HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge V2, - 91 owners!! FUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!

Lionheart88
post Jul 15 2011, 01:01 AM

52 posts

Hey Acid Rulz,

Before I start. I like that picture of GG you have there =p

So I'm thinking of getting this laptop for mostly gaming and multimedia stuff.

My main question is, does the Beats headphones comes with the laptop? From what I have read, I need to pay extra for the headphones and stretching my budget to 3.5k is very painful.

Also, since you're an owner of it now. Will you honestly recommend this laptop to a somewhat serious gamer. I'm considering games like BF3 and MW3 so yeah have to check on details la.

I sincerely do hope you reply back as soon as possible =)
Lionheart88
post Jul 15 2011, 01:21 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jul 15 2011, 01:13 AM)
Yes, u need RM3.5k for complete bundle with Beats Solo headset. I'm not sure how this game will behave with BF3 since there is no demo yet has been release. You should opt for lappy with GTX560 if u're worry. tongue.gif
I think you need to spam F2 when u powerup the laptop. If cannot mean u spam too slow. tongue.gif
Wahhh GTX560 is overkill for me la! Right now quite torn between this & the acer 5755. I see only difference is either I go AMD or Geforce. Quite frankly I like HP laptops because of their services but I won't be around much to use it seeing I go back overseas.

Acer is a new ballpark for me la, yet the cheaper option. But thank you for your quick reply. I probably post a tread comparing it =)
Lionheart88
post Jul 17 2011, 06:52 PM

52 posts

Okay, hmmmm.

Can you all just hit on me Acer vs HP which are the pros and cons. My friends seems to be hitting on HP for having overheating issues and sly warranties and also money sucking but that beside the point.

Definitely appreciate if you can help me with the questions. Like I said before, I'm quite the heavy gamer so I need one that doesn't overheat.

And Faridz, I might take up that deal if I can see the light in HP =)
Lionheart88
post Jul 17 2011, 07:52 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(powerpack240v @ Jul 17 2011, 07:36 PM)
Overheating will always be a problem in such a thin and powerful laptop. The only laptops which don't have heat issues are netbooks and Alienwares. Both of which I have....

The temperatures of the DV6 CPU is around 90C, the GPU around 80C, the other stuff like RAM can reach 80C....all of these is under gaming for long periods.

IMO, HP has way better build quality than any Acer.
Another question, the motherboard are rumored to also melt so its that part of a design flaw?

Lionheart88
post Jul 17 2011, 11:59 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jul 17 2011, 11:00 PM)
I think you should bring your baby to HP Service Centre and ask them to reapply thermal paste for you. 96c is way too high for this lappy.
Question, how do you check if temp is above average and what should be the normal one?
Lionheart88
post Jul 18 2011, 03:16 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Jul 18 2011, 11:25 AM)
I know just need some recommendations, what game is good? Haha.
Anybody know if you can play Mass Effect 1 and 2? Cuz those are the games that are rotting on my current laptop sad.gif
Lionheart88
post Jul 19 2011, 12:34 AM

52 posts

Okay, I'm so ready to join the club. Just point me to a good place to get at Digital Mall and this time in 2 weeks or so.

I'm a proud owner of a HP DV6!!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
Lionheart88
post Jul 19 2011, 09:23 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Jul 19 2011, 01:21 AM)
once u get there,can u find out the  latest price of dv6-6114tx w/o beats headset +8 GB RAM upgrade + 3years Carepack?
Will look into it. I probably will get a chance come friday
Lionheart88
post Jul 19 2011, 10:22 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(marcus20125 @ Jul 19 2011, 10:01 AM)
Near HELP uni or Pusat Bandar Damansara.

When you go there, you can park at the customer lot on the ground. Don't waste your money parking in the basement. You can park for free if your a HP customer

Lionheart88
post Jul 19 2011, 11:27 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(vandread86 @ Jul 19 2011, 10:29 AM)
Finally HP is calling me and they will send it tomorrow evening. Fuh2.. Excited~~ Im reporting in as an owner of

HP Online Exclusive PC Fair Packages
HP Pavilion dv6-6114TX
HP Promo Beats Solo Black Headset
8GB RAM
How much???
Lionheart88
post Jul 19 2011, 11:40 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(vandread86 @ Jul 19 2011, 11:39 AM)
RM3799

with all other freebies like ext HD, mouse, Microsoft Office and so on smile.gif
Can I haz link please??? thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Lionheart88
post Jul 19 2011, 05:28 PM

52 posts

Since we are the topic of batt, how long is normally the batt life say just watching movie or tv series??
Lionheart88
post Jul 19 2011, 05:58 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jul 19 2011, 05:50 PM)
Nope.
Not really, if you're just doing light stuff and the cpu temps didn't exceed 70c there no harm keeping the battery plugged in.

Back in V1 thread, few guys bought the Care Pack for RM79 from online website. Normal price is RM199, previously marcus selling for RM129 i think.. i'm not sure how much he selling one right now.
I got mine from Hikari85 for RM149.
If you tend to keep it out for a long period, better to discharge it around 30%-50% first.
Mine can reach 3.5 hours.
Okay, what's all this issue about batt? Not sure if applicable, but my gateway batt has still lasted over 3 hours for the last 2 years with constant charging and what not. Is HP that much of issue?
Lionheart88
post Jul 20 2011, 10:32 AM

52 posts

So I take it the online deal is really worth it?
Lionheart88
post Jul 20 2011, 01:31 PM

52 posts

So now there's a problem with the graphic card? Why do I feel HP is slowly chasing me away
Lionheart88
post Jul 20 2011, 02:29 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(hirota @ Jul 20 2011, 01:45 PM)
Hey bro, I don't really understand it all. Is there anyone who can tell me in more layman terms? I can understand tht the chip will set itself to like an Intel chip but I have no idea why it does that and the issues with 11.4 or 11.5

Really appreciate if someone help out a fellow LYT
Lionheart88
post Jul 20 2011, 03:49 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jul 20 2011, 02:41 PM)
so b4 u bought laptop must do research.. buy those switchable is good when u using at outdoor & can save a lot battery usage! i personally dislike it! this is new tech sure a lot problem.. 11.7 will solved it dun worry bro!
Bro, of course I'm doing research. Isn't that why I'm active in this trend? I'm making damn sure that I do a lot of research into it before purchasing it. My question is what is this switchable thing you speak of? Is it like power saver mode and high performance mode on laptops?
Lionheart88
post Jul 20 2011, 04:05 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 20 2011, 03:55 PM)
The problem is they can't just use HD6770M..
that remind me of what my friend's Dell went through I think. So now the issue is that the graphic card does not recognize the change between the Intel and AMD?
Lionheart88
post Jul 20 2011, 05:53 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(chahupping @ Jul 20 2011, 05:30 PM)
LOL. ok, i will try download hpc soon and try it. thx for ur advice.

Edited: new problem encounter!
windows media player cant be used??!!! First time have this problem, cant play music nor movies?! definitely nt files problem because i can play it with other player.
This one ar, I encountered sometimes also. I think you end the process, should be okay. If still got issue, idk how to help you
Lionheart88
post Jul 21 2011, 12:03 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(chahupping @ Jul 20 2011, 06:41 PM)
OH thx alot. that save me alot time finding solution. any idea what causes that problem??
I don't have bro. It feels like the issue is that file becomes unreadable only to WMP. When I notice the slow process speed, I straight change to VLC and it normally runs while WMP sorts itself out

0.0512sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:07 AM