Streamyx ●●~Extreme Screamyx Slowdowns V9~●●
Aug 1 2011, 09:34 PM
1,098 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Xbox Live keep DC... at times can't connect at all...
Aug 3 2011, 11:27 PM
Bloody hell... even Lowyat.net need to refresh again and again then the page loads properly.
Can't even go online order movie ticket. Can't even use Windows Update (keep failing and need to try again and again, then halfway update stops). P2P another story. 0kbps all the way. I'm hoping after 7th August all will be back. Unfortunately, me being a 1Mbps Streamyx user, no longer can enjoy my max speed 175kbps. It is now 120kbps. That's it. Try download driver from Nvidia, speed max is 120kbps. Aiyo... Hotmail and Facebook, both dead... This post has been edited by defaultname365: Aug 3 2011, 11:31 PM |
Aug 16 2011, 05:34 PM
In light of recent issues with the internet performance (1Mbps package), I think it is time for me to get the 4Mbps package. Been using for a good few years, and only recently the "free" 1.5Mbps speed has been brought back down and performance has been excrutiating. For some odd reason, until today I can't really access Facebook, Hotmail and repeated refresh is required even for Lowyat.net. RM88 vs. RM130.
Aug 16 2011, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(Eugenet @ Aug 16 2011, 06:18 PM) You don't need Streamyx if you are only doing web browsing. Apparently YTL's Yes wireless service gives very good performance. And if you are a heavy torrent downloader, continue with your 1mb Streamyx which is unlimited and subscribe to a VPN or torrentflux service (only about RM20 - 30 a month). QUOTE(b8kgytx @ Aug 16 2011, 11:16 PM) Why bother upgrading to a 4Mbps line if your 1Mbps line can't even load simple things. You're just giving more cash to TM while getting nothing really much in return. You're both right. Indeed kinda dumb to give them more money. At this moment, I am having "severe" connection issues. It has been like this for 3 weeks. I am an avid P2P user, an am an esteemed member of a private P2P site. Any other way of downloading from this private site is strictly prohibited and no doubt a ban will be imminent. Even the client version used to download has to be exactly in the list. At this moment only all versions of Deluge works. Sadly, for the past 3 weeks none of the P2P has been downloading. My upload/download ratio has plummeted really badly and a swift ban will be in the future, about 2-3 weeks at this rate. Tried online/direct HTTP methods of downloading but all fails or the service is down.It is just like you're having a very low water pressure, but your solution is to change to a larger pipe. Does it make sense at all ? Besides P2P, for some odd reason, with all the maintenance work going on, I can't quite load Facebook and Hotmail. Twitter works, and other sites too. Hotmail has taken the turn for the worst for me - it wouldn't load, or when loaded, I can't click to open Inbox / Sent items etc.. Facebook - can't even get to the login site. I am super busy at the moment to call up TM Net and report the "issue". So is this an "issue" with my connection of maintenance work? I live in Kepong and for the past 3 weeks it has been an absolute nightmare. I have always been an avid TM Net user and always supported their upgrading/maintenance works. For the first time, I am thinking of moving to other providers. I'm most comfortable with wired ISP solutions. My cousin moved on to P1 Wimax as is extremely happy about it, never used it before but its wireless. ...oh and thanks to them taking back their bandwidth, the max speed of my 1Mbps is now 120kbps (used to be 170kbps). My IP range is always 175.xxx.xxx.xx |
Aug 17 2011, 10:33 PM
Yeah, I think I've given up on 1Mbps package. Is is extremely bad. It has occurred in the past, but nothing like this ever.
Aug 18 2011, 11:20 PM
Switching to Unifi... aish... so much of work. Not just a simple "activate my account". I'm thinking of 5Mbps package.
Aug 21 2011, 01:55 AM
Since 1Mbps Streamyx is good as dead... what about 2Mbps or 4Mbps package? Are these packages having P2P throttled/blocked completely?
Lol, this might sound like a crazy idea but perhaps they really WANT people to either upgrade their packages or cease to use their services altogether. That way those that are not complaining means they have been using their services fairly or TM does need not to provide further assistance, while those who are suffering are the ones they don't want using their services/want them to upgrade package. If they really are providing "quality" services as they claim, this is definitely not what it should be. I was hoping after the whole cable fixing thing the speed will be back (Facebook, Hotmail, Youtube). On top of all of this, 160kbps is a bye-bye. File upload sites are now half the speed (max 50kbps). Seriously have no idea how anyone will have faith in them at this point. This post has been edited by defaultname365: Aug 21 2011, 02:06 AM |
Aug 24 2011, 09:16 AM
That is both great news and bad news. The great news is that, it is brilliant to push towards the "future" of internet connectivity that is optical fiber. I am dead sure if they scrap Streamyx, there WILL be even more packages of Unifi that caters from the light users to heavy users.
The downside to this is of course, the coverage as well as the one-time work needed to install the connection. Contract should also be reduced to 1 year. Anyways, no official word yet but yeah, in many ways Streamyx was once the almighty broadband speed demon (and some still experience this) but the constant upgrading, maintenance and the load of issues are definitely worrying. That is not to say Unifi is all glory. In a way, TM can "focus" on making Unifi the best possible internet service instead of their constant work on making Streamyx work. |
Aug 24 2011, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(mylinear @ Aug 24 2011, 12:40 PM) Probably just another way for the promoters to sell more Unifi packages. Copper cables are not only just for Streamyx. How can they not fix copper cables that are broken since majority of telephone services from TM all over the country are based on copper cables? Streamyx is an add-on service on top of the POTS which is the main reason for the copper cables. True. I really want my good ol' 1Mbps days with 1.5Mbps *free* speed and P2P downloads. This is not the case anymore and won't be ever. The whole cable repair works, if real or not, TM took the opportunity to do the most massive we-give-you-now-we-take-back approach. Aggressively. Don't tell me they don't know 1Mbps users will not know their speed has been "returned" to actual subscription speeds. A mistake giving 1.5Mbps? For how long? Since I subscribed years ago it has been 1.5Mbps.They cap and throttle Streamyx so users get fed up and go to Unifi instead. The "extra" speed that 1Mbps packages used to get seem to have been taken away, probably to push customers to upgrade to 2/4Mbps or Unifi instead. Sometimes you may be told that upgrading to 2/4Mbps is not possible because there are no more ports (who knows if that is true) and they may push you towards Unifi instead (if available). They have advertised right from the start that Unifi has data transfer limits but after 1.5 years, it still has not been put into effect. Probably because they need to push to get more Unifi users for now without the limits, then impose the limits later and everyone will be stuck with it. Unfortunately, and I don't know why, I still think TM Net remains the best ISP out there. First dial-up then ADSL. Sure there are occasional maintenance work or inability to access the internet, but once it gets up and running it works fine. I think I might just be THE customer they want since I am thinking hard of moving to Unifi after all these issues. |
Aug 24 2011, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(KennyKB @ Aug 24 2011, 02:26 PM) Which do you prefer - unlimited usage and screaming low speed like Streamyx or a reasonably capped usage and decent speed? I think 60 GB cap is pretty reasonable, heavy downloaders can opt for VIP10 or VIP 20 with higher caps. It's fair that heavy downloaders should pay more or everybody suffers. You got the point. Streamyx to me is - free for all. Now, no longer the case. I am talking about P2P in particular. It is the ultimate reason (not even the decrease from 170kbps -> 120kbps max speed) for me wanting to switch. As such, believe it or not I actually do hope that TM starts implementing the FUP quota for Unifi. Since quota is implemented, P2P downloads / heavy downloaders MUST abide the 60Gb download amount (for e.g VIP 5). Well, they have to. That way, we pay for what exactly what we want instead of Streamyx where NOW (clearly), they don't want it to be a free-for-all-download-all-you-want solution. However -> I don't mind paying RM500 for cancellation of the 2-year contract IF, and only IF, after subscribing to Unifi, TM starts to stop/throttle P2P downloads or some kind of weird cap is implemented. That would kill me. I am more than fine with FUP for quota. |
Aug 25 2011, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(Ahn3hn3h @ Aug 24 2011, 11:22 PM) TM sales people would argue with you that you can achieve NEAR what you subscribe but they didn't tell you THESE things: Seriously, I think "Streamyx" is down in the drain. It is as if they don't care anymore. 1) They always do speedtests with LOCAL servers or those in neighbouring countries. This is fair if you're offering a generous 50-100mbps connection but at 1,2,4 mbps? Even neighbouring Thailand has 10mbps packages on average and lowest tiered package at 6mbps. 2) They expect you to strain your downloads with AT LEAST 8-16 parallel connections. It is such a shameful situation in Malaysia. Very. There is an ISP in US, called Cox, and they are offering 55Mbps for $90 Believe it. |
Aug 25 2011, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(muffdiver @ Aug 25 2011, 10:52 AM) I was desperate enough after the whole "downgrade" to 120kb/s. I want my speed + torrenting back... I actually contacted a fibre optic backbone provider who could put a line to my home directly and give me a truly unlimited line without any limits for 1Mbps up and down speed. The cost? RM 1,800+ a month. So for the same speed but no worries of throttling or any weird submarine cable snapped issues...can't think if it is worth it for home use. Why is Malaysian bandwidth so expensive?!?!?! I think it's best to go Unifi. VIP5 - 5Mbps, 60Gb quota, RM149. I will be paying just RM60 more than my current RM88/month subscription which I feel is brilliant, knowing that my speed will be (mathematically: 120kbps x 5 = 600kbps). No need to yearn for 160-175kbps anymore. |
Aug 26 2011, 09:52 PM
![]() Yup. This is what I get for my 1Mbps. Believe it. As for the 60Gb cap - it is perfect. I can't possibly fill that much a month even though I do download a lot. |
Aug 28 2011, 01:49 PM
Yay, my Streamyx can P2P again!
BUT, 1Mbps package max is still 120kbps, which at this point, "I am more than happy." Hotmail and Facebook still need to refresh constantly but it works. As for P2P, I got it to wok simply by trial and error : - I stopped using Deluge - Private P2P site now supports latest uTorrent, so I downloaded latest uTorrent - Did not configure anything on uTorrent - Only used high incoming ports (50000 - 60000) - And the usual set my upload to max 22kbps (which last time I found to give me the best download speed) That's it. It worked. I used to use port 45682, that I tried, and I was not connected to any seeders. For some reason, no matter what port I use for Deluge, it never could download anything, just like it was for the past 4 weeks. My max speed is constantly around 90-100kbps, and it peaks at 118kbps. I used to max out at 160kbps, so now it is about 40% slower but that's fine. It still works and I am really glad. *Occasional disconnection occurs, like once in 2 days, a simple router turn off/on solves it. |
Aug 29 2011, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(sasaug @ Aug 28 2011, 11:22 PM) My home line used to be able to download at 180KB/s and now barely hit 100KB/s...1Mbps package but my down speed is capped at 4096kbps(4Mbps) according to the modem. I think 1Mbps users will have to get used to this. This is "supposed" to be what we get. I too miss the extra speed. I don't understand when you say 1Mbps package but down speed capped at 4Mbps?? |
Sep 5 2011, 09:30 AM
QUOTE(Nixdorf @ Sep 3 2011, 06:10 PM) I maxed out "trying" to deal with the latest streamyx slowdowns for a month, and I was definitely ready to give up. Then, at the end of August it worked again. Right now, no issues whatsoever with my 1Mbps speed. My download speed via speedtest around 0.7 - 0.8Mbps, while downloads can reach my package maximum speed. |
Oct 6 2011, 02:00 PM
Account suspended...
WTH... their problem we pay the price. 5-7 days you kidding me? For something I didn't do? |
Oct 7 2011, 02:05 PM
Yup, within 4 hours they resolved the so-called "overdue payments". The red light turned green on my router. Wasted my time checking my power surge, changing to a new modem (got one spare) and then seeing it still red.
Speed is back and running as usual (peaks at 119kbps). From super angry to super happy again. |
Oct 10 2011, 12:46 PM
QUOTE(psyeo @ Oct 7 2011, 02:46 PM) ever wonder why of all the so call "consortium" members of the AAG cable only Telekom that always claim that it is at fault? didn't see any announcement from other consortium members or the customer of these members complaint about it. Google it! Call me a conspiracy theorist but I absolutely believe this is the case. With rising costs and more people subscribing to broadband services (whether TM Net or other providers), things are getting really complicated and tough for them to handle everything. (so far I only encounter once whereby other consortium members claiming the cable is at fault together with TM, which is after the Tsunami earlier this year) I suspect they are using this as an excuse to cut the cost of the bandwidth usage and increase the money into their pocket in an unethical way. Typical GLC of BN...never going to be enough One way to "ease" the burden on occasions - - cable breakdown. Boom... slow speed. No internet connection. The same for blackouts - - imagine a planned blackout, even for an hour, a lot of $$$ can be saved. Don't tell me with the sheer number of people having slow internet connection/disconnections, just how much bandwidth can be saved? A lot! That is why when you first subscribe to TM Net, everything is godly smooth and jolly good. Then... boom. This cannot be proven nor can it be proven but one has to wonder... why the constant cable breakdowns. Don't get me started on "maintenance". Cable breakdown + Maintenance + Usual internet issues = Absolute low quality internet service in Malaysia regardless of what package you subscribe to, dial-up/dsl/fiber. |
Oct 11 2011, 01:11 PM
New Announcement! Shocking liao...
![]() |