Streamyx ●●~Extreme Screamyx Slowdowns V9~●●

Ahn3hn3h
post Aug 24 2011, 11:14 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Aug 24 2011, 09:16 AM)
That is both great news and bad news. The great news is that, it is brilliant to push towards the "future" of internet connectivity that is optical fiber. I am dead sure if they scrap Streamyx, there WILL be even more packages of Unifi that caters from the light users to heavy users.

The downside to this is of course, the coverage as well as the one-time work needed to install the connection. Contract should also be reduced to 1 year.

Anyways, no official word yet but yeah, in many ways Streamyx was once the almighty broadband speed demon (and some still experience this) but the constant upgrading, maintenance and the load of issues are definitely worrying. That is not to say Unifi is all glory.

In a way, TM can "focus" on making Unifi the best possible internet service instead of their constant work on making Streamyx work.
Stupid excuses. If subscribers are porting to Unifi many would have abandon their DSL ports at the exchange freeing up slots for new subscriptions.

But the way they put it,"Tak ada slot, semua habis", it means that Streamyx is still going stronger than Unifi at this moment?

I won't be buying the optical fibre hype because it comes with a huge bomb just waiting around the corner. Soon when they build enough install base, they'll kick in the monthly quota and milk people kaw kaw. Speed also not much difference and there's always a catch. They can't be investing so much with expensive installations without raking in the returns.

Added on August 24, 2011, 11:20 am
QUOTE(Glitch90 @ Aug 23 2011, 11:59 PM)
So guys just a news for all the Streamyx users. TM is gonna shut down streamyx by 2012 vmad.gif . I was working as a Unifi promoter for sometime and my supervisor, also a Unifi installer tells me that these a**holes are going to shut down the services cause the copper cable in a lot of places are busted and they are too lazy too repair them so they are pushing Unifi like hell. As a fellow Streamyx user i wished to share the truth that i've heard from the mouths of TM subcontractors themselves, which is like coming from TM's own mouth
Shut down Streamyx? Then what're they going to do with all the copper cables left aside and infrastructure?

Sell them to competing isps and telcos and allow a open network?

Good, then we'll be seeing 10mbps ADSL2+ packages with FREE self install packs for consumers priced 1/2 of what Unifi charges monthly.
TM can keep their new FTTH network to themselves because they are just offering nothing much better than what copper can deliver today.

This post has been edited by Ahn3hn3h: Aug 24 2011, 11:20 AM
Ahn3hn3h
post Aug 24 2011, 02:23 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Nixdorf @ Aug 24 2011, 02:10 PM)
It always under my consideration whether to apply for Unifi as gonna tie up with the 2 years contract. Well it is fine for me but if within this 2 years there is no FUP enforce on it then I will apply it immediately. But who knows once  I got my Unifi, they start  FUP after few month then I can't enjoy the unlimited usage.
Not worth the risk. If you are still using Streamyx and your contract has ended, hold on to it until better deal comes along.

Seeing that TM has now started to become desperate with monthly caps, it could be that their Unifi isn't taking off as planned. They might be losing money with fibre optic such as lessons learned from US, UK and Australia.
Ahn3hn3h
post Aug 24 2011, 11:22 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(winshoo @ Aug 24 2011, 06:45 PM)
Gosh, my Streamyx connection has been crawling like a snail for the past 2 weeks. I seriously has no idea what happened. It was alright before that but now, I can't even Youtube well.
I don't think it has anything to do with my PC or my modem or my local telephone cable etc 'cuz I tested at Speedtest.net using Cyberjaya server, it works almost perfect.

But when I tested my Streamyx with San Francisco server & London's, the result are shitty :

My location is Kinrara, Puchong. Anyone in this area experiences the same problem?

smile.gif <-- fake smile, trying to look frenly.
TM sales people would argue with you that you can achieve NEAR what you subscribe but they didn't tell you THESE things:

1) They always do speedtests with LOCAL servers or those in neighbouring countries. This is fair if you're offering a generous 50-100mbps connection but at 1,2,4 mbps? Even neighbouring Thailand has 10mbps packages on average and lowest tiered package at 6mbps.

2) They expect you to strain your downloads with AT LEAST 8-16 parallel connections.
Ahn3hn3h
post Aug 27 2011, 08:58 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(winshoo @ Aug 27 2011, 08:37 PM)
squall0833, I guess it's normal as I can also get similar speed from KL server :

But it won't reach 1.5mb/s la.

It is pointless for me to hit 1.36mb/s using KL server when I can only hit 0.30mb/s from international servers... my international connection sux BIG TIME. Takes me 6 hours to download a 300MB file...
Yup, it's pointless when international connections only get you like 1/4 of your subscribed speed.

Your VPN, FTP, HTTP downloads with single connection with major servers, antivirus updates and important downloads would sometime crawl like snail.

Only way is to pump multiple connections and pray that your speed can get as near as it allows by forcing your download manager with 8, 12 or 16 parallel streams. A good connection will get you the same result even with lesser parallel connections such as 2-4 maxing out.

TM is selling people a 1mbps local connection. It's ridiculous when other countries can sell 100mbps connections with international speeds hitting over 10mbps with servers across the pacific. Those connections in SG and Thailand can do close to 20mbps with West Coast US server speedtests.

It's pathetic to see our 1mbps or even 4mbps can even get close even at 75% of subscribed speed to LA/Tokyo Servers.

What do you think?

Ahn3hn3h
post Oct 4 2011, 12:45 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Oct 4 2011, 09:24 AM)

Not sure which ISP is this
This is provided by your apartment management, correct? Macrolynx usually partner with apartment managements.

2mbps symmetrical wifi link or LAN(ETTH).

Their bulk bandwidth comes from Asia Net Com(Pacific Internet). Route to US is via SG-->JP-->US(via Unity Cable)

Upto 4.8Terabits or RAW capacity while TM has no access to this.
The other isp in Malaysia which does the similar routing is Time.

The recent slowdown had many Streamyx and Unifi users affected even with 1/2 of the 70gbps cut off.
Talk about 4.8terabits of capacity.

Singapore has access to 3 of such BIG pipes to USA.

0.0195sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:04 PM