Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?

views
     
KSBond
post Jun 18 2011, 08:52 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
9 posts

Joined: Jun 2011
QUOTE(soundtrick @ Jun 17 2011, 11:29 PM)
can we receive the signal in kajang or semenyih area? ... i have dvb-t tuner but cannot detect the channel... im afraid if my box is defect...
*
Hi .. I'm using LG Model SL90 LED TV (with built-in DVB-T tuner) and managed to receive the digital signal from RTM successfully.

The trick is to use samll antenna, the kind that look like the one installed on the top of the MyVi ... :-)

Anyway, I lives next to Tesco Kajang.

Keep trying & Good Luck ...




Attached image(s)
Attached Image
KSBond
post Jun 19 2011, 10:42 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
9 posts

Joined: Jun 2011
Interesting to know that there is High Definition DVR arouund. It will be good if Media Prime is also embracing the same DVB-T system. I guesses we still have to wait & see as always.

Currently I'm still looking for DVR HD to enable me to record 1080i full HD football game from Astro byond decoder.
Any idea where I can secure one ? Ignoring the Astro PVR, for cost cutting.

Thanks
KSBond
post Jun 20 2011, 02:24 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
9 posts

Joined: Jun 2011
By pressing MENU button of the LED LG Model SL90 TV remote controller, as series of menu will pop up on the screen.

Select the SET UP menu followed by selecting AUTO TUNING.

The instruction will then poped up asking us to connect the external antenna.

Selecting the START menu will start the Auto Tuning processes, both Analogue & Digital transmissions as detected by the TV Set/Antenna.

After successfull Auto Tuning prosess, selecting one of the TV channel will cause the TV screen to show a text e.g. for RTM TV1 the text will be: DTV MPEG SD 800 TV1 and so on for other channels.

My RTM DVB-T signal has got the following channels:-
1. RTM1
2. RTM2
3. TV-i
4. Games
5. EPG

I used to have the following channels but there are on and off. I guesses it is due to experinemtal channels
1. Mustika
2. Panggung &
3. Ilham

+ Radio Klassik Nasional ++ Radio

I beleives the best time to tune the Set is during night probably due to less intefering signals.

Good luck with your ACRyan HDVR tuning ...
KSBond
post Jun 20 2011, 05:34 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
9 posts

Joined: Jun 2011
Agreed with bsl555.
It is transmitted in Standard Definition (SD) Digital Signal (DVB-T) and not yet in Full HD (1080i). Hopefully RTM will also be transmitting in Full HD in addition to SD currently they are testing.

Looks like you have not tuned your TV to receive the RTM's Digital TV signal to appreciate its quality ... tongue.gif
KSBond
post Jun 22 2011, 09:18 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
9 posts

Joined: Jun 2011
QUOTE(bsl555 @ Jun 20 2011, 10:31 PM)
I just realised by comparing Astro broadcast and RTM DVB broadcast, it appears RTM DVB can be BETTER quality! Why? NON Astro Beyond set top box connects to TV either by S-Video (best PQ) or the common analog yellow color RCA (fair PQ). This is the limitation of the old Astro decoder. Astro Beyond have HDMI which is ideal so far. Latest LCD TV's are doing away with S-Video input and that leaves the RCA socket only which limits PQ greatly and NO way you're gonna get HD PQ from old Astro decoder. RTM DVB-T is DIRECT broadcast and received by your latest DTV set, no cables, direct and as good as it gets. Its up to them if they want to provide HD transmission. DTV is the way to go, no more the old ills of analog broadcast PQ, i.e. interference noise, snow, raster, ghosting or fuzzy pictures.
*
Astro is using DVB-S (Satellite) & RTM is using DVB-T (Terrestrial). Both are of the same family, DVB (Digital Video Broadcast) system.
I'm watching RTM TV2 Disney Handy Manny in DVB-T now (Wed. Morning 0900 HRS Mal, June 22nd). The picture is crystal clear. thumbup.gif

Another difference is that the same Handy Many program broadcasted in DVB-S (Astro) will suffers a noticeable lost in its Audio Volume.
Not sure whether this due to DVB-S designed specification or purposely configured by the broadcaster. Astro engineering personel could possibly answer this puzzle ... icon_question.gif
KSBond
post Jun 23 2011, 10:28 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
9 posts

Joined: Jun 2011
QUOTE(ezlife @ Jun 22 2011, 09:14 PM)
Why cant we use external antenna with booster? What is the reason we need to use small antenna?

BTW, what is the resolution currently RTM broadcast using DVB-T? Is it DVD resolution?
*
Nobody said that you cannot use youe existing antenna.
If your current boosted antenna provides you with a good picture & audio quality on analoge TV, there is a great tendency that it will also giving you a good signal to your DTV.
Small antenna is very convenient and can be placed next to you DTV. In my case, it provides very good reception with crystal clear picture. Much much better then analogue TV.

RTM2 DVB-T trial broadcast is in MPEG SD 4:3 576i and not 1080i as mentioned earlier.

Anyhow, have you managed to tune to RTM DVB-T Broadcast ? hmm.gif
KSBond
post Jun 23 2011, 12:01 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
9 posts

Joined: Jun 2011
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Jun 23 2011, 10:37 AM)
But you sure it's channel 44? Last I check the frequency moved to 549MHz. Or is that because I'm using boosted indoor antenna?

As for the other channel, my decoder can't find it. Is it DVB-T2?

Btw, my remark about how TV shows are cancelled mid-season refers to current analog stations like TV1 and NTV7.
*
Dear RAMChYLD, let me provide answer on behalf of bsl555.
A quick check on my DTV setting reveals the following:-
1. Ch 44 provides: Music Active, ILHAM & PANGGUNG
2. Ch 46 provides: TV1, TV2, TV-i, Games, EPG ++ Radios
Music Active, ILHAM & PANGGUNG were previously on channel 46.

So bsl555 is right. Currently RTM is using two (2) channels for DVB-T testing i.e. Ch44 & Ch46.
I doubt it is on DVB-T2 as yet.

As for ezlife,
guesses you needs somebody strong to assist you ... biggrin.gif
KSBond
post Jun 27 2011, 10:08 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
9 posts

Joined: Jun 2011
Wondering why it has been so quiet .... hmm.gif
... guesses the topic is not interesting anymore.

May be we should change to topic to a little bit more interesting, say
'Satellite TV in Malaysia ... How to receive Satellite TV Signal' ... biggrin.gif
KSBond
post Jun 29 2011, 10:59 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
9 posts

Joined: Jun 2011
QUOTE(NWR_77 @ Jun 27 2011, 08:38 PM)
What different between analog tv with digital tv?

What hardware to setup digital tv?
*
Walking through the electical store nowdays expose us with many selection of TV sets.
Leaving behind the old fashioned Cathode Ray Tube (CRT) TV behind, current TV sets utilise Plasma, LCD, LED/LCD with Standard Defifition (SD), HD Ready & Full HD technology. TV set with SmartTV & 3D capability is the latest trend.

All in all, externally they looks the same, regardless whether Analog or Digital TV.
What is the difference between the two ?

The easiest way is to inspect its detail specification and look for the word built-in TUNER. Nowdays in Malaysia, if you can find the word DVB-T then you are lucky. It is a Digital TV. Else if you can only find word such as PAL, SECAM then it is Analog only TV. Some TVs might have both Digital & Analog tuner built in.

Asking the salemen may pose us with another problem. They don't even know what DVB-T is ? They don't even have TV antenna installed to do the demo. What they are doing is playing low quality pasar malam the so called DVD/Blueray copy of movie into Full HD 1080i capable TV. Try not to be fooled by them ... sad.gif

Without built-in digital tuner, you can still receive the digital transmission provided you have an external tuner or set-top box (currently not available in Malaysia), that process the signal, turn it into Audio/Video and deliver it to TV screen via HDMI cable.

Thanks

This post has been edited by KSBond: Jun 30 2011, 10:57 AM

 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0537sec    1.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th October 2019 - 09:46 AM