Chicken pox!, Toddlers..

TSreef_d
post Jun 10 2011, 11:13 PM, updated 15y ago

264 posts

Hi everyone..
my 2 year old son just got chicken pox a few days ago..
i've already met a doctor who recommended we see the chicken pox thru at its fullest with no anti viral medication..
my friends on the other hand have been recommending me to get anti virals for my boy so that he doesnt have that many blisters all over his body..
i am torn.. my doctor says let him suffer now so he wont get the pox again in the future.. while at the same time its sad to see my son suffering..

what do you guys think? also has anyone tried giving the antiviral and later (months later) your kid contract the chicken pox again?
Jerry77
post Jun 10 2011, 11:19 PM

113 posts

minum air kelapa..
moorish
post Jun 10 2011, 11:49 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

I gave my bb chickenpox vaccine, reason is no need suffer so much.
TSreef_d
post Jun 11 2011, 12:24 AM

264 posts

i gave him just a small cup of coconut juice.. wow.. the blisters appeared alot in just 1 night.. sad.gif hoping it will be over soon.. calamine seems to help abit at first but once it dries up its back to scratching for my little hero..
merchant9
post Jun 11 2011, 12:44 AM

628 posts

With and without the vaccine really got a lot of difference... My colleague daughter who took the vaccine only has less than 10 dots when she had chicken pox. Her mother, my colleague had some 200? if you can afford, let the child take the vaccine... Why let them suffer? You didn't bring them here to suffer right?
TSreef_d
post Jun 11 2011, 01:12 AM

264 posts

its not about can afford or not.. but its my usual doc who doesnt want to prescribe it.. he says those who take antivirals will have chance of getting the chicken pox again later.. hmm.gif
sunflower808
post Jun 11 2011, 09:41 AM

QUOTE(reef_d @ Jun 11 2011, 02:12 AM)
its not about can afford or not.. but its my usual doc who doesnt want to prescribe it.. he says those who take antivirals will have chance of getting the chicken pox again later..  hmm.gif
Yourself also go thru the point " Chicken Pox Again"

Let me share my experience here....my daughter was getting chicken pox when she just 5months old.......
Parents and child also suffer......... sweat.gif
When i bring to doctor, he just gave me the medicine was put on skin....just reduce the itnchi.......
somemore i have give my daughter to drink the cantonese "herbs" something like air kelapa ...... it's will make more chicken pox come out....and it's mean all toxic was come out in one time.

We as a parents also dont want that "chicken pox" was come again right? make your child suffer again? doh.gif
Just take it like normal, you little boy will recover very soon..... thumbup.gif
dont worry too much...

SUSslimey
post Jun 11 2011, 12:22 PM

6,914 posts

antiviral drugs are expensive and usually not required for such cases.
the skin lesions will heal leaving no scar
chamelion
post Jun 11 2011, 12:34 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

if the kid is so young, why are u so worried about look?

U wan lookin good only or healthy kids?

Admitting antiviral while having the pox is unnecessary.
Divas
post Jun 11 2011, 03:19 PM

131 posts

Please allow your son to go through the chicken pox naturally, it really is the best thing to do.
If you are worried about him itching and causing scars, tape oven gloves or thick mittens to his hands and use lots of camomile lotion on his sores (you can also try to keep him in a mildly air conditioned room, not to cold, but cool enough to keep him comfortable and prevent extra itchiness from sweating).

(Apologies to anyone who has) but i really don't understand why anyone would give their child a vaccination against chicken pox. It isn't a dangerous virus and only takes a week or so to recover from so why not allow their immune system a chance to grow on its own. I understand that perhaps it is not pleasant to deal with a fussy/sick/uncomfortable child, and that it is upsetting to see them suffering, however without that kind of experience they will have practically no immune system of their own and will rely (as much of the world does today) on stronger and stronger Antibiotics to recover from simple illnesses that the body should be able to cope with on its own.

As a child raised with only the necessary vaccinations and minimal drug intervention for illnesses (i think i only had antibiotics twice from birth to my now 26years old) i can say that i fall sick far less than people i know who were dashed to the doctor and given a million and one different chemicals and drugs every time they had a sniffy nose.

Ok now my rant is over.

@TS- I hope your son gets through his chicken pox quickly without too much discomfort, but i definitely side with your doctor and would go with letting your son go through chicken pox naturally.

pkiensing
post Jun 11 2011, 03:22 PM

[Richfag]
824 posts

seriously you got problem in understanding what is the best for your children.

it is obviously the best choice is to let your children go through the pox...

else you think you will be happy when you see your children getting pox again only 18 years old?
moorish
post Jun 11 2011, 04:41 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(Divas @ Jun 11 2011, 03:19 PM)

(Apologies to anyone who has) but i really don't understand why anyone would give their child a vaccination against chicken pox. It isn't a dangerous virus and only takes a week or so to recover from so why not allow their immune system a chance to grow on its own. I understand that perhaps it is not pleasant to deal with a fussy/sick/uncomfortable child, and that it is upsetting to see them suffering, however without that kind of experience they will have practically no immune system of their own and will rely (as much of the world does today) on stronger and stronger Antibiotics to recover from simple illnesses that the body should be able to cope with on its own.

As a child raised with only the necessary vaccinations and minimal drug intervention for illnesses (i think i only had antibiotics twice from birth to my now 26years old) i can say that i fall sick far less than people i know who were dashed to the doctor and given a million and one different chemicals and drugs every time they had a sniffy nose.
Ok now my rant is over.

@TS- I hope your son gets through his chicken pox quickly without too much discomfort, but i definitely side with your doctor and would go with letting your son go through chicken pox naturally.
Natural chicken pox = suffer
Vaccine with the possibility of getting chicken pox later in life but much milder version = more comfortable

The chicken pox immunity of the 2 got differences?
Divas
post Jun 11 2011, 05:05 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(moorish @ Jun 11 2011, 04:41 PM)
Natural chicken pox = suffer
Vaccine with the possibility of getting chicken pox later in life but much milder version = more comfortable

The chicken pox immunity of the 2 got differences?
The chicken pox you get later in life isn't milder at all, it is much worse the older you are which is why a lot of people like me try to expose our kid to chicken pox naturally when they are around 2-4 years old, to get it out of the way while they are young enough to recover quickly but old enough to cope with it. To a 3-4 year old chicken pox means a light fever and around a week or so of itchiness, for a 16-18year old it can mean hospitalization.

Of course there is still the chance to get it later in life whether you go natural or vaccinate but the long term effects of getting chicken pox naturally are known (practically none, beside the minor chance of shingles later in life), the long term effects of the vaccination are not.
It is also known that if you go through natural chicken pox the chances of relapsing later in life (shingles) is very low under normal circumstances (it is usually only when the immune system is already compromised that shingles pops up). With the vaccination, i haven't read anything that convinces me that anyone knows its effective lifespan.

I just don't agree with using drugs and vaccinations when they aren't necessary especially when a large number of the 'super-viruses' and more severe flu like bugs we have around today are purely the result of overusing medications like antibiotics. Unless they are used to prevent or cure a serious or potentially fatal disease all you are doing is sacrificing natural immune system strength for the convenience of skipping a few days of grumpiness and mild discomfort.

moorish
post Jun 11 2011, 05:40 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(Divas @ Jun 11 2011, 05:05 PM)
The chicken pox you get later in life isn't milder at all, it is much worse the older you are which is why a lot of people like me try to expose our kid to chicken pox naturally when they are around 2-4 years old, to get it out of the way while they are young enough to recover quickly but old enough to cope with it. To a 3-4 year old chicken pox means a light fever and around a week or so of itchiness, for a 16-18year old it can mean hospitalization.

Of course there is still the chance to get it later in life whether you go natural or vaccinate but the long term effects of getting chicken pox naturally are known (practically none, beside the minor chance of shingles later in life), the long term effects of the vaccination are not.
It is also known that if you go through natural chicken pox the chances of relapsing later in life (shingles) is very low under normal circumstances (it is usually only when the immune system is already compromised that shingles pops up). With the vaccination, i haven't read anything that convinces me that anyone knows its effective lifespan. 

I just don't agree with using drugs and vaccinations when they aren't necessary especially when a large number of the 'super-viruses' and more severe flu like bugs we have around today are purely the result of overusing medications like antibiotics. Unless they are used to prevent or cure a serious or potentially fatal disease all you are doing is sacrificing natural immune system strength for the convenience of skipping a few days of grumpiness and mild discomfort.
what I mean is, with vaccination, we still try to expose our kids to get chicken pox and develop the natural antibody, only difference is they get it milder instead of the full blown.
siawyee
post Jun 13 2011, 04:45 PM

Haih ya.....

chicken pox vaccinate is not gurantee tat u wll not get it...just tat if you have the money, then inject and your child will not suffer that great even when he was infected lah.....is the parents choice..for me i let my daughter inject cos i dun wan her to too suffer should she get it.....
rourou
post Jun 14 2011, 12:40 PM

Ho~ Ho~ Ho~
975 posts

QUOTE(siawyee @ Jun 13 2011, 04:45 PM)
Haih ya.....

chicken pox vaccinate is not gurantee tat u wll not get it...just tat if you have the money, then inject and your child will not suffer that great even when he was infected lah.....is the parents choice..for me i let my daughter inject cos i dun wan her to too suffer should she get it.....
yes i agree... i myself had a very bad case of pox when i was younger.. left lots of scars on my body and face even. so gonna give my baby the vaccination too.
2lovemylife
post Jun 15 2011, 04:02 PM

QUOTE(Jerry77 @ Jun 10 2011, 11:19 PM)
minum air kelapa..
My grandmum says, only the 1st & 2nd day need to drink air kelapa, 3rd day should stop, becos need to let all pox come out, those are body toksin should let all them out of body!
So young get chicken pox, that's good! Since they still don't know how suffer is that, the older the suffer.... Yr son need rest more!! Take care!!

Added on June 15, 2011, 4:04 pm
QUOTE(2lovemylife @ Jun 15 2011, 04:02 PM)
My grandmum says, only the 1st & 2nd day need to drink air kelapa, 3rd day should stop, becos need to let all pox come out, those are body toksin should let all them out of body!
So young get chicken pox, that's good! Since they still don't know how suffer is that, the older the suffer.... Yr son need rest more!! Take care!!
Ya....Pearl in chinese medical oso good in clear toksin....will be good to yr bb too!!

This post has been edited by 2lovemylife: Jun 15 2011, 04:04 PM

0.0186sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:48 AM