377 Pages « < 143 144 145 146 147 > » Bottom

Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?

lpsoldier007
post Jun 6 2017, 06:12 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jun 5 2017, 02:08 PM)
Unlike analogue TV, signal boosters are not necessary for digital TV. So, don't use any signal boosters to receive digital TV channels, as "overload signal" (receive too much signal) may occur, resulting you not able to watch the channels at all (it will appear as No Signal).

Use signal booster for digital TV ONLY if you are desperate and unable to receive digital TV signals at all, even that you've tried to replaced new indoor or outdoor antennas with new cabling, or perhaps there's a hill or mountain or harsh terrains that makes TV reception difficult to receive. Otherwise, don't use booster.

If you have booster installed at your antenna, power it off. If still doesn't work, then it is better for you to completely remove the box-like booster from ur outdoor antenna. Meaning, connect the cable directly to antenna, not IN to booster, OUT to antenna, and also same goes to indoor booster. If still doesn't work even after all this, and even tried to align your antenna,  then it is probably due to the cable. If the cable is too old, like 10 over years already, then it's time to replace a new one.

Receiving digital TV signals should be way easier to receive compared to analogue TV. To make things simple, try using indoor antenna first, even though you tried before that receiving analogue TV channels is not possible or poor signal if you use indoor antenna at your location. If can't receive using indoor antenna, then only go ahead for outdoor antenna. Make sure you are using UHF antenna.
Before this I am using external aerial with booster to watch analog TV.

But now I cannot detect any Digital TV signal using the same aerial (with booster on and off)

But analog transmission working flawlessly.

My STB is ok because I manage to get the digital tv transmission in my dad's house.

So what should I do?

Should I get a new indoor aerial?

I live in Kulai. Gunung Pulai is around 10-15KM from my house. And I should get Singapore's digital channel too. But nothing show on my screen for digital tv.

This post has been edited by lpsoldier007: Jun 6 2017, 06:19 PM
natamhanjing
post Jun 6 2017, 07:17 PM

74 posts

Lel.

JohnLai
post Jun 6 2017, 07:35 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,620 posts

Lancar apa kalau takde coverage?

Sarawak only got one transmitter at Kuching when its area is almost as large as whole Peninsula.
truelife
post Jun 6 2017, 07:43 PM

447 posts

What a joke! What's the purpose of this launch? No new channel, no real HD channel, station like Media Prima uses lowest bitrate to minimise bandwith charge....It's just like treating viewers like fools!
truelife
post Jun 6 2017, 07:49 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(lpsoldier007 @ Jun 6 2017, 06:12 PM)

But now I cannot detect any Digital TV signal using the same aerial (with booster on and off)

My STB is ok because I manage to get the digital tv transmission in my dad's house.

So what should I do?

I live in Kulai. Gunung Pulai is around 10-15KM from my house. And I should get Singapore's digital channel too. But nothing show on my screen for digital tv.
Obviously it is antenna problem. I think you still need an outdoor antenna in order to receive Singaporen digital channels. You may try buying a cheap indoor antenna to test first. If an indoor antenna does not work, only then you may consider replacing your old outdoor antenna.
JohnLai
post Jun 6 2017, 07:53 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,620 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Jun 6 2017, 07:43 PM)
What a joke! What's the purpose of this launch? No new channel, no real HD channel, station like Media Prima uses lowest bitrate to minimise bandwith charge....It's just like treating viewers like fools!
Bloody farking joke indeed.
Only the annoying watermark changed. ranting.gif
lpsoldier007
post Jun 6 2017, 08:24 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Jun 6 2017, 07:49 PM)
Obviously it is antenna problem. I think you still need an outdoor antenna in order to receive Singaporen digital channels. You may try buying a cheap indoor antenna to test first. If an indoor antenna does not work, only then you may consider replacing your old outdoor antenna.
My old outdoor antenna can get all analog Singaporean channels and some Indon channels.

But fail to detect any digital channel.
nexona88
post Jun 6 2017, 08:25 PM

The Royal Club Member
41,828 posts

Well it's for show only..
Someone gotten $$ they wanted devil.gif
YoungMan
post Jun 6 2017, 09:54 PM

5,394 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2017...-mytv-decoders/
JohnLai
post Jun 6 2017, 11:45 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,620 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Jun 6 2017, 09:54 PM)
Wow.....from 2million to 4.2million......

Untung lah siapa yang dapat kontrak.......buy cheap (RM80-100) decoder at china and resell it at RM300+.......... drool.gif
Qash-M
post Jun 7 2017, 12:02 AM

#FreePalestine
5,956 posts

What a joke! What's the purpose of this launch? No new channel, no real HD channel, station like Media Prima uses lowest bitrate to minimise bandwidth charge....It's just like treating viewers like fools!
It's not just Digital one, even analogue one looks even crappier.
Anime in HD
post Jun 7 2017, 05:57 AM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jun 6 2017, 11:45 PM)

Untung lah siapa yang dapat kontrak.......buy cheap (RM80-100) decoder at china and resell it at RM300+.......... drool.gif
At resell part i laff.. laugh.gif
Really sial marketing.. doh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Anime in HD: Jun 7 2017, 06:02 AM
YoungMan
post Jun 7 2017, 08:50 AM

5,394 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jun 7 2017, 12:45 AM)

This one I must agree. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jun 7 2017, 01:02 AM)
It's not just Digital one, even analogue one looks even crappier.
Analog RTM TV2 sounded like crap. sometimes clear sometimes not.
SUSstinky
post Jun 7 2017, 11:47 AM

1,436 posts

ANyone in Menjalara Kepong get the signal?
nexona88
post Jun 7 2017, 11:50 AM

The Royal Club Member
41,828 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jun 6 2017, 11:45 PM)

Sure some crony would be getting the contract..
Ask Chinese manufacturer to produce & just put logo only..

Win devil.gif
joshhd
post Jun 7 2017, 01:01 PM

6,959 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Jun 6 2017, 01:37 PM)
Your Toshiba TV is an old model and of course it has only analog system. Most of the new TVs nowadays especially those reputable brands like Sony and Panasonic have built-in DVB-T2 tuner. However, you would be surprised that some new TVs from Hisense, Sharp and Philips currently being sold at dirt cheap price only give minimum specs without built-in DVB-T2 tuner.
Just get a new TV model, and you shall get the one that supports digital TV DVB-T2 built-in. Look out for DTTV MALAYSIA logo when purchase one.
joshhd
post Jun 7 2017, 01:07 PM

6,959 posts

QUOTE(lpsoldier007 @ Jun 6 2017, 06:12 PM)

So what should I do?

10-15km is very close! In that distance, if you use outdoor + booster, for sure will get signal overload for Malaysian channels, resulting unable to detect the channel at all.

If you're staying within 25km radius away from tower, just use indoor UHF antenna to receive it. No booster required at all.

If you're staying 25km or further away from tower, then only you might need outdoor antenna.

Maybe you receives only Singapore digital channels is because their TV tower is far enough from your tower, so the signal isn't as strong as Malaysia one to overload the signal when you use the booster.
joshhd
post Jun 7 2017, 01:10 PM

6,959 posts

QUOTE(lpsoldier007 @ Jun 6 2017, 08:24 PM)
My old outdoor antenna can get all analog Singaporean channels and some Indon channels.

But fail to detect any digital channel.
If that's the case, most likely is because you use signal boosters. Try to remove signal boosters for digital TV.

Or, try out indoor antenna first.
KateWinslett
post Jun 7 2017, 02:32 PM

24 posts

Before leaving for work at 8 am today, I suddenly remember, I read it somewhere, It has the word "MYTV" , "6th June" & "Revolutionary".

First, I check the dictionary for the world Revolutionary...and it means "involving or causing a complete or dramatic change"

2nd, I re-tune my digital tuner, eagerly hoping for this dramatic change.

And....*sigh*
joshhd
post Jun 7 2017, 02:41 PM

6,959 posts

QUOTE(KateWinslett @ Jun 7 2017, 02:32 PM)
Before leaving for work at 8 am today, I suddenly remember, I read it somewhere, It has the word "MYTV" , "6th June" & "Revolutionary".

First, I check the dictionary for the world Revolutionary...and it means "involving or causing a complete or dramatic change"

2nd, I re-tune my digital tuner, eagerly hoping for this dramatic change.

And....*sigh*
That one is gimmick only. It is to impress those non tech savvy people such as those people staying in Malay village and Chinese villagethat don't subscribe to Astro/Njoi or don't have Internet. MYTV, 6 June, Revolution is coming, and then they'll be like wow.....

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 7 2017, 02:53 PM

377 Pages « < 143 144 145 146 147 > » Top

0.0185sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:08 PM