WTB? Timber preservation oil. Anti-Termine
TSweikee
Jun 20 2011, 04:08 PM, updated 15y ago
Looking for Anti-termite oil for wood. Not the normal water based chemical.
I am trying to get the above mention oil for my roof. Found it in Ace-Hardware, cost RM 80 / 4L, not cheap. Anywhere to buy cheaper?
Or anyone have other alternative?
Neoh1979
Jun 20 2011, 09:39 PM
Are u going to diy the termite treatment? Anybody can recommend a good n reasonable provider ?
TSweikee
Jun 20 2011, 09:41 PM
I ask my contractor to spray the oil on the roof support "wood".
The contractor already help pour the termite poison when he dig the footing.
kelvyn
Jun 22 2011, 05:48 PM
you should be careful when handling these chemicals. Better to let the specialist handle them. Not worth to DIY. The chemicals that you put in the roof can effect your health. Don't be penny wise pound foolish
sl2007
Jun 22 2011, 05:56 PM

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Jun 22 2011, 05:48 PM) you should be careful when handling these chemicals. Better to let the specialist handle them. Not worth to DIY. The chemicals that you put in the roof can effect your health. Don't be penny wise pound foolish  Agreed with you Bro.... I not too sure what kind of Chemical Wei Kee is referring.. If referring to TANALIZE the timber, I suggest better let the Specialist to handle it....
kelvyn
Jun 22 2011, 06:04 PM
you cannot tanalise the timber just by applying the chemical after the timber truss has been installed. It needs to go thru the "baking" process. I am sure most roof truss timber are tanalised timber
hunter1425
Jun 22 2011, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jun 22 2011, 05:56 PM) If referring to TANALIZE the timber, I suggest better let the Specialist to handle it.... Proper method to tanalising timber is by pressure vacuum tank. CCA ( chromated copper arsenate ) is used to inject into the timber pores under vacuum/pressure cycle. This chemical is known to cause cancer and is banned in a lot of developing country. But in BOLEH land it is still being use. This post has been edited by hunter1425: Jun 22 2011, 06:06 PM
TSweikee
Jun 22 2011, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jun 22 2011, 05:56 PM) Agreed with you Bro.... I not too sure what kind of Chemical Wei Kee is referring.. If referring to TANALIZE the timber, I suggest better let the Specialist to handle it.... The treatment i purchase is trussguard timberlife exterior, is oil based and use for timber treatment, it also use for wood on the roof. RM 79.9 per tin of 4 Liter. Dam expensive. Think i need 3 to 4 Tin. This post has been edited by weikee: Jun 22 2011, 07:01 PM