5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, Downing 19!

Duke Red
post Jul 7 2011, 09:17 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Monstar @ Jul 7 2011, 08:29 PM)
Duke: I am back from the UK. Currently working in Singapore!
Nice.

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Jul 7 2011, 09:06 PM)
Guys,

I know i should not be posting it here, but i think i've less choice cause some fans are really ripping off others by selling the tix more than the retail price.

Anyone with RM108 tix (Green gate if possible), kindly PM me..i hope this has not taken much space for discussion tho..

YNWA!
Doubt most of them are fans. Mostly touts looking to make a quick buck.
Duke Red
post Jul 8 2011, 11:09 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Jul 7 2011, 11:14 PM)
from what i saw the discussion between Rotuham and Duke is 'priority'. We know that our club now is in progress to give a good challenge in Premier League. Maybe its not the right time we talk about our history when we are looking forward. We will get back to the past when we winning something. Just like you are just finish you goal in life and sat at the chair remembering how in the old days you struggle till the day you are here.

Past and Reality.
The discussion arose because of how scouse fans perceive us OOTs. I can empathise with them because the more we open up, the more bandwagon jumpers we'll have on-board but it is a necessary evil. You know how some people buy jerseys for the sake of being associated with something that's popular? I've seen on several occasions, people walking about in shopping malls with their jersey of choice on when the're team is playing live. Err... shouldn't you be in front of a TV? I get it, some people have other priorities in life but you can't expect to garner the same amount of respect as someone who skipped a wedding to watch the game for example.

Now we all know that we often get accused of living in the past. I think our past is what motivates us. We were once a dominant force in England and in Europe and we still reminisce. They say that because of this, our fans expect us to be contending for the title each season. Now this is where I feel fans need to practice a little common sense. Each year the media builds up our chances. We're always in the news and rightly so. The papers will publish what the readers want to read and we do have a large fan base. It is really down to a lack of common sense that fans expect us to be at the summit each season, and not our colourful past. Let's take last season as an example. You got a pocket of fans predicting a top 3 finish, expecting a miracle from Roy Hodgson and you had more pragmatic fans that saw a team in transition, predicting a top 6 finish. Now both sets of fans were exposed to the same media hype.

It's like I said in my previous post. I don't think there is ever a wrong time to talk about the past simply because it pays tribute to everyone and everything that has contributed to making LFC what we are today. I dread the day when fans no longer know who Shankly is and what Hillsborough is all about.
Duke Red
post Jul 8 2011, 11:21 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 8 2011, 11:14 AM)
like been mentioned elsewhere...
scouse fans are proud of their city...but they shouldnt look down on OOT as they are the ones keeping the team afloat.
i cant remember the last time the starting 11 was more than half filled with scousers...i dont think it has ever happened either.
granted but if you and i can be disappointed with the lackluster attitude towards the team by some of our brethren, what more them? Maybe it's wrong for them to generalise but like I said, I think they are becoming a little more accommodating to OOT, at least to those who know their stuff.
Duke Red
post Jul 8 2011, 11:40 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 8 2011, 11:25 AM)
like the saying goes - respect works both ways.
its the same everywhere, if they are a jackass of a fan, no one is going to care about them.
Well short of both sets of fans standing on opposite sides of the fence accusing the other of being an ass, I choose to take steps towards earning respect. Someone needs to make the first move and I feel that as 'foreigners' we should.
Duke Red
post Jul 8 2011, 11:55 AM

6,112 posts

Bye bye Anfield sad.gif

http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Liver...icle762170.html

A necessary evil.
Duke Red
post Jul 14 2011, 10:55 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(flix @ Jul 14 2011, 10:42 AM)
Manage to catch a glimpse of the King and the team from less than 1 meter away early this morning at the hotel. Went to KLIA first but the team left on the coach via the VIP passage. It was around 5am+ when they checked in the hotel, everyone looked so tired. Going to remind myself not to snap pics and take videos the next time they come because the pics are so blur!

Catch you fellas later at the stadium!
Nice. I might be getting my hands on a pass for lunch with Thommo tomorrow. Fingers crossed.
Duke Red
post Jul 14 2011, 02:17 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Jul 14 2011, 01:40 PM)
i have 1 left training passes (won at yesterdays event in pavillion), giving away free to anyone who wants it. (originally i had 2 but one has been booked by a twitter chap)

will be there too this evening, see u guys there. any myRawk thread i missed that will be making a group meet?
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 14 2011, 01:46 PM)
lucas fans have seem to forgotten just a couple yrs ago that they were all screaming for lucas to be played as a box to box rather than dm...
i'll pm u a couple of other myrawk numbers now.
Where you guys parking? Will said the boys are parking at Endah Parade. That's a looooong walk man.

On match day I reckon I'll either park at Endah Parade or take the LRT but most likely the former. I heard that during the Arsenal game, people were parking in the emergency lane of KESAS wei.
Duke Red
post Jul 14 2011, 02:30 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(flix @ Jul 14 2011, 02:29 PM)
Best place to park should be at Endah Parade bro. Those who parked inside Bukit Jalil took 1 hour plus to exit after the Arsenal game. It is just 10 minutes walk away from the stadium.
Are you positive? Friend told me 30 mins but maybe you guys are brisk walkers smile.gif Ok lah, Endah Parade it is. You guys meeting there @ 4pm right? I'll be about 40 mins behind you. Save me a seat in the stadium if you guys go in first wei. I'll call when I arrive.

Duke Red
post Jul 14 2011, 02:45 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(all blacks @ Jul 14 2011, 02:33 PM)
Wil it be packed today.. thinking of droping by for a while for the training later... by the way how long is the training session?
I actually have no idea. I'm guessing 45 mins to an hr tops.

QUOTE(flix @ Jul 14 2011, 02:34 PM)
LOL which is why I rather walk from Endah Parade.
Positive about it, rather walk than get stuck for 2 hours leaving the bukit jalil car park after the match. Will be meeting at 4pm and heading to the stadium at around 4.30pm.
Ok lah, give me a call when you guys leave Endah Parade as I'm expecting to reach there around that time.

QUOTE(keong24 @ Jul 14 2011, 02:35 PM)
i live nearby bukit jalil stadium. what i suggest is during saturday u better park ur car at bandar tasik selatan or any lrt station and go bukit jalil by lrt.

because gary chow having concert at putra indoor stadium at 9pm on that nite. so imagine the traffic after the match. even i live nearby but i had to take this way to reach the stadium to avoid the traffic.
The LRT will be packed as well I imagine. Best to buy your return ticket when you arrive so you don't have to queue for it after the match. I'll probably park in Endah Parade early in the afternoon and lepak before walking to the stadium like aiyish. Too bad there isn't a cinema there.
Duke Red
post Jul 14 2011, 10:00 PM

6,112 posts

Just got back from the stadium. Ended up parking in Endah Parade and walking. Took me about 15 mins.

I've not seen the team in the flesh since Anfield in 2007 and it was great to see them live again. It was a privilege to see King Kenny in the flesh and an honour to hear him address us but unfortunately, the sound system was crap. I reckon there had to be between 15,000 - 20,000 fans but it's only the training session and it is a weekday. I reckon it will be packed to the brim come Saturday evening. Anyway, Thommo and Ian Ayre kicked things off by walking around the stadium. Now, Phil Thompson is an Anfield legend I absolutely love. I miss seeing him on the touchline throwing his arms up in the air each time we scored. He is a Red through and through.

LFC TV's Claire Rourke was covering the event and each time the camera panned in the direction of the fans, they would all hold their scarves over their heads.

I was great to see how the lads trained. It was funny to see Jay Spearing celebrate after scoring against Gulasci i think it was. He looked in the direction of the fans and held his arms up much to our delight. Amongst the players I saw were Gulasci, Hansen, Jones, Insua who looked well fit, Flanno, Carra, Soto, Agger, Wilson, Kelly who looked sharp, Johnson,Wisdom, Meireles, Aquaman, Spearing, Coady, Adams, Maxi, Kuyt who was a crowd favourite, Poulsen, Cole, Carrol and N'Gog. Hmm wonder if I left anyone out.

It wasn't all good though. A friend of mine attended the Arsenal game and told me that there was absolutely no singing, not a single song! I thought it would be different with us but I was disappointed. There was a wall of noise that greeted the team when they entered the stadium and cheers each time a player's name was announced but it went downhill from there. With the exception of the Mexican wave, the crowd was pretty quiet. Thommo was commentating and he kept asking us to make some noise and to sing some songs. This is why I keep asking people to learn one or two songs at least, or a couple of chants like the Dalglish one, Campione. etc. I felt a little embarrassed when only a handful started singing in pockets. There was no coordination and no one to get them going. Reckon it's because only so few knew the lyrics. Liverpool fans are known to be loud and I dare say that it was louder in Singapore where there was at least some singing. This was an in-your-face to those who booed when Phil Thompson acknowledged that Singaporean fans were in the crowd. There was also boos when the Indonesian Reds were announced. It left me disgusted. Despite the sore feelings between our countries, surely it was time for all Liverpool fans to unite and as hosts, for us to welcome them with open arms. Shame on those of you who booed a fellow Red.

Anyway I'm hoping for a better response from our fans this Saturday. There was one rendition of YNWA that I remember and even then it was just the chorus! Please make all Malaysian Reds proud and raise the decibel levels when you go this Saturday.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jul 14 2011, 10:12 PM
Duke Red
post Jul 14 2011, 10:46 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(realshinjae @ Jul 14 2011, 10:14 PM)
duke, happy and a bit sad reading your thoughts....

no singing, furthermore booing other neighbours. that's just not red.

yeah, chants would be awesome !!
Yeah I felt a little embarrassed. Don't remember Singapore fans doing the same to Malaysians when the team visited just prior to Alonso leaving. Anyway I may be meeting up with a group of Singapore fans from the EOA (East of Anfield) club tomorrow in Changkat for drinks. Hope they don't feel too sore.

My suggestion is to gather as big a group as possible. The problem is that because we all arrived at different times, we weren't all able to sit together. If we have a large enough group of fans, we can at least start YNWA as the team enters the pitch on Sat. I'll be going early for lunch along with some posters here, MyRAWK dudes, possibly the EOA guys and hopefully the boys from JB. The larger the better of course.
Duke Red
post Jul 15 2011, 12:03 AM

6,112 posts

Oh I remember who I missed out it my list earlier - Jonjo Shelvey.

With regards to the manc, all I can say is he asked for it. Sure he's got balls but if you can appreciate the rivalry, you'd have the good sense to respect the fact that you don't piss your rivals off when it is their event. Yes it is a Liverpool training session, not a random match. What do you think would happen if one of us wore our colours at Old Trafford?
Duke Red
post Jul 15 2011, 10:54 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(mas_chan @ Jul 15 2011, 12:14 AM)
Anyone know around how many Reds fans in the stadium? Oh man, it's just a training session, can't wait for Saturday!
Reports estimate about 38,000 fans.

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth @ Jul 15 2011, 12:15 AM)
hey guys, i want to join. but my tix is blue gate 108 rm. how bout u all huh

cheers
Most of the lads I know are in the green gate including myself. Trying to gather a few groups together so that our singing and chanting will be louder and hopefully more will follow suite. If the group is too small, it's hard to hear. Planning to gather MyRAWK, EOA from Singapore, Liverbird Supporters Club from JB, and the Spirit of Shankly branch here. Coordinating is going to be a pain though. Best to go really early and queue while waiting for the gates to open so that everyone can sit together.

QUOTE(bomberkenny @ Jul 15 2011, 12:28 AM)
about the man u guy that got stripped, I felt bad for him. Yesterday i went arsenal's game with my liverpool jersey and nothing bad happened to me. I can't imagine if the gunner fans would strip me or tossing verbal abuse to me.
Aye but then again the rivalry between them mancs and us runs deep. Look at the amount of abuse we get on their thread even when we aren't playing them. To be honest, I agree with the statement that there is only really the big two, and not big four because in terms of achievements, there are really only two that stand out in England.

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Jul 15 2011, 12:38 AM)
if booing Singaporean and Indonesian is considered rude despite our intense sporting and cultural rivalries.... what do we call this?.. criminal intimidation?.. gangsterism?
I said it was rude because in the end, all fans should be united under one banner, the clubs - YNWA. That being said, I don't condone crowd violence. However this incident happened about 100 feet from where I was and I couldn't get a clear view. What I was told by friends who were there however that prior to that he was walking around proudly showing his jersey off to everyone. This is provocation and it says something that he wasn't beaten up. He made his way to his seat with no problem which leads me to believe that he did just what I heard. Thus I urge those who weren't there not to jump to conclusions.

Having said all that, rivalries are just that. I've attended viewing parties involving Liverpool vs. Man Utd games and nothing usually happens despite all the booze. There is no violence without provocation. Having said that, yesterday's incident was hardly violent.

Easy to adopt a holier than thou attitude but I dare say the same would have happened if it were the mancs training and a Liverpool fan started flaunting his jersey off. Wouldn't it also be the same had an Indonesian fan walked around showing off this Indonesian team jersey during a Harimau Malaya event? Stop calling the kettle black everyone.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jul 15 2011, 10:57 AM
Duke Red
post Jul 15 2011, 11:09 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Kuhen @ Jul 15 2011, 11:02 AM)
Just to confirm the last time ManUtd came to Malaysia the same thing happened to Liverpool fans. Was there watching a guy get stripped and he actually wore the shirt probably threw it later though. Rivalry runs deep & I wouldn't have it any other way tongue.gif
As expected. Like I said, fans should check themselves before accusing other fans of behaving in the very same manner they would.

Anyway, official report on yesterday's training session on our official site.

http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/latest-news...watch-lfc-train
Duke Red
post Jul 15 2011, 11:38 AM

6,112 posts

Stuck in office for meetings sigh.

Anyway, coverage on RAWK
http://www.redandwhitekop.com/forum/index.php?topic=278308.0
Duke Red
post Jul 15 2011, 01:59 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Jul 15 2011, 01:46 PM)
on the contrary. i fully understand why they did that to the lad. Like wise in love, or in war, everthing is fair in football rivalries..wink.gif

Let alone seeing an Indonesian/singapore jersey during a Harimau Malaya event, i would have booed even if their country's name is mentioned in the stadium PA system... which i sure, we will get the same treatment in Jalan Besar this 23rd.

which strike me very ironic that you all get all sensitive about your OOT friend's feeling when beeing booed but feels ok to gang up against a solitary fan who want to make a point on who he is supporting. There was no violence , sure, but at a ratio of 1000:1, it would be very cowardly on the gang side to resort to that. But on the scale of 'rude'ness, i am sure the solitary fan felt much worse than you OOT friends.

if you respect the rivalry between Liverpool and Man U, then you must also understand the rivalry between Malaysian and Singapore/Indonesia. I am sure the OOTs expects that when they came to the capital stadium of malaysian football.

Judging from the matchs vs Arsenal, its not far fetched to anticipate that the Indonesian and Singaporean Reds will boo our national team players tomorrow. Under the banner of Malaysian, what will you do about it? Strip them of their shirt?

This is not just a Liverpool event you know. I am led to belive that this is a Harimau Malaya event too.... wink.gif
On the contrary, it was a Liverpool training session. The Harimau Malaya one was earlier which I attended as well.

From the perspective of a Liverpool fan, I think that everyone in a red shirt deserves the same amount of respect especially when we were given the same when we visited their country. I know Singaporean Reds and they are good lads. It wasn't about Singaporean Reds vs. Thai Reds vs. Indonesian Reds vs. Malaysian Reds. It was about all Liverpool fans going to watch the team train, the same team we all support. We can't preach about solidarity and sing YNWA when we isolate sections of fans. In the context of Harimau Malaya, should it matter if you're a fan from Terengganu or Kelantan, or should you forget your rivalry for one day to unite under 1 banner?

In terms of the guy that got picked on, I did sympathise until I heard he was goading fans in the first place. Do the crime, do the time. It would be cowardly for a crowd to beat up a guy but like I said, there was no violence.

In terms of tomorrow's match, there is no ideal situation so I can't give you an answer. You get fans who boo Liverpool players as well e.g. Poulsen. One can only hope that in general, common sense prevails but you can't expect everyone to conform to your ideals.
Duke Red
post Jul 16 2011, 09:16 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(teckhooi @ Jul 16 2011, 01:40 AM)

mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif
Ignore that hypocrite. Firstly he's an idiot to associate what happened with the team's ability to win titles. Secondly, he failed to note that the same thing happened to a Liverpool fan the last time the mancs visited. Too bad social media wasn't as active then. Again, talking without facts. Makes one look like an ass. Thing is what did that kid expect by showing his kit off, goading fans in the process? A kiss on the cheek?

Added on July 16, 2011, 9:20 am
QUOTE(koolspyda @ Jul 15 2011, 05:41 PM)
i was actually 20m behind duke (he was in white MyRawK jersey i believe), a bit closer to the fence,
there might be some truth to some provocation on the poor chap's part.

In honesty there were more then several other individuals around the stadium I've seen in Manu jersey & even Arsenal too. (no reported booing incidents on them). my wife was happily taking photos around. and yes, she's a 'red devil' sympathizer  mad.gif  but she aint crazy to don a manu jersey,.. heck she don't even own one or have one at home ! i forbid!!  whistling.gif

on the training ground, i kinda like aquilani touches. unfortunately 'he' may be a 'luxury' player given the 'domestic challenges' we face next season. they may not 'allow' him to settle on neat touches without hacking unlike continent opponents.
Correct so one must ask, why that kid? How easy people jump to conclusions. Youtube videos paint such a one sided picture. People see what they want to see.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jul 16 2011, 09:20 AM
Duke Red
post Jul 16 2011, 09:22 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(raul7 @ Jul 15 2011, 04:34 PM)
at pavilion

[attachmentid=2332025]

[attachmentid=2332037]

[attachmentid=2332039]

who is this uncle? looks like very important person.. ke hulu kehilir.. end up i saw him up on stage taking players signature...

[attachmentid=2332061]
The Indian gentleman with glasses is one of the most passionate Liverpool supporters I've seen. He was at every viewing party I organised back in the day and that's when I first met him. If a bar served only Tiger and no Carlsberg, he'd walk out! He's usually seen with a Liverpool bandana on his head, face paint and screaming his lungs out. Top fan that one.
Duke Red
post Jul 16 2011, 10:55 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(SquaLL_JB @ Jul 16 2011, 07:37 AM)
bro..what time will u be there?maybe we can join myrawk guys..
I'm meeting them in Endah Parade @ 1pm. Most of us will be in the Green Zone 108.

Added on July 16, 2011, 10:57 amNational keeper Syed Adney was born in Liverpool. Wonder if he'll get a chance to play today.

Added on July 16, 2011, 10:59 amLYN's and MyRAWK's JonC writes for the Malay Mail online.

http://issuu.com/pekwan/docs/15_july_2011?...howFlipBtn=true

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jul 16 2011, 10:59 AM
Duke Red
post Jul 16 2011, 12:06 PM

6,112 posts

Leaving for Endah Parade now. See you boys later.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0760sec    0.70    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:47 PM