QUOTE(babytensai @ Aug 9 2011, 09:28 PM)
Well, from da replies here, I would say most of these forumers r in da construction line. I'm da same as nicvoo, a mechanical based M&E consultant engineer. My advice, dun step foot into da field. Betta opt for oil and gas, shipping, or other higher paying fields.
yeah. This field is sucks. It pays the least among all the engineering fields.

I has been a few years in this field. I am now wondering can I change to other field.

Added on August 10, 2011, 11:30 amQUOTE(Mooi @ Aug 9 2011, 10:36 PM)
What about girls? I am female, doing mechanical engineering degree.
Other than construction (I do have an interest in it unfortunately), O&G, shipping, palm oil plantation, manufacturing factories, automobile.. what other fields or options do I have?
Please roughly give me the idea then i will do researches on it on my own.
I am a mechanical guy. I always compare different mechanical fields. After a few years of working in construction line, I just can comment on three fields as below:
Construction - Unless your dad is the director of company, this will safeguards your prospect. Otherwise be prepared to get exploited to the maximum in most chinaman companies. Consultant engineer will do design in office with damn low pay(around RM2000, rarely get increment). Contractor will deal with high pressure and long working hour at site(need to work on weekend).
O & G - Working in MNC will have a very good prospect, high income and bonus. Unless you work with local supplier. They are mostly chinaman companies also.
Manufacturing Factory - The job scope is usually very specific yet routine. Mechanical people are usually assigned to handle the production line or maintenance of machine and facilities. Most of the factory is in niche market. Sometimes, you may find hard to find similar job in same field. This kind of work requires least traveling, thus might be boring. Normally, MNC in electronic field will have better prospect compare to other factories.
To anyone, please correct me if i am wrong. Thank you.
This post has been edited by josephlau7966: Aug 10 2011, 11:32 AM