QUOTE(josephlau7966 @ Aug 10 2011, 10:34 AM)
yeah. This field is sucks. It pays the least among all the engineering fields.

I has been a few years in this field. I am now wondering can I change to other field.

Added on August 10, 2011, 11:30 amManufacturing Factory - The job scope is usually very specific yet routine. Mechanical people are usually assigned to handle the production line or maintenance of machine and facilities. Most of the factory is in niche market. Sometimes, you may find hard to find similar job in same field. This kind of work requires least traveling, thus might be boring. Normally, MNC in electronic field will have better prospect compare to other factories.
To anyone, please correct me if i am wrong. Thank you.
the starting pay is high for manufacturing especially semi-con. but if every 10-year the econ downturn cycle comes, then the salary will be cut or VSS. very difficult to secure job when econ downturn. unless one is very specialize and high demand his/her skills (R&D an example, mostly the last dept to ask to leave).
u still can change from construction. i am an example after 3 years plus sinking myself into it.
the construction experience & knowledge is very useful when switch to certain fields.

Added on August 12, 2011, 8:28 amQUOTE(Mooi @ Aug 9 2011, 10:36 PM)
What about girls? I am female, doing mechanical engineering degree.
Other than construction (I do have an interest in it unfortunately), O&G, shipping, palm oil plantation, manufacturing factories, automobile.. what other fields or options do I have?
Please roughly give me the idea then i will do researches on it on my own.
for ladies can try QA/QC job & become internal auditor and progressively into lead auditor in ISO.
Added on August 12, 2011, 8:33 amQUOTE(nicvoo @ Jun 13 2011, 06:34 PM)
1) main con M&E company contract based (no technical background go work for main can u'll get ur ass kicked)
2) sub contractor M&E company (u'll hav better training but being a subcon its a tough life if u can endure it it'll b good)
1) FIREFIGHTING COMPANY (selling fire fighting equipment? or a contractor?)
2) air cond company (sales?design?r&D? contractor?manufacturer? wat department u joing? or u joing the cleaners to help air con company sweep floor?)
3)lorry tanker fabrication factory such as the esso & shell lorry tanker(imho too specialized next time susah cari makan)
main-con if one is their bond graduate and work for them no issues most of the time. they will provide you a mentor and give certain period of time for you to learn and rotate based in their site project locations. be humble & nice to sub-con/vendors so can learn from them too to create win-win situation for both parties.
tanker fabrication better learn their welding & inspection tech spec & work scope. there is a possibility to explore into welding & inspection in fabrication line.
This post has been edited by ch_teo: Aug 12 2011, 08:33 AM