This post has been edited by madmoz: Jul 11 2011, 10:40 AM
madmoz
post Jul 16 2011, 08:28 PM

4,250 posts

The gundam thread's speed is negatively correlated to its quality sad.gif
madmoz
post Jul 17 2011, 02:46 AM

4,250 posts

Since we are going to start a new thread soon, can we please please not have another spam fest.

It is getting annoying that one has to load page after page of useless pointless spam to just get to a single morsel of useful info.

Many of us have been guilty of doing this before, especially when we were new and eager, but is there really any need to post pictures of your RG, MG, HGUC blah blah blah hauls and an accompanying essay on your exciting BTS hunt. If it isn't rare and can be found in any other Jusco, NOBODY cares. Go lansi in hobbytiam, this is not gundamtiam!!! doh.gif

There is also no need to post 1001 photos of your snap fitted or semi snap fitted plastic, especially if you just wanna 'show off'. Picture + review = helpful. Picture + nothing else = snap fit = basic step of gunpla building = poor attempt at showing off.

Nasty I am, but the way this thread is going really annoys the hell out of me. Used to lurk in here to pick up bits and pieces of info, nowadays it just eats up my mobile bandwidth.

Back to topic - Anime accurate? Meh. Anyone with DW Gundam 3 will notice straight away that the mecha in there are modelled after the gunpla kits (dead giveaway - 'hollow' shoulders and skirts laugh.gif) instead of the anime, and they look good enough.

This post has been edited by madmoz: Jul 17 2011, 02:49 AM
madmoz
post Jul 17 2011, 06:51 AM

4,250 posts

If you think the thread/forum isn't moderated, then you are sadly mistaken.

I liked the previous versions of this thread precisely for the reason that it wasn't Zero-G. Wasn't as specialised nor 'high end' where people shared info on gundams they garnered from other sources and also as a place to spread the word on local deals and bargains. Some of the more committed posters will even add in their kit reviews from time to time.

Now it is a place where people show off their hauls, their kits, blog about their shopping trips and spam whatever is remotely gunpla related, seemingly in hope of reaching 2500 posts sad.gif

SPAM SUCKS UP BANDWIDTH, which is terrible for Maxis mobile users like me mad.gif

edit: If you guys want a gunpla version of /k/, feel free to use the hobbytiam thread. It was started precisely to let us show off, talk crap and basically spam. And a place to have general discussions on all toys A mini /k/. That way, we can keep this thread relatively spam free and allows everyone to find the useful posts without going thru page after page of 'less useful' posts.

This post has been edited by madmoz: Jul 17 2011, 07:06 AM

0.0453sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:38 AM