[WTA] lock all port but 7788 & 443
SUSdreign
Jun 17 2011, 05:03 PM, updated 15y ago
Anyone got a solution how to block all internet access ports but port 7788 and port 443 on a Win XP Pro.
This PC only meant for remote diagnostic for our supplier. The block out is to stop our own people using it to goes on-line.
SUSdreign
Jun 17 2011, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 17 2011, 05:04 PM) 1st u have to tell what existing firewall or filtering you are using.. 2nd to answer your question in general (since u telling in general), just block all firewall traffic from "zone" to "zone" only allow the port u specify. Thanks for the respond. The firewall we are using is ZyXEL's ZyWALL USG200. The setup itself are a bit complicate as we have 3 subnets(I do not want to block the other pc that in this subnet). And I am not good with routers. So I am looking for something that can block or control within the pc itself.
SUSdreign
Jun 21 2011, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(abubin @ Jun 20 2011, 06:14 PM) What's wrong with using windows firewall? User can play around windows firewall. Will be great if the firewall require another set password. As the user will be running with administrator rights.
SUSdreign
Jun 21 2011, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(abubin @ Jun 21 2011, 05:18 PM) huh? you mean users will be using that PC also? I thought u said only used by supplier? Users will be using it for what? Does the user need to be administrator? Hmm.. Lets say this is how it works. User suppose to use this pc to launch a fault machine report (if there is one lah). The supplier will run the remote diagnostic via the pc to the machine. I hope this will give you a better picture.
SUSdreign
Jun 21 2011, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(abubin @ Jun 21 2011, 05:56 PM) define "launch a fault machine report". Does this need to be done as administrator? Create a poweruser profile and test it out. I can only have "Administrator" or "Limited" user account on the XP Pro. Will ask the suppler will it able to run if the use on a "Limited" account. The pc is pre-install with supplier's own remote access and diagnostic software. If there are fault on machine A(think A as a production line machine) we will launch a fault machine report. Our suppler will remote login to this pc to do a diagnostic on machine A(they have pre link up the pc and machine A). This will save down time and able to standby parts if the session able to pin point the faulty area. Thank you for you time and interest. Will up date later.