Toshiba L745-1050X Review *pic updated*, splendid performance comes cheap

TSadibyusoff
post Jun 14 2011, 10:05 PM, updated 15y ago

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

hello everyone. this is my review for Toshiba L745-1050X. this toshiba is the replacement for my previous HP Pavilion TX2500. smile.gif

the best model for budget under RM2k rclxms.gif

lets move on to the specification first.

Intel® Core™ i3-2310M processor (2.10GHz, 3M Cache)
Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium
Mobile Intel® HM65 Express Chipset
2048MB DDR3 1333MHz SDRAM expandable to 8192MB
14.0" WXGA HD Clear SuperView LED Backlight TFT display (16:9), resolution 1,366 x 770
NVIDIA® GeForce® GT525M (dedicated 1GB VRAM)
640GB (SATA) with shock absorbers
DVD SuperMulti Double Layer Drive (DVD ± RW/RAM)
TouchPad with Gesture Support
Bluetooth V3.0 w/ High Speed Technology, Integrated 802.11bgn, 10/100 Mbps
Built in Web Camera with Toshiba SmartFace™ Technology
Stereo Speakers, 16-bit Stereo with Dolby® Advanced Audio and Intel® High Definition Audio Support
3 x USB 2.0, 1 x USB 3.0 (Sleep and Charge), RGB, HDMI, External Mic (stereo), External Headphone (stereo), 4-in-1 Card Reader (supports SD™ Card, Memory Stick®, Memory Stick Pro™,Multimedia Card™)
6-Cell Lithium Ion
65W/75W Universal AC Adaptor
340 x 229 x 34/38mm
Starting from 2.14kg
Grace Silver

SRP: RM1999 as of 13 June 2011 the day i bought

click here for photos:

scroll down for more photos. brows.gif

What came with the box:

Laptop, Battery, Adapter, User Manual.

Appearance:

the whole laptop except the bottom have some dotted design. it uses 2 hinge on the right and left to hold the screen to the body. i think its okay but definitely cannot beat the Asus N53S design. scren can be tilt till 145+- degrees which is useful when using high notebook stand.

Keyboard and Touchpad:

a geat keyboard that did not feel cramped. it is well arranged and the typing response is tactile enough. i dont know if it's just me but the keyboard on the left just feel weird when playing games. function button on the top is very good. not too small and not too big. easily readable.
touchpad is also good. responsive and the feel is nice since it has a lil bit of rough texture to differentiate the pad and the palm rest. furthermore, it does support multitouch gesture.

Speakers:

honestly, this speaker is just crap. totally worst when compared to my previous TX2500. song played at 60% have already distorted. it wasn't loud enough for me. my expectation was high when it says stereo speakers but i guess you did get what you pay for right? tongue.gif
this is when you need to plug in external speakers with subwoofer for a great audio experience.

Preloaded Software:

Microsoft® Office Starter 2010, Norton Internet Security™ (60 days trial), WildTangent, Skype, Microsoft® Windows Live (Windows Live Mail, Windows Live Messenger, Windows Live Photo Gallery, Windows Live Writer), Microsoft® Bing, Toshiba ConfigFree™ Connectivity Doctor, Toshiba Face Recognition, Toshiba ECO Utility, Toshiba Bulletin Board, Toshiba ReelTime, Toshiba Zooming Utility, Toshiba Power Saver Utility, Toshiba Assist, Toshiba PC Health Monitor, Toshib Video Player, Corel Digital Studio for Toshiba, Adobe Reader, Toshiba Speech System, Toshiba Web Camera Application, Toshiba Disc Creator, Toshiba Flash Cards, HDD Recovery.

at first startup of this toshiba when it come out of box, you can choose to install 32-bit or 64-bit of windows 7 home premium. thats a very nice feature. furthermore, you can set up the partition size of Drive C at that time. no need to mess around with your head since its done already.
for me, the microsoft office, norton, wild tangent, and skype are the only crap among all. others are fine enough to be kept. what's more important is the Toshiba HWSetup. what a nice feature it has such as Toshiba Fast Boot. look what i got, it really does start things up fast. my startup program is full with toshiba software and yet still no lag. hahahahaa
you need to download and install directX 11 since it doesn't come with the preinstalled software.

update as of 15 june 2011, this is my boot up time. biggrin.gif

multitasking experience

this machine has the best multi-tasking experience for budget under rm2k. i never i thought i could do it all with this laptop. i've opened multiple tabs with chrome, rockmelt and ie9. still no lag or delay at all. furthermore, i've added black ops, plants vs zombies, dota and angry birds. the hell. everything still runs smooth. imagine this with core i7 quad core. i'd be dead i presume. brows.gif

3DMark11 Benchmark
performance setting

Windows Experience Index
before i installed 2gb ram, the score is 5.5
after add 2gb ram that makes it a total of 4gb, the score became 5.7
then overclocked it to original spec of 600mhz rather than original factory setting of 475 mhz, the score became 5.9

before the overclock gt525m

after overclock gt525m

Gaming Experience:

i was surprised with the capability of this machine. it can play Prototype with all max settings without lag. wow. last time when i tried with the ATI3200, it looked like i was watching powerpoint. the hell? hahaha. got to test with need for speed undercover, max setting no problem. company of heroes set to ultra settings also no problem. battlefield bad company 2 max resolution also no problem. starcraft 2 can play up to high setting with minimal lag only but still very decent. ultra setting your laptop will meletup. tried crysis 2 with high setting. holy shit. smooth like megan fox ass. no pimple at all. black ops all set up to optimal setting with max resolution and it went smooth. no lag at all. DOTA? hell yeah. smooth and finger lickin good.

updated:
this is the temperature when playing black ops

this is temperature when playing battlefield bad company

this is temperature when idle

Battery Life:
the battery is good enough for me to survive when working outside. tested it with a lil bit of wifi, lil bit off typing, lil bit of berukband with 40% screen brightness and i got 3 hour and 15 minute with toshiba eco mode. maybe if i drop the brightness and close more program, it could add another half and hour. i guess its because of the 4400mah capacity which is considered low unlike N53S with 5200mah.

This post has been edited by adibyusoff: Aug 11 2011, 02:21 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 14 2011, 10:08 PM

24,193 posts

^ naice review hehe, where is photos laugh.gif
Seriously Toshiba keyboard and touchpads are rather impressive nod.gif
The keyboard may be glossy and different in terms of design, but the typing can be very accurate and fast once you get the hang of it thumbup.gif
TSadibyusoff
post Jun 14 2011, 10:11 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 14 2011, 10:08 PM)
^ naice review hehe, where is photos  laugh.gif
Seriously Toshiba keyboard and touchpads are rather impressive  nod.gif
The keyboard may be glossy and different in terms of design, but the typing can be very accurate and fast once you get the hang of it  thumbup.gif
hehe. thanks to you brah. tongue.gif

i tried to attach the photo here, but not working. going to use photobucket pulak after this. smile.gif
linellux
post Jun 14 2011, 10:34 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Jun 14 2011, 10:05 PM)

Gaming Experience:

i was surprised with the capability of this machine. it can play Prototype with all max settings without lag. wow. last time when i tried with the ATI3200, it looked like i was watching powerpoint. the hell? hahaha. got to test with need for speed undercover, max setting no problem. COD2 all set up to optimal setting and it went smooth. no lag at all. DOTA? hell yeah. smooth and finger lickin good.

LOL. KFC. haha tongue.gif tongue.gif
nice review btw.
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 14 2011, 10:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Jun 14 2011, 10:11 PM)
hehe. thanks to you brah. tongue.gif

i tried to attach the photo here, but not working. going to use photobucket pulak after this. smile.gif
Bro, don't show your model number ar lol laugh.gif
TSadibyusoff
post Jun 14 2011, 10:40 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 14 2011, 10:35 PM)
Bro, don't show your model number ar lol  laugh.gif
hah? cannot meh? why why why? shocking.gif

Added on June 14, 2011, 10:41 pm
QUOTE(linellux @ Jun 14 2011, 10:34 PM)
LOL. KFC. haha tongue.gif  tongue.gif
nice review btw.
hihihi. thanks brah. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by adibyusoff: Jun 14 2011, 10:41 PM
pandera999
post Jun 14 2011, 10:41 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

eh, gt ssd ha?? time boot 27s only blink.gif nice riview bro... lain hari i go see LIVE.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Jun 14 2011, 10:40 PM)
hah? cannot meh? why why why?  shocking.gif

kna curi lak

This post has been edited by pandera999: Jun 14 2011, 10:41 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 14 2011, 10:44 PM

24,193 posts

TS, why no photos showing the whole laptop? lol laugh.gif
TSadibyusoff
post Jun 14 2011, 10:47 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 14 2011, 10:44 PM)
TS, why no photos showing the whole laptop? lol  laugh.gif
hahahahaa. tengah guna macam mana mau ambil gambar whole. kihkihkih. wait aa. 5 menet. tongue.gif

Added on June 14, 2011, 10:47 pm
QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jun 14 2011, 10:41 PM)
eh, gt ssd ha?? time boot 27s only blink.gif nice riview bro... lain hari i go see LIVE.. laugh.gif

kna curi lak
toshiba fast boot gila pok. mun ku remove suma startup program tok konfem gik laju dari tok. flex.gif

Added on June 14, 2011, 11:29 pm

more pictures: icon_rolleyes.gif user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by adibyusoff: Jul 27 2011, 03:07 PM
destee88
post Jun 15 2011, 03:22 PM

1,385 posts

i think if u add RM250 more u can get asus A53 / A43 series with nvidia 540m and i5 core processor , 4gb ram plus 2 year warranty

This post has been edited by destee88: Jun 15 2011, 03:22 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 15 2011, 03:30 PM

24,193 posts

@TS,

Why all your photos all so up-close one? lol laugh.gif
Wow, the squarish patterns and materials kind of reminds me of the HP G4 laugh.gif

Added on June 15, 2011, 3:31 pm
QUOTE(destee88 @ Jun 15 2011, 03:22 PM)
i think if u add RM250 more u can get asus A53 / A43 series with nvidia 540m and i5 core processor , 4gb ram plus 2 year warranty
TS's budget was RM1.9k. This was the best laptop for his requirements rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jun 15 2011, 03:31 PM
marcus20125
post Jun 15 2011, 06:26 PM

1,770 posts

btw,this model is come with 3 years warranty,so it's worth buying
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 15 2011, 07:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(marcus20125 @ Jun 15 2011, 06:26 PM)
btw,this model is come with 3 years warranty,so it's worth buying
really 3 years warranty ar? OMG, then it should be the best around liao lol laugh.gif
zzzxtreme
post Jun 15 2011, 08:39 PM

Synth Freak
4,299 posts

great value! i like how it has usb 3.0
can't beat the price !

PS : it's low price, not cheap price.
TSadibyusoff
post Jun 15 2011, 10:34 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(destee88 @ Jun 15 2011, 03:22 PM)
lol my budget limited to 2k only. where to find 250 more. tongue.gif

Added on June 15, 2011, 10:45 pm
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 15 2011, 03:30 PM)
@TS,

Why all your photos all so up-close one? lol  laugh.gif
Wow, the squarish patterns and materials kind of reminds me of the HP G4  laugh.gif
close up la then you no need to zoom anymore. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by adibyusoff: Jun 15 2011, 10:45 PM
adrianteo
post Jun 16 2011, 02:03 PM

188 posts

Hey TS, finally a review on this notebook.

I'm seriously considering this notebook or the slightly more expensive version of it. L745-1051XB.

I'm just worried about Toshiba as a brand and its durability. Did you take that into consideration when you decided to buy this?
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 16 2011, 02:07 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(adrianteo @ Jun 16 2011, 02:03 PM)

I'm seriously considering this notebook or the slightly more expensive version of it. L745-1051XB.

I'm just worried about Toshiba as a brand and its durability. Did you take that into consideration when you decided to buy this?
Toshiba has always been famous for its durability tongue.gif

Added on June 16, 2011, 2:07 pm
QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Jun 15 2011, 10:34 PM)
close up la then you no need to zoom anymore. tongue.gif
Want to see the whole laptop ma, both when lid open/close laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jun 16 2011, 02:07 PM
marcus20125
post Jun 16 2011, 02:09 PM

1,770 posts

dont worry,Toshiba is a reliable brand and the quality is good
zzzxtreme
post Jun 16 2011, 02:20 PM

Synth Freak
4,299 posts

yeah i remember in the 90s, I used to see a lot of toshiba proteges ads , everytime my air liur keluar.

Intel 386SX 25Mhz, DSTN screen FTW !

since then, toshibas are industry standard
TSadibyusoff
post Jun 16 2011, 03:55 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

the build quality for this model is good le. only the speaker is crap. everything works fine. smile.gif
leong31
post Jun 16 2011, 04:36 PM

75 posts

hi, i saw a Satellite L745-1150X, i3-2310 + Nvidia GT525M@RM1999, 2nd & 3rd year warranty at Mr. [PF] T.J. 's price catalog, is it a new variant of this 1050X? since i can not find the 1050X in that thread @@

marcus20125
post Jun 16 2011, 06:22 PM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(leong31 @ Jun 16 2011, 04:36 PM)
hi, i saw a Satellite L745-1150X, i3-2310 + Nvidia GT525M@RM1999, 2nd & 3rd year warranty at Mr. [PF] T.J. 's price catalog, is it a new variant of this 1050X? since i can not find the 1050X in that thread @@
the correct model is Satellite L745-1050X
SUSngkhanmein
post Jun 17 2011, 03:07 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

if come with icore 5 lagi best..
leong31
post Jun 17 2011, 04:39 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(marcus20125 @ Jun 16 2011, 06:22 PM)
the correct model is Satellite L745-1050X
oh i see, thanks a lot for the clarification =)

quite a good price actually smile.gif
TSadibyusoff
post Jun 19 2011, 01:40 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jun 17 2011, 03:07 PM)
if come with icore 5 lagi best..
got i5 but add rm499 more. sad.gif
SUSngkhanmein
post Jun 19 2011, 05:03 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

so much meh?? like dell add more 200 got 2nd gen i5 + 525m if less 200 only got 2nd gen i3 + hd 3k
TSadibyusoff
post Jun 20 2011, 12:47 AM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jun 19 2011, 05:03 PM)
so much meh?? like dell add more 200 got 2nd gen i5 + 525m if less 200 only got 2nd gen i3 + hd 3k
sorry sorry. my mistake. 1999 + 300++ = toshiba l745 core i5 2nd gen + gt525m

why i heard many people complain about dell nowadays leh? they said not good like old times anymore. hmm.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 20 2011, 08:48 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Jun 20 2011, 12:47 AM)
sorry sorry. my mistake. 1999 + 300++ = toshiba l745 core i5 2nd gen + gt525m

why i heard many people complain about dell nowadays leh? they said not good like old times anymore.  hmm.gif
Because there are a lot of hateboys/ misinformed people haha laugh.gif
So how's your laptop bro? Still enjoicing? brows.gif
SUSngkhanmein
post Jun 20 2011, 11:48 AM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

dell got good b4 like old days meh? shakehead.gif

dell good is when i din use or buy it.. since i bought it.. not good with the issue is fan problem & design of heat-sink..
the rest is awesome with hdd 7.2k rpm momentus, samsung lcd hd ready, 1333mhz ram & adapter is better than other brand of lappy offer, bloatware is better & simple, able to change laptop skin color, etc..

This post has been edited by ngkhanmein: Jun 20 2011, 11:48 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 20 2011, 11:50 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jun 20 2011, 11:48 AM)
dell got good b4 like old days meh?  shakehead.gif

dell good is when i din use or buy it.. since i bought it.. not good with the issue is fan problem & design of heat-sink..
the rest is awesome with hdd 7.2k rpm momentus, samsung lcd hd ready, 1333mhz ram & adapter is better than other brand of lappy offer, bloatware is better & simple, able to change laptop skin color, etc..
Yes, Dell Inspirons 6400 was one of the best laptops I've ever seen... Alot of my colleagues are still using them (including my gf)... But things changed after the introduction of the crappy Inspiron 1420s...
Inspiron and Inspiron Rs are considered better already laugh.gif

Bro, I think you should try other brands, I don't think you'd be impressed with them as well laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jun 20 2011, 11:51 AM
SUSngkhanmein
post Jun 20 2011, 12:35 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

asus good buy bloatware like shit.. i plan o buy asus/acer that time but dun have 15" with the decent gpu card sumore my budget that time is tight.. i choose dell cos numeric keypad, 5650, 7.2krpm hdd, 1333mhz.. most important the adapter..
afieQ
post Jun 21 2011, 05:04 PM

411 posts

wow dude, for only 2k, that's a damn good laptop.

I don't mind much about the speaker because I'm using an external speaker or a headphone anyway.

Does it have any heat problems when playing high graphics games?
SUSngkhanmein
post Jun 21 2011, 05:06 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

got heat but the heat can't make ur egg cooked.. i think heat issue won't have problem.. u can ask the guys who own it..
afieQ
post Jun 21 2011, 05:10 PM

411 posts

Haha, okay. Looks like this is gonna be my next laptop.

Thanks for the review dude thumbup.gif
TSadibyusoff
post Jun 22 2011, 12:27 AM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(afieQ @ Jun 21 2011, 05:04 PM)
wow dude, for only 2k, that's a damn good laptop.

I don't mind much about the speaker because I'm using an external speaker or a headphone anyway.

Does it have any heat problems when playing high graphics games?
heat issue. but not really a problem when you play under huge room fan. i guess the temperature is acceptable la. can play cod2 with max setting without lag at all. starcraft 2 optimal setting also no lag. this thing is wonderful. brows.gif

Added on June 22, 2011, 12:30 am
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 20 2011, 08:48 AM)
Because there are a lot of hateboys/ misinformed people haha  laugh.gif
So how's your laptop bro? Still enjoicing?  brows.gif
this laptop is frickin awesome la bro. thx for the recommendation. i on both dota and cod, ie9, google chrome, rockmelt, plus word and excel at the same time. no lag at all!. serious shit i'm not shittin around. damn cool la this thing thumbup.gif

Added on June 22, 2011, 12:33 am
QUOTE(afieQ @ Jun 21 2011, 05:10 PM)
Haha, okay. Looks like this is gonna be my next laptop.

Thanks for the review dude  thumbup.gif
if budget below than 2k, this is the perfect machine for you. you're welcome dude. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on June 22, 2011, 12:37 am
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 20 2011, 11:50 AM)
Yes, Dell Inspirons 6400 was one of the best laptops I've ever seen... Alot of my colleagues are still using them (including my gf)... But things changed after the introduction of the crappy Inspiron 1420s...
Inspiron and Inspiron Rs are considered better already  laugh.gif

Bro, I think you should try other brands, I don't think you'd be impressed with them as well  laugh.gif
bro, this i3 got 4 core kah?? it appears to have 4 different cpu with same 2.0ghz speed running simultaneously. correct ah? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by adibyusoff: Jun 22 2011, 12:37 AM
AlexLai
post Jun 22 2011, 12:43 AM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Jun 22 2011, 12:27 AM)
bro, this i3 got 4 core kah?? it appears to have 4 different cpu with same 2.0ghz speed running simultaneously. correct ah?  hmm.gif
It's only a dual core with Hyper Threading Technology. It makes the system think there are actually 2 threads per core than the usual 1 per core. So in essence, 2 physical and 2 logical cores working together.
TSadibyusoff
post Jun 22 2011, 12:46 AM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(AlexLai @ Jun 22 2011, 12:43 AM)
It's only a dual core with Hyper Threading Technology. It makes the system think there are actually 2 threads per core than the usual 1 per core. So in essence, 2 physical and 2 logical cores working together.
ooooooo. nice explanation there dude. baru sy faham. biggrin.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 22 2011, 08:20 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Jun 22 2011, 12:27 AM)
heat issue. but not really a problem when you play under huge room fan. i guess the temperature is acceptable la. can play cod2 with max setting without lag at all. starcraft 2 optimal setting also no lag. this thing is wonderful.  brows.gif

Added on June 22, 2011, 12:30 am

this laptop is frickin awesome la bro. thx for the recommendation. i on both dota and cod, ie9, google chrome, rockmelt, plus word and excel at the same time. no lag at all!. serious shit i'm not shittin around. damn cool la this thing  thumbup.gif

Added on June 22, 2011, 12:37 am
bro, this i3 got 4 core kah?? it appears to have 4 different cpu with same 2.0ghz speed running simultaneously. correct ah?  hmm.gif
Bro, mind sharing some temperature tests? It'll be very useful since we hardly find any L645/L745 reviews out there sad.gif
You can try "Open Hardware Monitor" , especially for laptops with Nvidia Optimus (The L745 has it right?)

i3 has 2 cores, 4 threads. Only difference between the i3 and i5 is the lack of turbo boost
TSadibyusoff
post Jun 22 2011, 10:08 AM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 22 2011, 08:20 AM)
Bro, mind sharing some temperature tests? It'll be very useful since we hardly find any L645/L745 reviews out there  sad.gif
You can try "Open Hardware Monitor" , especially for laptops with Nvidia Optimus (The L745 has it right?)

i3 has 2 cores, 4 threads. Only difference between the i3 and i5 is the lack of turbo boost
will do it tonight then nod.gif

Added on June 22, 2011, 11:53 pmupdated with temperature! smile.gif

This post has been edited by adibyusoff: Jun 22 2011, 11:53 PM
prasad
post Jul 8 2011, 07:57 PM

Where is good place to buy L745-1050X from for the price mentioned?

This post has been edited by prasad: Jul 8 2011, 08:03 PM
fJok3R
post Jul 8 2011, 08:05 PM

1,419 posts

can try Garage Sales, but the price mentioned is already recommended retail price
wacomuse
post Jul 8 2011, 08:05 PM

936 posts

that 'Cooling hole' on the font side ? are you feel the air is very hot ? thanks.
prasad
post Jul 9 2011, 02:45 PM

QUOTE(fJok3R @ Jul 8 2011, 08:05 PM)
can try Garage Sales, but the price mentioned is already recommended retail price
The reason I ask was in the front page of lowyat.net where prices are listed cycom and others have higher prices ?
Does that mean that other dealers will be cheaper?
Cycom_Notebook
post Jul 9 2011, 03:03 PM

Hey Guys , We are doing PROMOTION For TOSHIBA NOTEBOOK! RM1930 Promotion!
TSadibyusoff
post Jul 12 2011, 09:04 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(wacomuse @ Jul 8 2011, 08:05 PM)
that 'Cooling hole' on the font side ? are you feel the air is very hot ? thanks.
the front side only have sd slot and blinking lights. air vent is on the left side. the air is only hot when you play games. normal usage no problem
H3lpM3
post Jul 20 2011, 01:48 PM

254 posts

how much different is the i3 and i5 version?
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 20 2011, 01:55 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(H3lpM3 @ Jul 20 2011, 01:48 PM)
how much different is the i3 and i5 version?
Difference in what?
Price? laugh.gif
H3lpM3
post Jul 20 2011, 01:57 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 20 2011, 01:55 PM)
Difference in what?
Price? laugh.gif
performance, and price and is it worth it to get the i5 vesion?
fJok3R
post Jul 20 2011, 01:59 PM

1,419 posts

depends on your usage imo, for basic usage even i3 is sufficient
lee_what2004
post Jul 20 2011, 02:06 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

even core 2 duo still enough lol
IvanWong1989
post Jul 20 2011, 02:07 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

haha.. fjoker.. rarely c u on nowadays.. ^^

eh.. what u do wit ur lappy? hmm.gif curious..
cubiclecarbonate
post Jul 24 2011, 03:01 PM

558 posts

hi TS,

what the latest price for this model?

good review for a price vs performance model thumbup.gif
TSadibyusoff
post Jul 24 2011, 03:25 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(cubiclecarbonate @ Jul 24 2011, 03:01 PM)
hi TS,

what the latest price for this model?

good review for a price vs performance model thumbup.gif
i think you can get it at 1900 nowadays. thanks brah. smile.gif
afieQ
post Jul 24 2011, 03:53 PM

411 posts

My roommate is using this laptop now.

All he does now is installing and playing games lol, very impressive laptop for its price
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 24 2011, 04:58 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(afieQ @ Jul 24 2011, 03:53 PM)

All he does now is installing and playing games lol, very impressive laptop for its price
Any temperature readings? hmm.gif
TSadibyusoff
post Jul 25 2011, 03:38 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(afieQ @ Jul 24 2011, 03:53 PM)

crysis2 with high setting no lag! Black ops oso max setting no lag! brows.gif brows.gif
post Jul 25 2011, 09:29 PM

304 posts

speaker reli that bad? If watch movie?? Loud enough?
TSadibyusoff
post Jul 26 2011, 12:26 AM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(1212345656 @ Jul 25 2011, 09:29 PM)
speaker reli that bad? If watch movie??  Loud enough?
watch movie still can only if you dapat tahan the distortion level la. But still can
9M-MAS
post Jul 27 2011, 08:15 AM

1,422 posts

Bought this one too...quite happy with it.

One slight issue:

Youtube Flash video stutters bad, and it's not because of connection buffering. But if download the video and play on the computer using MPC, no problem. Seems to strike me as a display - adobe flash plugin problem.

Anyone else experiencing this problem?
lee_what2004
post Jul 27 2011, 11:01 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Latest flash ?
Update nVidia driver ?
Disabled hardware acceleration on flash ?
TSadibyusoff
post Jul 27 2011, 02:15 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Jul 27 2011, 08:15 AM)
Bought this one too...quite happy with it.

One slight issue:

Youtube Flash video stutters bad, and it's not because of connection buffering. But if download the video and play on the computer using MPC, no problem. Seems to strike me as a display - adobe flash plugin problem.

Anyone else experiencing this problem?
you have to update everything first once you got the lappy. Install all windows update available, update to ie9 if you use ie. No problem afterwards once everything is updated. Trust me. brows.gif
9M-MAS
post Jul 27 2011, 03:00 PM

1,422 posts

Everything's already updated, unfortunately sad.gif Still same issue

Added on July 27, 2011, 3:01 pm
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 27 2011, 11:01 AM)
Latest flash ?
Update nVidia driver ?
Disabled hardware acceleration on flash ?
Done all that. Still there though the disabling hardware acceleration of the adobe flash plugin makes it just a little less jerky (but still there)

This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Jul 27 2011, 03:01 PM
TSadibyusoff
post Jul 27 2011, 03:05 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

aik? How come mine works fine apart from usb prob? But seriously when i first got it, no problem like yours happened to me. Strange. Tried reformat factory out of box state? hmm.gif
lee_what2004
post Jul 27 2011, 03:51 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

9M-MAS, using what browser ?
9M-MAS
post Jul 27 2011, 03:56 PM

1,422 posts

Primarily FF but it affects all browsers I have (IE, FF, Opera, Safari, Chrome)
lee_what2004
post Jul 27 2011, 03:59 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

This one tried ?
http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer11.html
TSadibyusoff
post Jul 28 2011, 02:04 AM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

working or not? Post your update on the issue here ok bro? Thanks smile.gif
9M-MAS
post Jul 28 2011, 11:00 AM

1,422 posts

I downloaded the nVIDIA driver from Toshiba but the isntaller says my version is already up to date. I downloaded the one from nvidia and it says "This graphics driver could not find compatible graphics hardware" blink.gif rclxub.gif

Anyway just re-installed the flash plugin v11 as per the link by lee_what2004, am restarting now to see if there is any difference....
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 28 2011, 11:10 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Jul 28 2011, 11:00 AM)
I downloaded the nVIDIA driver from Toshiba but the isntaller says my version is already up to date. I downloaded the one from nvidia and it says "This graphics driver could not find compatible graphics hardwareblink.gif  rclxub.gif

Anyway just re-installed the flash plugin v11 as per the link by lee_what2004, am restarting now to see if there is any difference....
I have this problem as well...
Most ppl turned to modded files instead laugh.gif
9M-MAS
post Jul 28 2011, 11:19 AM

1,422 posts

ANyway I restarted. Still the same.

I think it's a problem with the Flash plugin. The new one I installed crashes more frequently now. But, even before installing the latest one, this is what leads me to think it's a problem with Flash, and perhaps its interaction with the graphics driver:

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

The anomaly there moves with the needle. I do not notice this with my older Toshiba though (intel display). Enabling / disabling hardware acceleration does not change the anomaly or the video stuttering problem.

This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Jul 28 2011, 11:20 AM
TSadibyusoff
post Jul 28 2011, 12:21 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

if you think its pretty serious, do not hesitate to send in for warranty at service center. If you get lucky enough, they might change the whole thing for you.
9M-MAS
post Jul 28 2011, 12:30 PM

1,422 posts

Like I said, it only seems to happen inside browsers. If I download the Flash video and play it on Media Player Classic, it's smooth. SO I doubt it's a hardware problem (I surely hope not!)

I noticed the same problem with my previous Acer 4755G, which also has an NVIDIA display (GT540M).

This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Jul 28 2011, 12:31 PM
TSadibyusoff
post Jul 28 2011, 12:41 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

if like that, for sure software related problem. No worries, just send for warranty. They said they can help if the software related problem applies to preloaded software. No harm in trying.
9M-MAS
post Jul 28 2011, 11:41 PM

1,422 posts

Still no joy. Tried uninstalling the graphics driver, reinstall Intel chipset driver and then reinstalling the nvidia driver from Toshiba's website - no change.

Can anyone please tell me where, apart from the Toshiba website, I can download newer nvidia graphics drivers? The version that's on the website is the same as the one I have pre-installed (269 something). Trying the much later version available from nvidia's website (275) is no joy either as the installer repeatedly says it could not detect compatible hardware.

This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Jul 28 2011, 11:42 PM
lee_what2004
post Jul 29 2011, 06:16 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^as said by [PF] T.J., you would need to use the moddef inf, can get the inf from laptopvidoe2go.
Replace the inf file in the nVidia driver you downloaded from nVidia website and the installation should detect your GPU.
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 29 2011, 09:21 PM

24,193 posts

Darn, I kind of miss my previous Toshiba keyboard (which is also used in the current L745)... even though they're glossy, the letterings are different and the layout is weird, the typing feel is there... wub.gif
Not sure whether its my typing posture, but I can't seem to bit my Typing Maniac score on the M14x vmad.gif
TSadibyusoff
post Jul 29 2011, 09:27 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 29 2011, 09:21 PM)
Darn, I kind of miss my previous Toshiba keyboard (which is also used in the current L745)... even though they're glossy, the letterings are different and the layout is weird, the typing feel is there...  wub.gif
Not sure whether its my typing posture, but I can't seem to bit my Typing Maniac score on the M14x  vmad.gif
i thought m14x is killer already? Still got some downside huh. tongue.gif
IvanWong1989
post Jul 29 2011, 09:27 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 29 2011, 09:21 PM)
Darn, I kind of miss my previous Toshiba keyboard (which is also used in the current L745)... even though they're glossy, the letterings are different and the layout is weird, the typing feel is there...  wub.gif
Not sure whether its my typing posture, but I can't seem to bit my Typing Maniac score on the M14x  vmad.gif
because ur weird... so weird keyboard fits you. tongue.gif reasonable explanation. tongue.gif like lee sifu.. ur an entirely different entity that no human can understand. rclxms.gif gratz on the leveling up. laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 29 2011, 09:29 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Jul 29 2011, 09:27 PM)
i thought m14x is killer already? Still got some downside huh. tongue.gif
As mentioned, I'm not sure whether its because of my typing posture... but the keys on the M14x seemed abit farther from one another than usual... the layout is like that possibly because them users in the US has larger hands? laugh.gif
Just a guess... You've used the Toshiba keyboard right? At 1st it feels weird to use, but after some time, it rocks... typing was like..... so easy laugh.gif
TSadibyusoff
post Jul 29 2011, 09:32 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

hahaha. Ya ya. At first feels shitty. Later on, i type without even look. Pawned the keyboard to dust. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by adibyusoff: Jul 29 2011, 09:35 PM
Mr_47
post Jul 31 2011, 02:17 PM

***NOT MODERATOR *** Post : +10,000,000,00 Warn: 100%
4,337 posts

already got mine rm 1980 free 4gb ram haha
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 31 2011, 02:32 PM

24,193 posts

laugh.gif I thought you already have an Asus G53? shocking.gif
9M-MAS
post Jul 31 2011, 08:34 PM

1,422 posts

Downloaded and installed the driver from lapptopvideo2go, still no go. sad.gif
lee_what2004
post Jul 31 2011, 09:32 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Did you replace the inf file?
9M-MAS
post Aug 1 2011, 11:01 AM

1,422 posts

By no go I meant the new driver did not bring any change. It installed fine with the modded INF.

sad.gif

Added on August 1, 2011, 11:55 amFurther curiosity: GPU-Z states that my GPU clock is 475MHz. Isn't GT 525M supposed to clock at 600MHz? Or is it 1.2GHz?

This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Aug 1 2011, 11:56 AM
Mr_47
post Aug 1 2011, 12:02 PM

4,337 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 31 2011, 02:32 PM)
laugh.gif I thought you already have an Asus G53? shocking.gif
This one is for my little brother. love him so much, buy him 1 la haha. He is dying want my G53 haha laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 1 2011, 03:15 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Aug 1 2011, 12:02 PM)
This one is for my little brother. love him so much, buy him 1 la haha. He is dying want my G53 haha laugh.gif
Please accept me as your brother too yo notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
IvanWong1989
post Aug 1 2011, 03:36 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Aug 1 2011, 12:02 PM)
me too.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif i wun ask much..=P....cheapo m14x would do... tongue.gif
Mr_47
post Aug 1 2011, 03:46 PM

4,337 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 1 2011, 03:15 PM)
Please accept me as your brother too yo  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Aug 1 2011, 03:36 PM)
me too..  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  i wun ask much..=P....cheapo m14x would do... tongue.gif
haha you guys .... sweat.gif sweat.gif

anyway this Toshiba L745-1050X is perfect for students la nowdays, gaming/multimedia - office work balance.
IvanWong1989
post Aug 1 2011, 03:57 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Aug 1 2011, 03:46 PM)
haha you guys .... sweat.gif  sweat.gif

anyway this Toshiba L745-1050X is perfect for students la nowdays, gaming/multimedia - office work balance.
yeap.. it's nice.. =P

if it's not because of the roundness of the design... i would grab it. =P unkel... =P
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 1 2011, 03:58 PM

24,193 posts

I miss the keyboard... now I'll never get to break my Typing Maniac record sad.gif

Still it would be better if the L745 comes with i5-2410M lol~
IvanWong1989
post Aug 1 2011, 04:21 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

haha... nt keyboard problem la tj..... is ur hands getting old.. =P unkel.. tongue.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 1 2011, 04:33 PM

24,193 posts

Try the keyboard 1st brows.gif
lee_what2004
post Aug 1 2011, 06:34 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Aug 1 2011, 11:01 AM)

Added on August 1, 2011, 11:55 amFurther curiosity: GPU-Z states that my GPU clock is 475MHz. Isn't GT 525M supposed to clock at 600MHz? Or is it 1.2GHz?
hmm, Toshiba underclock again? tongue.gif

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 1 2011, 03:58 PM)
I miss the keyboard... now I'll never get to break my Typing Maniac record sad.gif

Still it would be better if the L745 comes with i5-2410M lol~
What's your score ?
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 1 2011, 06:44 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Aug 1 2011, 06:34 PM)
hmm, Toshiba underclock again? tongue.gif
What's your score ?
Toshiba always downclock one laugh.gif
probably to reduce complaints on overheating haha~

Score: 1.28m only sweat.gif
IvanWong1989
post Aug 1 2011, 06:52 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

asus gt downclock bo??? hmm.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 1 2011, 06:53 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Aug 1 2011, 06:52 PM)
Probably not.... check and see? laugh.gif
lee_what2004
post Aug 1 2011, 07:02 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 1 2011, 06:44 PM)
Toshiba always downclock one laugh.gif
probably to reduce complaints on overheating haha~

Score: 1.28m only  sweat.gif
Later I try Typing Maniac..

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Aug 1 2011, 06:52 PM)
Open GPU-Z and tell what's the clock at default..
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 1 2011, 07:03 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Aug 1 2011, 07:02 PM)
SO YOU HAVE FACEBOOK!!!!! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
lee_what2004
post Aug 1 2011, 07:05 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

That is facebook one?
I thought some application like TypingMaster sweat.gif
IvanWong1989
post Aug 1 2011, 07:23 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Aug 1 2011, 07:02 PM)
Open GPU-Z and tell what's the clock at default..
opened.. haha
gpu clock 672mhz.. is this ok?? hmm.gif

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 1 2011, 07:03 PM)
SO YOU HAVE FACEBOOK!!!!!  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
waaa.... so big reaction!!
9M-MAS
post Aug 2 2011, 11:13 AM

1,422 posts

OK the stuttering video is really driving me mad.

Can owners of this lappie take a look at this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wjpRL1aZZqs

specifically the points in time between 0:29 and 0:36 when there's a plane landing.

Is the plane landing smooth for you, or does it stutter (even if small)?

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 2 2011, 12:06 PM

24,193 posts

Its stuttering right? laugh.gif
TSadibyusoff
post Aug 3 2011, 12:06 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Aug 2 2011, 11:13 AM)
OK the stuttering video is really driving me mad.

Can owners of this lappie take a look at this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wjpRL1aZZqs

specifically the points in time between 0:29 and 0:36 when there's a plane landing.

Is the plane landing smooth for you, or does it stutter (even if small)?

the landing is smooth in mine. no stutter at all. trust me. just send to service center if the problem still persist. they will replace entire new mobo for you free of charge.
9M-MAS
post Aug 3 2011, 12:31 PM

1,422 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Aug 3 2011, 12:06 PM)
the landing is smooth in mine. no stutter at all. trust me. just send to service center if the problem still persist. they will replace entire new mobo for you free of charge.
Will they? Because the problem seems to affect only Flash (embedded in browsers) videos. Other videos played with media players show no problem. Even the downloaded FLash video plays well inside media players....
TSadibyusoff
post Aug 3 2011, 12:37 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Aug 3 2011, 12:31 PM)
Will they? Because the problem seems to affect only Flash (embedded in browsers) videos. Other videos played with media players show no problem. Even the downloaded FLash video plays well inside media players....
they will only warrantied on software and hardware supplied by the preloaded Toshiba laptop. i suggest you do a full factory-out-of-box-state format first for the last time before you send in to service center. check to see if it still happening again. if it does, then that's the best time to send it to them. if they don't believe, you can show it in front of them.
9M-MAS
post Aug 3 2011, 01:09 PM

1,422 posts

Did it two days ago and that was the first thing I tested. yes, it happens as new.
TSadibyusoff
post Aug 3 2011, 01:25 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

well then you better go for warranty. the faster you send, the faster they solved it for you. one thing for sure, they won't bite at all.
9M-MAS
post Aug 7 2011, 02:33 PM

1,422 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Aug 3 2011, 01:25 PM)
well then you better go for warranty. the faster you send, the faster they solved it for you. one thing for sure, they won't bite at all.
They didn't bite me alright, but they behaved like I owe them money (at least the silly single person manning the counter no. 1 today at LYP 1420hrs did). He said Toshiba only takes care of hardware issue. Software I will have to "talk to Microsoft". Never mind I argued with him the software was preloaded and installed by Toshiba. I tried arguing the fact that I think it's a driver issue, he would have none of it. sad.gif I brought along another older Toshiba and two broadband 3G sticks just to demo to him. mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Aug 7 2011, 02:36 PM
TSadibyusoff
post Aug 7 2011, 06:32 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

holy crap. they did that to you? wtf. it way's to different here at kuching. little talk, more work. so how does it come to? they agree to take it in after you demo in front of them?
9M-MAS
post Aug 7 2011, 10:59 PM

1,422 posts

Nope. He didn't. I guess I will have to live with it.
IvanWong1989
post Aug 7 2011, 11:04 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

doh.gif

force ur way in la bro......

escalate the matter to higher management...

Added on August 7, 2011, 11:05 pmu go find him...

note down his name write in paper in frnt of him...

then say to him

''I wan to see ur boss. I want to lodge a complaint. Now''

This post has been edited by IvanWong1989: Aug 7 2011, 11:05 PM
TSadibyusoff
post Aug 8 2011, 01:06 AM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

they did not take it in? f***. it is clearly stated in the form. they will only deal with the matter only for the preloaded software. if you bring this to higher matter, you for sure win the case. you have to put some force in this case. go and talk to their manager. they cannot violate what has been there in black and white.
9M-MAS
post Aug 8 2011, 08:19 AM

1,422 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Aug 8 2011, 01:06 AM)
they did not take it in? f***. it is clearly stated in the form.
I didn't see anything to that effect in the form they gave me. In any case I did argue that *they* (Toshiba) installed the software to no effect. sad.gif
TSadibyusoff
post Aug 8 2011, 03:19 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Aug 8 2011, 08:19 AM)
I didn't see anything to that effect in the form they gave me. In any case I did argue that *they* (Toshiba) installed the software to no effect.  sad.gif
it says here at the back of my invoice note no 9. tele dynamics shall not be responsible for any software installed in customer's notebook except for the preloaded toshiba software. seriously. you better call their boss to come out and talk to you. if you just deal with them lalat at the front, it won't do any good. or, you can try call tele dynamics service line 03-55687799. since it is under warranty, it's worth trying everything until there's no more thing to tried.
IvanWong1989
post Aug 8 2011, 03:57 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

the CS at frnt desk.. they knw ntg...(not al.. mostly)

their job just to sit thr and offer help wit what they knw.. n to those that they duno... maybe they wun bother. tongue.gif

small fish fail... go find bigger fish..

call tele dynamics...

and also it's better u read up on their warrant T&C.... so that u can shoot bek them if they deny.. this important.. too many consumers that knw ntg.. then is diambil kesempatan.. =P

i was once too.. now wun le. read fine prints... important... tongue.gif
9M-MAS
post Aug 9 2011, 04:13 PM

1,422 posts

[DELETED]

This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Aug 9 2011, 10:05 PM
Ricky Ling
post Aug 9 2011, 04:59 PM

1,055 posts

Incoming - new rev of L745-1138X (silver colour) for RM2,099 and SB refresh as i3-2330. Buyer beware...
TSadibyusoff
post Aug 9 2011, 10:55 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(Ricky Ling @ Aug 9 2011, 04:59 PM)
Incoming - new rev of L745-1138X (silver colour) for RM2,099 and SB refresh as i3-2330. Buyer beware...
what is this? tipu punya model kah?
hmm.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 9 2011, 10:56 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Aug 9 2011, 10:55 PM)
what is this? tipu punya model kah?
hmm.gif
Its real haha laugh.gif
Minor CPU upgrade, price still the same... but not sure whether the 2nd and 3rd year warranty are still there or not... if yes then it'd be a very good deal wub.gif
Ricky Ling
post Aug 9 2011, 10:57 PM

1,055 posts

No lah, it mean for extra RM100 you get better performance notebook lah
TSadibyusoff
post Aug 10 2011, 12:51 AM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

googled it and the difference is 100mhz in cpu clock. any noticeable different? hmm.gif
SticH
post Aug 13 2011, 04:17 PM

964 posts

guys is there any way to stop the sliding of the mouse cursor using the touch pad?
TSadibyusoff
post Aug 13 2011, 05:09 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

just uninstall synaptics pointing device driver. smile.gif u using this laptop?
SticH
post Aug 13 2011, 11:51 PM

964 posts

yeah just bought from 9M-MAS
lee_what2004
post Aug 13 2011, 11:54 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Aug 13 2011, 04:17 PM)
guys is there any way to stop the sliding of the mouse cursor using the touch pad?
You mean the cursor keep moving after you release from touchpad or you want to permanently turn off the touchpad ?
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 14 2011, 12:11 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Aug 13 2011, 04:17 PM)
Just press the button on top of the touchpad to enable/disable it? laugh.gif
SticH
post Aug 14 2011, 01:42 AM

964 posts

stop the cursor keep moving after you release from touchpad, crap i uninstalled the synaptics pointing device driver, how?
lee_what2004
post Aug 14 2011, 01:44 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Reinstall the Synaptics..

To stop that situation, you need to open control panel, mouse, device settings, Settings, Pointings, Momentum, disable it.

I like momentum though laugh.gif

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Aug 14 2011, 01:45 AM
SticH
post Aug 14 2011, 02:44 AM

964 posts

Thank you very much!
TSadibyusoff
post Aug 14 2011, 04:22 AM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

he sell you that toshiba of his meh?? sweat.gif
9M-MAS
post Aug 16 2011, 09:34 AM

1,422 posts

Yes, I did. SOrry about that momentum thingy, Stitch. I enabled it because I think the cursor was not fast enough. Haha.

Anyway I just bought the L745-1049U (?) with core-i3 2330M with Intel integrated graphics.

Still the same problem. I give up sad.gif

This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Aug 16 2011, 09:36 AM
Ebitz
post Aug 19 2011, 03:27 PM

This model is one of my choice to buy after raya, but is 9M-MAS alone having that problem?

TSadibyusoff
post Aug 21 2011, 02:57 AM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Aug 16 2011, 09:34 AM)
Yes, I did. SOrry about that momentum thingy, Stitch. I enabled it because I think the cursor was not fast enough. Haha.

Anyway I just bought the L745-1049U (?) with core-i3 2330M with Intel integrated graphics.

Still the same problem. I give up sad.gif
i don't know what to tell you again. maybe you should really press down the service center since that's the only option you haven't done yet. i feel sorry for you bro.
medasfais
post Sep 4 2011, 10:01 AM

i cannot find driver grafic for my laptop Toshiba L745-1050X
Cls63Amg7
post Sep 10 2011, 08:37 PM

44 posts

Is there other colors other than grey outside?
How bout black?
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 10 2011, 11:56 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(medasfais @ Sep 4 2011, 10:01 AM)
i cannot find driver grafic for my laptop Toshiba L745-1050X
This is the place to go to http://pc.toshiba-asia.com/support
Or you could simply go to the Nvidia/ AMD websites for the latest drivers nod.gif
irfaan92
post Sep 13 2011, 01:29 AM

Hello,

I too have the Toshiba Satellite L745. It comes with Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz Turboboost to 2.9Ghz and 4 GB of RAM. I would like to know how to make the Graphics card GT525M working at 600MHz instead of the downclocked speed of 475MHz. GTA 4 is showing some lags. Please help to regain the 600 Mhz clock speed and the higher memory clocks too if possible.

Thanks in advance
lee_what2004
post Sep 13 2011, 01:34 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Use MSI AfterBurner to overclock the GPU.
To unlock MSI AfterBurner : http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=338906

and there's no guarantee that your GT525M will work at 600MHz.
irfaan92
post Sep 13 2011, 01:37 AM

thanks will try
that.
I think "adibyusoff" has been able to do it. seen that in the very first post. He had posted the screenshot of the Windows Experience Index....

lee_what2004
post Sep 13 2011, 01:40 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Doesn't matter, your GPU and his GPU are different, your result can be vary..
irfaan92
post Sep 13 2011, 01:45 AM

Sory 2 disturb u again.

you said different? what do you mean? I think we both have the same downclocked version of the GT525M... ??
lee_what2004
post Sep 13 2011, 01:48 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Yes you have the same model, but they are not equally created, some chip can have good overclocking, some just can't even do 1MHz overclocking..
irfaan92
post Sep 13 2011, 01:51 AM

ok thanks. now i understand. I've downloaded the MSI afterburner. I can slide along the core clock MHz. But how do i know if it will be stable at the new clock speed?

Also, i need to run this app since startup to be able to run at the new clock speed?

lee_what2004
post Sep 13 2011, 01:55 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Play games, check if got artifacts or crash, if no, then its should be stable.
or for a quick check,
run OCCT,
select GPU: OCCT,
Test type : Infinite,
Tick Error check.
Run it for couple minutes, see if got any errors.

Yes, you would need to run MSI AfterBurner on startup.
If you want to make the overclocking permanent, this would require modding the BIOS and can get dangerous..
irfaan92
post Sep 13 2011, 02:02 AM

Should I tick the option "apply overclocking at system startup"? My fan seems to remain on while MSI afterburn is being run. Please provide with some tips. thanks
lee_what2004
post Sep 13 2011, 02:05 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Just leave it untick.

Well, you are overclocking the GPU, temp will rise and naturally fan will start to spin faster...
TSadibyusoff
post Sep 16 2011, 02:44 AM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(Cls63Amg7 @ Sep 10 2011, 08:37 PM)
Is there other colors other than grey outside?
How bout black?
for this specific model, only grey are available

0.0709sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:43 PM