126 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge V2, - 91 owners!! FUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!

Momojii
post Jul 14 2011, 08:45 PM

87 posts

LOL finally hp call me and will send me the laptop at 7:30 to 8:30 pm tomorrow... So happy and worry... since they already worry me once. oh well.
tweiyang11
post Jul 14 2011, 11:52 PM

131 posts

hey guys... i have a 6001tx and cant seem to connect to a LAN network at gigabit speed... 100mbps is the maximum.... anyone here having the same problem? the driver version is 7.41.216.2011

and i've already checked my router, used different type of cables, and confirm its my network card's problem...
rurushu
post Jul 15 2011, 12:37 AM

2,021 posts

Just got my lappy on yesterday afternoon!!!! Yay!!!! Finally can "activate" my ownership of dv6 here in this group!!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Jul 13 2011, 02:31 PM)
@rurushu , yeah I am a bit worried U3 is big, but wouldnt the dimension of length on the DV6 longer than the length in U2 ??
Please let me know when ur DV6 arrive maybe can take a pic and show us the DV6 on the U2. For those who have U3 with DV6 can share pic also. Might help in the first page smile.gif
I fitted it, it was just the sides are abit jutted out, basically the important vents(3 as what i've seen, correct me if wrong) are covered.
QUOTE(leonghan @ Jul 14 2011, 08:45 AM)
090711 placed my order but after i check the order status it shown delivery date 110811....OMGOSH !!! SO LATE !!!
QUOTE(vandread86 @ Jul 14 2011, 09:12 AM)
here's a thing. it took freaking almost one month for one order. my gosh.. not that they customize the laptop design or spray or put our name on the laptop. for god sake HP please improve. sad.gif if i know they are this slow, I rather buy at shop after this.. uhuk2... i order from 29 june, even the laptop status is shipped, but all other thing is in production. aiyoo
@leonghan & vandread86: dont worry bro, mine was ordered on 15th of June 2011 and it came to me FINALLY one day before 15th of July 2011. So yeah, be patient, it will come to you, latest is one month as in the case of farid.... brows.gif
rurushu
post Jul 15 2011, 12:39 AM

2,021 posts

Guys, wanna ask, when FIRST plugged in the battery and AC adaptor, need to charge it continuously for how long? I plugged it in on 14th of July 2011 at around 9.30pm, currently still plugged in. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

Added on July 15, 2011, 12:50 amErr... one more question guys... i cant see the HP_tools partition in My Computer... any ideas?

This post has been edited by rurushu: Jul 15 2011, 12:50 AM
Lionheart88
post Jul 15 2011, 01:01 AM

52 posts

Hey Acid Rulz,

Before I start. I like that picture of GG you have there =p

So I'm thinking of getting this laptop for mostly gaming and multimedia stuff.

My main question is, does the Beats headphones comes with the laptop? From what I have read, I need to pay extra for the headphones and stretching my budget to 3.5k is very painful.

Also, since you're an owner of it now. Will you honestly recommend this laptop to a somewhat serious gamer. I'm considering games like BF3 and MW3 so yeah have to check on details la.

I sincerely do hope you reply back as soon as possible =)
rurushu
post Jul 15 2011, 01:01 AM

2,021 posts

OMG... i tried ThisisBoletaria's method to try to disable the action keys... but when i pressed esc during startup, i only saw 2 options, one is windows 7 and the other one is windows memory diagnostics and nothing else, i pressed F8 when i was on the windows 7 option, but inside dont have any options that leads to BIOS... any help??? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

TSAcid_RuleZz
post Jul 15 2011, 01:13 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(Lionheart88 @ Jul 15 2011, 01:01 AM)
Hey Acid Rulz,

Before I start. I like that picture of GG you have there =p

So I'm thinking of getting this laptop for mostly gaming and multimedia stuff.

My main question is, does the Beats headphones comes with the laptop? From what I have read, I need to pay extra for the headphones and stretching my budget to 3.5k is very painful.

Also, since you're an owner of it now. Will you honestly recommend this laptop to a somewhat serious gamer. I'm considering games like BF3 and MW3 so yeah have to check on details la.

I sincerely do hope you reply back as soon as possible =)
Yes, u need RM3.5k for complete bundle with Beats Solo headset. I'm not sure how this game will behave with BF3 since there is no demo yet has been release. You should opt for lappy with GTX560 if u're worry. tongue.gif

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jul 15 2011, 01:01 AM)
OMG... i tried ThisisBoletaria's method to try to disable the action keys... but when i pressed esc during startup, i only saw 2 options, one is windows 7 and the other one is windows memory diagnostics and nothing else, i pressed F8 when i was on the windows 7 option, but inside dont have any options that leads to BIOS... any help???  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
I think you need to spam F2 when u powerup the laptop. If cannot mean u spam too slow. tongue.gif
Lionheart88
post Jul 15 2011, 01:21 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jul 15 2011, 01:13 AM)
Yes, u need RM3.5k for complete bundle with Beats Solo headset. I'm not sure how this game will behave with BF3 since there is no demo yet has been release. You should opt for lappy with GTX560 if u're worry. tongue.gif
I think you need to spam F2 when u powerup the laptop. If cannot mean u spam too slow. tongue.gif
Wahhh GTX560 is overkill for me la! Right now quite torn between this & the acer 5755. I see only difference is either I go AMD or Geforce. Quite frankly I like HP laptops because of their services but I won't be around much to use it seeing I go back overseas.

Acer is a new ballpark for me la, yet the cheaper option. But thank you for your quick reply. I probably post a tread comparing it =)
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Jul 15 2011, 01:35 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(Lionheart88 @ Jul 15 2011, 01:21 AM)
Wahhh GTX560 is overkill for me la! Right now quite torn between this & the acer 5755. I see only difference is either I go AMD or Geforce. Quite frankly I like HP laptops because of their services but I won't be around much to use it seeing I go back overseas.

Acer is a new ballpark for me la, yet the cheaper option. But thank you for your quick reply. I probably post a tread comparing it =)
No problem man. Sifus in Mobile Computing sure can poisonhelp you to choose. laugh.gif
louisfjh
post Jul 15 2011, 01:39 AM

257 posts

thank all..haha
i take back this dv6 is cus i like this laptop so much & i like Hp long time ago...
this is a nice laptop..just the 6114 auto switch GC problem make me disappointed abit... but i still will support it... LOL ^^

Added on July 15, 2011, 1:39 amso can add me to the list...
DV6-6001
rm3199 laptop wif 8GB ram & carry case from digital mall ^^

This post has been edited by louisfjh: Jul 15 2011, 01:39 AM
rurushu
post Jul 15 2011, 01:56 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jul 15 2011, 01:13 AM)

Ok, finally corrected the action key part laugh.gif
But the partitioning still cannot... sigh... think will bring and let my cousin help me... sad.gif
Btw acid, did you partition your stock hard disk? or you just use one drive C? hmm.gif
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Jul 15 2011, 02:27 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(louisfjh @ Jul 15 2011, 01:39 AM)
so can add me to the list...
DV6-6001
rm3199 laptop wif 8GB ram & carry case from digital mall ^^
Ok done. laugh.gif

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jul 15 2011, 01:56 AM)
Ok, finally corrected the action key part  laugh.gif
But the partitioning still cannot... sigh... think will bring and let my cousin help me...  sad.gif
Btw acid, did you partition your stock hard disk? or you just use one drive C? hmm.gif
Cannot partition your HDD? Why?
I deleted my recovery partition, then i shrink my C: to create a new 20GB partition for my Linux OS.
rurushu
post Jul 15 2011, 02:35 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jul 15 2011, 02:27 AM)

Cannot partition your HDD? Why?
I deleted my recovery partition, then i shrink my C: to create a new 20GB partition for my Linux OS.
I didnt delete my recovery. Im using the mini partitioning tool as suggested on the 1st page. I set C: to logical, then i partitioned. Then it prompts saying error because C: is currently being used. So i choose restart and then the tool kicks in. The wizard runs and starting to partition my drive C:. BUT, after it tried to resize my C: into my selected 100+GB, it suddenly stops and the screen turns black with the wizards still running... so i waited for a while and nothing happen. So i have to force shut down my dv6 and restart. Windows run the repair diagnosis and then the C: drive back to normal... cry.gif
And just now i encountered one more problem... the 7zip. I downloaded the .exe and installed. But when i select the types to be associated, after i click apply and ok, it doesnt associate the file types. When i reopen 7zip, all the "ticks" are gone, and i try again and again it is still the same... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
louisfjh
post Jul 15 2011, 02:38 AM

257 posts

hey wanna ask.. other then try press the number... how can know that the numlock is on or off??? & while u pres the numlock have show numlock on/off on the screen???

This post has been edited by louisfjh: Jul 15 2011, 02:39 AM
rurushu
post Jul 15 2011, 02:46 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(louisfjh @ Jul 15 2011, 02:38 AM)
hey wanna ask.. other then try press the number... how can know that the numlock is on or off??? & while u pres the numlock have show numlock on/off on the screen???
I also facing this issue. It seems that the numlock is not on all the time, every time i restart comp, it will turn off. Any clue?
louisfjh
post Jul 15 2011, 02:50 AM

257 posts

the 6114 i use have show numlock on/off when i press the numlock...

& now i know y only 6001 cant manual change GC...
today the guy told me... 6001 GC is separate & 6114 & 6108 2 GC is combine..
so mayb driver also cant help... duno this problem will solve anot in the future...
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Jul 15 2011, 03:06 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jul 15 2011, 02:35 AM)
I didnt delete my recovery. Im using the mini partitioning tool as suggested on the 1st page. I set C: to logical, then i partitioned. Then it prompts saying error because C: is currently being used. So i choose restart and then the tool kicks in. The wizard runs and starting to partition my drive C:. BUT, after it tried to resize my C: into my selected 100+GB, it suddenly stops and the screen turns black with the wizards still running... so i waited for a while and nothing happen. So i have to force shut down my dv6 and restart. Windows run the repair diagnosis and then the C: drive back to normal...  cry.gif
And just now i encountered one more problem... the 7zip. I downloaded the .exe and installed. But when i select the types to be associated, after i click apply and ok, it doesnt associate the file types. When i reopen 7zip, all the "ticks" are gone, and i try again and again it is still the same...  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Sorry, don't know whats wrong with your partitioning, regarding 7-Zip try to run it as administrator by right clicking on the icon and choose Run As Administrator before you set file associations.

QUOTE(louisfjh @ Jul 15 2011, 02:50 AM)
the 6114 i use have show numlock on/off when i press the numlock...
& now i know y only 6001 cant manual change GC...
today the guy told me... 6001 GC is separate & 6114 & 6108 2 GC is combine..
so mayb driver also cant help... duno this problem will solve anot in the future...
Don't know 6114TX have indicator for Numlock On/Off. sweat.gif

That guy is very smart... i could just lol all day long. rclxms.gif
louisfjh
post Jul 15 2011, 03:09 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jul 15 2011, 03:06 AM)
Sorry, don't know whats wrong with your partitioning, regarding 7-Zip try to run it as administrator by right clicking on the icon and choose Run As Administrator before you set file associations.

so mean it correct anot??? LOL

& wat use wif light scribe control panel??
rurushu
post Jul 15 2011, 03:21 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jul 15 2011, 03:06 AM)

Ok... i try running it as administrator... my dv6-6114tx's numlock problem solved itself... now the numlock is permanent... LOL... laugh.gif
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Jul 15 2011, 04:01 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(louisfjh @ Jul 15 2011, 03:09 AM)
so mean it correct anot??? LOL
No it's not correct. lol.

quote from another forum
No, this is a driver issue plain and simple.

The 6000 series uses the old mux-based switchable graphics. That means that both GPUs (the Radeon and the Intel) are connected to a mux, and the mux connects to the display. When you switch graphics you are changing which GPU connects to the display.

The 6100 series uses a muxless design. This is the same basic design as NVIDIA Optimus. What that means is that the Radeon GPU renders into memory, but the Intel GPU is used for outputting the final image. This is the key here - the Intel GPU is always active, it's just that the Radeon does the rendering work when it's selected.

Clearly the problem is that AMD hasn't gotten working OpenGL support with the muxless design. That's probably because they didn't have the software engineering resources it with Optimus, so it's not even an issue with Windows. It's just a matter of AMD getting the driver support right to get it done right away. Since most games on Windows are Direct3D (not OpenGL), it makes sense to focus on that first. But rest assured that there is nothing intrinsic to the muxless design that makes OpenGL impossible. NVIDIA doe

You are never going to be able to switch purely to the Radeon graphics like you can on the 6000 series. The muxless technology doesn't work that way. You may at some point be able to force-select the Radeon GPU, but the Intel GPU will still be active.

The downsides of the muxless design are driver issues (Optimus users went through this), slightly lower performance (a couple of percent - not really noticeable), and basically no support for the dedicated GPU under non-Windows operating systems (there are significant issues in Linux that make doing muxless designs harder, and the engineering resources are not there).

The upsides of the muxless design are much quicker and more transparent switching, better driver support in the long term (the mux-based design is laptop specific and rely on hacks that Microsoft doesn't really support), and lower cost.

If you use OpenGL programs or games (other than those which run fine on the Intel GPU), don't buy a dv6-6100 or any muxless Radeon graphics laptop.

126 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:09 PM