21 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Renovation Extreme Work In Progress, Sharing my house renovation journey.

TSphoenix69
post Jul 25 2011, 11:18 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(vatiore @ Jul 25 2011, 09:06 AM)
Just wonder back extension part, new footing did connect to existing footing or slab or not.
I am not sure what you mean, but if you mean footing as in the existing floor inside the house, the old existing marble floors are totally hacked.

Added on July 25, 2011, 11:20 am
QUOTE(gunh @ Jul 25 2011, 10:09 AM)
how come they never put a plastic sheet at the floor before the steel mesh and concrete???? they should also put a spacer....
according to the contractor - usually when the developer build up from empty land they put plastic sheet.
As the base is still there, no need to put plastic sheet in this instance.

spacer - what is this? blink.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Jul 25 2011, 11:32 AM
TSphoenix69
post Jul 26 2011, 10:55 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jul 25 2011, 06:31 PM)
Actually that thing called Concrete Cover.. The main purpose is the protect the steel rod from contacting the soil as well as a gap for concrete to cover your steel rod..
Oh. This is new to me. I'll talk to the contractor before he do the car porch. Thanks. Can a PE plastic sheet serve the same purpose?
TSphoenix69
post Jul 27 2011, 11:16 PM

1,836 posts

A note of interest:-
My place has become Motel de Indon tongue.gif

Bed n Board + Cafe de Indon

user posted imageuser posted image

sweat.gif

TSphoenix69
post Jul 28 2011, 12:04 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 27 2011, 11:31 PM)
Mine too. Your worker still better. Mine live without a proper toilet as all my 3 toilet are remove and relocate. Only setup temporary WC on the un-tiles, no door toilet.
Actually, their situation is same as your workers, when the hacking crew did their job, all toilet bowl habis. tongue.gif
So they actually bought a new RM100 toilet bowl themselves to use. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSphoenix69
post Jul 28 2011, 12:11 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jul 28 2011, 12:06 AM)
just a reminder, when u r installing ur w.c (toilet bowl) rmb not to install the seat cover first....
Errr why ah ? blink.gif

Added on August 1, 2011, 12:10 pmInitial Walkabout Research

Ok the final part of my previous "chap pa lang" research on window grille. tongue.gif

3. Grille

There is mainly 2 types of window grille.

Those olden type squarish "to fu box" type and those curvy with leaf design type called Wrought Iron type.

1. To Fu Box type.

There is generally 3 types I know of.
a) Those that are made up of half inch by half inch squarish tubes.
b) Those that are made up of half inch by 1 inch squarish tubes.
c) Those that are made up of flat steel 2-3mm by half inch.

I don't know much about the b) and c) type but the a) type they are charging around RM8-9/square feet, just like windows.

2. Wrought Iron Type

They let you choose the design you want from a Directory like catalogue,
The design are usually of long stemmed plants.
They buy the leaves and the flower buds of the design you want then attach them to the iron bars that they bend themselves to your design.

So far the prices range between RM18-RM24 / square feet, also like windows.

Finishing:-
There are so far 3 type of finishings that I know of.
a) Painting - This will allow difftent colors on the same grille, especially good for Wrought Iron type as they allow green, red, brown and copper colours on the plant design grille.
b) Powder coat - This will only allow one single colour on the grille. Good for some protection on the grille against rust but not total protection
c) Galvanize - this will provide total protection against rust.

I only know the charge RM2-3 for the powder coating. (some says that the cheaper charges involves recycled powder coat material)

One more thing to consider, how many free open-able grill (in case of emergency escape) they offer. Open-able type window grill require more material and work (double frame and hinges)

Whew.. Kaw thim with this part of mt reeeeessseeeaaarrrrchheee tongue.gif sweat.gif

Added on August 2, 2011, 2:21 pmRenovation Update ..

The Car porch Columm is up, The pipes is as advised by weikee rclxms.gif

The back extension wall is up..

Kitchen Enlargement.. tongue.gif Jusr use Hammer flex.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Aug 2 2011, 02:21 PM
TSphoenix69
post Aug 3 2011, 05:31 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 3 2011, 02:05 PM)
You doing the RC slab for parking porch right? how many feet? the pipe insert should be sufficient. Mine is extend 6ft slab and pipe per pillar (two pillar)
Yes RC Slab for Car porch.
17 feet from the new main entrance door.
The pipe is as per your suggestions. biggrin.gif

Added on August 3, 2011, 5:34 pm
QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Aug 3 2011, 05:03 PM)
Saw ur contractor using sand bricks, why not ask to use red bricks?
Sand Bricks has SiRIM standard, Harder, Cheaper.
Clay Bricks is Cooler, Better looking and Pricier.
I choose Cheaper tongue.gif

Added on August 3, 2011, 5:40 pm
QUOTE(chamelion @ Aug 3 2011, 05:15 PM)
you should ask the contractor to build a half foot tall and >45 degree ramp along the outer of rear kitchen wall. this will make the outsider difficult to stand at the edge to peek into ur house.

the rear staircase can be remove cause u will not using it at all. if wan escape, u can just jump down...

also, ask the contractor to put more wood at the roof of rear portion at not more then 8 inch apart to prevent buglar access to ur house via roof. in fact is norm to add beam even at existing roof cause most of the buglar is access via roof.

Added on August 3, 2011, 5:16 pmdepend how old is the house, u may wan to consider to lay new main pipe from front to ur kitchen as existing one may rust or leak.

pull the autogate wire now. install the gate or not doesnt matter.
"a half foot tall and >45 degree ramp" - Hmm... gotta think about this, practical but not nice looking leh.. hmm.gif

Will be removing the existing staircase and build a new one outside the new door location.

Redoing the whole piping system.

Armor cable will be installed .. brows.gif Autogate ... dunno yet, depends on balance $$$$$ sweat.gif

Added on August 3, 2011, 6:02 pmMy contractor says that its time to get the back door.
Prompted by this did some Lowyat trawling and found out about Security Doors
As time was short spent my weekend to source for one.
Choosen to look around Puchong area and this was what I found.

Security Doors

These doors was actually a China Idea.

Went to 3 supplier

Shinjin Homewares Marketing - Went to their factory in Puchong. They manufacture the doors locally. Designs seems limited. They stressed that theirs is local manuafctured thus better QA.

Morris Decor Malaysia - They sell China sourced products. Has 4 china factory source with diffrent quality grades. Price for the size 3' X 7' security door range between around RM1200 - RM 2000. One of the top suppliers of security doors.

Top Security Door Enterprise - The current top dog in Security door supply (looks like it). They manufacture their security door in their Teluk Gong factory. From their showroom, their quality is relatively consistant thus no diffrent range in terms of quality, only design and size. Damm nice showroom.

Initially was only looking for the back door but when I went there,
they were having a promotion from carried over from July Homedec and it was the last day.
Offered front 5' X 7' and back 3' X 7' for RM 3500.00. I sapu ... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Aug 3 2011, 06:02 PM
TSphoenix69
post Aug 7 2011, 05:34 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(jphlau @ Aug 4 2011, 08:51 AM)
from the slab picture, i believe there are no cover allowances for the bottom part of the slab... sweat.gif
Discussed with the contractor already... when his indon workers were laying the slab,he was not there. doh.gif
Well ... blush.gif what done is done.
The next one will sure to put on spacer. nod.gif

Added on August 7, 2011, 5:54 pmRenovation Update...

The front and car porch are going through major changes

The car porch RC roof structure is up. flex.gif

The front wall all destroyed bruce.gif

Then . . . . . . . . . . .

MAJOR ISSUE. Si Tao Po complain !!

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Aug 7 2011, 05:54 PM
TSphoenix69
post Aug 7 2011, 09:29 PM

1,836 posts

My boss lady do not like the design. rclxub.gif
Says that it blocked her 1 st floor windows view. doh.gif
Have to nego with contractor to re-do tomorrow. sweat.gif
TSphoenix69
post Aug 8 2011, 04:59 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 7 2011, 09:44 PM)
remove the conventional roof. Use RC slab. But you need to make sure you have another beam / supporting pillar around 12 to 15'

Added on August 7, 2011, 9:46 pmAhh, you remove 2 major pillars. Where you adding new one to support?

The major pillar/columm is still there, next to the door.
They are going to set up another 2 new corner pillar/columm at the new corner of the extended wall(Extreme left and right),
then put a new RC beam across joining the 2 new pillar and the existing pillar providing support. flex.gif

TSphoenix69
post Aug 10 2011, 08:34 AM

1,836 posts

So far the neighbors has been quite sporty about it. biggrin.gif
The first thing I did before renovation was to introduce myself to them.
I needed their approval for MPSJ permit after all. laugh.gif
They got my phone number and will call me up when there is a problem.
Caused one of their back room to be flooded due to a bent roof water pipe (problem rectified) and they were still patient with me. sweat.gif
Of course night and Sundays are off times. nod.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Aug 10 2011, 08:34 AM
TSphoenix69
post Aug 10 2011, 08:50 AM

1,836 posts

Renovation update.

Still RC Roof but with a new design, (with boss lady stamp of approval)
Due to the roof gutter design above the RC slab (Initially only the sides, now need to include the front also)
a slight modification will not be sturdy and proper especially for the water flow and the reverse step overhang I plan to add.
The contractor have to break the whole thing down and re-do. rclxub.gif
So with a lot of grumbling from the workers this is the result:-

car porch RC roof gone shocking.gif

and this is what left of the "new" RC roof blink.gif

Sigh...... sad.gif
TSphoenix69
post Aug 10 2011, 09:59 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Aug 10 2011, 09:07 AM)
Boss,

Why take off everything...???
Adding in a 3 side roof rather than a 2 side roof. (Boss Lady wants unobstructed view of the 1st floor windows).
The front of the RC roof needs a gutter for rain water flow with the new roof design. Old design only has side gutter, no fro"nt gutter.
The gutter are embedded in the RC . Also want to add reverse step overhang on the front of the RC.(something like a "topi)
To just demolish the front and rebuilt the front will compromise the structure and smooth water flow, thus rather demolish and rebuilt again.
Not sure if I describe this right. Upload picture of new roof when ready. blink.gif

Added on August 10, 2011, 11:19 am
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Aug 10 2011, 08:40 AM)
Not many neighbours are like you.  smile.gif
Some just don't give a damn on the inconvenient they caused to others.
Need positive vibes with our neighbors bro. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Aug 10 2011, 11:19 AM
TSphoenix69
post Aug 10 2011, 10:44 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(hhaf @ Aug 10 2011, 11:30 AM)
hi~ bro,Mind to tell me how much your current reno cost ??
Err... not really compiled the figure yet. So far paid around (for reno only) RM30k.

Added on August 10, 2011, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(tiensong @ Aug 10 2011, 11:52 AM)
bro~mind to tell me how much the buying price of your house?
Approx RM500k. If buy last year save approx 50-80k. cry.gif

Added on August 10, 2011, 10:47 pm
QUOTE(cky80 @ Aug 10 2011, 03:07 PM)
love your updates bro!
please continue n dun stop...i have a place also wan to curi ur ideas tongue.gif
Curi away bro.. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on August 10, 2011, 10:50 pm
QUOTE(doncityz @ Aug 10 2011, 07:15 PM)
Wah flooded neighbors house??? really ccb contractor u got.
So far OK lah. It was an unexpected development. tongue.gif
Rectified the thing immediately the next day.
He even offered to help the neighbor to clean up the mess himself. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Aug 10 2011, 10:59 PM
TSphoenix69
post Aug 11 2011, 10:36 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Aug 11 2011, 10:22 AM)
If you are looking for reliable supplier for windows, maybe I can help you...you can PM me your contact number...my friend will contact you for quotation..
Thanks but I already engaged a window supplier as I have already moved past this stage in my renovations.nod.gif
I am looking for a good grill supplier now, any contacts?
TSphoenix69
post Aug 11 2011, 07:01 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 11 2011, 10:58 AM)
You want mine? price is standard lah not the cheapest. But standard.
Autogate also i just found. My wife colleague use this Autogate installer for few of this house, and her other colleague too.
Interested in your autogate supplier, please pm me. Thanks smile.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 7:02 pm
QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Aug 11 2011, 12:06 PM)
I used Three Kim, you can try to call ..Ivy, 0122149382
Thanks Gary1981. heard a lot from the forum about them. Going to call, Thanks smile.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 7:03 pm
QUOTE(kamion @ Aug 11 2011, 06:02 PM)
I'm also looking for grille. Have contacted Ivy of Three Kim. Awaiting her quotation. smile.gif

Are you changing your doors, phoenix69?
Yes, changing all doors, biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Aug 11 2011, 07:03 PM
TSphoenix69
post Aug 11 2011, 07:24 PM

1,836 posts

This is the plastic film that I am going to use as a vapor barrier for my car porch concrete bottom. biggrin.gif

Don't really need it but, I actually work in the plastic industry.
So thought it is appropriate that I use some of the things my company produce myself. hee hee tongue.gif

The specification for this plastic (me waxing lyrical..)

LLDPE Metallocene Film. -
1.LLDPE is Low Linear Density Polyethylene - Virgin grade (Those avalaible in the hardware shop all using recycled resin)
2.Metallocene - A high grade of plastic resin that provides exceotional tensile strenght.

Dimension
4400mm X 120micron
1.4400mm width (!4 feet) - The widest film that I can find at the moment. (Hardware shop usually 9 feet wide)
2. Thickness 120 micron = 0.12mm (Hardware shop ranges from 80 - 200 micron)

Actually this film was produced to be used as a liquid bulk bag inner liner, I taken some to use in my house. icon_idea.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 7:27 pm
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 11 2011, 07:20 PM)
When you want to install? Cause i have not use him, If you can wait, maybe in 1 month time. Or I can give you now, you call him to compare price.
I can wait. You are ahead of me in renovation progress. You go ahead. blush.gif
I am still rethinking about the gate any many other fittings. Budgetary woes. sigh... cry.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Aug 11 2011, 07:27 PM
TSphoenix69
post Aug 12 2011, 11:38 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Aug 11 2011, 09:16 PM)
Nobody will tell you that renovation is cheap and in most instances, there will be cost overrun.  cry.gif
Just exercise some constraint, don't go over board else will need to dig out the piggy banks  sweat.gif
Piggy bank also not enough sad.gif
When think of constrain, its like getting a rolls royce but use cheapo plastic wheel rims cry.gif cry.gif

Added on August 12, 2011, 12:00 pm
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 11 2011, 10:24 PM)
Hehe, my renovation is slow, i think is more like hotel for the indo. Yours maybe faster. biggrin.gif

Anyway he quote me 1.4k local arm + standby battery, with 1 year warranty. Wiring excluded.

In case your electric contractor don't know, ask him lay 11 cores cable before the parking slab.  Better still Armored. (Mine is 11 core armored). 3 for power, 4 for auto switch, 1 (some use 2) for light so you only have 2 to 3 core spare.  Each end of the gate pillar, lay 4 core armored cable, terminate to where you terminate the the 11 core.
Err, what I am getting is a 9 core armored cable. The contractor broke it down like this:-
1- Doorbell. 4- autogate. 1-light. 1 power. 2 - extra just in case.

- Why you use 3 for power? 4 armored cable at each end of the gate pillar ??? Can enlighten me..

Added on August 12, 2011, 12:24 pm
QUOTE(sl2007 @ Aug 11 2011, 11:42 PM)
Bro,

Why not get thicker PE Sheet. Usually for big project, people use 0.25mm 250micron... Anyhow difficult to get la... Just use 200 micron ok oredy le...
Hee hee, mine small project mahh....
Anyway, here is the properties comparison:-

Water Vapor Transmission Rate - ASTM F - 1249 cry.gif

120 micron LLDPE Film, Approx - 2.5 g/m2/day @ 37.8oC, 90% RH
250 micron LLDPE Film, Approx - 2.0 g/m2/day @ 37.8oC, 90% RH
(110% increase in film thickness - based on 120 micron thickness - provide an incremental 25% in WVTR)

Tensile strenght - A recycle grade 250 micron LLDPE film has approx. the same tensile strenght as a 120 micron LLDPE Metallocene film. flex.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Aug 12 2011, 12:24 PM
TSphoenix69
post Aug 12 2011, 09:51 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(bteoh @ Aug 12 2011, 09:40 PM)
i mean plastic sheet

Added on August 12, 2011, 9:40 pm
i mean plastic sheet
It is supposed to provide a barrier against water vapor rising from the ground wor.... blink.gif

Actually there should already be a piece below ground from the developer when they first started this housing project but as I mentioned earlier, I add this extra piece just because I can. tongue.gif
TSphoenix69
post Aug 13 2011, 08:49 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Aug 12 2011, 10:16 PM)
Friend, who told you that developer has inserted the Plastic Sheet?
I was told that by my hardware suppliers customers that buy PE sheet from me that the developers/contractors use PE sheet as part of house foundation. smile.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Aug 13 2011, 08:50 AM
TSphoenix69
post Aug 13 2011, 10:36 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 12 2011, 10:39 PM)
After hacking so many of the floor slab, i don't see the original developer did that in my house. Think they only raised the rebar above the soil.
Same here . blink.gif

21 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:04 AM