9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Audio Technica Headphones/Earphones Fan Club V4, Happy Anniversary -50 Years to AT

TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Dec 28 2011, 02:51 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(pkh @ Dec 27 2011, 04:52 PM)
Been testing my newly bought AD700 for a few days and here’s my initial opinion. Guys, take not that this is a personal view. Different ear, different results. I have not done any extensive burn on it. Infact, I’m not really a fan of doing burn on earphones. Maybe laziness, maybe time constraint. I’ll compare it with my old AD300 since that’s the closest one I have from the same type. There’s no point comparing it with something like DT770 coz there are both different in nature.

For the first week, when I unwrapped it from the box, the test setup is:
iPod Touch 4G line out --> Ibasso D12 (amplification purposes only) --> AD700

I don’t consider myself as an audiophile who listens to jazz and classical stuff. I’m more towards someone who purchase CD from the regular shelf section.

By doing a one-to-one comparison, there’s once word to describe the AD700 – brilliance. Don’t get me wrong. When I say ‘brilliance’, I’m referring to the sound signature. It’s more focused to the mid-high and high. Instruments seem a lot clearer than the AD300. I don’t have much complaint on the bass. Although it’s slightly weaker, it’s more solid. It’s like stuffing more pillows and paddings to the drum. Instruments like guitar sounds fantastic. This applies for both electric and acoustic. I haven’t test using nylon guitar sound samples yet. Albums which worked fantastically well are:
- Green Day : 21st Century Breakdown
- ACDC : Ironman 2 Soundtrack
- Hannah Montana The Movie Soundtrack (yes, I do test in many different ways)
- Avril Lavigne : Goodbye Lullaby
- Bon Jovi : Greatest Hits

If you notice, all the albums are similar in one spot – guitar sound.

So, are there any drawbacks? YES. I do have ONE BIG PROBLEM. Vocals for some singers are too sharp till the point of being annoying. As you know, the AD700 increases the mid-high and high. So, if the singer’s voice somewhat falls on a certain frequency, there will be a lot of ‘sss’ if you know what I mean. So which singer has this problem? Taylor Swift. Doesn’t happen to all songs but the number is quite discouraging.

For the second week, I decided to modify my test setup:
iPod Touch 4G earphone out --> AD700

Could this be better or worse? Turns out better. The ‘sss’ sound is still present but less prominent. I don’t really know why but suspect one of these:
- Too much analogue amplification and device transmission reduces the sound quality
- Unintended burn
- Ears slowly getting used to it
- Placebo effect

So what about movies? It’s quite unfair to compare coz my list of ‘audio benchmark’ movies are:
- Saving Private Ryan
- Sucker Punch
- Ironman 2
- Cloverfield

These kind of test will certainly produce negative results with the AD700. I’m not gonna slot-in something like Sound Of Music or King’s Speech. Not my genre.
Good review...and welcome to the club... thumbup.gif
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Dec 29 2011, 07:44 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(Cahill @ Dec 29 2011, 04:02 PM)
i just got myself a pro700mk2 and swap to the m50 ear pad, all i can say is wow... it still in the burn in time of 10hours the most.
Before i made the purchase all i read pro700mk2 is for basshead with mushy mid, but after that when i tried it out, no doubt its bit heavy on bass but the mid is good too, soundstage is quite wide. Swapping to M50 ear pad do give better ear fit & seems sound bit clearer too. so don't read too much on reviews, everyone have different preference.  biggrin.gif
Currently i'm paring it with fiio e10, honestly speaking it doesn't sound much different with my computer sound card or iphone. Thinking to get a better dac/amp for this pair of can.

Anyway i do have a brand new sj55 (black), anyone interested just pm me  icon_rolleyes.gif
Pair with AT with Fiio Amp is no no. You are right. It doesn't improving but is increase the loudness. Sometime I feel unamp would good too.

TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Jan 5 2012, 06:52 AM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(panz3l @ Jan 5 2012, 12:24 AM)
cool.gif hi-fi is too scary to go in
There is a Headfi which also can make you scare too smile.gif
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Jan 7 2012, 08:51 AM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(GenericMav @ Jan 7 2012, 01:04 AM)
aww Sheenho, you just make me cry  user posted image
is your turn soon.... thumbup.gif
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Jan 7 2012, 07:52 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 7 2012, 12:01 PM)
when buying the anniversary limited woodie?  brows.gif
coming soon...stay tune... thumbup.gif
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Jan 11 2012, 10:28 AM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(GenericMav @ Jan 10 2012, 07:55 PM)
can still take from another person hands, right?  rolleyes.gif
This year is still manage to get a used or brand new but then after this year everything will harder to hunt as what I facing when I hunt for my w11jpn last year.
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Jan 14 2012, 11:45 AM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

I think is time to meet/ gathering for ATs members? Shall we do next month?
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Jan 14 2012, 11:18 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(Iqbal_kakashi @ Jan 14 2012, 12:01 PM)
wanna join. hehe
QUOTE(GenericMav @ Jan 14 2012, 12:04 PM)
of course  flex.gif
QUOTE(Slevin Sent @ Jan 14 2012, 07:17 PM)
Haha hope the time is right tongue.gif
Guys-shall we discuss here....choose a great day for the gathering.?? we shall have a big one this time.. thumbup.gif
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Jan 15 2012, 12:41 AM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jan 14 2012, 11:19 PM)
I don't have time to read all post since this v4 thread started. What I want to say...

I'm a new owner for ATH-AD300, cheap stuff that I can afford right now. blush.gif

Just 1 hour+ use.
Welcome to the club...Enjoy and Always Listening...

QUOTE(Slevin Sent @ Jan 14 2012, 11:35 PM)
well... just hope we can find some place quiet? someplace like Library at the iOi boulevard? LOLz
I shall open one thread for discussions..

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jan 15 2012, 12:26 AM)
I'm still fine with waiting, cause my alessandro ms1i is working my nerves quite well for now
Hehe...Modd it to become Orpheus series... icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Jan 15 2012, 01:31 AM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jan 15 2012, 01:25 AM)
hey guys with below rm150, which in ear headphone to recommend?
ckm33
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Jan 15 2012, 01:44 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jan 15 2012, 02:16 AM)
wat bout ATH-CKF500? how's d quality like?
I have no idea on the quality but i can say Audio Technica signature always in bright and forward. thumbup.gif if you are in kl/pj area may try to check with Jaben Network Headphone Store.

This post has been edited by Akabane@DrJackel: Jan 15 2012, 01:45 PM
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Jan 15 2012, 03:55 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jan 15 2012, 03:26 PM)
jaben doesnt sell this model..

Added on January 15, 2012, 3:49 pm
where can i get the model?
if jaben does not have you can try out from IT store in Lowyat Plaza, The Hub-Viewnet.
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Jan 17 2012, 09:11 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(Slevin Sent @ Jan 17 2012, 09:44 AM)
just buy the ATH-CKM55~
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Great and Budget Earbud all time....surprise when you run in 1k hours.. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Jan 21 2012, 04:57 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(yuka @ Jan 21 2012, 02:32 PM)
Just got my ESW9 from egyprince  notworthy.gif

jump from cheapo SONY MDR-570LP to ESW9 were just so cool.gif
Welcome to the Club.enjoy the tasted of natural sound...Always Listening...
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Jan 22 2012, 01:43 AM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 22 2012, 01:05 AM)
just got myself the ATH-C100G, SQ is rather  sweat.gif

then again, something to listen with while my jabra is under charging lol. (yes, the jabra with DSP is actually superior in SQ, albeit it being mono single sided as opposed to stereo sound)
of course, its not really intended for music listening, hence the derping battery life (just barely 6-8 hours or so max for continuous music listening) so i guess i kinda needed something else for the downtimes
Aiya bro, why you buy that earphone doh.gif
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Feb 11 2012, 08:01 AM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Feb 11 2012, 01:12 AM)
brows.gif poison....poison....
Ad2000 is still one of the best product in AT. Bro gino, bila nak upgrade?
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Feb 15 2012, 11:50 AM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(ghs06565 @ Feb 15 2012, 07:41 AM)
nice stand, i current also need to find a stand for my ad900 icon_question.gif
Grab something like crossroad musicnote wood stand. Very nice. You may check with jaben network or yuheng/walabies
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Feb 15 2012, 02:50 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

my headphone stand

TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Feb 15 2012, 07:04 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(Axe93 @ Feb 15 2012, 06:52 PM)
I've got no headphone stand,just put it on my desk after using it. sweat.gif
buy one this can be display too.. thumbup.gif
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Feb 15 2012, 07:05 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(aztoiozalan @ Feb 15 2012, 06:44 PM)
alamak drool.gif itu dia master sudah kluar item , runs away liao ,

oT, im really missing the airyness of ad series
AD2000 je...

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0460sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:40 AM