Streamyx ●●~Extreme Screamyx Slowdowns V9~●●

bbs3322
post Sep 18 2011, 05:04 PM

107 posts

I have two 4mb streamyx lines, the connection speeds on both modem pages all dropped to 2 mbs connection. It stayed at 2 mb even after I rebooted both my modem.

Do any of you have this problem? It happened to be slow and unstable download for the past few days, but the 2mb thing happened on today. May be time to complain again.
bbs3322
post Sep 19 2011, 06:16 PM

107 posts

Are you having similar noise margin and Attenuation as mine?
It is a 4mbs, but it get 2mbs only.

bbs3322
post Sep 19 2011, 08:27 PM

107 posts

I located at Sarawak Kuching, city area. I have two 4 mbs accounts in my home. Both of them suddenly become 2 mbs on Sunday 19 Sept. It would not change back to 4 mbs even after I rebooted both modem router.

This type of case happened last month as well. They fixed it up after 2 days. (They did not discover anything on my side, so must be their server side problem) And now it happen all over again. lol

bbs3322
post Sep 20 2011, 12:47 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Sep 19 2011, 09:08 PM)
well, ur modem is capped @2mb so even ur acc is 4mb, the speed won't go up even to 3mb and so sad.gif...better call them up regarding this matter, i also from Kuching and currently on 4mb acc, capped @5mb and max speed is 500+kbps smile.gif

Added on September 19, 2011, 9:09 pm

urs is 4mb? can do the speedtest? smile.gif
I have 400 -500+kbps for those past years. Until recently, the speed down to 400++ and now 200++.

So from the picture you think they cap my accounts, and not those cable broken server overload nonsense. Tmnet really have nothing nowadays. Not solving problem, but to create more problem.

Later call up and see what is their explanation.

One more thing, before this thing happening now. In the last few weeks, one of my 4 mbs account, the speed would drop to 2 mbs every morning 7.30am, then it would go back to 4mbs after reboot modem router. It is happening almost everyday, whenever I check the speed after 7.30am, it was reduced and back to normal after rebooting. Is it someone in tmnet messing with my connection? any idea?

This post has been edited by bbs3322: Sep 20 2011, 01:29 AM
bbs3322
post Sep 20 2011, 09:11 AM

107 posts

Thanks for the reply. I learn something new from you people. Thank you.

I just called them up, the first waiting time is quite fast, then the first operator asked me to unplug modems and they refreshed it. Still the same same result. Then they transfered me to 4mb department.(how come they have special ppl to deal with 4mbs user??? funny!!)

Took about 20min to wait for someone in 4mbs department to pick up my call.

Then they asked me where I saw the 2mbs.. I told them there was a modem detail page that showed connection details... loL (how come they can't ask something more useful, Malaysian nowadays is not that IT backward right, pretty common knowledge for youngsters except older generation.) and when did it start?

Finally he issued me report number and wait for them to check on their server.

Let's hope that it will be solved very soon.
bbs3322
post Sep 20 2011, 02:59 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Sep 20 2011, 09:51 AM)
well, hopefully ur case will be solved soon..and yes, usually when they see u as a tech-savvy personnel then it will work fast, i usually talk to the TM helpdesk & tech in terms that they can understood me well laugh.gif, so my line rarely got problem tongue.gif
ohhh... you are a lucky guy... hehehe...

btw, I thought report number is something like 1h4e9k3....

My both report numbers for 2 lines are starting with 1-135349...

Is it normal?

I also discovered a wierd thing ... when I refresh (the one with crazy number i posted) modem page each time, it give me different values... sometime 0, 120+, 166+

But modem of the other account looks normal though it is limited at 2mbs.

This post has been edited by bbs3322: Sep 20 2011, 03:07 PM
bbs3322
post Sep 21 2011, 01:30 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Sep 20 2011, 11:19 PM)
My youtube streaming stops halfway, no incoming data though I can still browse other websites, youtube included.

Same thing happened if I download anything from fileserve etc. 10-12% then download interrupted.

Is it streamyx or my modem/router is dying?

I don't think it's my modem coz I still can browse at full speed.
I think it is either streamyx or fileserve server or internet route congestion. My queque download will sometime stop half way, and just keep on connecting and no download occur. But it will start download normally again if you stop the download manager and resume.

Cannot figure out what is really going on. But do not think it is related to modem.

bbs3322
post Sep 21 2011, 04:43 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(kailoonthedog @ Sep 21 2011, 11:37 AM)
?? I thought when someone wanna upgrade to 4mbps , the technician have to come to his house to check whether the line is suitable to be upgraded to 4mbps or not , after that it will have to do some setting at our home in order to upgrade the speed??
If I am not remembered wrongly, they came to your house to test the speed after you subscribing to 4mbs. Most areas in the country should support 4mbs except you stay in very rural area and far away like in the forest or in mountain.... hehe... but I don't think so ... right?

The main thing should worry is whether they still have enough ip, bandwidth, ports for the subscripting population. They may oversold account in an area so end up you are not getting the advertised speed.

Added on September 21, 2011, 4:50 pm
QUOTE(Tinkai @ Sep 21 2011, 09:00 AM)
Just want to verify here, is there anything such as:

"Oh, our server has ran out of IP's to be allocated that's why you could not connect to the internet, please wait for a few hours while we ask our server personnel to increase the pool of IP .. "

This is what the TM people told me through the phone .. been happening for a week liau ... and it's starting to get annoying.. usually happened from 8pm onwards FML  mad.gif
It is stupid, who told you this? telephone support or technician. May be the same case happen to me, thus I am stuck with a 2 mbs speed. But I still can connect to internet. And it means they oversold 4mbs line, they should not eat more than what they can digest.

I just called them again, and they said they will report my case again and set my back to 4 mbs. Let's see where it goes tomorrow.

This post has been edited by bbs3322: Sep 21 2011, 04:50 PM
bbs3322
post Sep 21 2011, 08:05 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Tinkai @ Sep 21 2011, 05:38 PM)
Fella from the 4mb department (or so she says) even told me the server code at fault ... it's like I'm booted out and I couldn't connect at all liao .. until it randomly came back maybe a few hours later =.=

I call till I feel a bit annoying liao .. and I have no other alternative!
I agree with you, haha...... I also hate to call customer service. Very boring... always talking the same old thing again and again. There looks like miscommunication between phone support and technician.

Hope that our connection will be back soon.

Cheer.

bbs3322
post Sep 28 2011, 09:16 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(vanchrian @ Sep 28 2011, 07:29 AM)
I've just come back from Australia after finishin my degree, and I'd almost forgotten just how bad Streamyx is.

The house I was living in had a 'mere' ADSL2+ line, and you know what download speeds I was getting? 500kbps to 1mbps regularly. Of course it was capped at a 120GB limit per month, and only after exceeding it did our speeds drop to about 70 to 100 kbps.

And now I'm back here, using Streamyx's 1MB line, and my average speed is 40 to 50 kbps...

Their throttled speeds are better than my average Streamyx speeds...

And now I find that Fiber is slowly coming up, and after asking around my friends report speeds ranging from 100kbps to 700kbps.

Our Fiber connection... is worse than their ADSL2...

I'm sick of living here... I want to go back to Australia.
hahaha... I can understand how you feel, previously download a movie in few mins, now the time is x2s or x3s. Thus some people do not come back and continue to work oversea after they graduate. People used to their life style there after spending few years in Uni. Australia is 10 mbs if I am not wrong..

Or can go to our neighbor country.... 20 mbs package can get real downloading speed of 1.4 or 1.5 mbps. You won't have much time left to watch the movie because you will be busy in unzipping lots of downloaded files and moving them to external drive. And it has no cap in download limit. brows.gif The only bad point is you have to invest $$ in 2 TB hard drive every 1 or 2 month.

Good luck and be happy.... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by bbs3322: Sep 28 2011, 09:21 AM
bbs3322
post Sep 29 2011, 10:06 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Areas Elysian @ Sep 29 2011, 11:22 AM)
I'm sorry, but I will have to interrupt you guys..

First, I will state the connection I had in Australia. I had ADSL 2+ as well... I had a SNR of 6dB +/- that allows me to connect at 18-22 mbits to the servers which was considered very good. With that, I got about 300-500kb/sec download speed often via torrents, with the few rare moments where I got 800kb/sec - 1mb/sec.. the only time I saw speeds of 1mb/sec or more was when I was downloading from an Australian file server..

Not to mention ADSL 2+ you're limited to 1mbit upload.. so you can't seed for nuts, leaving those private tracker sites which requires you to have a good upload ratio out of the question..

Secondly, vanchrian, what ISP were you using in Australia? Most ISP shapes your connection to 128kbits or 256kbits after you pass your quota.. meaning 10-20kbytes/sec download speed..

Thirdly, I have no comment about your friend's fiber connection, but my UniFi VIP10 hits 1.2mbytes often when downloading via torrents.. often and stable.. after being impressed with that speed, I upped my package to VIP20 and now am able to do 2.4mbytes..
WoW!!! your connection looks good, can get so good speed in torrent. I never use torrent... don't know how to setup.. I only use file-host sharing service nowadays. I think file host service is not that expensive nowadays.. US50+ for one yr.
The only problem is to find out which one your isp is not blocking and do not have file delete frequently.

Does unifi have usage cap per month and it is only available in KL area, right?

0.0192sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:37 AM