Sempron64 2500+ , 2800+ OC tests

sidewinderz
post Jan 3 2006, 05:58 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 3 2006, 05:33 PM)
If you want to burn-in, try this method... dunno whether it's effective for K8 or not, but seems like it works well on Barton K7

1. Set the speed you want to achieve (ie: 2.7ghz) and make sure your RAM does not holding you back.
2. Set the lowest vcore that is able to run the cpu in windows. At least it can run light applications such as browsing or SuperPi 1M.
3. Use CPU Burn-in or SiSandra burn in (set to highest priority, use only arithmetic and multimedia) to burn-in your cpu.
4. Monitor your temp, make sure it stays around 10-15'C below TCaseMax value (use Central Brain Identifier to check TCaseMax).
hmm...lowes possible Vcore? i thought that wont work? since it wont "burn" the processor..i thought burning in is to let the Vcore as high as possible (bout 1.75v or 1.7v) and use sandra wizard to burn? how long should i leave it running?
sidewinderz
post Jan 3 2006, 06:09 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone87 @ Jan 3 2006, 06:00 PM)
That abit opposite from the method i already practise.

1. Set the Max VCore that your motherboard allow (is: 1.85v)
2. Set around 500mhz below stock Speed.
3. Use CPU Burn-in or SiSandra burn in (set to highest priority, use only arithmetic and multimedia) to burn-in your cpu.
4. And make sure your temp always around 63c+ and above for 2days non stop.

Honestly..it work for my old 2800+ .
500mhz below stock speed? how do you do that? the multiplier is locked...hmm...but what if i cant leave my comp on for 2 days? can provide more detail?
sidewinderz
post Jan 3 2006, 07:15 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone87 @ Jan 3 2006, 06:26 PM)
That underclocking method only applies to Tbred/barton/Venice939 . For those locked CPU...default is the only choise. Btw..if not hot enuff..run it fanless.  thumbup.gif
omg...your processor wont burn ar?? blink.gif can i run at the selected speed (2.7ghz) and set my Vcore to max? (max is 2.2v ler...think that is too much for any1 to handle...i'll set it to 1.7v and try it out)
sidewinderz
post Jan 4 2006, 08:08 AM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 4 2006, 12:56 AM)
F@H not really stressing the cpu AFAIK.
if i were to run sis, how long should i run it? cause now i set 2.68Ghz@1.7v doing folding work...seems stable...cant seem to get it to 2.7ghz cause my rams limiting me..223Mhz is the besti can go for my rams..
sidewinderz
post Jan 4 2006, 01:07 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 4 2006, 12:56 PM)
I think you actually can go higher with current voltage, it's just the ram limiting you all this while
i know i can go higher...but my rams...argh!! did memtest at 336HTT and errors start coming out...after all, this is as far as wtm went as well 335HTT...20mhz wont make a lot of difference right?? tongue.gif

been reading up bout burning in in Xtremesystems..the method you specify is actually quite similar to it.and they say it works...

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 4 2006, 12:57 PM)
time to up RAM voltage, or if not - increase the divider.
hmm..i'm already on 133mhz devider...lower will be 100mhz...which will significantly slow down everything...i'll try to tweak around with my ram settings...current Vdimm is 2.8v
sidewinderz
post Jan 4 2006, 06:19 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Jan 4 2006, 06:16 PM)
usually the sensor around the pwn ic is getting hot then the sensor also heats up...try to place a fan around the cpu area to get better airflow... tongue.gif
wow...antonio, you damn good la..teaching noobs like us how to burn in... notworthy.gif
sidewinderz
post Jan 5 2006, 05:08 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 5 2006, 04:15 PM)
Sorry for the confusion, I just realized today sweat.gif
wow...you all dun haf to pump so much and the processor can still fly...me leh?? 1.7v and whole comp not stable at 2.68ghz... mad.gif
sidewinderz
post Jan 5 2006, 05:21 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

i have not tweaked the memory settings..just the basic stuff...2.5-3-2-8 bios memtest stable up to 223mhz...but only tested to bout 30 loops....cause no time to leave it overnight...tried wtm's settings, but not stable...
sidewinderz
post Jan 5 2006, 05:48 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 5 2006, 05:33 PM)
Have you tried 2.5-3-3-8-1T?

Set your aim of clockspeed... let say 2.7GHz. Then set your RAM timing and a proper divider. Bank interleave set to ENABLE. Everything else set to auto. Then boot to Windows.

In Windows, open A64Tweaker. Look at the values, and copy everything on a piece of paper.

Reboot and go into BIOS and apply those timings into your memory setting. Then you can test with BIOS memtest.

Quite time consuming, but I think it's quite fun and annoying at the same time laugh.gif
haha..i'll try it..but is there any guideline? cause the last time i tried, my whole system cant boot to POST... sweat.gif
sidewinderz
post Jan 5 2006, 10:51 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Jan 5 2006, 07:56 PM)
aiyohh dude...

rule one in overclocking!!! period!

1.Always set your ram manually...Dont rely on SPD values...it will kill ya....
sorry..but wats SPD? unsure.gif laugh.gif
sidewinderz
post Jan 6 2006, 08:09 AM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

tried tweaking my rams...now even at 335HTT and there is errors... cry.gif damn!!!

oh yea..another problem..whenever my comp hangs and i press the reset button to restart it, the thing dun seem to work...i mean like my comp cant be reset...the whole system will keep on "rebooting" and rebooting...you can see the optical drives LED keep flashing only....gotta turn off the main power before everything comes back to normal...if i were to reset it again (when the pc is running fine) the whole comp just power off by itself...

anything wrong?? cry.gif

sidewinderz
post Jan 6 2006, 09:57 AM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Jan 6 2006, 08:55 AM)
err, shut off pC
full our plug or whatever equivalent
press power button to discharge capasitors..
than on back
hmm..dun understand...you mean turn off my pc, unplug the power and press the power button?? for how long?
sidewinderz
post Jan 7 2006, 10:14 AM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Jan 7 2006, 08:53 AM)
aye?
i mean the plug socket on the wall ler sweat.gif
anything that disconnect the psu from power source will do

then when reboot, quickly enter bios ler
think i solved the problem..after a good cmos reset, everything went to normal.. biggrin.gif

after running prime for 22 hours, i manage drop my voltage from 1.6v to 1.575v thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sidewinderz: Jan 7 2006, 11:21 AM
sidewinderz
post Jan 8 2006, 02:05 AM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jan 8 2006, 01:36 AM)
cry.gif  cry.gif  mine cannot change....

i think urs is ES...
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif haiz...sempron 3000+ and below haf their multiplier lock ma...impossible for you to change the multiplier...unless yours is unlock by accident... whistling.gif whistling.gif
sidewinderz
post Jan 8 2006, 09:33 AM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone87 @ Jan 8 2006, 08:28 AM)
Haha..i juz OC this baby to max this morning. Curse my mobo..only 1.6v.  sweat.gif
Anyway..it not very stable..but benchable.
drool.gif not bad... thumbup.gif but for venice/palermo cores. max reachable is only 2.8ghz....cant go anymore than that...not that i've seen venice reach 3ghz...only E4 revisions are able to hit 3ghz easily...
sidewinderz
post Jan 9 2006, 09:50 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Jan 9 2006, 07:21 PM)
aha seems sempron 3100+ is getting common in msia market now hehe, but it's a better choice to wait for s939 sempron, it's comin very soon, later s754 sempron sure all no use edi sad.gif

btw goldfries, u prefer ur abit or dfi mobo? my cousin NV8 seems only 100% stable at 340htt, eventhough primestable at 345htt for proc n ram, sometimes it'll lag when playing movies, increasing others chipset/htt voltage doesnt help, only choice is lower down the htt shakehead.gif

hands itchy wanna switch to DFI nf4-4x infinity, seems a lot better in tweakin but sux lookin n audio brows.gif
hmm...different bios offers different speeds....you should know that very well...mobo PCB also plays a part in determining the max possible speed for your processor...

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 9 2006, 08:01 PM)
Damn.... last time when I was looking for this S64 3100+, none was available. The forum traders only have up to 3000+, and also the shops.

Why only until now it appears on the retail shelves! doh.gif
haha...cyclone got his from dark..the only forumer selling the processor...hehe..perhaps you could ask him to do a bulk on it.. tongue.gif
sidewinderz
post Jan 11 2006, 08:12 AM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Jan 10 2006, 11:18 PM)
hie cyclone87, seeing u buying s64 3000+ n 3100+, wanna ask, is 128k n 256k differs a lot in performance?
hmm...depends actually..if you're using applications which require cache intensive, you'll see that 256k of cache will perform better than 128k of cache....depends much on the programs that you want to run...

but i see that its no point getting sempron 3000+ or 3100+ cause they are still based on the same core..OC wont differ much...you'll still haf to run at 3:2 devider in order to reach 2.7ghz (300x9)
sidewinderz
post Jan 12 2006, 08:01 AM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

nah...even sempron 2500+ cost RM220 already...
sidewinderz
post Jan 12 2006, 05:11 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

wow....hehe..hope its E6 revision..haha...can OC the hell out of that processor.. tongue.gif
sidewinderz
post Jan 12 2006, 09:47 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

ohmy.gif no comments man...wonder how they did that...

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:40 PM