SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V5, It is coming to Malaysia 22 June !!

SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 16 2011, 10:05 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 16 2011, 09:59 PM)
Today GSM Arena latest review comparison using HTC Sensation as the base against the 2 dual cores SGS II and OPtimus 2X
Read the " hidden lines"  behind the reviewer final comments and you will know which is a better choice. Those on the fence between HTC Sensation and SGS II should read

http://www.gsmarena.com/htc_sensation_vs_g...-review-608.php

For those who has yet to ever read the page 1 ; I repost here again other web comparisons between the HTC Sensation and SGS II

http://androidcommunity.com/samsung-galaxy...video-20110520/

http://www.techradar.com/news/phone-and-co...alaxy-s2-961874

After reading these 3 reviews , I am sure you can make a better decision. Don't ask users here which is better - 9.9/10 will tell you SGS II is better
but sgs 2 users have no sense. doh.gif

choose sensation as the best android challenger to iphone4's dominance.
its got the balance btwn hardware and software.

for pure geek ecstasy, sgs2 is better i suppose.
SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 21 2011, 09:21 PM

151 posts

Going to camp thr starting 11pm
SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 21 2011, 11:12 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 21 2011, 09:01 PM)
I have been using it already for 1.5 months - it never lags, never hang, never freeze , no auto shutdown, no auto reboot. I am not exaggerating - is a fact. I must say this is close to the perfect phone I have ever use.  Tweaking it further with different roms, using Tegrak voltage controls - battery life has improved. I'd say it is getting better every day

Some users faced issues because I think they have been installing a lot of unnecessary stuffs . I always believe don't flood your phone with junk apps you never want to use. In any category of apps - choose one or two  that serves you well, example battery life indicator : i know some guys install 4-5 types - what is the purpose ?? One is good enough if it shows you the temperature and voltage. Users will face lag too if they resort to install apps from blackmarket which is notorious being Trojan carriers - it is common knowledge some of the apps from blackmarket causes auto reboot, hanging issues

Some golden rules I always practiced :

1. Factory reset phone the first time you get it before installing any 3rd party apps
2. Regularly ( I do it once a week) - go to recovery mode and clear cache partition and dalvik cache - this si analogous to cleaning up your house. Data will still remain intact
3. At least once a week, use the phone from fully charge till empty and charge it back full

Wow. So nerdy.
Why must it is so complicated?

This post has been edited by CELCOM.AXIATA: Jun 21 2011, 11:13 PM
SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 22 2011, 08:27 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(jiidaineko @ Jun 22 2011, 08:21 AM)
Pardon me if blur but today at midvalley can buy sgs2 for 799 w/o plan right
Yes, but the queue is morenden 400 pplnady.
SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 22 2011, 08:40 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(X.SAN @ Jun 22 2011, 08:35 AM)
No bro...must WITH 3GB Plan
And the Answer YES is already a wrong info so kinda doubt with the 400+ ppl answer as well ^^
Let's check that out in maxis website shall we?

SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 22 2011, 04:26 PM

151 posts

WTF how come this thread deserve pin status?
somebody pls xplain?
issit bcos samsung or maxis paid some money?!!
SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 22 2011, 05:09 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(bansai @ Jun 22 2011, 05:03 PM)
work harder to gain more disposable income...
true, that shld be on everybody's thinking.

but more disposable income also will not over-spend on a phone just to get bragging rights.
i have a practical mind.
SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 22 2011, 06:07 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jun 22 2011, 05:58 PM)
Agreed on both but im lucky not to have friends around saying sohai (at least in front of me lorh LOL)

Added on June 22, 2011, 5:59 pm
Friday only, gaji havent come out la today..  doh.gif
its legend ~~~~~dary
This is 1st time phone specific thread got pinned.
Money must had xcged hands.
SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 22 2011, 06:17 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 22 2011, 06:11 PM)
i also want to know about it
i think a lot ppl also want to know the answer
Simple really, money.
SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 22 2011, 11:12 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(andrewL @ Jun 22 2011, 06:53 PM)
Dear all, i'm very extremely interested in the galaxy S2. I tested the unit in the maxis launching event earlier today and it was slightly laggy and not at all fluid compared to an iphone 4 which has oni a single core processor.

Is SGS2 really not as smooth compared to the iphone? Or could the unit at the event be defected due to a little too overused for the day?
It's not the hardware. Even with gigabytes of ram or thousands gigahertz proc, android will always lag n will never be as smooth as iOS. That is the magic of apple. Right from the 1st gen iPhone, the web browser and overall system is smooth, even though hardware is not so advanced.

Furthermore, by using less hardware resources, iPhone and iPad battery life is always much much better compared to android devices.

What android wins is it's customize ability bcos of open source.
It also has a large community of customized ROMs programmers.
This is extremely sexy and appealing to geeks and nerds.

Instead of juz being a communication device, the smartphone is treated as a device to get high benchmark scores, different themes, increase battery life by bits, etc.

While other normal users are simply enjoying the simplicity, smoothness and beauty of iPhone.
Not to mention it's huge library of quality apps that android nerds can only envy jealously.

This is not meant to antagonize android fans but a statement of the plain truth.
SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 23 2011, 12:25 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(sparrowed @ Jun 23 2011, 12:05 AM)
Come on iOS retard, this is a Samsung SGS II forum, and you dont have to menti0n how great iOS is and how bad Android is, millions of Android phones wont spawned out of nowhere if it is as bad as you mentioned. Just one word, dont troll around and blast with irrelevant fanboyism replies.

Anyway, has anyone feels that the SGS II color reproduction looks kinda greenish? Thats what I experienced when I play around the demo set.
Typical immature fanboy reply.

Android is not bad, just it cannot be compared to iPhones,
Even samsung knows this and they can only become apple copycat to the extent samsung is hauled into court.

SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 23 2011, 08:57 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 23 2011, 08:40 AM)
for the optimised statement i made, it was a general one that applies to most cases -- especially those from manufacturers.

if you mean those from the mod community, yes... with so many ROMs around, there's one that is bound to be lean and mean (and smooth)

but here, casual users might not wanna bother to go out and look for custom roms. and the comparison should be made apple (pun not intended) with apple -- as in from manufacturers. i dun see android manufacturers bothering to really optimise the OS.
i think that's exactly the point.
normal users won't be bothered to try out each and every ROM releases, they have much better things to do.
and in many cases, ROMs by the community are not always perfect and are quite buggy.
this is not a problem if u r a geek who loves to play with ur phone all the time.

on the other hand when u buy apple, the company does all the optimizations for you so the user does not have to be concerned and bothered.
a team of high skilled software and hardware experts combine to give you the perfect magical experience.
in other words, It Just Works.

of course, many geeks find this a total turn off bcos they think they are smarter then others.
so with apple's controlled system, the geeks find no satisfaction.

it really depends on what type of individual u are born as, family and circle of frens.

as for apple copying others just 2 points to remind u.

1) ceo of google was part of apple's board of directors and during those times eric schimdt stole many of apple's innovative concepts. hence android was born. and like many copycats, it was not as good as the original. while they can mimic most things, android can never copy the natural smoothness of iOS, which is essentially the soul of the iphone.

after eric was booted out from apple's board, android world was caught in surprise by the iPad and it took them one year to come out with a competitive product. and still up to today, no android tablet can compare with the mighty iPad.

2) samsung was very successful with 1st gen galaxy s bcos it is a copycat of iphone. the shape and also the home button.
again, even its 2nd gen device looks great but can never compare to the elegance and premium material style of iphone 4.
the latest device is still using flimsy plastic while the 1 year old design still remains as fresh as ever.

don't butt hurt yea.
cheers evrybody.

SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 23 2011, 01:19 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(Sherry86 @ Jun 23 2011, 12:43 PM)
oo yes aa... i remembered wrongly about the details then. but still he is butt hurt now so he jelly with everyone here.
actually i am android user and a geek. but i'm not so active in modding my phone.
somehow, i am not smart enough like some super geeks here who flash ROMs like eating groundnuts.

am not saying android is shit, but just expressing my opinions.
if the rat black i call it black rat, never white rat.

had never owned iphone (too expensive) before, only macbook and ipad.

but once a year, i go to arizona for deepavali so can try iphones from my cousins.
also i do part time trading

my mobile phones history
nokia 8250-> samsung s500 -> htc tytyn2 -> galaxy s -> sensation

but now, my motorbike was spoilt, need money.

SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 23 2011, 01:36 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Jun 23 2011, 01:34 PM)
shortage for sure
since everybody want to grab one
Phone come out to reseller a day early what ....
yesterday even one makcik saw my phone and quickly asked sgs2? i want to buy also  (but want to pay 799 only) sweat.gif
mak cik thought it was iphone. shakehead.gif
SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 23 2011, 11:05 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 23 2011, 10:45 PM)
u can afford SGS 2 but u cant afford $1.19 app(maggie goreng)?
if more than $5 still acceptable

Added on June 23, 2011, 10:45 pm
will look at that..how about call logs?
most young ppl are now materialistic and treat phone as one of status symbol.
usually, they buy expensive smartphones using epp or telco plans.
end up disposable income is less.
SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 24 2011, 07:36 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 24 2011, 07:23 AM)
I think it is a mistake made by the mods

don't think so. it happened just on galaxy s2 launching day and the problem is still persisting.
i think either one of the mods or lyn owner received a small amt of money from either samsung/maxis for this.
hmm.gif
SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Jun 24 2011, 08:14 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(Avex @ Jun 24 2011, 08:02 PM)
today i was at mid valley see people lining up for maxis registration and SG2, the uncles there skeptical with the promotions. I tried it, i can say it is smooth but not a big wow factor for me
perhaps u've used iphone before?
but for android fans, the smoothness is a big deal.
nvm dat battery life sucks unless u disable all the features that made it a smartphone.

0.0224sec    1.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:44 PM