5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, Downing 19!

Duke Red
post Jun 10 2011, 03:41 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kazuki85 @ Jun 10 2011, 03:34 PM)
Alright...anybody making banners? Or at least have contacts about banner making? I may want to insert my late friend's name in there, since he is a LFC fan...
Suggest making one on your own mate. Printing a proper one provided you have a design will set you back a few hundred bucks. Maybe simple texts like " XXXX is here in spirit. YNWA" or something.

QUOTE(xMika @ Jun 10 2011, 03:34 PM)
Why dont get the RM68 tickets ? Extra RM10 is worth it for a better viewing angle laugh.gif
Problem with the RM 68 seats if you'll need binoculars to see the players.
Duke Red
post Jun 11 2011, 09:21 AM

6,112 posts

With regards to tickets, the RM 108 ones are unavailable online at ticketpro. I imagine it's because they've already allocated a specified amount to outlets such as Adidas, Rock Corner, etc. From today they should be available at Bukit Jalil. Ticket agents don't just release all tickets at one go. They make daily/weekly allocations to ensure that late comers have a chance at getting good seats or they just might not bother going at all. I'm sure that if you try hard enough, you'll be able to get the RM 108 ones. Try Bkt. Jalil. I also heard that Adidas will replenish their stock. The reason they ran out so fast yesterday is because they didn't expect such a huge response. The take up was much slower when they sold the Chelsea tickets.

QUOTE(aiyish @ Jun 10 2011, 06:55 PM)
Does everyone from MYRAWK bought the green gate seat? Me and Jomey Asmat got the green gate tix.
Yeah we're all there buddy. Let's all meet at the stadium and take up a small section. Must go early. Decide on what time closer to the date. I don't want to fight for parking and seats man.

QUOTE(Rotuham @ Jun 11 2011, 12:08 AM)
Sorry,but i dont like maxi sad.gif

I really dont know what you guys see in him. blink.gif
I'm not his biggest fan either but let's be fair, he wasn't signed as an impact player. I mean he wasn't even in Atletico's first 11 when we signed him. Thing is, like many of the other players, he's been revitalised since King Kenny took over and he's come good with some important goals. If he's content being a squad player, I have no qualms with him being in the squad. If anything he has bags of experience to impart on younger players.
Duke Red
post Jun 11 2011, 11:30 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(flix @ Jun 11 2011, 01:39 AM)
Damn, you reminded me of someone else who was also from Atletico.  laugh.gif

Anyway on Maxi, I think he is quite a decent player even though he might be off his prime. To me, he is an exact replacement for Benayoun. Both of them always at the right spot at the right time to score those 'cap ayam' goals. Doesn't have much speed left but his passes/crosses are still pretty good especially against teams that normally park the bus.
Benayoun is way more creative than Maxi if you ask me. He is a match winner because unlike Maxi, he could create opportunities on his own. Maxi is simplistic in contrast. Anyway, I'm still kinda sad we lost Yossi. Left for bigger an better things as well but hardly featured.
Duke Red
post Jun 13 2011, 10:02 AM

6,112 posts

I was never one to indulge in transfer speculation because it is just well... speculation. In my opinion, there isn't enough talk about how a player will fit into our team as much as there is talk about how good a player is by reputation. Well all know it's about buying the right sort of player. You hear the term, "Liverpool type player" thrown around which is why I think it's important to consider a player's personality more than his ability. Is he a hard worker? An honest one? Will he be able to settle in to life at the docks? We all thought we signed a gem when Harry Kewell put pen to paper but as Steve McMahon will testify, he does not display the traits of a Liverpool type player off the pitch. Did any of us think big Sammi would be a legend when we signed him for next to nothing? It's time we unearthed gems and not sign flawed ones if you ask me.

To emphasise my point, I'm going to talk about a topic I find interesting. Has anyone read Tommy Smith's autobiography entitled, "Anfield Iron". If you haven't and you want to know more about our heydays under Shankly and Paisley, you should pick up a copy. It's only RM 35++. Tommy Smith was a senior member of Shankly's team up until the latter resigned as Liverpool manager and his accounts are enlightening to say the least. Here is a man who was known to be hard during days when you could elbow an opponent and tackle from behind. Yet he was only sent off once in his career and this, for dissent. Anyway, back to my point. The signing of Henderson is a positive one, as was the signature of Jonjo Shelvey and the emergence of the few local lads. Back in the day Shankly was known for unearthing stars. The likes of Steve Heighway and Brian Hall were signed from non-league teams. When was the last time you saw a Premiership team create a legend from the Conference League? The likes of Kevin Keegan, Ron Yeats, Roger Hunt and Emlyn Hughes were signed from the recesses of English football's lower leagues and became legends. Can King Kenny emulate what the Shanks did in the past? Well we aren't exactly a struggling team at the moment, certainly not a team whose ground was in shambles when a certain Scot from Glenbuck took up the managerial post at Anfield, but for a club of our stature to not have won the league for over 2 decades is sort of a disaster in the eyes of many fans.

Just to add, you'll learn more about Shankly, more than you'll ever read online if you pick up a copy of "Anfield Iron". Sure you could buy a book on the Shanks but these are accounts from a player's perspective. You'll see the side of him you never read about. Despite being a legend, given the nickname "Crazy Horse" and at one time, appointed captain of the club, you'll learn why Tommy Smith never thought that Emlyn Hughes was a "Liverpool type player". Very good read I must say.

Duke Red
post Jun 13 2011, 11:57 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Jun 13 2011, 10:53 AM)
tommy smith was a hard tough player, even when he was playing for the opposition (post liverpool) he was just as tough in tackles against us.
"the core for the future stays british"

i'm pretty sure this is for mid-to-long term vision that is in line with FSG's tangent for the club. Often the british players aren't or not as sought after abroad so any shake up of the team won't be seismic scale my guess.
Thing is that these days, the signing of British players aren't as coveted as foreign wonder kids. Forget the price tag for awhile. I mean Jordan Henderson was rated at $20 million which is the same amount rumoured for Juan Mata. Which name brings about more excitement. Anyway, my point is that while the players that King Kenny has shortlisted may not tantalise our taste buds, they have at least proven that they can cut it in English football. A safe bet if I could call it that. We've now upped our offer for Phil Jones to $22 million. It's been awhile since we've been able to go toe-to-toe with the mancs in the transfer market eh?

Tommy Smith was indeed hard, but fair. I just loved reading his autobiography just as I do any player who just so happens to be a Liverpool fan. As football evolved, old school centrebacks like him were expected to play from the back more. On one occasion, he was up against a pretty good forward whose names escapes me at the moment. He asked Shanks, "should I take the ball out to his left or to his right?". As usual, Shanks responded immediately by going, "just go through him!".
Duke Red
post Jun 13 2011, 12:03 PM

6,112 posts

OT but I just got to watch "The Damned United". Has anyone else watched this. Thoroughly enjoyed it. No, not MAN Utd but Leeds Utd. Never knew what Brian Clough was like in his younger days and now I do. He's football's version of Mohammad Ali. For people that think Mourinho had a big ego, you gotta watch this. Here is a man who tool Derby County from the bottom of the 2nd Division to the then 1st Division title and the final of the European Cup. His time at Leeds was short lived for certain reasons but he then took Nottingham Forest from Div 2, to becoming back to back European champions. This all and he never managed England. A recommended watch.

Duke Red
post Jun 13 2011, 12:26 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(rushmode @ Jun 13 2011, 12:23 PM)
Enjoyed the movie. Clough is one of Britains best managers of all times. Faulty mouth.. but still a great manager nonetheless.. Still wonder why cant Paisley get the same recognition outside liverpool and its fans?
Paisley was a little different I imagine. He wasn't as verbal and flashy. Also, his contribution is undermined by Shankly's success, having inherited a legacy. Clough (and Peter Taylor) rebuilt teams much like Shankly did. Only, the latter did it three times at Liverpool!

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jun 13 2011, 01:39 PM
Duke Red
post Jun 13 2011, 02:04 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(rushmode @ Jun 13 2011, 12:56 PM)
he does inherit Shanks team but 3 times in 4 years is not an easy thing to do. I believed he only had 1 trophy-less season in his 9 year reign.  and you are right, he's a quite and humble man.. no surprise he didn't get much attention from the press.

and who could forget that he's the one who bring in Kenny after Keegan left.  biggrin.gif
I agree with you dude. Paisley certainly deserves more recognition that he gets but Shankly was and still is bigger than life. It was virtually impossible for anyone to step out from under his shadow. It got so bad to the extent that even though Paisley was manager, the players would still call Shankly, "boss", whenever he visited Melwood or Anfield. Led to Shankly being 'convinced' to stay away. I can see the logic behind it though.
Duke Red
post Jun 14 2011, 02:19 PM

6,112 posts

Here's the thing about Kyrgiakos and why I think it would be a mistake to let him go aside from the fact that he won't fetch much anyway. He is our only option in the air, aside from Carrol. When we are up against teams who play the ball in high, we don't have players who are strong in the air. Carra is only 6' tall while Skrtel looks like he has lead in his boots. He is useful against traditional English forwards like Kevin Davies. At his age, we aren't going to get much for him anyway and no one is as adept in the air as him, not Carra, not Skrtel, not Wilson, not Agger. Also, he doesn't mind spending time on the bench. More reasons to keep him than to get rid of him if you ask me.
Duke Red
post Jun 14 2011, 03:13 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Rotuham @ Jun 14 2011, 03:01 PM)
So you think sissoko was good? Mascherano had sissoko's tackling abilities and work rate but with a much better passing range.
Sissoko was limited to say the least but I do admire his tenacity and work rate. The thing is, Liverpool fans appreciate hard work over ability and rightly so if you ask me. I posted yesterday, that since the days of Shankly, we've always considered a player's attitude. If the likes of Momo, Biscan or Meijer signed for any other club, they would have been chastised and forgotten. At Liverpool, they are cult heroes and we remember them fondly. You can buy talent but you can't buy attitude.
Duke Red
post Jun 14 2011, 03:21 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(visionary1993 @ Jun 14 2011, 02:57 PM)
shocking.gif
You will have one quite long list then.
Depends on how long he's been a Liverpool fan I suppose. He did say, "amongst the worst players I've seen...".

Personally I've seen a lot worst. These names come to mind, Paul Stewart, Julian Dicks, Bjorn Tore Kvarme, Istvan Kozma, Torben Piechnik, Salif Diao, Bruno "the next Zidane" Cheyrou, Djimi Traore and World Cup winner Bernard Diomede.
Duke Red
post Jun 14 2011, 03:45 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(REDShaun @ Jun 14 2011, 03:40 PM)
hmmm, the Phil Jones saga is over now (although I keep wondering why the sad tarts keep saying we're butthurt?!?, screening thru the pass few pages i don't see us even complaining about it - wonder if they can read?)

on to better things, it's true C.Adams bets/odds are now suspended so basically it might be true he has made up his mind on where he is going.

Good to know that the news are now more solid than just baseless rumours for a few players. hopefully at the end of it we get 2 wingers for all the activities the club has put in before the start of the pre-season.

YNWA! and to sad tarts reading this.. learn to read carefully before commenting on baseless BS that fills your thread. Thank you tongue.gif
LOL. Stopped visiting because I realised most aren't big on comprehension. They see texts, but seemingly find it hard to make sense out of it. It seems that there is a new symptom now. Seeing texts that don't exist.

It just reinforces a point I've made many times. That some are arrogant enough to believe that the world revolves around them, that everything we do is with them in mind. Remember accusations that Carra intentionally wanted to crock Nani so that they'd lose the title? Even when they win games, you'll get some retards taking a swipe at us. When they lose, they go, "ah Liverpool fans sure happy lah now". Honestly, a lot of us are more worried about our fortunes and they aren't intertwined with them. Giggs is getting a lot of attention in the papers for the wrong reasons but do you see a lengthy discussion here on what an arse he is? No, we're more worried about our team and our players. Maybe if some of them channeled more energy into reading about their own club, there won't be so many bandwagon jumpers around.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jun 14 2011, 03:55 PM
Duke Red
post Jun 14 2011, 04:02 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(uNeVErwaLkaloNe @ Jun 14 2011, 03:57 PM)
I'm surprised you didn't mention Diouf the spitter

Ah yes, the cereal eater. To be fair, I only hate him for his attitude. Not really his fault that Houllier played him on the wing. I think he's had a pretty decent career at Bolton and Blackburn after we discarded him.

Duke Red
post Jun 14 2011, 05:03 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(chenwfng @ Jun 14 2011, 04:53 PM)
Yup. I visited their thread, non of them mentioning what Giggs has done. Wonder how his fans would react to this, will they cheer him on or will they boo him. This is 10x worse than John Terry's case. Sleeping with your bro's wife and even getting her pregnant once for the pass 8 years. Legend alright.
Yea and no one here is talking about it and rightly so. Like I said, our world doesn't revolve around them contrary to what some seem to think.

I have this colleague and he annoys the hell out of me. When they win against another team, he updates he facebook and goes, "now what? Liverfool fans want to complain the ref was biased ah?", or something to that effect. Dei, if your team wins, be happy and celebrate lah. WTF does it have to do with us? When they lose, he goes something like, "Liverfool fans must be happy but look who's still on top?". WTF???
Duke Red
post Jun 15 2011, 12:40 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(chenwfng @ Jun 14 2011, 05:21 PM)
Nothing but one liners and BS without facts. I see them posting we butthurt, but I don't see any butthurt post in here. This is what separates us men from the boys. I gotta be honest, I was tempted to post and ask a question about how Giggs was doing but I think I'm gonna stay at this level where I'm higher than them. No point in discussing about it with them also, they will reply with "you butthurt cause we got PJ".
I really don't see why we should feel sore about not landing Jones. First and foremost, he said that he would only leave to play for the mancs. That alone is justification enough. We don't sign players who don't want to play for us. Secondly, we have Agger, Skrtel and Carra battling for starting berths with the likes of Wilson, Kelly (who is a natural centreback) and Wisdom knocking on the door. Hardly a disaster.

Like I said earlier though, I'm not too concerned what they do. I'm more concerned about us building a winning team. If we can do that, it won't matter what anyone does to their squad.
Duke Red
post Jun 15 2011, 12:56 PM

6,112 posts

In light of the upcoming Asian Tour, here are some pictures from when the team visited Singapore, just before Xabi left.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Attached image(s)
Duke Red
post Jun 15 2011, 02:38 PM

6,112 posts

Was just browsing through Carra's autobiography again. For the benefit of those that haven't read it, here is a passage on a game that was overshadowed by the miracle that followed weeks later in Istanbul. It's the double header against Chelsea in the semi-finals. I'm typing all this out so I hope you enjoy the read.

Darn took me awhile to type all this out. Fingers tired...

Notice that at the end, the players had drinks with the supporters. How many clubs do this?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jun 15 2011, 02:39 PM
Duke Red
post Jun 15 2011, 02:46 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(leaF @ Jun 15 2011, 02:39 PM)
In fact I am more unhappy with our fans that dont even know liverpool are coming and blame the organisers when the tickets sold out or those so called 'fans' but resell back the tickets at a very high price.For myself the coming Bukit Jalil match is very important to me ,and I managed to get the tickets on 1st day on sales.
Likewise. I understand if touts do it but as Liverpool fans, we really should be helping one another get tickets. JonC helped by buying 20 tickets with his credit card without charging extra. I had to by 12 with cash before even collecting anything from fans that wanted tickets. Thankfully, parking my ass outside of Adidas on the first day of public sales for 3 hrs paid off.

We do have a large number of dedicated and passionate fans but every now and then you'll come across one like a colleague of mine. Claims he's Scouse - sesat. Also, wears our jersey every other day and all. Problem is he couldn't even pronounce Mereiles!
Duke Red
post Jun 15 2011, 03:45 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(dundermifflin @ Jun 15 2011, 03:13 PM)
and some cant even spelling it..
QUOTE(MCQueen @ Jun 15 2011, 03:20 PM)
thumbup.gif WINRAR  thumbup.gif
So you and your girlfriend here can spell. You want a medal then?

Duke Red
post Jun 15 2011, 04:55 PM

6,112 posts

The Boot Room was just that, a boot room but Shankly used it for informal meetings with his coaching staff including Paisley and Fagan. It has since been removed, no thanks in part to Greame Souness but with the re-appointment of Kenny Dalglish, it can be said that the culture still lives on. Liverpool had for a long time, been a club that promotes from within. Shankly - Paisley - Fagan - Dalglish - Souness - Evans but that all stopped when we appointed Gerard Houllier as manager and Rafa Benitez after him. However, former players were not far away. Houllier had Phil Thompson and Sammy Lee, while Rafa later rehired Sammy Lee who had a less than successful spell as manager of Bolton.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0505sec    0.39    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:42 AM