New house owners confusions !, WHAT TO DO ? SO CONFUSED

TSezonemy
post Jun 14 2011, 09:38 AM, updated 15y ago

64 posts

Hi to all. Im a new house owner. My house is 20x65 2.5sty in puchong. Well, i will get my house keys soon around 3 months time (i think) now my worries are, is it advisable to buy items as below before getting the keys? a bit scared in view of price gain and financial (dont want to fork out a big lump later) cry.gif

items which will be needed;

a) celling fans ( 8 unit)
b) fridge
c) washing machine
d) down lights (not sure how many unit) - can buy this later once the hired the plaster celling contractor
e) sofa
f) bed and matteress
g) kitchen items - hood, hob, sink n other fittings (well found LYN forumer Zheilwane, most probable will look for him on this items)
h) kitchen cabinet - noted can be booked earlier with out getting house keys rclxms.gif

Planned renovation - kitchen extension (abt 5x20), concrete table, plaster celling in hall, divide wall in car pouch (not sure about the size),grille, wiring and adding electrical points (estimated 30k for all this) sad.gif

Can i book the items listed above now n start to pay for the items in installment so i wont fork out a big sum later. so confused rclxub.gif .

I hope some of the new house owners who just done with renovation could giv some advise on this matters notworthy.gif

sonerin
post Jun 14 2011, 10:09 AM

8,739 posts

is up to your convinient
gwack
post Jun 14 2011, 10:12 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jun 14 2011, 11:09 AM)
is up to your convinient
thumbup.gif
bhtan
post Jun 14 2011, 10:14 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(ezonemy @ Jun 14 2011, 10:38 AM)
Hi to all. Im a new house owner. My house is 20x65 2.5sty in puchong. Well, i will get my house keys soon around 3 months time (i think) now my worries are, is it advisable to buy items as below before getting the keys? a bit scared in view of price gain and financial (dont want to fork out a big lump later) cry.gif

items which will be needed;

a) celling fans ( 8 unit)
b) fridge
c) washing machine
d) down lights (not sure how many unit) - can buy this later once the hired the plaster celling contractor
e) sofa
f) bed and matteress
g) kitchen items - hood, hob, sink n other fittings (well found LYN forumer Zheilwane, most probable will look for him on this items)
h) kitchen cabinet - noted can be booked earlier with out getting house keys rclxms.gif
Planned renovation - kitchen extension (abt 5x20), concrete table, plaster celling in hall, divide wall in car pouch (not sure about the size),grille, wiring and adding electrical points (estimated 30k for all this) sad.gif
Can i book the items listed above now n start to pay for the items in installment so i wont fork out a big sum later. so confused rclxub.gif .

I hope some of the new house owners who just done with renovation could giv some advise on this matters notworthy.gif
The first step is to determine your budget. Nobody can advise you without knowing your total budget (unless the Rm30k stated is total and not only for renovation budget). I would say that RM30k including renovation and all other new items stated will not be enough. Do note also that the actual will be much higher than the budget. 30% is a good place to start. Mine was 70% over a then considered reasonable and realistic budget.

You need to determine what is essential (must have on Day 1) vs important but can wait vs nice to have. Fans, fridge and washing machines are essential. Sofa can be essential but also can wait if there are cheap temporary option available but that depends on individual. Hood may be can wait but that depends on your wet kitchen location (e.g facing window, etc.). Appliances should be bought as late as possible unless there is a good sale.
Drian
post Jun 14 2011, 10:49 AM

4,999 posts

the renovation doesn't sound 30k to me.
ed1torz
post Jun 14 2011, 12:56 PM

Обучение на протяжении всей жизни
1,061 posts

Do not touch anything until you are ease with the house quality.

Piece of advise. Otherwise, everything just get voided! Just like car.

dvinez
post Jun 14 2011, 01:45 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jun 14 2011, 10:49 AM)
the renovation doesn't sound 30k to me.
way >30k
TSezonemy
post Jun 14 2011, 02:43 PM

64 posts

10q for the sugestions, looks like have to find alternative financial aid.
joeweng78
post Jun 14 2011, 03:53 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(ezonemy @ Jun 14 2011, 02:43 PM)
10q for the sugestions, looks like have to find alternative financial aid.
Extension of ur kitchen easily can chop u ~20k...30k for those ur expectation jobs done, 99.99% cant make it
TSezonemy
post Jun 14 2011, 04:10 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(joeweng78 @ Jun 14 2011, 03:53 PM)
Extension of ur kitchen easily can chop u ~20k...30k for those ur expectation jobs done, 99.99% cant make it
this not helping me. cry.gif
bhtan
post Jun 14 2011, 04:19 PM

241 posts

Then dont do the extension lor. It is better not to do it than adding your debt level just for renovation. What's the point of having a nice house when the Ah Long are chasing you for money?

BTW, you should have planned for a moving in cost when you bought a house. Of course you can aways build a tent inside your house if no budget was allocated. biggrin.gif
phythia79
post Jun 14 2011, 04:31 PM

398 posts

Just a little advise...when i moved in to my aparment..i didn't do any reno (kitchen) at first as movign in itself needs $$$...I bought the necessary stuff. After moving in for 2 years..then only i did my kitchen..when I had the $$$ again..so..sometimes..even though it's ideal to do everything at one go..but our financial situation plays an important role too.

In fact, I'm doing my apartment..bit by bit..the next project would be my built in closet..

You don't need to keep up with the Joneses smile.gif

This post has been edited by phythia79: Jun 14 2011, 04:33 PM
alanyuppie
post Jun 14 2011, 04:32 PM

2,834 posts

Dont buy electrical appliances as the warranty might start running months before you start moving in and using them for the first time .
bhtan
post Jun 14 2011, 04:38 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Jun 14 2011, 05:31 PM)
Just a little advise...when i moved in to my aparment..i didn't do any reno (kitchen) at first as movign in itself needs $$$...I bought the necessary stuff.  After moving in for 2 years..then only i did my kitchen..when I had the $$$ again..so..sometimes..even though it's ideal to do everything at one go..but our financial situation plays an important role too. 

In fact, I'm doing my apartment..bit by bit..the next project would be my built in closet..

You don't need to keep up with the Joneses smile.gif
Same here. I run my renovation like a project. There is Phase 1, Phase 2 and beyond. That said, there is always a temptation to let scope creeps. My Phase 1 was supposed to be back of house extension for kitchen and a new gym room. But that turn out to also include changing all the switches, aircond, doors, windows, painting for the entire house! rclxub.gif
sl2007
post Jun 14 2011, 04:42 PM

285 posts

Just my own experience.... I have renovated my house back in Year 2008... The budget was RM70k+... And the Final Figure come too almost RM150k....

Just some hint for renovation works planning and budgeting...

a) Keep those messy works (concrete, brickworks and etc) to proceed first

b) Only then follow by ID Works (e.g Wallpaper, Fittings and etc)

Always put your necessity as priority during renovation..
Jo_da48
post Jun 14 2011, 05:30 PM

1,529 posts

Agreed with SL2007.

Get your WET / knoking task all done first included electric / aircorn piping / water pipling...

Don't worry, you for sure will over use the $$$ if you don;t keep on your design and add here and there. sad.gif

lazzy_dogg
post Jun 14 2011, 08:41 PM

943 posts

just from my experience..... do everything that involves hacking first..... at least then you would have a piece of mind when you wanna do phase 2 onwards..... cabinets and all can come in later..... appliances should buy only at the very last minute as trend and interest will change after time.... you may buy something u like now..... but right before moving in.... you see something better..... DO NOT buy electrical appliances so early... especially TV....
Eleganz Concept
post Jun 15 2011, 12:48 AM

582 posts

Well, sometime i will suggest dont do anything when u havent get your key, there is some reason.

1. Key may delay on some reason, that make the thing u have bought is not able to use, IF u really unlucky, key may delay for many month, who know when the time u move in, all the thing u buy is already out dated or even cheaper (specially electrical item like TV)

2. Space for actual and floor plan are diff, that may spoil your planing. Example, when u see floor plan, there is 10ft to put sofa, but when u got your key, u only find out, there is some (new wall or column, example lah) to block away, then your sofa cant use already.

3. the thing u buy is not suitable to use. example, you buy a ceiling light for your room, however, your developer give you wall light, so that light is not able to use already, if u can change still ok, just wasting time, if cant, then that is your extra cost already. compare to you scare about price increase, this kind of expenses may more then the price increase.

This post has been edited by Eleganz Concept: Jun 15 2011, 01:10 AM
eclipse-space
post Jun 15 2011, 12:57 AM

174 posts

Agree. Don't do ANYTHING except for budgeting planning. Once got key, spend all ur money biggrin.gif

TSezonemy
post Jun 15 2011, 09:03 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Jun 15 2011, 12:48 AM)
Well, sometime i will suggest dont do anything when u havent get your key, there is some reason.

1. Key may delay on some reason, that make the thing u have bought is not able to use, IF u really unlucky, key may delay for many month, who know when the time u move in, all the thing u buy is already out dated or even cheaper (specially electrical item like TV)

2. Space for actual and floor plan are diff, that may spoil your planing. Example, when u see floor plan, there is 10ft to put sofa, but when u got your key, u only find out, there is some (new wall or column, example lah) to block away, then your sofa cant use already.

3. the thing u buy is not suitable to use. example, you buy a ceiling light for your room, however, your developer give you wall light, so that light is not able to use already, if u can change still ok, just wasting time, if cant, then that is your extra cost already. compare to you scare about price increase, this kind of expenses may more then the price increase.
a very reasonable advise, not just scare the newbies like the others.

0.0196sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:33 PM