> LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Drivers' Forum! V24, Still running strong as seen on the road

shahiryusoff
post Jul 18 2011, 04:07 PM

487 posts

Hi guys, I just bought a 2nd hand Proton Saga (2001 make). I would like to ask,

1) is it possible to change the carburetors to fuel injection? I'm just asking whether it is possible because as far as I know fuel injection is better than carburetor and can improve a lot on FC. blush.gif

2)anyone have done sound insulation and can share something on this? I'm thinking to do some sound insulation but I have no idea at all. blush.gif

Thanks. smile.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by shahiryusoff: Jul 18 2011, 04:10 PM
shahiryusoff
post Jul 18 2011, 08:05 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jul 18 2011, 07:44 PM)

1.  yes it is possible... no fuel injection does not improve alot on FC...

2.  superlone... bitumen... dynamat... etc...
if want good FC, go fit NGV...
What is your fuel consumption like? In KM/L?

Is it better to put stabilizer bar?

Do you know any shop (in Klang valley maybe) which can do sound insulation as you mention the brands?

Sorry for asking noob questions but I'm still new. blush.gif icon_question.gif
shahiryusoff
post Jul 19 2011, 08:54 PM

487 posts

Can I know is it possible to maybe tune the carburetor to save more fuel?

Anyone using any product to reduce FC? Mind sharing?
shahiryusoff
post Jul 19 2011, 10:31 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(Chan320 @ Jul 19 2011, 09:52 PM)
Yea,he is the GOD of carb but its a problem for those who live in East Malaysia  sad.gif
Where is this guy located? Does he have a shop? blush.gif
shahiryusoff
post Jul 20 2011, 12:26 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(rozz_1291 @ Jul 20 2011, 09:17 AM)
Sedan best.... Aeroback's rear is heavy like sheet sleep.gif
Yeah Aeroback's rear is somehow really heavy compared to Sedan's rear. doh.gif
shahiryusoff
post Jul 22 2011, 02:01 PM

487 posts

Guys, want to ask is it possible to put blow off valve on saga? I like to sound. Any recommendation? Will it consume for petrol or what? Any side effects?
shahiryusoff
post Jul 22 2011, 02:05 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(Kamina_1992 @ Jul 22 2011, 02:02 PM)
ur proton have turbo or not??
No. Is it possible? blush.gif And how much does it cost?
shahiryusoff
post Jul 22 2011, 04:45 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(Kamina_1992 @ Jul 22 2011, 02:16 PM)
impossible without turbo.......if you wan install blow off valve you must BOT(bolt on turbo) to your engine.........roughly you must change into injection fuel system.than can install turbo....price i dunnow ask pros here.....TS know because he use turbo....

or

transplant engine that already have turbo like 4G61T......

or

if wanna sound effect like blow off valve....you can install somthing call blow off wisel at muffler....
Oh. Okay. Do you know how much does it cost to install the blow off wisel that you mention? Roughly maybe?

QUOTE(Notoriez @ Jul 22 2011, 03:38 PM)

Best device is your right foot...

And by reducing fuel mixture (lean) MIGHT cause damage to the engine in the long run if you like to high rev. not to mention lost of power as well...

Suggestion is to get your AFR to STOICH and control your right foot wink.gif
But then I have already train my right foot not to rev very high. Almost always I will shift before 3k rpm. But the FC still seems quite high. Not carrying any weight also(single driver always). I thought maybe can further reduce down the FC. blush.gif
shahiryusoff
post Jul 23 2011, 11:54 PM

487 posts

Guys want to ask, has anyone send their car seats for WASHING before? I mean is there any shop which can really wash the seats?

Or has anyone wrap their seats with leather or PU maybe? I have heard of this seat wrapping before but I don't know where can do this. Anyone has done this before? Mind sharing where I can do this and how much it will cost?

Gracias. smile.gif
shahiryusoff
post Jul 24 2011, 12:16 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(king_lover23 @ Jul 24 2011, 12:01 AM)
u ask the correct question..
I just went to survey today..
if wash only,RM120...
if wan wrap with PVS,price range is vary from 300-450...
depends on which material u use...
thumbup.gif
hope it helps..  smile.gif
Thanks bro for the help. blush.gif Can I know where did you went to survey? My seats are already quite dirty so need to wash them. icon_rolleyes.gif
shahiryusoff
post Jul 27 2011, 11:17 PM

487 posts

Guys, I want to ask, Is it possible to like somehow "IKAT" the throttle paddle so that the speed will be limited to say 100KM/H only even if the paddle is fully pressed?

Or is there any equipment that can do this if it's possible?

Thank you.
shahiryusoff
post Jul 28 2011, 03:42 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jul 28 2011, 12:50 AM)

yes... loosen the throttle cable at ur carburetor spindle... allow far more free play before it tension up and turns ur throttle spindle... in that case, full throttle at ur pedal only equals to half throttle on carburetor...

but driving style needs to get use to it... coz the first 50% throttle u apply on ur pedal is empty...
Okay. Thanks for the tips. But have to get use to it la. hmm.gif
shahiryusoff
post Aug 3 2011, 07:47 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(GMS FearLess @ Aug 3 2011, 02:52 AM)
tadi i got 6.6L/100km@21.025L/320km

fuel fill
-BHpetrol
-Melaka(simpang ampat)<>Kota Damansara SS7
-320KM
-Constant 100km/h
-No thermostat@engine temp lower from working temp
-Highway(no traffic jam)
-acc on and it minimum temp..
Your FC is good. drool.gif That should be around RM0.125/KM. thumbup.gif
shahiryusoff
post Aug 9 2011, 03:40 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Aug 9 2011, 12:31 PM)
Did autofoam package for my car + soundproofing package (excluding doors), the car feels super comfortable dy...
Wondering whether I should upgrade to 15' rims + PS3 next as 14' tyres grip not so power...
How much did cost you and mind sharing where did you did? blush.gif
shahiryusoff
post Sep 8 2011, 06:18 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(GMS FearLess @ Sep 8 2011, 01:05 PM)
windscreen expired already......kena tiny rock from car ahead.....
i wan rocker arm only...can??how much??camshaft later....
Sorry for noob question, but does the windscreen really have an expiry date? If it does,how long can a windscreen lasts? blush.gif

Guys, I have 1 question. It is recommended to fix stabilizer bar at the engine there (across the two absorbers there)? Here's a picture. user posted image

How much does it costs to fix this?

And this thing,is it recommended to fix it? What is the advantage of having this two items?

Thank you. wub.gif
shahiryusoff
post Sep 9 2011, 02:19 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(Notoriez @ Sep 8 2011, 11:29 PM)
Your first bar should be room bar and it's cheap too. Not much effect on handling but safety yes (side impact)

2nd bar should be side bar. Abit expensive but will help your car stable on fast speeds (feels like driving conti car) * depends on your absorbers + springs + tyres as well but what ever it is, you can immediately feel the effect biggrin.gif

3rd bar should be either rear upper or fender bar (malas to explain)

4th bar should be rear ARB (for Saga Iswara only) as there is no custom front ARB for our chassis sad.gif

5th bar should be 4 point middle lower bar (malas to explain)

Useless bar

Front strut bar (chassis too weak, cant feel the difference)

**Disclaimer - This is only applicable for Saga Iswara..but generally the bars above will have the same effect on all types of car..
Thank you for the info. Which bar would you recommend to install? Do you know any shop in KL maybe which can install this with reasonable price?

Thank you. blush.gif
shahiryusoff
post Sep 9 2011, 02:44 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(Notoriez @ Sep 9 2011, 02:27 AM)
With installation all together should be EA biggrin.gif

If you ask around, the price maybe cheaper but not with installation. If you go UR HQ for installation, minimum charge is RM50.

If you can find any other workshop that can offer cheap installation fee also would be nice provided the bar is cheap as well smile.gif

Another sifu here also can help to install if u r driving Saga/Iswara.. Sinister_Sid
Sorry but where is EA? Do you have the address?

Btw,I'm driving a Proton Iswara. blush.gif
shahiryusoff
post Sep 10 2011, 02:07 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Sep 9 2011, 04:53 PM)
Vacumn , volt meter ...  brows.gif
How much is it roughly to install this 2meter mention above? Does EA have this? blush.gif
shahiryusoff
post Sep 19 2011, 03:32 PM

487 posts

Guys, want to ask regarding my car as the picture below.
Attached Image (Driver Side)
Attached Image (Passenger Side)

Does anyone/sifu know why is the passenger side tyre is like more offset or "terkeluar" ? You can really see that the passenger side tyre is more coming out. It is very obvious. This is the front passenger side tyre. Rear both tyres are okay.

I think that the driver side tyre is okay but there's like some problem with the passenger side tyre. Anyone has had this problem or know why is it like this? Is it the CHASSIS bengkok ? The salesman who sold this car told me that this car has never been in an accident before so I guess it's not the chassis.

icon_question.gif HELP please. blush.gif

And, has anyone tried this thing before? Any positive result? Save fuel? More power?

http://www.mudah.my/Vortex+Cyclone+Fuel+Sa...NGV-3421602.htm

I think it is quite cheap but don't know whether has effect or not. icon_rolleyes.gif
shahiryusoff
post Sep 19 2011, 04:48 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(lyordson @ Sep 19 2011, 04:42 PM)
i have the same problem also after accodent. it shud be chassis bengkok, twist and turns on the road will affect to since saga iswara is lembik.. wait for the otai to reply.

vortex cyclone? yeah. its big bang for the buck with increased 5% mentally horsepower.  thumbup.gif

omg that was the worst design than surbo. lol
But my car has been sent to Puspakom for inspection. If Chassis bengkok, it should not pass inspection kan? Waiting for other sifu to reply. blush.gif

5% mentally horsepower? biggrin.gif How about fuel saving? Does it help to save fuel? blush.gif

0.0490sec    1.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:56 PM